X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Big Apple Hostel & Hotel Reviews

Akbiyik Caddesi Bayramfirin Sok no:12, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
1358 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I stayed here again. They are so kind too. And so nice here.


91%

The guys in the front desk were really kind and helpfull. They always remembered everybody's name :) Great breakfast buffet.


97%

Good hostel overall!! It located in a very convenient location, easy access to most sight seeing places. Clean and friendly environment. There is a locker underneath each bed which is very good. Excellent Turkish breakfast with variety of choices. Nice and cool terrace which many people hang out there.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It's in the center if old city and walking distance to all historical points. Very friendly staff. Ismail is very helpful. Breakfast is super frest and terrace has amazing view if Bosporus . Thank you everybody .

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

it was a nice stay , thankx to all staffs,

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The place was spectacular! the staff are very social and kind to everyone and they definitely go beyond what they are suppose to do working there. The facilities include a roof top terrace, good wifi, a lounge and free turkish breakfast (Very filling)! One thing that could be improved is probably more social events within the hostel! Anyways, I would stay there again when I am back in Istanbul again!!


94%

Great location and vibes. Staff were wonderful, and gave fantastic recommendations. Will choose Big Apple if I'm lucky enough to return to Istanbul.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Air conditioning was broken which made the big room really hot at night.


97%

Great staff. People always in a good mood and with the right information. Location is perfect to visit all historical areas. Clean, safe and very nice place to stau in Istanbul

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

mehmet was so nice, so kind, so handsome. 너무 친절하고 깨끗하고 너무 좋았어요!!또 와야겠어요!!


100%

5 good points I would recommend: 1st; staffs were kind and helpful all the time. 2nd; the room was clean amd comfortable, 3rd; the view from the rooftop terrace was beautiful. 4th; the breakfast (good variety of vegetables and fruits) was nice. And 5th; there was a reliable seculity lockers in the lobby and room. Thank you anyway, I enjoyed Istanbul so much.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great accommodation. We booked a private double with ensuite and found it was more hotel standard with a nice modern bathroom and a television. The communal areas are high quality and well maintained. Staff are lovely and helpful. Would definitely recommend that people stay here.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The perfect hostel to stay in if you really want to see Istanbul's cultural heritage. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the place was clean, and the rooftop terrace (which served food and drink) was a great place to meet other travellers. Free breakfast! The only issue I had was that my dorm didn't appear to have a key for the door, so people could wander in and out freely which was slighly unnerving, but there were free lockers under the beds in which to lock all your stuff.


86%

It was a nice hostel with good spacious rooms and super close to all the touristic highlights of the city. Staff was great and very helpful as well.


94%

The big apple hostel is the best hostel in Istanbul! Fantastic staff who are always willing to help with anything you need. Great, clean room and really good breakfast. Easy to meet lots of people, I would never stay anywhere else!!


100%

One of the best hostels I have stayed at, Enver and Ugur go out of their way and work overtime to make your stay the best. Rooftop bar is amazing, facilities are fantastic. Hard to fault. Will definitely be back!


100%

- I loved my staff here, all the staff were so fantastic. Price was good. I will stay there in a heartbeat again!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

ﻣﻦ ﺗﻘﺮﻳﺒﺎ ﻳﻜﻤﺎﻩ اﺳﺖ ﻛﻪ ﺩﺭ اﻳﻦ ﻫﺎﺳﺘﻞ ﻣﺎﻧﺪﻡ ﺳﻪ ﭼﺎﺭ ﺑﺎﺭ ﺭﺯﺭﻭ ﻛﺮﺩﻡ ﭼﻮﻥ ﻛﻪ ﺧﻴﻠﻲ ﺗﻤﻴﺰ و ﻣﺮﺗﺐ ﺑﻮﺩ و ﺗﻤﺎﻣﻲ ﻛﺎﺭﻛﻨﺎﻥ ﺧﻮﺏ ﻣﻬﺮﺑﺎﻥ ﺑﻮﺩﻧﺪ وﻫﺮ ﺭﻭﺯ ﺑﻪ ﻫﻤﻪ ﭼﻲ ﺳﺮ ﻣﻴﺰﺩﻧﺪ ﻣﻦ ﺗﻮ ﻫﺎﺳﺘﻞ ﻫﺎﻱ ﺯﻳﺎﺩﻱ ﺑﻮﺩﻡ ﻭﻟﻲ اﻳﻦ ﺑﻬﺘﺮ اﺯ ﻫﻤﻪ ﺑﻮﺩ اﻳﻦ ﻫﺎﺳﺘﻞ ﻳﻚ ﻭﻋﺪﻩ ﺻﺒﺤﺎﻧﻪ ﺩاﺷﺖ ﻛﻪ ﺧﻴﻠﻲ ﻣﻔﺼﻞ و ﻛﺎﻣﻞ ﺑﻮﺩ و ﺩﻭ ﺗﺎ ﻛﺎﺭﻣﻨﺪ ﺩاﺷﺖ ﻳﻚ ﺯﻥ ﻛﻪ ﻭﻇﻴﻔﻪ ﺻﺒﺤﺎﻧﻪ ﺭا ﺑﻬﺪﻩ ﺩاﺷﺖ ﺧﻴﻠﻲ ﺧﻮﺵ اﺧﻼﻕ و ﺗﻤﻴﺰ ﺑﻮﺩ ﻭﻳﻚ ﻣﺮﺩ ﺑﻪ ﻧﺎم ugur ﻫﻢ ﺧﻴﻠﻲ ﺧﻮﺏ ﻛﺎﺭ ﻣﻴﻜﺮﺩ و ﺑﻪ ﻫﻤﻪ ﻛﻤﻚ ﻣﻴﻜﺮﺩ ﺻﺒﺤﺎﻧﻪ ﺩﺭ ﺗﺮاﺱ ﺧﻴﻠﻲ ﺯﻳﺒﺎﻳﻲ ﺑﻮﺩ ﻛﻪ ﺑﺎﺭ ﻫﻢ ﺑﻮﺩ ﺗﺎ 2ﺷﺐ ﺑﺎﺯ ﺑﻮﺩ

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great time at Big Apple Hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was very fun and laid- back. I enjoyed spending time on the rooftop. The breakfast was delicious. I felt like I was safe and in good hands. Nice lobby, comfy bed. Good sized lockers under beds for safe storage.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Fabulous Hostel, very clean, rooms were very nice, air conditioning was great, the rooftop terrace was amazing, a great view and friendly staff, the breakfast was also very nice, there was a nice variety and fresh fruit. Overall i had a great stay, no issues at all, the staff even let us in at around 2 am after we were out partying, the rooms were soundproof, so there was no issue with loud guests. I will definitely stay here again

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(117 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback