Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Berkenhoff Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 212 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 212 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • barreysl3769
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jul 2017
10.0

Loved it! Booked anothee few nights :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2017
6.6

A bit off season and a bit off the boil in many respects. I also run a small backpacker and maintenance is top of the to do list. Booked through hostel world and shortly after paid an extra three dollars to delay by one day. Rather glad I printed off the h /w confirmation as a rather bad bad tempered Asian lad insisted my booking was previous night even when I showed him print out. Kitchen was well equipped but dining room and rest of public area Very off season feel to it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
8.0

Stayed in a twin private room, decent size and added bonus of having our own bathroom. It's worth it for how much you pay and not too far out of town. Unfortunately the young man that was at reception was unhelpful and quite frankly rude. The owner of the hostel on the other hand was extremely friendly, easy going and ready to help with our questions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pfarnsworth
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
27th May 2017
8.6

Great Location. Staff very helpful. Big kitchen. Room warm in the winter. Netflix a great bonus on 2 tvs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2017
9.1

Awesome, peaceful and home-like hostel. Excellent staff and clean kitchen. Comfortable beds and warm enough rooms. I liked living room a lot! Walls with texts from other travellers were awesome. I really enjoyed my stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
8.0

The owner (I presume) was really lovely and helpful. Good WiFi. Room was nice and spacious and had an en suite however there was no hand soap. Good size kitchen, dining area and nice TV lounge. Not much atmosphere but hostel was very quiet. Only real downside is quite a walk to town (10/15 mins). If you don't mind the walk it's brilliant value and definitely worth staying

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
9.7

The owner is great! A bit of a walk from town but the cozy atmosphere makes up for it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Apr 2017
6.6

Hostel is nice, staff is very friendly. Public areas are very nice, kitchen is large and clean. Location is good, close to the hotsprings and centre of the city. Room on the other hand was disgusting, checked in in a room that was empty, expected it to be clean, but was surprised with condomwrappers under the bed, mold all over the bathroom and the bathroomfan covered in dust and mold.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
5.4

I didn't enjoy the hostel even tough I very much enjoyed the town and the activities around. The bed was really uncomfortable. Staff was not attentive. The shower in my room was too short. The good thing is that it was clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
6.6

couldn't see any lockers or such available for your bags or belongs, but never really asked for this either. Booked for 4 people for one night all in one booking, when we arrived we were told we were split into 3 separate rooms, not ideal but the guy was nice enough explaining it and the hostel has some cool common rooms (you should go to a hostel for this anyway right?) Bathroom pretty run down and felt dirty, in general all run down but clean enough though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.