Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Birka Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,535 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,535 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.5
Birka Hostel Located at Luntmakargatan 14, , Stockholm.
Birka Hostel
Sweden
Stockholm 111 37 Luntmakargatan 14
81% 1535
59.3369604 18.0638280
Birka Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Nov 2016
7.7

Only stayed for two nights, but slept well in a 14-bed dorm in clean soft sheets and my belongings (a small backpack) locked in safely (but not room for a bigger bag). Left my luggage in the luggage room during my first day and felt very safe. Clean and quiet. However, only one toilet and one shower in my floor/corridor (what I could see)! Going up early saved me from the queue that I can imagine foring later in the morning. The kitchen was quite small too, but clean. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Nov 2016
6.0

Such an odd hostel! It was completely booked out apart from two beds in a 14 dorm... but the other guests were all very old. The kitchen was ok, but they only have one toilet and one shower per floor.. so it was very annoying when you need the toilet to wait for someone who was doing their makeup because there was always a que for the shower. The location was good however, walking distance from central station, and walking distance to most good spots in Stockholm. Staff didn't really engage.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
7.1

Not enough showers/toilets. Also, reception doesn't open till 10am which is very strange

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Nov 2016
8.3

Clean and quiet environment. Recommended.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.9

This hostel was awesome. Very safe, and a great location. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean and cute. The only downside was that everyone staying here was quite old, or families. We had a couple drinks in the common area and it was very uncomfortable. Not a good place for young people to meet other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
5.1

Quite a hostile reception at check in and there was no social aspect or any atmosphere here, it seems only good if you are travelling with others - which luckily I was, they were just staying elsewhere. The room was extremely cramped with 14 beds and for the whole corridor only one wc/shower. No space to relax in room unless in bed or to put bags. Other than that, good location. Not relevant to hostel but people staying were quite rude and ignoring 'hostel etiquette'.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
8.9

Had to cancel the stay because my plan changed. Ratings based on friend's experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Nov 2016
8.9

Absolutely loved this hostel, free coffee, tea, and pasta, the staff were all so lovely, and it was just a short walk to the old town. Beds were comfortable, and the rooms were pretty cute - only two bathrooms for the whole floor was kind of annoying, but on the whole, would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Nov 2016
8.0

What we really liked about the hostel was that despite being in a large 14bed dorm you had your own power points and lights the bunks were also very sturdy (wooden) although there seemed to only be one shower and two toilets on our floor we always seemed to be able to use when wanting too - and the shower pressure was one of the best out of the hostels we have stayed at! The reception staff seemed to be abit harsh initially but turned out to be really helpful. We enjoyed our time here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
8.0

Spent 1 night here. Easy to find. Free coffee was added bonus. Felt a bit unclean but overall was fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.