X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Big Apple Hostel & Hotel Reviews

Akbiyik Caddesi Bayramfirin Sok no:12, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
1487 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 97%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Yes i have been in Big Apple hostel from 12 jun 2015 till 19 jun 2015, The hostel location is awesome near to Sultan Ahmed metro station hardly 5 minutes walk, very central location easy access to all attractions, Hostel worth in this budget, Complimentary break fast is good. The most important thing about the hostel is, staff behavior is very good and co operative. i really enjoy my trip along with my wife and wish to come Big Apple hostel again. Abid ud din. Pakistan


100%

Everything was perfect, the manager Enwer was so friendly and elpful. 2 thumbs up!

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is super cool. The location couldn't be any better as it is close to the major attractions. The staff are always friendly and will help you with all your needs . Their breakfast is by far the best breakfast I've had out of all the hostels I've been to.


91%

Great location, very nice dorm (the curtains around the bed change everything). Awesome pub crawl! Would definitely come back!!


94%

Great location, great staff, really do recommend it


100%

Everything was good in this hostel I will definitely recommend '

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Price was excellent, they clean the facility daily. Plenty of people and places to hangout. Complimentary breakfast was a pleasant surprise. This hostel made my stay in Istanbul a pleasure.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I have stayed more than 30 hostels in 10 countries and I can say that Big Apple is the best hostel i have ever stayed. The location is perfect (2mins to blue mosque and Hagia sophia and 5 mins to tram). The terrace is awesome(there is a nice view of bosphorus and the Princess Island. You can have tea, coffee or beer while watching the ships passing by the Bosphor.) The room, toilet, shower and sheet were clean. The staff was very kind, frankly and helpful. The pubcrawl was awesome.


100%

Great Hostel and location for anybody traveling. The provided breakfast spread is amazing also and can't be beat. Definitely go on the organized excursions put on by the hostel as it is a great way to see the city. Will be back again!


100%

If you want an full experience in Istanbul stay here. The people who run the hostel went way above and beyond to give us a full experience - pub crawl (must do), BBQ in Princess Islands (including a swim in the Marmara sea). I would go back in a heart beat. The staff is what makes this hostel different. Having said that I am also very happy with the accommodation.The area is great as it allows you to visit many of the major attractions within short walking distance.


94%

Great hostel. Very clean and the breakfast is fit for a king. Walking distance to all of attractions and the metro is close as well. More of a quiet hostel and good after walking around Istanbul


100%

Excellent all round, so clean, great big dorms, fantastic staff. Lovely free breakfast. Staff so friendly and helpful. Beds comfortable.great roof top terrace,.fantastic atmosphere.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location, friendly staff, great breakfast assortment, specious room,... Will definitely recommend to other travelers!!


100%

This hostel was brilliant. Two reasons really, the staff and the location. The staff really went out of their way to make sure you were happy and ensure you left having a great impression of their city. And the location puts you within walking distance of key sites and interesting parts of the city for a random stroll, not to mention the lovely terrace.


100%

Nothing to complain, excellent location, very clean, good staff. The breakfast in the terrace is complete with turkish food and other stuff more common. Would definetly recommend to other people.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We felt very at home and the atmosphere was great! Super friendly and helpful staff that went out of their way to accommodate everyone. Location was within walking distance to entertainment, restaurants and historic sites. Sleeping accommodation was great for a variety of different groups. I would recommend this hostal and would definitely stay there again.


86%

The hostel is nice, clean and in a very good part of the touristic area, staff is amazing, always trying to improve the experience of guests and the terrace has an incredible view. That said, this is more a hotel than a hostel, besides the dorms everything else is closer to a hotel feeling. If I had to go back in time I'd stay here for two days, but I'd spend the rest of the time sleeping closer to Taksim Square.


100%

Very clean place. The location is perfect for visiting the sites around the old cities. The staff is very helpful, and helped book any tours you want.


100%

I will defenitly recomend this hostel to everyone whos is willing to go to istambul. The location is perfect and the ammenities as Well! Is like a hotel with the price of a hostel! Also the staff is really kind.


94%

Big Apple Hostel is a great value for your money in Istanbul. Located in beautiful Sultanhamet, it is walking distance to Hagia Sofya, Blue Mosque and the tram line. There are many charming restaurants just around the corner and the staff are happy to give you recommendations. Speaking of the staff, they are beyond helpful and offer personal attention to each guest. The rooms are lovely, I stayed in a private and a dorm and both were lovely. Modern bath- great water pressure! Highly recommend!

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(56 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback