Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bilbao Akelarre Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 898 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 898 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
Bilbao Akelarre Hostel Located at Calle Morgan 4-6, , Bilbao.
Bilbao Akelarre Hostel
Spain
Bilbao 48014 Calle Morgan 4-6
87% 898
43.2685656 -2.9545712
Bilbao Akelarre Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jul 2016
9.1

Super lovely! There is a book swap, all the guests are very friendly, free tea and coffee and kitchen, comfy beds, attentive staff, cute decorations. It is a little further from the fun, older area of town, but close to the metro and closer to the beaches and the bus depot/airport shuttle. Also only a 15 minute walk to the Guggenheim or Museo de Bellas Artes. I would stay here again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.1

It's a good hostel. The rooms and common areas were clean, the staff were very helpful, it has everything you need such as a kitchen and laundry facilities and breakfast is included. The only down side is that it is a bit further out of the centre than I would have liked, but it was still walking distance. Also I cancelled one of the nights I had booked and they were fine about cancelling it, which was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jul 2016
6.9

Wasn't very impressed with this hostel, it's a long walk from anything worth going to. Staff were not very friendly and welcoming. Wifi was good, shower was ok. I would look at booking somewhere with more atmosphere and closer to attractions if you are coming to Bilbao

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are not impressed with the hostel... but we are really impressed with your comment... you change your reservation several times and we always gave you a solution. In summer time is very difficult for us to change reservations... but we always tried to help you. Also in the hostel we tried you stay like at home (you stayed only one night). Our hostel is not a party hostel, and it is not in the city center, but you can walk everywhere or take metro (5 min). But I think also you can not read we are in the centre or we have party night in any place... Anyway thanks for your comment!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.3

A bit of a walk from the train- and busstation, but a cosy place that makes you feel at home right away. Very nice to have the breakfast included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
8.0

The hostel itself is fine with very good facilities and friendly staff. Location is a bit inconvenient compared to hostels at the center of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2016
9.1

Good price for what you get, good facilities and staff do their best to help you with ideas. Not too far from bus and train station if you're ok with an easy 15 min walk. Only problem is about Bilbao you can't tell when things open/close so get food and stuff from Lidl in the am just in case. Great internet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! gracias!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jun 2016
5.1

I was in this hostel for 2 nights, the first night was extremely good! The second night we were surprised with a school group, about 20 15-17 year olds, who were extremely loud even though there is signs to say silence after 11. when we made a complaint, the receptionist handled it very unprofessionally, by yelling at us and also getting the teacher of the students to yell at us. This was a horrible experience, very belittling. There was also no where for me to store my luggage for a day.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! the first day with you also very good! Instead, the next day your behaviour was not the same. That ´s why you had a problem with our staff. Because your lack of manners. Sorry about that!

17th Jun 2016
9.4

This place is FANTASTIC. The staff is so helpful and welcoming and the facilities are really clean. It's sort of far from the city center if you walk, but public transit is super easy to use (even if you don't speak Spanish). The kiosks give you different language options and it's like 10' to the fun parts of the city. I was only a little worried about having my window open at night because it was right on the street, but everything was fine. I definitely recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Gracias!!!!! mila esker! thanks! :-) very happy!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.7

Staff were amazing friendly and always willing and able to help. Spoke my language English and Spanish everything was clean and felt homey. A little far out of the way but being so close to the train station 10 min walk was fine with me. Rooms were completely secure and and helpful lists of things to do definitely recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Bilbao

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankssss! nice to meet you!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
8.9

Staff very friendly. Room very warm and close to busy road, but what do you expect for a centrally located hostel. Small but cosy. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Tha ks for your review! gracias!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.