Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Big Chill Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
Big Chill Hostel Located at Rua da Ponta da Piedade, Lt23, , Lagos.
Big Chill Hostel
Portugal
Lagos Lagos/ Algarve 8600 Rua da Ponta da Piedade, Lt23
80% 282
37.0900712 -8.6720967
Big Chill Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2016
9.7

Awesome place, miguel is a legend. Great atmosphere, right nest to amazing beaches, about a 7 min walk from the center of town. Close enough for the party, but far enough away that you can relax and get a proper nights sleep. Would stay there again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Aug 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel, close to some beautiful beaches. Miguel who works there is a legend too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
4.6

Overall not the best experience. The showers are cold, the location is pretty far from the city, and the staff is pretty disorganized. There's also a really weird vibe here, and not much backpacker atmosphere at all. It's nice that it's close to the beach, but overall would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
9.4

This hostel was great and Miguel was super nice and helpful. It's located 5 min walk from two beaches and 10 min walk to the city center/strip of restaurants and shops. It's also an easy 20 min walk from the bus station. There is a small supermarket next door and a larger market just 7 min away towards city center. The only negative is the wifi was slow in our room but we came to the beach wanting to disconnect and it was faster in the common area. Thanks Miguel for the great time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.6

Big chill was exactly how described very chill. The place was super relaxed and had a good vibe about it. A little further out from the town but in a good spot to go to some nice beaches. It wasn't the most organised hostel...but I still had a great time there. Ricardo was awesome!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
7.7

If you read all the reviews, you're getting exactly what it says. The staff isn't overly helpful at all, but they do their job. The location is just about as close as you can get to a beautiful beach and beautiful views. There were lockers to lock your stuff up and the room was surprisingly comfortable (temperature and space) despite having so many beds. We aren't partiers, so we skipped the bar crawl, but everyone else seemed to love it & we didn't feel out of place - would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
2.9

Horrendous!! Bathroom door didn't close, no shower upstairs. Requested to change rooms as my sheets looked unchanged and cover had mould on. Changed rooms and the person on front desk was rude. New room didn't get new sheets from the previous person, multiple requests to get fresh sheets and got told there was none left. No toilet paper in any bathroom for over 24hrs. Staff unhelpful and provided no assistance in getting round or things to do! DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Unclean and unfriendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jul 2016
5.1

Wanted to like the place but too many issues. Lack of comms between staff; at check in we had a change to the booking we had emailed 5 days prior but 'they haven't checked emails' and told me I needed to contact the website directly to get it sorted. Bathrooms were filthy, the shower head was broken, no toilet paper. Friends wallet and headphones were stolen from our room while out for 5 mins. A bit out of the way from the town if you are going back and forward a lot but close to beaches

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Jul 2016
3.7

Bathrooms were shocking! No toilet paper or soap. Also atmosphere was pretty lacking and despite locking doors and window on leaving, when we came back everything was always wide open.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.4

I had a very interesting stay at the Big Chill Hostel. I loved the location, right next to the beach and about a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre, a supermarket 7 minutes away. Low price so do you get what you pay for - but if you can deal with minor disorganisation and uncleanliness - It's a hostel (everything worked out). I didn't have too many complaints though, the people and staff I met, and experiences I had at this place made it incredibly memorable and I would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.