Hostelworld.com

Birmingham Central Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2,110 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2,110 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
Birmingham Central Backpackers Located at 58 Milk Street, Digbeth, , Birmingham.
Birmingham Central Backpackers
England
Birmingham Birmingham B5 5NH 58 Milk Street, Digbeth
80% 2110
52.4763112 -1.8858075
Birmingham Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2016
6.6

One of receptionist is not friendly, my card is not function he didnt say sorry, as well when my stuff is missing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 66 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.9

I had a lovely stay at Birmingham Central Backpackers. I was uncertain what to expect as some of the reviews on Hostelworld are quite critical, but this is a great hostel and I would definitely come back. The common room is very nice and I enjoyed watching football there with an international crowd. The dorm was really quiet at night and I slept really well. I didn't hear any trains, which disappointed me actually!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
4.6

I found the hostel to be quite dated, and generally not of the same standard as other hostels I have visited in the past 2 years. This also impacted cleanliness, particularly in the bathrooms, although bed linen and towels were clean. The staff member who greeted me at both check in and when I left wasn't the friendliest guy, which marred the experience. I'm surprised at the high rating this place has, and frankly relieved that I was only staying for one night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jun 2016
6.9

Lovely stuff, cool and quirky place in a cool and edgey part of Birmingham

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
7.4

A very nice welcome from Sam. Common area is cute and a massive screen for footie. Room a bit tired but the ability to have free tea coffee and a breakfast is a bricks bonus. Good value for money. Can be noisy outside at weekends. Met our need though thanks!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Jun 2016
7.7

Only stayed one night. Different to a lot of hostels I've stayed in haven't experienced a baby in the common room before. But staff were really helpful and nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
8.3

This hostel in a old building. Great staff and a very social atmosphere about the place. So if you like meeting people this is a decent choice. Breakfast is toast, fruit, and coffee or tea. Tons of dvd's to watch when no one is watching football on the huge projection TV. For a old building the toilets and bathrooms are kept relatively clean. Kitchen is stocked enough with pots and pan to cook, bake, or microwave. Rooms are a bit small for the number of beds but fine for a short station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • extraverse
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2016
6.9

You get what you pay for. Rooms lacked a decent amount of plug sockets, no lockers in the main dorm building "we're working on it". Heh. A plus was the breakfast and watching the Euros on the big screen. Beds were comfortable, pillows terrible. Don't be disheartened by the location as while it is a little bit unnerving after dark, it's close to the coach and train station as well as the Bullring shopping centre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
9.7

It was great everything except the rain worked out perfectly. Would certainly recommend and use again. Myself 59 and 24 year old son felt welcome and safe on our way to Hell Fest in France.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
4.6

Not the best hostel I've stayed in but it is budget so you could argue you get what you pay for. I personally think the place could do with a massive refurb/redecorating and it would make a world of difference. Pros - Close to city centre - Close to coach station - Free breakfast - Free tea/coffee Cons - Dodgy part of town - Depressing atmosphere (other travellers commented on this as well) - One shower per floor (6 rooms of 6 people) and which barely works - No social activities organised

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.