Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Big Fish Las Palmas Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6
Big Fish Las Palmas Hostel Located at Sargento Llagas 34, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria.
Big Fish Las Palmas Hostel
Spain
Gran Canaria Las Palmas 35007 Sargento Llagas 34, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
88% 413
28.1404942 -15.4353914
Big Fish Las Palmas Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
10.0

Big Fish is like home! Stayed here 3 nights at the start of our trip in the 8 bed dorm (which was a little squishy but comfy otherwise) and decided to come back at the end for 6 nights (in the private double room which was huge and great) because the place is so chill and central. Everyone was awesome, went to some great places during the nights, and some beach trips during the day. BBQ night is recommended too. Planning on heading back to Las Palmas ASAP. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
4.9

I came to this place earlier this year, and it was okay, but ever since it has been degrading... and a lot, it's dirtier than before (there were cockroaches), some people staying are a bit weird. The staff was very welcoming and nice, but I would consider staying in another hostel next time, HiTide is my favorite alternative so far.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
9.4

Second time here. Still loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
10.0

As someone travelling alone, it was really nice to arrive here and find the atmosphere is more like a home than a hostel. The staff are very helpful and friendly, with organized Tapas and BBQ nights every week! The hostel is in a perfect location, next to the beach with plenty of shops around, as well as the bus station a 5 minute walk away. The staff also provide loads of information on things to do around the island, so theres never a dull moment! Cannot rate Big Fish highly enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.4

Perfect location with amazing staff. The staff organise regular trips out based on requests of what people want to do which was really fun. Good atmosphere in the hostel. Value for money!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
8.0

The rooms where a bit crammed with little lockers, and also only had two bathrooms for the whole hostel. Other than that the staff was friendly and location could not be beat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
6.3

We expected our stay at Big Fish to be wonderful but faced disappointment upon check in. The staff was somewhat absent and not helpful at all - aside from CJ who was absolutely wonderful! Unfortunately his last night was our first but his recommendations allowed us to save money while enjoying a great stay in Gran Canaria. The facility was cluttered and messy (food & dishes left on the kitchen counter and coffee table, mostly from staff members, for hours). However, location was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
5.4

The hostel did not meet my expectations for the following reasons. The staff appeared drunk or high majority of the time, the rooms were very cramped, the office would not accept cards but when we paid cash, they never had enough change for us, and it just felt dirty throughout the building. One new employee was especially rude to one of my friends, a customer, and she ended up leaving early.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.7

Thank you to the staff of Big Fish Hostel for being great and friendly hosts during our visit. The location could not have been more perfect, right near Playa de Canteras. Everyone we met was so nice and willing to go the extra mile to help us with whatever we needed. If I make it back out to Gran Canaria again, I would stay here again because it is a great base to go from to explore the island. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who passes through Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.