Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Big Fish Las Palmas Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • amilou
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
10.0

Big Fish was extremely clean and everyone there was super nice and helpful. You all feel like one big family. Big Fish is in a great location for shopping, going to the beach and exploring the island. I will definitely be going back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Yes this hostel is very very good in term of location, facilities and everything but it really is all about the people working there. From the very cool and approchable owner to all the volunteers working there, everybody is super chill ! You feel like you are part of the family, they hang out with you in the common area or the rooftop terrasse and they will show you the good spots to go out. Never felt so much at home before in a hostel so YES I RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL TO ANYONE !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.7

Very good location. Nice staff. Could do with additional bathrooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.4

I had a great time staying at this hostel. The staff and volunteers were all really friendly and created a relaxed and happy atmosphere. I didn't get the best sleep during my stay as sound travels through the building and my room was on the ground floor close to the front door which opens and closes a lot as people come and go! It has a good kitchen with an amazing coffee machine and a cute roof terrace where you can hear the sea.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
10.0

It is a very good hostel next to the crowdy beach with a lot of stuff going on around. It's the Canary's capital after all. Hostel has a fully equipped kitchen with unlimited supply of clean filtered water to drink and a stove to cook a food on. WiFi is fast and stable. Perfect public transportation around the city and the island itself. I without a doubt recommend this hostel if you are first time Gran Canaria traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • youngtab8432
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.1

An excellent social hostel with a roof terrace open until 10pm and a balcony lounge at reception. Decent kitchen, no food or drink sold on premises (cooked or otherwise) but plenty of nearby shops. Buzzer entry, no locks on rooms, lockers a bit inadequate (in 6-bed dorm, only 2 were big enough for a rucksack, with 4 small ones. Beds too low to place items under them). En suite bathroom in my dorm. Friendly, helpful staff. Perfect for my needs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.0

Clean and chilled. Staff Always available, depending on the personality whether friendly or not.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.1

Really enjoyed staying at this hostel. Perfect location city-wise, and so close to the beach! The communal areas make it really easy to meet and hang out with other travelers. Good kitchen, nice rooftop terrace with a view of the beach. My only complaint would be that the dorms are a bit cramped - seems like too many beds in one room, but you're only really there to sleep anyway. Plan to stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kathryn1588678
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Feb 2017
7.1

Good points first WiFi was good, staff kindly printed out our boarding passes and the location beside the beach was ideal. Bad points I'm not really a fan of dorms with lots of glass they let in too much light and it's kind of like sleeping in a goldfish bowl but nothing we couldn't live with for one night. Noise levels weren't too bad considering the location, quietened down around about midnight. Overall wouldn't mind going back to this hostel but I'd probably try somewhere else first.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.3

The hostel has a nice kitchen and roof terrace, so it's easy to get to know other people. The hostel also has personel walking around the whole day, who can give tips on what to see and do in the city or further away. Breakfast is not included, but tea and coffee are free. Especially the coffee is great! Beds are clean, however the floor could have been cleaner in our opinion. Supermarkets, ATMs and lots of restaurants are close by, just like the bus station at Parque Santa Catalina. Very nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.