Hostelworld.com

Berkenhoff Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 135 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 135 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Berkenhoff Lodge Located at 75 Scannell Street, , Taupo.
Berkenhoff Lodge
New Zealand
Taupo 3330 75 Scannell Street
80% 135
-38.6863472 176.0859060
Berkenhoff Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Mar 2016
7.1

Second class guests? We booked a room for four people but when we arrived they told us that they are already full so we had to go in a six bed room. Wasn't very clean and tidy at all and the beds weren't comfortable. The walls are very thin, so you can hear everything in the house. It was hard to sleep. There are much better hostels in Taupo for the same money...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • georgedavis118222
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
16th Feb 2016
7.1

Shame the bar doesn't open mid week, comfy tv areas with Netflix was great for chilling on a rainy day, beds sag quite a bit but are nice enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2016
5.4

No free internet

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2016
8.9

A very friendly place to stay, we would certainly stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2016
6.6

Kitchen was dirty and so there were flies everywhere. They had an electric fly killer which looked as though it hadn't been emptied for quite a while. It's a shame that people can't clean up after themselves, but the hostel should be more vigilant and penalise the culprits. It would also be nice if there was soap in the bathrooms. Asides from cleanliness and hygiene issues, our stay was a pleasant one and our room was a pretty good price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2016
4.0

This hostel was only the SECOND worst hostel I've ever encountered. For starters it's located ridiculously far from ANYTHING, way out in the dead-lawn burbs. The room was filthy. The bunks lacked ladders. The mattresses were practically holes, soft, sagging through the lower bars. And the toilet plumbing dripped and gurgled throughout the night. I woke up at 2:00 am to catch a spider crawling on my back. Next morning I left despite having booked two nights. Keep the change.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Jan 2016
8.6

Had a great time there and the swimming pool was a particularly nice extra. We even extended our stay by a night. I would say this backpackers is best if you have your own transport though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jan 2016
9.1

Great place and the staff were the best. One thing though - the pillows and mattress in the double private were pretty bad. I'm not fussy at all, hence why I still gave this place a great rating as it deserves it, but I was literally sleeping on springs. Pillows are also throughly outdated, it was comfiest sleeping without it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2016
9.7

Very helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2015
10.0

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Was hassle -free and facilities great for our needs. Management went out of their way to make everyone welcome and a smooth running of the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.