Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Big Chill Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
Big Chill Hostel Located at Rua da Ponta da Piedade, Lt23, , Lagos.
Big Chill Hostel
Portugal
Lagos Lagos/ Algarve 8600 Rua da Ponta da Piedade, Lt23
79% 292
37.0900712 -8.6720967
Big Chill Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.9

The staff were friendly, helpful and professional, all of our requests were attended to. The room was comfortable, the commons places were great , a big terrase behind with enough place to eat and relax. It's a really nice place to chill after the beach. The location is great, next to an amazing beach. I recommended this place !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
6.3

The hostel has a lot of potential, but seems to need some maintenance in a few key areas. Good location if you want to be close to the popular beaches. Security could be better at the main door, which is often left open or unlocked.Wifi is spotty at best. Showers are weak and one overflows because there seems to be a problem with the drain. Atmosphere of guests and staff is real good; chill vibe like the name suggests. Like I said-great opportunity exists here, but some changes need to be made.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
5.1

I had to wait two hours to check in, once the hostel manager arrived he offered a crappy apology and no sympathy. There was no towel in the bedroom, the sink was leaking and the solution was a small bucket underneath which constantly overflowed and the window was broken. Once having left the hostel, I received a call the day later accusing me of leaving with out paying. I paid cash to the hostel manager on arrival. Unorganised hostel with no customer service, Lack of effort/care.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Aug 2016
7.1

Big chill hostel is a great hostel if your looking to relax at the beach while you stay in Lagos. Great staff and a great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
8.6

Perfect location next to the best beaches in Lagos! The place felt like a house party, big family type of feel. And Miguel was great! We were a little hesitant about him, but as the day went on we learned to love him! Would go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Aug 2016
7.7

Cool atmosphere at this hostel, very easy to meet people and socialise. Bit out of town, however it is close to all the best beaches. Some of the bathrooms could definitely do with an upgrade.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Aug 2016
9.7

Awesome place, miguel is a legend. Great atmosphere, right nest to amazing beaches, about a 7 min walk from the center of town. Close enough for the party, but far enough away that you can relax and get a proper nights sleep. Would stay there again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
7th Aug 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel, close to some beautiful beaches. Miguel who works there is a legend too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
4.6

Overall not the best experience. The showers are cold, the location is pretty far from the city, and the staff is pretty disorganized. There's also a really weird vibe here, and not much backpacker atmosphere at all. It's nice that it's close to the beach, but overall would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
9.4

This hostel was great and Miguel was super nice and helpful. It's located 5 min walk from two beaches and 10 min walk to the city center/strip of restaurants and shops. It's also an easy 20 min walk from the bus station. There is a small supermarket next door and a larger market just 7 min away towards city center. The only negative is the wifi was slow in our room but we came to the beach wanting to disconnect and it was faster in the common area. Thanks Miguel for the great time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.