X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Big Chill Hostel Reviews

Rua da Ponta da Piedade, Lt23, Lagos, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
196 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Lovely people, lovely place! Perfect if you're looking for a chilled out break

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A brilliant hostel! Fantastic atmosphere, welcoming staff, great facilities and so close to some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen.


80%

I just loved the super chill and friendly atmosphere of big chill!! The place truly felt like a safe home than a hostel. Really nice kitchen and common areas (including balcony and rooftop terrace!), bathrooms could have been fresher but i didn't mind. Great location a little bit outside the city center by the best beaches. Definitely recommended!!!!!


100%

This hostel has the greatest atmosphere and definitely lives up to its name, very chill! But still very social which was awesome! The staff instantly make you feel like family. And although the location may not be in the center of town, its right next to the beaches which is what makes the Algarve worth visiting! Definitely coming back to this hostel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Lagos! The Big Chill is amazing all around!

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at, so friendly everyone gets treated like family, and will help you with anything you need. Great location right near the beach and walking distance to town. I'll definitely be back to stay here.


100%

Lee, Kaz, Karly, and Leah.. You guys were and are amazing. Really felt at home with Big Chills. Great location( closest hostel to the best beaches in Lagos as far as I know.) Staff members? They're basically families. Highly recommended to those who are looking for a super-chilled, homelike hostel. Sean


97%

This has been one of my best hostel experiences ever. The staff is great, very accommodating and friendly. The manager, Lee is the best! Everyone is treated like family and it's such a relaxed atmosphere. The staff also organizes different activities like a free pub crawl, pizza and movie night, and a bbq. The location is also great a short walk to great beaches and a 10 to 15 minute walk to town. This hostel is a great value for your money and I would definitely stay here again.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Lee, kas and Karly made our stay absolutely amazing! The place feels like home and although intending on staying two nights we stayed four and it was still not enough!! Thanks so much guys! xxxx


100%

Karly, kaz, and lee were the bomb. Stay at Big Chill because you can either party hard or just chill at the hostel and watch a movie and eat pizza. They've got it all!


20%

The guy working there was the least welcoming of any hostel host I have ever come across in my 13 years of hosteling and he said "bro" way to much. His sister wasn't as rude though, and neither was the other girl who didn't really speak English (she had some good vibrations)...and the free breakfast was probably worst than any of the so called free "breakfasts" all across Spain and portugal. I'm trying to find something nice to say....I really want to....hum


40%

The Big Chill's profile is misleading.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place to stay, feels like home from the minute you walk in. Lee is the man


89%

Great location right near the beach. Staff was very nice and they had a fun bar crawl.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Always an amazing place to stay, great environment created by the staff, instantly feel at home and welcome . This was my third time of staying there and it won't be my last. Love the location. Love the facilities. Love the free breakfast at a reasonable hour rather than too early. Love the vibe. The hostel is clean tidy and respected by all other travellers too. It's secure and very close to the beach. Great place to stay for any traveller! I love it.


100%

Excellent staff. Lovely hostel, very welcoming and informative! Always clean. Excellent location, very close to beach nightlife.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

I would not recommend this hostel at all. The door was broken, the phone did not work, the printer out of service, very poor breakfast. The unique selling point was the location. Apart from that, it is not worth it to go there.


86%

Fabulous atmosphere, great location, and amazing people. The facilities were somewhat subpar - the washrooms were a bit gross, and the shower didn't really work. Also, the washer/dryer and hot tub were not working, and it would have been nice to know that ahead of time.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had such a fantastic time here! Definitely recommend it. Great location with awesome staff.


100%

This place is the bomb. The location is perfect, the hostel super clean, we'll run and tons of character. You guys rocked our world, we would stay again in a heartbeat. Katie & Kylie :)

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel! Lee and Carly were amazing hosts and everything ran super smoothly. Location is unbeatable and vibe and all was great!

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Lagos Hostels

Please give us your feedback