X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Big Fish Las Palmas Hostel Reviews

Sargento Llagas 34, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
318 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best hostel in Gran Canaria!


100%

I would recommend Big Fish to everyone its chilled out clean place lovely terrace with hammock and Las Palmas has nice climate not too hot.Staff very helpful very clean


89%

Everthing very cool. Especially the roof terrace. One Disadvantage: Matrresses are old and bad.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing Staff! Lovely place, feels like you just arrived home. only few steps to the ocean or just skip it and jump :)


100%

Big Fish Hostel is the perfect place to feel you are at home! The staff is very nice all they are lovely and also helpful people. Good location, arty design and clear rooms thank you guys that was perfectly fine. Special thanks to: Viki, Maicol, Andi, Sinan, Petra, Edit

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was great, they organize fun trips, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the place is very clean, it's almost on the beach. It's a perfect place for a fun and also relaxing holiday and to make new friends. It's very hard to leave :)

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The Big Fish Hostel is a wonderful place with amazingly friendly people. There are tons events and trips being organized for the guests including a sightseeing trip around the island which you absolutely have to do!!! :D The only little problem is that it tends to get quite loud on thursday and friday night because of a club which seems to be on the opposite side of the street. If you like to go out and meet new people this is definatly the place for you!!!


94%

It was an amazing stay. People was friendly, atmosphere was warm and welcoming. I wish I could stay longer than I originally did. Definitely, one of the best experiences I ever had. P. S. Hostel decoration was amazing:)

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I had my best experience in a hostel!! the environment was very friendly and the staff was really helpful,they were organizing every night something different and funny!! It s a perfect option for a group of friends or neither for single person

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing atmosphere, lovely staff make this hostel the best in the world and I travel a lot

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great experience staying at the Big Fish. It's on the beach, clean, comfortable and fun hostel. There's a big kitchen, a rooftop terrace and a living room where you can make friends and have fun.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had the best time at Big Fish! It's really clean, the staff are great, there's a 24-hour reception service, AND it's less than a one minute walk from the beach. It's in a cool area, right on the boardwalk - so there are always things to do and see. To top it off, the hostel offers an incredible day-long tour of the island for only 20 euros...you have to do this! It was by far the highlight of our time spent in Gran Canaria.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Not bad for a night, i was in the bottom dorm which is close to the enterence so that got a bit loud with people coming and going. Staff were great and the lounge area is very nice.


100%

Everything was just perfect. :) I loved the staff, the atmosphere and the location the most.


94%

The location is excellent - the hostel is right next to the beach as well as a short walk away from Santa Catalina Park where buses from airport arrive. The staff is friendly and they organize some nice common events such as dinner, tapas nights in the old town and day trips with hostel van around the island. All this for very affordabable prices. The hostel is in a four storey building. Two grocery stores, Spar and HiperDino are a short walk away adding more value to this hostel's location.


86%

Overall a very nice hostel. It has a very laid back, hippie feel to it. The staff seems kind of disorganized. We tried to rent bikes one day and the bikes didn't work. One didn't have a petal, two were too big and too rusty to put the seats lower. So if youre short I don't recommend renting bikes.


97%

The best youth hostel I've ever seen in all my travels ! So cool ! It's like a dream. I would stay here all my life if I could.


94%

It is a really nice hostel, close to the beach and bus station. The atmosphere is excellent, go there if you like people and good company. The staff is really helpful. Kitchen and bathroom are nice and clean. Highly recommend this hostel


91%

Very nice hostel! One of the best we've been to. Nice staff, right next to the beach and a great rooftop terrace! :)


94%

Thanks a alot again for the great Pasta !!!! And for the nice trip to Roque Nublo and the familiar atmosphere at the hostel :D




View all Gran Canaria Hostels

Please give us your feedback