Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Berkenhoff Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Apr 2017
5.4

I didn't enjoy the hostel even tough I very much enjoyed the town and the activities around. The bed was really uncomfortable. Staff was not attentive. The shower in my room was too short. The good thing is that it was clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
6.6

couldn't see any lockers or such available for your bags or belongs, but never really asked for this either. Booked for 4 people for one night all in one booking, when we arrived we were told we were split into 3 separate rooms, not ideal but the guy was nice enough explaining it and the hostel has some cool common rooms (you should go to a hostel for this anyway right?) Bathroom pretty run down and felt dirty, in general all run down but clean enough though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.4

Quiet and comfy. Very affordable, with lots of common spaces and couches, and I liked the residential neighhborhood. The owner seemed nice too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
7.7

Very cute hostel.. one of our favourites! Backpacky vibes and not far from town or supermarket. Good social areas with Netflix. And the owner resent on our things very kindly when we left them ! Would recommend staying here 😀

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
8.6

Comfortable rooms with ensuite toilet/shower room. Good facilities, Netflix, wi-fi, clean kitchen. The staff are what makes this place! It was a bit of a wet day when I stayed and our host took pity on me with some sound advice on where to find a waterproof and giving a soggy traveller a lift to said place 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Feb 2017
9.7

Great place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

One of our favourite hostels so far in New Zealand! Hostel owner is very kind and so helpful, there are bikes to hire which are much cheaper than hiring from the town centre and there's loads of communal space and a huge kitchen. Wifi is really good as well and the owner will come and pick you up from the bus stop. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
9.4

This place is so cool and the staff so friendly that I didn't want to leave!!! I'm going to stay ere every time I visit Taupo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
6.0

Good points- free pick up and drop off from the bus stop. The lounge area is a good spot to meet people. Not so good points- the hostel is a 20 minute walk from the city. The fridge in the kitchen is not big enough and leaks, my food was soaking. The laundry is also no good- my clothes didn't spin or rinse. It was so hot yet none of the dorm rooms have a fan or ac, we slept with the door open. Finally a extra sheet should be given as duvet covers are not washed, so hygiene is questionable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

We stayed for just one night for a quick stay as we had limited time to travel the north island. We drove Auckland to Taupo and then back up the next day. It was very relaxing, comfortable beds, great communal areas and VERY good rates.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.