Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bern Backpackers Hotel&Hostel Glocke

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Feb 2017
6.0

Definitely not worth the money it costs.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
8.6

all good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
9.1

After falling in love with Bern and having this hostel as my hub, I stayed 5 nights! Excellent location, very cosy, rooms and bathrooms are very clean, the common room is well equipped, good wifi signal even in rooms and great cooking facilities. Laundry was a tad expensive 10 CHF for washing & drying + pay for our own detergent and only one toilet for the whole level (although this didn't pose a problem at the time). Very easy to travel the whole of Switzerland from Bern!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
8.9

A great hostel in the heart of Bern, it was pretty quiet because of winter but if the hostel had some activities it might attract more. I would stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
8.3

A great place to stay. It was centrally located & easy to get to the train station as well as all the sites in Bern. Each individual room unlocks with an electronic key, which made me feel very safe. Each person also has a large locker to put their stuff in. Clean bed linens were provided, and the facilities were well taken care of and clean. There was a large common room & free wifi. I am still a new "hostel-traveler" so I'm not sure about the value for money, but EVERYTHING is expensive in CH!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
10.0

I SOOO loved this place. Its right at the centre of the old town, so every major touristic attraction is at walking distance. Also, the staff is kind enough to help you get a free local transportation ticket (make sure to go to Gurten!). The kitchen is always clean and everything flawlessly organised. I also liked the little details like: placing a basket of ear plugs for the night, all the touristic info and storing your luggage before and after check in/out. Its a really cool place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel in the heart of Bern, close to the main train station and next to a stop (Kornhaus) served by bus and tram lines, which makes it easy to navigate the city. Bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. There are several supermarkets nearby, and the hostel kitchen is neat and well-equiped (congrats to the staff!). My only suggestion to the hostel is to consider serving breakfast (maybe as an extra, if it is not possible to include it in the reservation price).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
6.9

The most expensive of the two Swiss hostels I stayed in and not the best. Our booking got a little muddled up - we were supposed to be in an all female dorm but there was some french dude in our dorm once we got there. The facilities are alright - all the absolute basics are there and work more or less okay. The lounge/eating area had a friendly atmosphere. I'd say cheap and cheerful except it wasn't ridiculously cheap. Staff were really nice and helpful though, overall not a bad place to stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
8.9

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm, everyone had its own locker (a big one), and each room had a sink. The bathrooms were OK, and the overall cleanliness was good. There's a good kitchen with a good range of appliances and a common area to eat and relax really nice. The only issue is the value, but everything in Switzerland is ridiculously expensive. We've spent less than this to stay in a good Hotel (not hostel) in Vienna!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
24th Dec 2016
7.7

Great location, well equipped kitchen. The rooms and bathrooms were clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.