Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bilbao Akelarre Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Sep 2017
10.0

I was only there for the night but I got a great impression of the place. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They gave me directions to the Guggenheim and lent me an umbrella for the rain. The place was impeccably clean. I definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot!

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2017
7.7

Very clean place, nice staff and fellow guests but a bit far from the center (takes about 35-40 minutes on foot) and the biggest problem for me was that there was no oven or stove to cook on, so bear that in mind when booking :) Apart from that: good place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2017
9.1

A really lovely hostel with absolutely fantastic staff! I had to check out early when I left and I wasn't able to get my deposit back from them in person. However they were really helpful and actually gave me the money back onto my card after I left! Really great customer service

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Aug 2017
7.4

Small hostel, sth. like 40 beds. Location indeed is not central, however the neighborhood (residential/local) felt safe to me 24/7. No stove in kitchen, just a microwave. Facilities clean, good water pressure in hot showers, strong wifi when near reception. Overall quiet-ish atmosphere, as dorms directly next to (tiny) common area. Staff was super lovely and even working overtime to check everyone in. Free breakfast was okay. 17€/night (25 on weekends) felt slightly (way) too much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! we have 34 beds :-)!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Aug 2017
7.7

Good hostel if you just want to spend some time seeing sights in Bilbao

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.9

It was a great experience for me as it was personally my first time in a hostel. Great environment, safe, good breakfast, location is a little far from major sights but close to good bars and food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!!!!!!! gracias!!!!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2017
10.0

The staff who work here are very accomodating and genuinely happy to help you with anything you need. Had a lovely experience here, would recommend and stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!!!!!!!! gracias majos!

23rd Jun 2017
7.7

Was ok, very cheap

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.9

The staff was great! I arrived after the reception closed and they left a letter for me with all the instructions. The place is clean, rooms are spacious and have lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Jun 2017
8.9

My second stay here and definitely not the last. Though it has some flaws (like I would like some more privacy in the showers, and there was something wrong with the door of my room this time), this place really has this homey feeling. The staff is great, lots of useful info about Bilbao and nearby places, nice common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×