Hostelworld.com

Big Chill Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 244 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 244 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
Big Chill Hostel Located at Rua da Ponta da Piedade, Lt23, , Lagos.
Big Chill Hostel
Portugal
Lagos Lagos/ Algarve 8600 Rua da Ponta da Piedade, Lt23
86% 244
37.0900712 -8.6720967
Big Chill Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Big Chill is an amazing hostel and could not have a more appropriate name. It's right near the beaches and has a super relaxed vibe and great common areas. Easy to meet plenty of people and it's not obnoxious like a lot of other hostels in Lagos - you can actually spend your time relaxing as well as partying, you don't have to be partying 100% of the time (though the option is there). The staff were super friendly and there is a really homely vibe to the place. 100% would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
10.0

This place is seriously AMAZING! I have stayed in hostels all over the world, and Big Chill is one of the best I've encountered so far. Location is perfect if you want to be close to the beautiful beaches & just a short walk from town as well. When I arrived, everyone was so friendly. Ricardo is the perfect host! He helped me set up an epic kayak adventure on short notice & arranged my bus transfer to Lagos too. He treats all his guests like family, and I can't wait to visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2016
7.7

Overall I enjoyed my stay at big chill. I really liked the location, really close to the beach and only a short walk into town. Most of the staff were really lovely and very helpful, offering to help out with anything, even booking activities such as kayaking for guests, however some were a little rude and made guests uncomfortable. A big problem was the wifi. It didn't work in our room and barely worked in the common areas either, which was frustrating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jun 2016
10.0

Great location by all the main beaches. The staff are great, particularly Ben, absolute champion. The pub crawl was good as well. Highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
9.7

It is a very good place, near the moat beautiful cities in town. The staff is very friendly and receptive. Also it is a very nice ambient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
8.9

This place was so much fun! My friend and I met some incredible people while staying at this hostel. Everyone was friends with each other & it was just a very welcoming and warm environment to stay in. The staff are so helpful and are all about making your stay the best it can be. They work extremely hard to keep the hostel in good shape. The hostel is the perfect size - great community! Centre is around a 10 minute walk, but you are minutes from the beaches - and that's all that really matters!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th May 2016
5.1

Could not get in contact with this hostel to amend booking. Would not recommend. There are lovely clean hostels for the same price that are in Lagos.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
8.3

friendly helpful staff, great location, good facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
10.0

Big Chill is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Ricardo, the manager, is the greatest. He would drive us into town at night, take us to the train station, tell us all about the good restaurants and bars. Great community at the hostel, mostly young travelers who like to have a good time. I definitely recommend staying at Big Chill if your in the Lagos area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels for so many reasons. The location is perfect- 1 min walk to the gorgeous beach with delicious local restaurants and bars. The manager (Ricardo) was phenomenal, not only did he always have a smile on his face he helped us with EVERYTHING- drove us to the grocery store, made and ate dinner with us, drove us out to town for the night life, and kept the place running smoothly and enjoyably. There is a balcony with a great view and a hot tub, and a kitchen and washing machine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.