Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Billabong Gardens

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
5.4

Hostel full of long term people who work and live there so my room was full of rubbish and stank.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
4.6

We had booked two nights in a six bed female dorm, upon arrival told there had been an issue with bookings and that we were being "upgraded" to a private room for the first night. However the private room was actually in a building next door that had the vibe and cleanliness of a shabby, musty motel. When we went back the next morning to check in the dorm we had booked, we were put into another private room - sheets were dirty, bathroom hadn't been cleaned once, old men staying there - avoid.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your review. It's a shame to hear that you had not enjoyed your stay with us; our Terrace House - which houses our private rooms with shared bathrooms - is a high point that many guests choose given the cleanliness and space (3 bathrooms, kitchenette and a maximum of 11 private rooms). All communal bathrooms are cleaned 3 times a day. We accommodate people regardless of race, age or creed ; whether you're a first time traveller to a wise world wanderer, we do not discriminate. So why should you? Kind Regards, BG

20th Dec 2016
7.1

To AC. Have to pay for WIFI (thats a complete slap in the face in my opinion). Alright location. Not central, but Newtown is a fun, young area, with lots of places to eat and drink. Staff arn't very chipper. Atmosphere is alright, but lots of long term people living there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
8.9

Nice place, good value double room and close to the train station, meaning it only takes 15 minutes to get right to the centre of Sydney

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2016
9.7

Great hostel, especially if you're staying long term. It's a bit of a walk to the train station, but it's really easy to get into the CBD. The place is very warm and homey, the staff is really sweet and accommodating. Really really lovely place if you're looking for a quiet hostel or if you're working in Sydney. Newtown is also a GREAT neighborhood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Oct 2016
6.9

Rally Great Staff! Very helpfull and Friendly! A lot of annoying Guest in the week i was there... Lots of noise at Night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.7

Really nice place, easy to meet people and a nice change from the big sterile hostels in the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
9.7

Great, everything was great. The staff very nice. We forgot a mobile on the room when we left and the staff kept it for us so we were able to recover it. Cool!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
8.6

Great location - Newtown is where it's at - cool vibe in the hostel. Room was big. Place was a bit dirty, but in a gritty way.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.