Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Big Apple Hostel

  • Akbiyik Caddesi Bayramfirin Sok no:12, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 1735 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 1735 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • rubilgunduz7917
  • Turkey, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
10.0

Nice and cosy atmosphere with great staff. Perfect location with a beautiful sea view on the terrace... Good breakfast with seasonal fruits. Comfortable beds and 24h hot water. It merits its fame. Thank you guys, especially for the barbeque last night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
10.0

Great hostel! Just minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The staff is really friendly and helpful and I liked the free breakfast. This place is a great value for the money. I would definitley stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
10.0

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and modern rooms, and great value for money! This was the second time I've stayed here, and it'll continue to be my first choice whenever I visit Istanbul. You get the impression that the staff have travelled the world themselves, because they know EXACTLY what's useful for a traveller: curtains and lights for each dorm bed, plenty of clean bathrooms with excellent showers, and a delicious breakfast (with a view of the Bosphorus) in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
9.1

Adurrahman (the manager) has been wonderful to us throughout our stay! He helped us in many ways - recommending places to eat, taking care of our luggages and making tour arrangements. The best part of this place - if you are looking for a place to shop the beautiful turkish lamps - they are dozens of shops nearby and wayyy cheaper than the ones in Grand Bazaar. Will def come back to stay at this place next round :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
8.3

The dorms are large but rather uninspiring. However the rooftop restaurant has oodles of character, with breakfast laid out plate-wise. The host at the reception is quite helpful. The focus is more on the hotel than the hostel, and fixtures in the bathrooms could be more thought out. Catch the Turkish TV soap operas or the local weather in the reception on the large TV, sipping on the applemint tea or zip down to Arasta bazar to breathe in the spices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
10.0

The hostel is really close to the main attractions on the european side. They have a rooftop terrace for breakfast. The staff was very helpful, many thanks for Dan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
10.0

Great Staff, fun to hang out with and very knowledgeable of the city. One of the nicer hostels I have stayed in, and for the price probably the nicest hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ismaelelhalaby
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.3

I definitely recommend this hostel , it is one of the best The hostel crew ,Aslan and dan , were one of the nicest persons i met in istanbul , they were so friendly and helpful , hostel's location is great too as well as the roof terrace which is cool by night , the best thing for me were these small curtains hanging by the beds in the dorms as i always have this problem in hostels of waking up when someone makes noise or turns the light up :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
10.0

Coming to Istanbul I had my reservations. I mean, I don't speak the language, I am not the best when it comes to navigating new cities and I didn't know what to expect. I called the hostel and spoke with the front desk to arrange an airport pickup and they gladly arranged it on my behalf. Getting to the hostel was a breeze. The location could not be better. The wifi was awesome and they will store your luggage as well. You must try the bar on the terrace! I would totally book here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
9.1

Good location. Clean, usefull things like hairdryer in the bathroom, lockers under beds, power outlets and little pouches next to each bed. Not much atmosphere while I was there. No complainta, would recomend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.