X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Best Island Hostel Reviews

Cankurtaran Mah.Kutlugun Sok.no 5 Sultanahmet Ista, Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
651 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Alex and the other staff where sound, and very helpful, the hostel was clean and comfortable with amazing views from the top floor, and close to some of Istanbuls most important historic sites. Would strongly recommend it.


57%

Cheapest offer for dorm room in Istanbul and you got what you deserved. The dorm room itself is kinda crowded so it's impossible to say its clean. You have doors wont be able to lock and no place to hang your stuff in shower room. No beer from the outside is allowed cause they sell it 60% more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your nice rewiew ..but ı need to remind you somethink for beer .. allshop they charge for 1 beer 6 turkish liras and ın our hostel 7 turkish liras ..thank you ı hope see you again thank you staying with us ..

80%

It's reasonable price with average facilities. But the location was excellent as it is located near to the Red mosque.


91%

Best breakfast I've ever had at a hostel. Perfect location right near the hagia sofia and a beautiful view from the terrace. Alex and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i can not imagine if there is a better hostel in istanbul, i had a great time and i met wonderful people. the breakfast is delicious! thank you

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best 7 star hostel I've ever been. Perfect Especially mr Alex so friendly and helpfull.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I stayed in the 16-bed rooftop dorm. Nice and clean. Fresh air, lots of windows, light in the morning, good view, clean and soft beds. Enjoyed my 3 days stay. Good breakfast. Only thing i can complain about is that there are no lockers. Lost a shirt. Some turd did not realize it was a crappy bootleg shirt from China and took it. No one else seemed to have any problems with this though. Stayed at the 16-bed dorm once more after.


89%

Alex,the manager,is very friendly and always helpful, had no probléms with English like in some other hostels elsewhere. The shop is nearby. Would definitely stay here again.


94%

A really wonderful, affordable option in the heart of the Old City in Istanbul! Ideal location, friendly and knowledgeable staff, all in all a great stay. The terrace tent accommodation option is ideal for people on a budget, the cheapest we could find in the city. Beautiful views! Would recommend.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

I wasn't actually planing to leave any comment; however, my friend with whom i stayed through the night at the hostel coerced me to leave that comment because of the overall dissatisfaction and a complete disappointment resulted from an unneeded and nonsense behavior of one the executives who called us downstairs from our place, then first scolded us without reason and threatened us to beat up. We literally got shocked. It is such an insecure place where there is no way i can suggest to anyone!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

what a wonderful stay Alex waş helpful wıth all my queries i can recommend the best island hostel .thank you ...

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Price consistent quality. We stayed on the terrace, it was crowded, but the views are excellent. Location is good, staff pleasant.


100%

A great hostel with fantastic atmosphere and low prices! Alex the manager is a guy fantastic guy who really goes out of his way. Not to mention he tough us all backgammon!


60%

It is an hostel but many things to improve: animals outside (we found the hostel cat twice in our room) and noise from guests and reception during the night

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your rewiew sir ... first that cat is not blong to us ı need to tell u that but ı am sorry abauth that ıf cat come to your room from wındow thank you for ınform me and sorry abauth to noise ....alex

89%

Cheapest place around by far. Staff were phenomenal. Alex hooked us up with a discounted boat cruise and leads a killer weekly pub crawl for guests. Breakfast is fine - we stayed at two other hostels and it was the same. Location is unreal. The place doesn't lack a common area; it's just outdoors. The only issue we had was that our double room was in the basement and was musty and humid. Bathrooms are tiny but clean. Very helpful with airport shuttles, tourism ideas, meeting people, etc.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

beat island was a great experience. Alex the manager and his staff are very helpful and cordial. it's the perfect place to be in sultanahmet owing to its great location. it's quiet and cutoff from the tourist crowds of the area but still makes the best tourist spots accessible. I recommend this place anytime for a great and simple stay!

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

this the best hotel .alex ıs great guy he help for everthink ı come here for 1 night but ı stay more days .clean hotel staff nice ı am so happy for stay here .thank you guys really and try to go pub crowl wıth alex he ıs crazy and u will safe with him out side and ıt gonna be best night out for you guys .......


86%

problems with wi-fi!!!!!

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Best Island Hostel is an excellent, affordable place to stay. With its proximity to the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, and the Topkapi Palace, its location simply cannot be beat. Alex and the rest of the hostel staff are super friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is delicious as well! If you're looking for a friendly place to meet new people in the heart of Sultanahmet, look no further!


94%

Usual hostel. Location is great, few steps from historic sightseens. Very quiet place. Easy to find. Was living at 4th floor - from window - ideal view to Aya Sofia. Stuff is friendly. OK for one-night-stand. Have only 1 suggestion: breakfast should be one hour earlier-) Thanks!


(68 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback