Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Big Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 922 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 922 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2017
8.0

Good Location & friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • vikram1994g
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd May 2017
9.7

Great hostel overall, very friendly staff, could have had a larger variety for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2017
5.7

I was there for 3 nights, paid $35 each. The 1st night, a girl came back late, lit up the light though people were asleep. The next day, she came back around 2am and started drunkenly chatting with a friend OUT LOUD. We had to repeatedly ask them to be quiet and they couldn't care less. We complained, and a very nice lady at the entrance moved us to another room and promised to have a chat with them. We later discovered than that that one girl works there... so yeah. Also dirty bathroom/linen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
19th May 2017
8.3

Great hostel, lovely staff. Clean and friendly place with free breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
9.1

Book through the hostel if you're staying for a while as you can get it cheaper 😊 had a great stay, made some good friends and the staff are wonderful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
4.6

Would be better served as a youth Hostel. Did not like the atmosphere. Our room door could not be closed, poor security. Expensive for what it is.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Apr 2017
10.0

The workers were very nice and helpful. So easy to travel anywhere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.3

Staff are friendly and helpful with the fact I've injured my ankle, gave me a room that I can get to just using the lift. Kitchen is clean, with fridges & shelves to store things, there's also a "free food" box which you can use to make meals. There's lots of longterm people so it's not very sociable but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Might be slightly more expensive than others but you definitely can tell they take care of the place. Also a good location, quick walk to central station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
8.3

Big Hostel is great if you're wanting a more chilled out place. The rooms were big, with plenty of space for your things, wifi works really well, people are respectful and friendly, and the staff are nice. I would recommend for people who are starting work, and need a place to crash before they get their own place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.4

Okay for some nights but nothing special! Everything seems kind of run down and there are a lot of signs telling you what to do and what not do all over the place. Close to central station but pretty long walk to the harbour. The free wifi only works in the common area and not upstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.