Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Biergarten Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
Biergarten Hostel Located at Av. Getulio Vargas 161, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande-RJ, Ilha Grande.
Biergarten Hostel
Brazil
Ilha Grande Rio de Janeiro 23968000 Av. Getulio Vargas 161, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande-RJ
90% 1411
-23.1415833 -44.1685580
Biergarten Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Sep 2016
8.6

Got little to no greeting or information during my check in. Bed was comfortable and made daily. Definitely has a party environment - but there is a hammock available for chilling. Also there are cats, which is a plus in my book. One knows how to turn on the bathroom sink, possibly a highlight of the experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.1

Comfortable, secure and a great place to stay while in ilha Grande.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
8.3

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned and beds remade every day. Bathroom is my biggest complaint- some of the toilet stalls don't lock in the unisex bathroom and one stall is so small you have to sit sideways to fit. Small common area- just one wooden table other than the bar. No couches. Kitchen well equipped. Big lockers in rooms. We enjoyed our stay here despite the issues.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Such a nice hostel. Cost ~ R$120 p/n for double room, shared bathroom inc breakfast; we really enjoyed our stay. A good happy hour, comfortable bed, friendly staff, and the per kilo buffet was a delight. Not a bug in sight either! Be warned, if the weather isn't great it's difficult to enjoy Ilha Grande; we had rain so couldn't explore to the full. Best Caipirinha in Brasil. We would definitely recommend biergarten

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
9.1

Hostel was really clean and the staff was very helpful. I liked the common space!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Sep 2016
8.9

Stayed in Private room. Very clean and bed sheets were changed each day which was welcome change. Wifi was good, breakfast decent and good atmosphere. Staff very helpful and attentive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nicolebury
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.1

Hostel is easy walking from the ferry. The bar was great in the hostel and had a great atmosphere the two nights we stayed there. Breakfast was good in the morning. The rooms were good. They had lockers and used wrist bands. The staff were helpful but not always around. The owner was there on the last day and he was lovely. Wifi was good and the showers were good. Except one two of the bathroom doors didn't shut properly and couldn't be locked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.9

What a great hostel!! Everything you need - comfortable beds & large lockers. Staff were great and very helpful with info about the walks and different boat trips. Highly recommend the sunrise hike to Parrot's Peak! The kitchens are well equipped and if you don't feel like cooking the 'pay by weight' restaurant has some incredible food on offer. Location is a couple minutes walk from the main pier and is in the middle of town. Supermarket on the corner. Quiet chill out courtyard at the ba

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2016
8.9

Nice hostel, conveniently attached to bar and restaurant with lively communal areas. (Bar made it a bit loud at night). Kind staff and clean facilities. Struggled a bit with power outages during rain, even though it looked like other places on the island still had power.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
8.6

Biergarten Hostel made it extremely easy for us to explore Ilha Grande, all the staff were knowledgable of the area and were able to offer advise and tips including maps of the area. Hostel was REALLY clean, seemed as though shared bathrooms were cleaned daily and even returned to folded sheets and pyjamas! Great Caiprinhas in the bar, although opening hours slightly intermittent. Couldn't ask for a better location, would return in an instant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.