X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Big Apple Hostel & Hotel Reviews

Akbiyik Caddesi Bayramfirin Sok no:12, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
1099 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great place to stay - very friendly staff and really good breakfast. Close to the major tourist sites and a good base for exploring Istanbul. I will be recommending this hostel to friends.


97%

It was great! perfectly well located,Wonderful terrace and the staff are the best (especially Charlie, our favorite actor). Just a suggestion: add the top sheet to the bed :)

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were absolutely brilliant!! Location is perfect for easy access to the bazaars, blue mosque and hagia sophia. Bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean, If you want to see Istanbul I expensively and have a great experience choose Big apple hostel . Also the breakfast is so delicious .The atmosphere is very nice. You can feel Turkish welcome from the staff. Very warm! Highly recommend it.


100%

Wonderful hostel. I enjoyed my staying there. Friendly staff, very clean and comfortable beds !!! Breakfast was amazing on the roof top..

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The roof terrace is a great place to have breakfast and also to hang out in the evenings.Easy to meet other travelers, particularly if you're traveling alone.There were many cool restaurants and historical sites within walking distance too.I had a lovely time staying here.My only regret is that I didn't stay longer The hostel was super clean with comfortable bed and showers with strong water pressure.Nice to have an airconditioner in the room too Highly recommend.High Five -High Energy İlkay :-)

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
High Five - Hive Enery !!! ;)

100%

This was my favorite hostel that I've ever stayed at! The staff was amazing, the rooms were so clean, the location was central to every major tourist spot! I recommend Big Apple to anyone looking to stay in a beautiful hostel.

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The only disappointment was no pub crawl. The staff at Big Apple is superb, people like Enver, for example.


100%

The staff were fantastic, very welcoming and helpful. Loved the spacious dorm room and rooftop bar. Great location near some of the most amazing sights in Istanbul and super close to public transport, bars and restaurants. No complaints at all, this is a great hostel and I´d gladly stay here again

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Good, clean facilities and the rooms are air-condtioned. They also offer a very good free buffet breakfast on their roof terrace. Highly recommended if you are looking for a place to stay in Istanbul.

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

. There is a view of the Bosphorous that is really breathtaking. The bar is cheap and there are always plenty of people around to share a drink or a conversation with. The staff was really helpful too Definitely plan on going back.

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel ive ever stayed at. Staff are insanely friendly, don't even think about staying anywhere else in Istanbul. That would be a major mistake on your behalf.

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The area couldn't get any better next to all the mosques and sights, in a buzzing sultanahmet district. Staff are so helpful Hilal helped me print boarding passes for my flights and gave me directions. Breakfast is amazing on the rooftop overlook istanbul and the sea overall amazing stay at one of the best hostels


97%

Bunkbeds, lockers under each bed, power strips in each room. Staff is very nice and helpful with planning. The breakfast spread is very impressive.


71%

The dorms themselves weren't great (stayed in a 14 bed). There was only a fitted sheet, pillow and a blanket (that everyone else uses). They need a second sheet. The bathrooms didn't have very good plumbing and always smelt, although this might just be typical of Istanbul. No personal lights which made it hard to see if you didn't want to wake everyone up turning the light on. Staff really nice, breakfast awesome and really good common areas. Location walking distance from most main sites.


100%

If more hostels were like this place traveling would be an even better experience, the view from the roof, and the staff and the stay were all fantastic. It was incredibly clean, and shout out to Daniel Craig and Ilkay working there, made it great.


100%

I was hesitated to book this hostel at first, however i have decided to go with Big Apple Hostel in Istanbul. As soon as i arrive at the reception, i was welcomed with a friendly smile and hospitable stuff at the desk. The facility is great either for alone traveler, families and friend groups. The stuff and manager is very friendly and helpful all of the time, they have even helped me to call my bank in States for an issue i had. (Special Thanks to Mr. Mehmet) Strongly Recommended

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was amazing, Red-one (sorry if i spelled that wrong) walked us to a restaurant that had some awesome turkish food and hung out with us and played cards. The location couldn't be any better and the rooms are all kept very clean. Also the storage lockers under the beds are a brilliant idea that every hostel should have. Also the breakfast on the roof was a great way to start each day. Thank you for a very rememberable stay.


100%

100% excellent. Perfect location in Sultanahmet area, friendly and helpful staff, great panoramic roof terrace, lots of facilities. Everything went great and we had a perfect stay.


86%

Great staff, location and best breakfast ever in hostel

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great vibe. Rooftop terrace/bar was excellent. Enjoyed drinks and conversations with new friends overlooking The Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Ancient Cistern, Palace, and much more are all within just a couple minutes walking distance definitely go back and recommend ..

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(98 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback