Hostelworld.com

Big Bed Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.8
Big Bed Hostel Located at Merkela 1, 5th/6th floor, Riga.
Big Bed Hostel
Latvia
Riga Merkela 1, 5th/6th floor
59% 155
56.9482160 24.1199254
Big Bed Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
10.0

Staff offered me free stay for a review - pretty nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
4.9

First, it was not so easy to find, because they do not have sign on street outside, when i came to check in reception lady told that the do not have empty rooms, even if i have reservation before 2 weeks and they confirm it and then i just do not have anywhere to go and stayed in the street in night. it was the worst experience with the hostrel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
10.0

This is a cheap ,friendly hostel with good location,just near the central station.There is a big shopping mall nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
8.6

The hostel is in the center of Riga and the staff are really nice. We spend just one night and we don't have anything bad to say about this hostel. Great value for money. If I ever come to Roga again I will check this hostel for sure .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
2.0

It is quite probably that when you get Big Bed hostel, they are goin to tell you there is "overbooking" and they are going to take you to another pirate hostel far from he center

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Mar 2016
2.6

Worst place ive ever been in. A good location but that is only because it is opposite the train station. You have to enter it through a McDonalds and go to the top floor. All other guests are old eastern european workers. The whole place smells of smoke, the 'kitchen' is a kettle on the window sill, and the toilets double as a kitchen sink, males were using both male/ female toilets freely. Do not enter as a female. Rooms dont come with a key. staff didnt understand our reasons not to stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • gykovari459
  • Hungary, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
3.7

Big disappointment. This isn't a hostel for travelers but for unsavory characters, breakfast is a banana and some cookies, free coffee if you find a cup you are willing to drink from, we wouldn't. Our room was bright from street lights and loud from people yelling, smashing doors. Only 3 bathroom for the 2 floors, all tiny, mixed and very dirty, vastly inadequate. Security lockers were either full or broken. Would not recommend it at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2016
3.4

Our stay in Big Bed Hostel was really terrible. There were bugs (dead and alive) all aroud the kitchen, the toilets and showers were old and dirty, there is any kind of security so everybody could come into your room. The personal was kind but they didn't speek English well. The hostel's location is only ten minutes away from the old center.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Dec 2015
2.0

it is the worst hostel in the world, where staff think that they can do whatever they want, even hit someone, be careful!! They do their job only after police come. there also is very dirty,in some rooms no light,it's just about 3 meters of space for 6 person. In this place no rules and laws.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.