Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Big Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 826 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 826 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Big Hostel Located at 212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills, Sydney.
Big Hostel
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2010 212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills
84% 826
-33.8802495 151.2091040
Big Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Dec 2016
10.0

Just, wow. I've been to 5 different hostels in Sydney and this was the winner in almost all accounts. The staff were super nice and helpful, all the facilities were constantly being cleaned, free WiFi, free (really good) breakfast. Also not one of the most expensive ones. This hostel is a winner even in details - stuff like providing sunscreen for people going to the beach - that just shows that they genuinely want everyone to have a great experience. And we did. 10/10, hands down. A

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fancysteph
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice stay here. Good location just 5 mins walking to central station and close to lots of place, secured room and really nice friendly helpful staff. free wifi in ground floor, really thoughtful with sunscreen provided.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.4

I did a last minute booking just in time only had one night available staff was helpful and friendly. I forgot my charger emailed and got a quick response picked it up later and was allowed time in the common room. Would have stayed if there was availability.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.0

Conveniently located close to the train station. Staff was very nice, got upgraded due to availability and they were overall very helpful. Was happy about the upgrade (4-bed dorm w/ensuite instead of 8-bed dorm) when I saw the 8-bed dorm - guess it's due to many long-termers but that room was a mess! Invest a couple of dollars more for a smaller room, it's worth it (no lockers though). Rooftop is super nice, we were alone up there as everybody was staying downstairs for the free WiFi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
9.4

We stay for one night only, but the staff are really helpful and the rooms are clean with TV, air-cond & en-suite bathroom. Will definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Nov 2016
10.0

Big Hostel is the best hostel I could have hoped to stay in, the staff are warm and welcoming people who go above and beyond to make your experience as pleasant as possible, and the place is generally very well managed. The hostel seems to attract the slightly more sensible types rather than the rowdy/party types commonly found elsewhere. Lockers are nice and big, they take standard padlocks. Wouldn't hesitate to return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Nov 2016
8.9

Good one night. No bar but was cool

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
8.9

Big Hostel is in a great location right near Central station in Sydney. They allowed check in at any time, which made our trip much more flexible with some people in our party flying in late. The water was hot and toast was supplied for breakfast. The staff was friendly. The security was great with locks on every room and lockers available inside too. The mixed dorm we stayed in was clean and comfortable, although it didn't smell the greatest. Was probably the tenants. Overall a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Sep 2016
9.7

Hostel was very clean and had hot showers. Provided linen but had to put it on the bed yourself. The dorm room was very large and had very spacious lockers. The staff was really nice and friendly. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice touch!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.6

two sugestions: It would be nice to have some sought of shelf in the bathroom and shower to put your toiletries on. Bonus, breakfast is included, great, however, the cereals need a container for the scoops, rather than them being dropped backed into the cereal containers along with whatever is on the persons hands. It reminds me of the study of the peanuts put on the bar for eveyone to nibble on. When studied the container with the remaining peanuts had ~8 different peoples urine on them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.