Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Big Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 844 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 844 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3
Big Hostel Located at 212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills, Sydney.
Big Hostel
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2010 212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills
86% 844
-33.8802495 151.2091040
Big Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jan 2017
8.9

I only stayed one night, but I was impressed with the facilities and the room. It was a really nice hostel and I wish I had more than one day there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
9.1

If you are in a coed room the bathrooms are coed!! Never experienced that in a hostel before. Extremely nice staff and good location close to Central Station! Overall nice spot for a couple nights but wouldn't want to stay for long period of time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Jan 2017
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay here, the en suite bathroom was a luxury. The rooms were clean with lockers big enough for all your belongings and there was even a clothes rail and shelves. The kitchen was well stocked with all you need for cooking and storing your food. There was free breakfast every morning, however I never made it down in time. Check out is 11am. The only downside for me was my bed was so hard and uncomfortable. However I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
8.9

Great location. Girls dorm was big with lots of storage space. Decent size kitchen. Lack of mirrors in bathrooms and rooms means girls have to sometimes compete for space in the mornings/evenings. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Dec 2016
8.9

Great hostel to stay in. Staff are very friendly, they all did a fantastic job, it is well cared for. This was definitely the best I have stayed in around Sydney, best out of 5 in fact. Would recommend for anyone to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Dec 2016
10.0

Excellent location, top facilities, clean, great location and friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2016
10.0

Just, wow. I've been to 5 different hostels in Sydney and this was the winner in almost all accounts. The staff were super nice and helpful, all the facilities were constantly being cleaned, free WiFi, free (really good) breakfast. Also not one of the most expensive ones. This hostel is a winner even in details - stuff like providing sunscreen for people going to the beach - that just shows that they genuinely want everyone to have a great experience. And we did. 10/10, hands down. A

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fancysteph
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice stay here. Good location just 5 mins walking to central station and close to lots of place, secured room and really nice friendly helpful staff. free wifi in ground floor, really thoughtful with sunscreen provided.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.4

I did a last minute booking just in time only had one night available staff was helpful and friendly. I forgot my charger emailed and got a quick response picked it up later and was allowed time in the common room. Would have stayed if there was availability.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.0

Conveniently located close to the train station. Staff was very nice, got upgraded due to availability and they were overall very helpful. Was happy about the upgrade (4-bed dorm w/ensuite instead of 8-bed dorm) when I saw the 8-bed dorm - guess it's due to many long-termers but that room was a mess! Invest a couple of dollars more for a smaller room, it's worth it (no lockers though). Rooftop is super nice, we were alone up there as everybody was staying downstairs for the free WiFi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.