X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Best Rio Hostel Reviews

Rua Ministro Alfredo Valad�ao 36, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
60 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Não fornecem cobertor quando está frio e cobram pela internet! O resto é bom.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Não senti um clima de albergue na minha estadia, o lugar tinha mais cara de pensão.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Bonne auberge de jeunesse, bien située, calme, personnel très acceuillant. Seuls points noirs, les chambres qui laissent un peu à désirer. Elles sont petites avec une petite ouverture sur un couloir. Autre chose, la propreté. La femme de ménage est débordée, dites vous bien que tout n'est pas clean. Mais sinon vous pouvez passer un très bon séjour.

  • 9th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Filthy room with no window, which caused a mildew on the wall and a funky smell that would not go away. Besides that, the room did not appear to be cleaned, even when this service was requested. The walls were so thin you could hear everything that went on in the hostel, in the other rooms, in the lounge and, of course, the buzzer that would go off at all hours of the night. A deposit was requested for the linen and towels, which was not returned until demanded. Wifi was charged to top it all.


51%

Demasiado sucio, huele mal, es muy pequeño, los recepcionistas "tratan" de ser amigables, pero realmente no dan una buena atención, tardan demasiado en atenderte !! El desayuno es malo y pobre!! En pocas palabras, muy mal hostel !!


51%

a room with nine people in bunkerbeds had a minute 10cm window opening on a corridor not even bringing in fresh air!!! almost zero ventilation which is very Un hygienic .... I couldnt even sleep that night there and slept in reception on a chair !!

  • 23rd Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

Nous avons changé d'hôtel après la première nuit : pas de fenêtre, pas de chaise, place juste pour le lit, air conditionné déficient, ventilateur trop bruyant, pas de possibilité d'allumer la lampe de chevet, linges de bain sales ....la catastrophe !

  • 7th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

Un lugar deprimente.


26%

Muy apretado, chico y descuidado. la habitacion tiene el baño adentro y eso es muy molesto p los que estan durmiendo. las camas son cuchetas triples y la cama de arriba de todo esta muy cerca del techo, me chocaba la cabeza constantemente y fue muy incomodo colocar la ropa de cama. La mayoria de los brasileros NO CONOCE la calle valadao, ni siquiera el chofer de la van q nos llevo hasta el lugar. si bien no es lejos de la playa (5 cuadras) de noche es muy desolado. Es muy sucio y sin ventilacion

  • 21st Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff (particularly Gabriel) were all extremely helpful and friendly, they really are so nice. The hostel itself is very small and the rooms are very cramped and the air con didn't work and all there was instead was a very noisy fan so it made sleeping difficult. The neighbourhood around the hostel is quite poor but generally it is safe enough. The front door is always staffed which is good for piece of mind. I'd recommend this hostel for a night or two but nothing longer as it is very basic


83%

The staff wes very friemdly and helpfull! The rooms were clean and the location is great. Only negetive point was the kitchen, wich was not fully equiped for our needs.


71%

BestRio is a hostel that has as main advantage its location. 3 Blocks away from Copacabana Beach, right next to Siqueira Campos Metro Station. You can also go by foot to cheap restaurants and snack bars, supermarkets and a 24hrs cash ATM. As a negative point, there's its size; very small, really 'tight' and almost no 'socialization areas'; mainly, the only usage of the hostel realy is to sleep. The breakfast is also very week (food tastes weird). I hope I wwas helpful ;)

  • 12th Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Me gusto mucho el Hostel , la gente de la recepcion fueron divinos, siempre nos ayudando y dando dicas dia y noche , la localizacion es excelente cerca de la principal Ns Señora de Copacabana y de la playa , ambiente super familiar , realmente les recomento a todos los viajantes que quieren pagar un valor justo y estar bien localizado en la Ciudad Maravillosa

  • 2nd Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome‎‎ Very nice hostel, great staff and excellent location, near the beach and subway, very good and cheap choice to stay in Rio Thank you guys! the perfect to stay


20%

Suítes sem janela:p. Absoluta falta de segurança no caso de incêndio, por exemplo. Quarto e banheiro nunca são limpos. Café da manhã sempre igual e com poucas opções.Cama eram vários colchões empilhados. No quarto só há cama e mais nada.

  • 10th Jul 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

O quarto e o banheiro eram higienizados todos os dias . Os funcionários sempre muito educados, nos forneceram informações sobre passeios, diversão, meios de trransporte. Todos os dias à noite acontece encontros que permite a confraternização de todos os hóspedes, sendo um momento muito rico no qual podemos trocar informações com pessoas de culturas diferentes e divertir "a lot". Não ficaria em outro lugar quando for ao Rio


20%

This was the worst place I have ever stayed in. Our first night, our room wasn't ready due to "computer problems" so my boyfriend and I had to sleep in bunk beds. The AC was only turned on at 10pm if we asked, the internet rarely worked, the breakfast was awful, and the staff was so incredibly rude. They also only gave us one towel for the shower the entire stay. When we asked for another one, they said no. My boyfriend hit his head and got blood on the sheets in the middle of the night, and they still woul


100%

Really enjoy the hostel , clean and safe , great staff and very well located !


100%

I really enjoyed. It was my second time at the Hostel. The location is excellent, close to beach and shopping. The breakfast is delicious. The bed is comfortable. The staff is very friendly. I recommend it and for sure I will return again and again.


37%

I am not sure who gave the name best Rio! I think the wording needs to be changed. I am a very experienced backpacker and I know value for money. The breakfast was awful and the afternoon/evening receptionist was rude and very unwelcoming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry if we dont field your expectations , hope you can fin a little bit of happiness in your life!! god bless you !!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback