Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Birmingham Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2,124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2,124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
Birmingham Central Backpackers Located at 58 Milk Street, Digbeth, , Birmingham.
Birmingham Central Backpackers
England
Birmingham Birmingham B5 5NH 58 Milk Street, Digbeth
80% 2124
52.4763112 -1.8858075
Birmingham Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jul 2016
4.9

This hostel was very loud and not very clean. The staff was more interested in socializing with each other than attending guests. The area is sketchy and makes you feel uncomfortable as a single female. Loud conversations and arguments at all hours of the night, and fires that don't fully lock unless they are shoved.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2016
5.7

Nice enough staff but mostly can be summed up with one word: musty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

The location is really good, it will cost 10 mins to Moor street train station and only 5 mins to the shopping mall. It totally safe and the wifi is really good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
2.9

Really poor properly, not well depicted in pictures. Room was extremely messy and smelt like weed. garbage everywhere, bed was not made, cans of alcohol all around the room, hair on bed and pillow which was supposed to not have been used. Was not able to stay in the room and was denied refund despite checking in 10 mins ago claiming that "arrived too late" at 3pm. Decided to check into a nearly hotel instead.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jul 2016
8.6

Only there for one night and didn't send much time in the communal areas but was close to the station (10 mins walk) and seemed like a nice enough place. We got upgraded for free because of an issue with our room from the previous occupants which had a shower, sink and coffee/tea making facilities. Free breakfast was also really good, only basic stuff but saved us a bit of money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
8.0

Recommend trying to arrive when still daylight. Awesome staff and the common room and bathrooms are great. Kitchen is pretty small. Common room/kitchen is locked from midnight until 8am. We left some food in the kitchen we weren't able to get because we forgot it opened so late so make sure you are aware of times. I've seen cleaner hostels but I'm not picky so it worked well for us and it was easy to walk everywhere so that was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
8.9

Overall nice experience. The building is going through renovation at the moment but it really needs it as I see. Stuff are all quite friendly and the location is sweet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2016
9.4

I'm really impressed. I arrived several hours too early for my bunk to be ready but the owner still offered me breakfast as it will still breakfast time. The hub of the hostel is like a cross between a living room and a pub, the staff are friendly and with a mix of European staff members, if you're polite and friendly to them, they will be just the same to you- I've worked in hostels and I know some visitors can be hard work plus the turn around of people is really swift.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2016
6.6

One of receptionist is not friendly, my card is not function he didnt say sorry, as well when my stuff is missing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 69 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.9

I had a lovely stay at Birmingham Central Backpackers. I was uncertain what to expect as some of the reviews on Hostelworld are quite critical, but this is a great hostel and I would definitely come back. The common room is very nice and I enjoyed watching football there with an international crowd. The dorm was really quiet at night and I slept really well. I didn't hear any trains, which disappointed me actually!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.