X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Biergarten Hostel Reviews

Av. Getulio Vargas 161, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande-RJ, Ilha Grande, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1022 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It was very nice staying in hostel. We really liked the safe in private room and everything was clean. Pregnant girl on a front desk gave us great recommendations of what to do on the island and some great places to eat!:) On the other hand, some other personnel are not well informed on the schedule of departure of the boats from the island and she gave us the wrong information.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Thank you to Paula for helping us arrange our trips! Had a fabulous time with Sunrise Pioneers and Elite Diving. Our room was spotless and cleaned every day. Lovely towels and bed linen provided. Comfortable beds. Really tasty buffet at night time for a reasonable price. Atmosphere brilliant at night: very chilled, great place to relax and chat and laugh and have a beer. They clear the bar between 10-11pm so you can get a good sleep. Really positive experience. Wanted to stay longer!


83%

Very nice staff, they are the reason I would recommend this hostel!

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a lovely hostel. The rooms are basic but there are plugs and lockers. The kitchen is great for cooking. The breakfast was great-fruit, tea, bread etc. The staff were amazing. They answered every question we had about tours. I became ill when I was there and the lady even accompanied to the doctor to translate. I would highly recommend staying hope

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Super happy with this hostel, ended up extending our stay another two nights. The staff were great and always ready to help, everything was always clean and the location was perfect. Great bar onsite, and the resturant served delicious food and was awesome value for money. Reverson was the best bartender and always provided a good laugh


94%

Very nice. Very friendly,facilitating staff. Breakfast could be better

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Biergarten was a great hostel. Really clean with a nice atmosphere. The communal area was great for meeting people and there was a really nice bar and restaurant down stairs. The only problem was that the showers were luke warm.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Brilliant stay at this hostel. feels like a real home away from home! the owner Vitor is very knowledgeable about the island.and very friendly. Rooms and communal areas are cleaned daily and beds comfy. Kitchen could be a little better equipped. highly recommend staying at this hostel!! great for meeting people!


89%

fab location, friendly staff! Very easy to meet other solo travellers, making evenings alone a thing of the past! Great atmosphere with a real mix of solo travellers, friends and families from all over the world, each one friendlier than the last. The three bed dorm has single (i.e. not bunk) beds which lends itself to a good night's sleep, however, this room smells (quite strongly!) of urine!


89%

Very helpfull, English speaking and friendly staff! Ilha Grande is amazing! Also the restaurant (a kilo) had really good food!

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Enjoyed the company of the cat :) maybe don't go there when allergic.


94%

Very friendly staff. Really hospitable and helpful.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff is great and very helpful. Breakfast could be better.


89%

Staff is incredibly friendly. Jean (sorry if I misspelled your name, man!) was very hospitable and friendly when we arrived the first night. We stayed in the 3-bed dorm. It seems that the mattresses needed a cleaning, but other than that it was great. I would say the strengths of the hostel are the staff, location, and price.


80%

Nice hostel with a good atmosphere. The breakfast was pretty good. The beds were comfy and thick blankets were provided as the weather was quite bad. The staff were friendly and helpful.


80%

We found the staff really helpful and friendly with brilliant English The showers were not hot and on a rainy cold day one really want a warmish shower. Didn't like the mixed bathrooms much. Prefer male female seperately. Bottom kitchen needs cups for tea.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were really helpful and the hostel was kept immaculately clean. Great breakfast included in the price.


100%

Very clean and nice hostel!


91%

Very good hostel, clean, good security, staff very welcoming and helpfull!

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really enjoyed the hostel, the Owner is very friendly and the staff are very sweet including the bar man. At the moment there is a bit of construction work going on, so the restaurant is closed. But the kitchen and communal areas are nice and easy way to meet people, plus the hot showers are awesome, especially in this cooler weather at the moment!! A slightly bigger kitchen might be handy in the future as a lot of us liked to cook and it was a bit crowded. But all in all, would highly reccomend


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Ilha Grande Hostels

Please give us your feedback