Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Big Chill Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
Big Chill Hostel Located at Rua da Ponta da Piedade, Lt23, , Lagos.
Big Chill Hostel
Portugal
Lagos Lagos/ Algarve 8600 Rua da Ponta da Piedade, Lt23
81% 262
37.0900712 -8.6720967
Big Chill Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
2.9

Horrendous!! Bathroom door didn't close, no shower upstairs. Requested to change rooms as my sheets looked unchanged and cover had mould on. Changed rooms and the person on front desk was rude. New room didn't get new sheets from the previous person, multiple requests to get fresh sheets and got told there was none left. No toilet paper in any bathroom for over 24hrs. Staff unhelpful and provided no assistance in getting round or things to do! DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Unclean and unfriendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jul 2016
5.1

Wanted to like the place but too many issues. Lack of comms between staff; at check in we had a change to the booking we had emailed 5 days prior but 'they haven't checked emails' and told me I needed to contact the website directly to get it sorted. Bathrooms were filthy, the shower head was broken, no toilet paper. Friends wallet and headphones were stolen from our room while out for 5 mins. A bit out of the way from the town if you are going back and forward a lot but close to beaches

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Jul 2016
3.7

Bathrooms were shocking! No toilet paper or soap. Also atmosphere was pretty lacking and despite locking doors and window on leaving, when we came back everything was always wide open.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2016
7.7

Ricardo was so helpful and nice when I checked in. He made everyone feel welcome and was full of energy. The location of the hostel is super far away from downtown. The beach is relatively close, 5-20 minutes depending on which one you go to, but to get to downtown for food or drinks its about a 20 minute walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jun 2016
7.7

Big Chill is a good hostel to stay but the owner don't worry about the cleaning... There's a baby dog who barks all the time which is a bit annoying sometimes, especilly during the night. But the staff is nice and the pubcrawl is propably nice too but the night I went it was boring. One thing you need to know... The wifi sucks af and there's no more hot water when few people took thiers showers!!! Buuut you have a bed, a kitchen and showers so it isn't that bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jun 2016
5.1

Pros: Great location, really close to a beautiful beach and convenience stores are nearby. Only a 10 minute walk to centre of Lagos. Kitchen available. Cons: staff fight with each other in front of guests and set a really bad atmosphere. They had pretty terrible attitudes most of the time and often weren't around (don't make themselves available). Also not very clean, the bathrooms are gross. Good hostel if you don't hang around during the day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Big Chill is an amazing hostel and could not have a more appropriate name. It's right near the beaches and has a super relaxed vibe and great common areas. Easy to meet plenty of people and it's not obnoxious like a lot of other hostels in Lagos - you can actually spend your time relaxing as well as partying, you don't have to be partying 100% of the time (though the option is there). The staff were super friendly and there is a really homely vibe to the place. 100% would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
10.0

This place is seriously AMAZING! I have stayed in hostels all over the world, and Big Chill is one of the best I've encountered so far. Location is perfect if you want to be close to the beautiful beaches & just a short walk from town as well. When I arrived, everyone was so friendly. Ricardo is the perfect host! He helped me set up an epic kayak adventure on short notice & arranged my bus transfer to Lagos too. He treats all his guests like family, and I can't wait to visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
10.0

We had a great stay at the big chill, Ricardo took care of everything for us, from transfers to places to visit and pub crawls! The staff are really friendly, the hostel is well kept and you get to meet a variety of people here. Definitely would visit this hostel again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jun 2016
7.7

Overall I enjoyed my stay at big chill. I really liked the location, really close to the beach and only a short walk into town. Most of the staff were really lovely and very helpful, offering to help out with anything, even booking activities such as kayaking for guests, however some were a little rude and made guests uncomfortable. A big problem was the wifi. It didn't work in our room and barely worked in the common areas either, which was frustrating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.