Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bilbao Akelarre Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1011 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1011 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
8.9

It was a great experience for me as it was personally my first time in a hostel. Great environment, safe, good breakfast, location is a little far from major sights but close to good bars and food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!!!!!!! gracias!!!!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2017
10.0

The staff who work here are very accomodating and genuinely happy to help you with anything you need. Had a lovely experience here, would recommend and stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!!!!!!!! gracias majos!

23rd Jun 2017
7.7

Was ok, very cheap

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.9

The staff was great! I arrived after the reception closed and they left a letter for me with all the instructions. The place is clean, rooms are spacious and have lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.9

nice hostel, but a little bit far away from the old city center. I really can recommend it for a short stay, but not for longer, because it hasn't a real kitchen and the bathroom has not a privacy. But all in all a good Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • falakvora
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.4

The hostel is a really cool place to stay. And the staff is super friendly and really helpful. The overall ambience is great only that its quite far from the bus terminus so if you have to reach the hostel, you have to walk about 20 minutes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
10.0

The staff were excellent, helpful, friendly, eager to help, and easy to talk to. I was very impressed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dionysusable
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th May 2017
6.9

It was an alright hostel. I stayed there for two nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful, yet (maybe it was my lack of luck) the hostel was full of visitors who are old enough to be my grandparents. Not being ageist here, most of them are not willing to interact with others because they are mostly in groups. As for the location, it's a bit far away from everything, it takes at least 30 mins to walk to the closest point of interest. Overall, an OK hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! thanks for your review! The grandparents you call are pilgrims who make " el camino de Santiago". We accept all ages because at any age you can be a traveler! You can take the Metro: from Akelarre to Old Town: 10 minutes and 20 minutes walking to Museum Gugennheim!

  • arrighiadrien4325
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
13th Apr 2017
6.6

Very basic place. Far from everything, you need to take the metro. No stove in the kitchen..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! you can also walk! to Guggenheim is only 20 minutes! In hostelworld you can read we do not have stove, but you can use the microwave and fridge. Regards!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Apr 2017
9.4

Awesome! + : Really kind staff, close to the metro station, breakfast included, and free coffee/tea, unlimited all the day - : Not all the beds have plugs close to the bunkbed, could'nt charge my mobile but they had extension / Wifi does'nt work in the room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! merci!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.