X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Best Island Hostel Reviews

Cankurtaran Mah.Kutlugun Sok.no 5 Sultanahmet Ista, Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
708 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Adequate hostel with a fantastic roof top with view to the Hagia Sophia church. All attractions are walkable from the hostel. Best location!


37%

Absolute garbage. Only slightly better than sleeping on the streets. Disinterested operators more interested in smoking hookah than processing the guests. Our room was also overbooked, and we were made to switch rooms. Lockers did not work, and seemingly anyone could just walk into the hostel. Even for the low price and good location, it is still not value for money. Stay somewhere else.


89%

The most beautiful view if you stay on the balcony/16 dorm. Breakfast is good, but very light. The staff is very friendly and eager to help. Only thing that could improve is a common area for the travelers. Lack of one causes the drunk people to hang out in the dorms at nightt.. making it very difficult for people that are trying to sleep.


100%

Best Island Hostel was fantastic, as far as location goes you really can’t get better for Sultanahmet. The rooms are awesome, Walid and Alex are great. If you’re trying to stay in sultanahmet this is the place to do it.


91%

This is a great hostel, defo recommend to any lads or groups, Walid (night receptionist was brilliant and very helpful) The location is almost perfect and breakfast was good!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a very pleasant stay. The staff was great, our room was clean. Only downside: the showers should be improved and be renovated, they are not very practical (water everywhere). Thank you for this sojourn

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

So nice to stay and to enjoy the city. quite recommended.


100%

This hostel is the bomb! Very cheap and is 100% worth your money. Alex is great and the free breakfasts are an added plus.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you very much for your nice rewiew .....ı hope see you guys next time ....

86%

Alex and the other staff where sound, and very helpful, the hostel was clean and comfortable with amazing views from the top floor, and close to some of Istanbuls most important historic sites. Would strongly recommend it.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
57%

Cheapest offer for dorm room in Istanbul and you got what you deserved. The dorm room itself is kinda crowded so it's impossible to say its clean. You have doors wont be able to lock and no place to hang your stuff in shower room. No beer from the outside is allowed cause they sell it 60% more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your nice rewiew ..but ı need to remind you somethink for beer .. allshop they charge for 1 beer 6 turkish liras and ın our hostel 7 turkish liras ..thank you ı hope see you again thank you staying with us ..

80%

It's reasonable price with average facilities. But the location was excellent as it is located near to the Red mosque.


91%

Best breakfast I've ever had at a hostel. Perfect location right near the hagia sofia and a beautiful view from the terrace. Alex and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i can not imagine if there is a better hostel in istanbul, i had a great time and i met wonderful people. the breakfast is delicious! thank you

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best 7 star hostel I've ever been. Perfect Especially mr Alex so friendly and helpfull.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I stayed in the 16-bed rooftop dorm. Nice and clean. Fresh air, lots of windows, light in the morning, good view, clean and soft beds. Enjoyed my 3 days stay. Good breakfast. Only thing i can complain about is that there are no lockers. Lost a shirt. Some turd did not realize it was a crappy bootleg shirt from China and took it. No one else seemed to have any problems with this though. Stayed at the 16-bed dorm once more after.


89%

Alex,the manager,is very friendly and always helpful, had no probléms with English like in some other hostels elsewhere. The shop is nearby. Would definitely stay here again.


94%

A really wonderful, affordable option in the heart of the Old City in Istanbul! Ideal location, friendly and knowledgeable staff, all in all a great stay. The terrace tent accommodation option is ideal for people on a budget, the cheapest we could find in the city. Beautiful views! Would recommend.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

I wasn't actually planing to leave any comment; however, my friend with whom i stayed through the night at the hostel coerced me to leave that comment because of the overall dissatisfaction and a complete disappointment resulted from an unneeded and nonsense behavior of one the executives who called us downstairs from our place, then first scolded us without reason and threatened us to beat up. We literally got shocked. It is such an insecure place where there is no way i can suggest to anyone!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

what a wonderful stay Alex waş helpful wıth all my queries i can recommend the best island hostel .thank you ...

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Price consistent quality. We stayed on the terrace, it was crowded, but the views are excellent. Location is good, staff pleasant.


(416 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback