Hostelworld.com

Big Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
Big Hostel Located at 212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills, Sydney.
Big Hostel
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2010 212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills
82% 777
-33.8802495 151.2091040
Big Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.9

If you are working in Sydney this may be a good place to go . If you want to go out in the evening there are much better places .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.7

Staff super helpful, they make sure that people don't make noise in the room area after 10 pm. There is one locker per person, so make sure you have your own padlock. I did not like that they charged 10 dls over the usual price because of the long weekend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
9.7

Very good place, toilets and rooms always shining, kitchen clean and well furnished with professional stove and very spacious cold room for guests food... wi-fi sometimes leaping. Hostel Australia never disappoint me!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rhiggins94
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
8.9

Great wee hostel! Free internet and free breakfast, what more could you want? Perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
8.9

We stayed for 3 nights, the team were really accommodating and managed to put my friends and I in the same dorm even though we booked separately which was really appreciated. They also helped us by booking transfers and were very knowledgeable about the city and public transport. Lovely rooftop area to spend your evenings. Our room was a bit stuffy the first night, but as soon as the staff were aware they fixed it up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.0

Can't really complain over anything. Was a good hostel. Central, big enough kitchen, common rooms, clean and fresh, cleaning often.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

Only stay 1 night but I would defenitly go back. Friendly staff, great location. Clean. Not noisy. Good atmosphere in the commun area. Great hostel :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
10.0

I stayed in another hostel in Syndey in the past and had a pretty bad experience: The Big Hostel, instead, was really nice, perfect location, nice staff, cool atmosphere with a lot of young people and travelers, clean bathrooms and everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Mar 2016
9.1

Did the trick, a clean comfortable place to stay for a night in Sydney CBD.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
9.1

The facilities are cleaned often. The kitchen is large and includes free breakfast. The comfortable lounge has TV and free wifi. Coin laundry within the building. The kitchen does get busy, as they do in all hostels. Definitely not a party hostel, which is preferable for me but others might want a more social place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.