X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Best Island Hostel Reviews

Cankurtaran Mah.Kutlugun Sok.no 5 Sultanahmet Ista, Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
681 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great place! Staff was awesome. Location was perfect.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

GREAT TIME IN BEST ISLAND HOSTEL!!! Here's a few reasons why you should choose it for your Istanbul trip: - Alex The Manager is just a STAR!!! All your questions answered, all your wishes met and hanging out together as a bonus :) - Location couldn't be better, all main sights approachable with a few minutes walk - Great price that you can hardly find anywhere else. - All facilities available, if you need smth, just ask - you'll get it (like we got hairdryer and charge cable) Alina&Kris

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you very much for your nice rewiew ladys ...ı glad to you guys enjoy here ..

89%

No locks on doors for dorm but the view and Alex the owner makes up for it. Super friendly environment, free breakfast daily, and hot water for showers. Can't beat the central location, right behind the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Alex is very helpful if you need advice on how to get around. He's also got jokes for days.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

My stay in Istanbul was better because I chose to stay at Best Island. The place has a fun atmosphere, the breakfast is delicious, the location couldn't be better, and Alex, the manager, will hang out with the guests and show them the best bars/restaurants in the area. The only complaint I have is the state of the showers, but you get what you pay for and this hostel is cheap. Definitely worth a stay, and I'll book there again next time I'm in the city.


69%

The hostel was in a GREAT location and like other reviewers have mentioned we found Alex to be super helpful... the other staff desk member not so much. Be forewarned, the biggest room (12 bed dorm I think) has panoramic windows... the view is great, but there are no curtains so be prepared to be woken up with the sunrise. Also, the awesome terrace is rented out to people to sleep so that means that you really can't hang out there, which was disappointing. No real common space as a result.


100%

Rally good location, only a 5-min walk to Hagia Sophia. also the installations very clean and comfortable. highly recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you very much for your nice rewiew ıts make us happy ...we very happy to hear that ...

100%

I want to highly recommend I traveled in istanbul for a week and placed in this motel. Excellent location. in the center of the city close to everywhere (shopping and many sites of interest) Excellent price compared to what you get. in the end... I forgot my wallet with some cash and a driver's license, and them send me the wallet to my country. I could not ask for more ! Next time I am sure I will be in Istanbul in "Best Island Hotels"

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Adequate hostel with a fantastic roof top with view to the Hagia Sophia church. All attractions are walkable from the hostel. Best location!


37%

Absolute garbage. Only slightly better than sleeping on the streets. Disinterested operators more interested in smoking hookah than processing the guests. Our room was also overbooked, and we were made to switch rooms. Lockers did not work, and seemingly anyone could just walk into the hostel. Even for the low price and good location, it is still not value for money. Stay somewhere else.


89%

The most beautiful view if you stay on the balcony/16 dorm. Breakfast is good, but very light. The staff is very friendly and eager to help. Only thing that could improve is a common area for the travelers. Lack of one causes the drunk people to hang out in the dorms at nightt.. making it very difficult for people that are trying to sleep.


100%

Best Island Hostel was fantastic, as far as location goes you really can’t get better for Sultanahmet. The rooms are awesome, Walid and Alex are great. If you’re trying to stay in sultanahmet this is the place to do it.


91%

This is a great hostel, defo recommend to any lads or groups, Walid (night receptionist was brilliant and very helpful) The location is almost perfect and breakfast was good!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a very pleasant stay. The staff was great, our room was clean. Only downside: the showers should be improved and be renovated, they are not very practical (water everywhere). Thank you for this sojourn

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

So nice to stay and to enjoy the city. quite recommended.


100%

This hostel is the bomb! Very cheap and is 100% worth your money. Alex is great and the free breakfasts are an added plus.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you very much for your nice rewiew .....ı hope see you guys next time ....

86%

Alex and the other staff where sound, and very helpful, the hostel was clean and comfortable with amazing views from the top floor, and close to some of Istanbuls most important historic sites. Would strongly recommend it.


57%

Cheapest offer for dorm room in Istanbul and you got what you deserved. The dorm room itself is kinda crowded so it's impossible to say its clean. You have doors wont be able to lock and no place to hang your stuff in shower room. No beer from the outside is allowed cause they sell it 60% more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your nice rewiew ..but ı need to remind you somethink for beer .. allshop they charge for 1 beer 6 turkish liras and ın our hostel 7 turkish liras ..thank you ı hope see you again thank you staying with us ..

80%

It's reasonable price with average facilities. But the location was excellent as it is located near to the Red mosque.


91%

Best breakfast I've ever had at a hostel. Perfect location right near the hagia sofia and a beautiful view from the terrace. Alex and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i can not imagine if there is a better hostel in istanbul, i had a great time and i met wonderful people. the breakfast is delicious! thank you

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(81 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback