Hostelworld.com

Birmingham Central Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2,077 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2,077 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
Birmingham Central Backpackers Located at 58 Milk Street, Digbeth, , Birmingham.
Birmingham Central Backpackers
England
Birmingham Birmingham B5 5NH 58 Milk Street, Digbeth
80% 2077
52.4763112 -1.8858075
Birmingham Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th May 2016
8.9

Ok, so I read so many times this place is in a dodgy area. The reality is that yes, it looks dodgy but it's actually fine and your just off the main roads so if your not far from public view. Fantastic location, just a few minutes from 2 trains stations and the bus station. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Rooms are ok, basically what you would expect from a hostel. Included breakfast makes it real value for money. I'd stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
9.4

I would definately recommend this hostel. Friendly staff, comfortable lounge and bunks and a convenient location. I had an early morning flight so I didn't get to sample the breakfast, but all in all excellent value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
6.6

The only big problem encountered here was the lack of lock on our door! (Twin room 15). Unfortunately we did not have enough time in our stay to notify staff if this so can't comment on their response. However, it was a pretty big problem for us on our stay. Having said that, the atmosphere and facilities were good here. If the door had locked I'm sure I would have recommended this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
8.6

At first I was a bit worried by the zone, seemed a bit scary, but then I realized that some places in Birmingham are like this. The breakfast lasts till 11, same time for the check outs, that is not early fortunately. You have free coffee and tea all day, you bean leave your bags after check out, and the facilities in bathrooms and showers are modern. It's well placed, 15 minutes by foot from the central station. Be aware that most shops and museums close at 5pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • clairebarrett145349
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.6

Lovely place and people. Just area looks a bit dodgy but I fealt so safe when I'm there and so welcomed. Would defo go back have stopped here a few times an I love it. I'm from Birmingham and sometimes stop here rather than family just as it's so nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Apr 2016
7.1

Key cards used for rooms are really good, though there should be a locker inside, since it is a shared dorm. Carpeted floor a bit dirty in the corridors, but shower and kitchen facilities are relatively clean. Great breakfast provided!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • alessandrozurlo
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Apr 2016
6.9

Not bad, not good. Bad points: ONE shower for one floor. No lockers in the dormitory. Free breakfast is bread, jam and fruits. Good points: good position of the hostel, tidy and clean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
6.3

The atmosphere was ok, I really liked the way the main room was decorated. I thought it was strange though how old everyone was for it to be a hostel. Everyone in my room seemed to be between 30-55. My room smelled terrible though, it was honestly hard to breathe and they've shoved as many bunk beds as possible into the rooms. The bathrooms were decent and clean. And they provided free breakfast that was pretty standard. The location seemed a bit dodgy, but I'm not that familiar with Birmingham.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2016
9.4

Shared bathroom were quite clean, Water was hot, ventilation in bathroom is good. Staff very friendly and efficient. Keycode for dorms mean I dont run the risk of losing the key The only downside would be the lack of electric sockets in the dorms. We got given an extension plug but its just annoying having to queue up to charge ur phone. Be great if they can build 1 socket per pod. Keep up the good work!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
8.6

negative: wifi problems in the room positive: fruits at breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.