Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Big Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 909 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 909 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
4.6

Would be better served as a youth Hostel. Did not like the atmosphere. Our room door could not be closed, poor security. Expensive for what it is.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Apr 2017
10.0

The workers were very nice and helpful. So easy to travel anywhere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.3

Staff are friendly and helpful with the fact I've injured my ankle, gave me a room that I can get to just using the lift. Kitchen is clean, with fridges & shelves to store things, there's also a "free food" box which you can use to make meals. There's lots of longterm people so it's not very sociable but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Might be slightly more expensive than others but you definitely can tell they take care of the place. Also a good location, quick walk to central station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
8.3

Big Hostel is great if you're wanting a more chilled out place. The rooms were big, with plenty of space for your things, wifi works really well, people are respectful and friendly, and the staff are nice. I would recommend for people who are starting work, and need a place to crash before they get their own place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.4

Okay for some nights but nothing special! Everything seems kind of run down and there are a lot of signs telling you what to do and what not do all over the place. Close to central station but pretty long walk to the harbour. The free wifi only works in the common area and not upstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Apr 2017
7.1

Not a bad price for Sydney - great location and staff really friendly but facilities/cleanliness lacking. Showers (3 unisex for entire floor) were never clean and some bunk beds really do need replacing. Though it didn't affect me, the constant CCTV watching and naming & shaming of people seems a bit questionable....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.6

I stayed 3nights and it was a good hostel. Big and not too far away to the city. In case if its raining there is a bus. I recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2017
10.0

strict with its rules - but it works, no one leaves dirty plates etc in the kitchen, everyone is respectful in the dorms. Staff are super friendly and it has a fantastic hangout area and kitchen - with free wifi there which I feel is a rare thing in Australia! Handy location, super close to the Central Station and walking distance from the museums and shopping centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
6.6

Not as good as the pictures...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.6

I've stayed at this place twice now, once on my own and once with friends. I really do recommend. You get a decent nights sleep, clean sheets and room, showers are nice, laundry facilities are good...and to top it all off you get free breakfast every morning, so no need to buy tea bags/milk/bread if you're only staying a few nights 👍 I would say though, if you're looking for a hostel/party vibe then you're better off somewhere else. It's more of a residential feel here (which I prefer anyway).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.