X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Big Apple Hostel & Hotel Reviews

Akbiyik Caddesi Bayramfirin Sok no:12, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
1444 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

If you want an full experience in Istanbul stay here. The people who run the hostel went way above and beyond to give us a full experience - pub crawl (must do), BBQ in Princess Islands (including a swim in the Marmara sea). I would go back in a heart beat. The staff is what makes this hostel different. Having said that I am also very happy with the accommodation.The area is great as it allows you to visit many of the major attractions within short walking distance.


94%

Great hostel. Very clean and the breakfast is fit for a king. Walking distance to all of attractions and the metro is close as well. More of a quiet hostel and good after walking around Istanbul

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent all round, so clean, great big dorms, fantastic staff. Lovely free breakfast. Staff so friendly and helpful. Beds comfortable.great roof top terrace,.fantastic atmosphere.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location, friendly staff, great breakfast assortment, specious room,... Will definitely recommend to other travelers!!


100%

This hostel was brilliant. Two reasons really, the staff and the location. The staff really went out of their way to make sure you were happy and ensure you left having a great impression of their city. And the location puts you within walking distance of key sites and interesting parts of the city for a random stroll, not to mention the lovely terrace.


100%

Nothing to complain, excellent location, very clean, good staff. The breakfast in the terrace is complete with turkish food and other stuff more common. Would definetly recommend to other people.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We felt very at home and the atmosphere was great! Super friendly and helpful staff that went out of their way to accommodate everyone. Location was within walking distance to entertainment, restaurants and historic sites. Sleeping accommodation was great for a variety of different groups. I would recommend this hostal and would definitely stay there again.


86%

The hostel is nice, clean and in a very good part of the touristic area, staff is amazing, always trying to improve the experience of guests and the terrace has an incredible view. That said, this is more a hotel than a hostel, besides the dorms everything else is closer to a hotel feeling. If I had to go back in time I'd stay here for two days, but I'd spend the rest of the time sleeping closer to Taksim Square.


100%

Very clean place. The location is perfect for visiting the sites around the old cities. The staff is very helpful, and helped book any tours you want.


100%

I will defenitly recomend this hostel to everyone whos is willing to go to istambul. The location is perfect and the ammenities as Well! Is like a hotel with the price of a hostel! Also the staff is really kind.


94%

Big Apple Hostel is a great value for your money in Istanbul. Located in beautiful Sultanhamet, it is walking distance to Hagia Sofya, Blue Mosque and the tram line. There are many charming restaurants just around the corner and the staff are happy to give you recommendations. Speaking of the staff, they are beyond helpful and offer personal attention to each guest. The rooms are lovely, I stayed in a private and a dorm and both were lovely. Modern bath- great water pressure! Highly recommend!

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel in Sultanahmet (touristic part of Istanbul) by far! The staff members are lovely and so helpfull. I was supposed to stay for 2 nights only...stayed there for a week! Breakfast is freshly made every morning and it's 2 tables long (so much choice). Go to Big Apple, you won't regret it, I promise!


100%

Great helpful staff. Best stay at a hostel yet. The breakfast buffet was so much more than i am used to in the US. The location is a quiet pocket so close to hagia sophia and the best major attractions. Beautiful view of the bosphorus from the breakfast deck. I would love to come back.


91%

Walking distance to many sites and really friendly staff always willing to help at all hours of the day.


97%

This hostel was the perfect location, a less than five minute walk to the Hagia Sophia. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and the receptionist desk was open 24 hours. There are specular views from the roof top and the complimentary breakfast was the best food I have ever eaten from a hostel. Very clean, great bathrooms. It was a little loud at night and the only place to store luggage after you've checked out was a corner on the ground floor, but overall a very solid place.


100%

thank you thank you very much!!!

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice stay at Big Apple Hostel. The staff is very kind and helpful. They have a great terrasse upstairs where you can hang out any time. The room was clean and comfy. Thanks for the nice stay at your hostel!


100%

Thanks for your kindness and helpful support always! i really enjoyed staying the hostel. i would like to visit and stay again definitly :)

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

There are so many things to do in lstanbul. To enjoy my day, it is so important to find a good accommodation. It is perfect place!!! While staying here, l can having wonderful breakfast , drinking tea , just going around a beautiful terrace where l can see the ocean. Actually, terrace is the best place l like. Also staffs were really nice and kind. They are ready to help everything l want. Just tell them!!!! They will do it for you.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were especially helpful. make us feel at home.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback