X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Big Pineapple Backpackers Bali Reviews

Jalan Tirta Ening Gang Blue Dive, Sanur, Indonesia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
321 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Fantastic hostel! Had a great night's sleep every night and met some great people. Mia is awesome (she's the owner) and knows where all the great/cheap eats around are. There's a laundry next door which also sells cheapish beers late at night which is useful haha. Mia happily called a taxi for me who was a friend of hers and was very friendly to take me down to Nusa Dua. Hopefully I'll be staying there again in a few days :D

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome place to stay, it clean, save and you meet cool people there. The place is 800m fare from the beach and it's not busy like kuta. A cap from sanur to kuta center cost ~7€. The Owner (Mia) is brillant and really helpfull, she helps to organize trips with a fair and good price. I really enjoyed my time ( 1 week) there.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Steffen,thanks for the great review,I'm glad u enjoyed yourself,it was a pleasure having u stay with us.Enjoy the rest of your trip.Regards Mia

97%

Good hostel for less than $10, lots of meeting places,so its easy to find new friends.Has a swimming pool (very clean) and kitchen.No breakfast supplied but you can cook yourself,and free drinking water.The best TV room, (got stuck at the Hostel watching breaking bad XD).Awesome cheap food a few minutes away,just pick what you want,lots of vegi & meat dishes,only a couple bucks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Trever,thank you for the top review,you were so quiet and respectful it was a real pleasure having you stay at BIG Pineapple.Hope to see you again Regards Mia

80%

Comfortable kitchen, nice pool, nice TV area. WiFi a bit unstable. I would recommend the place

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ana,thanks for the comment Regards Mia

100%

This is a one hundred percent(er) hostel taking the price as a land mark.Lively place to stay ( my second stay there).Big dorms,pool,real kitchen,great TV room,FREE drinking water (a real money saver) and many places to mix with other guests.Crossing the highway is a bit of a negative but after crossing everything is close.If this hostel was on the beach it would be the best in the World.Its a real winner for the price and what you get.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sammy,thank you for your excellent review.Great to see you again.Regards Mia

100%

Great price.Great Hostel

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Virginia,Thank you for the top review,you also were a top guest,see you when you are back from diving in Papua Regards Mia

94%

Definitely worth staying at Big Pineapple Backpackers, good crowd of people coming in and out of the place daily. clean, sociable and has everything you need and expect from a hostel.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi George,thanks for the great review,it was nice having you stay with us,you were such a great guest.Regards Mia

60%

The hostel is nice, the staff is helpful and kind and the best thing is the pool!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Maria,well I see you gave all Hostels you visited in Bali 60% so I suppose people wont take too much notice of your review scores.Thanks for the comment though.Mia

97%

Mia is so friendly and warm, awsome!! All the people I met, have been so sozial;) sitting in the pool and watching some movies, or drinking some bintang...i will definatly come back when I am close...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Susann,thanks for the great review,hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and we see u again.Regards Mia

100%

This is a really nice hostel, very comfortable and homely, with nice big rooms and common areas - and a swimming pool!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Paul,thanks for coming back and the top review,you were such a great guest and it was a pleasure having you stay with us.I hope your travels continue to be great.Regards Mia

97%

Amazing atmosphere. Meeting other great people at The Big Pineapple is super easy. Staff is very friendly and the swimming pool is great! I do recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Simon (n friend),thanks for the great review,I hope you enjoy the rest of your holidays.Regards Mia

83%

Pro: kitchen; swimming pool; clean and non-smelling sheets; Tv area; very clean beach not far away Con: you have to cross a very busy road to get to the beach and restaurants

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Melanie,thanks for the review.Regards Mia.Actually there are 2 reviews we cannot answer because I think they were booked on a UK site IE: "Absolutely love this place!!" 100% and "Fantastic hostel..." 100% We are sorry we cant reply because we dont know who you are BUT thanks so much for the fabulous reviews.Kind regards Mia

100%

Absolutely love this place!! Don't stay in Kuta or Legian come straight here and travel onwards using big pineapple is a base. The hostel has an amazing atmosphere and the owner Mia is lovely


86%

Well maintained hostel with big common area and free tea and coffee. Sanur is a nice place to unwind if you want to escape the party scene in Kuta.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Paul,thanks for the review,enjoy te rest of your travels.Kind Regards Mia

94%

I came with my sister and we had an excellent time.Very clean guest house with smiley staffs.Has a kitchen and free drinking water plus a swimming pool.The sheets were changed and the bed made every day,I never seen this before.Nice Hostess with many tour options at a discount.Join in the fun and you will have a great time,we did XD

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Shelly,thank you for the great review.Enjoy your travels,see you next time.Regards Mia

97%

A really nice place,close to beach,shops and delicious places to eat, only a few minutes walk away.(about 8 min walk to a very nice beach with white sand).Extra clean facilities with clean fresh sheets.The girls who work in their laundry are very nice and washed my wet clothes for nothing (wet from rain).Plus they dry everything with a hot clothes dryer which kills the germs.Enjoyed our stay and not hesitate to return or recommend to anyone.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sri,thank you for the top review,I am glad you had a good time.See you again,Regards Mia

97%

The manager and staff were super helpful. They kept all areas really clean and took great care of the guests. This hostel is one of the most aesthetically intriguing I have stayed at. There is a pool, an open entertainment room, and a courtyard with a dining table and full kitchen, all of which welcome a social environment. The manager will book taxis for you, order pizza for you, and she posts very useful travel tips which shows that she takes great interest in her customers. Amazing hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kelsey,thanks you so much for the great review,it really makes me happy to see your comment .I try and make all our guests feel at home and help them as much as I can and sometimes it goes unnoticed.I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.Kind regards Mia

100%

Fantastic hostel... Great place to meet people - and they even make your bed every morning!! Given a map of the area on arrival showing places that'll rip u off or make u ill etc. One of the best hostels yet :)


91%

Wonderful place! So easy to met people, specially when you travel on your own. Would defintely stay here again :)


66%

The hostel is located a little in the middle of nowhere. The streets leading up to it isn't that clean and a bit smelly. the common area of the hostel is pretty nice with a kitchen and swimming pool. but the cleanliness of the place is very questionable though. we booked two beds and both of them (top and bottom bunk) both had dirt on the sheets. they also didn't seem to change the sheets at all from one person to another. definitely would not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, When u arrived you asked for a bottom bunk, because of your size you said you could not climb the ladder.The maids had made your top bunk with clean sheets and bed cover as we do for all our guests.It was you who asked other guests to change beds.I asked did you want the sheets changed and you said it was OK.I am also sorry the taxi driver charged you 180.000rp to go to Ubud,it is usually 150.000rp but we do not have control over the taxi service,which we call for free and make no money.

« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Sanur Hostels

Please give us your feedback