Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Birmingham Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2,154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2,154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Birmingham Central Backpackers Located at 58 Milk Street, Digbeth, , Birmingham.
Birmingham Central Backpackers
England
Birmingham Birmingham B5 5NH 58 Milk Street, Digbeth
78% 2154
52.4763112 -1.8858075
Birmingham Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
7.4

Cheap and does the job but pretty basic. The main problem is that the communal areas do not open until 8am which left me stuck in my bunk waiting for the morning. Breakfast is toast, jam and fruit. Coffee is instant. My bunk was okay. I think a lot of the residents stay there long term. Dorm had sink, shower and lockers but not enough sockets. Near coach station, custard factory and O2 institute. 10 mins walk to the Bullring. The area is industrial. It's a converted pub.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Aug 2016
10.0

Stayed here loads of times for work always have a pleasant stay nice friendly staff secure safe premises, comfy beds, hot showers and a large breakfast as much tea coffee and toast as hearts desire even have selection of fruit to choose from and a large living room type area where you can read or watch a movie. What else do people want for the money it's fab value and meets all your needs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
3.7

Located in a very dodgy area of the city. Simply stay somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
4.3

I can say it is the second worst hostel I've stayed in. The neighborhood is a bit strange. Reception is not 24 hours. Cleanness is not something they care about. If you are allergic, do not book a bed. The buildings smell dusty and the second building smells cigarette too, even if it is not allowed to smoke there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
7.7

Cool place to hang out. The staff were very good and the beds / dorms comfortable and clean. Location is a bit of a pain when I was looking for it at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
8.9

It was Ok - you need a charger converter iif you are coming from the Continent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
8.9

Not a bad hostel. My friend got her laptop stolen while she was there though, and my door had trouble shutting all the way to lock it. I kept the valuables in a locker, but was still sketched out a bit. Good facilities though, friendly staff, great atmosphere for solo travelers, superb location... Really great overall. Would stay again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
6.6

This hostel it's quite hidden but located in a central area, getting there late night could be scary as it's very lonely. Not enough toilets and showers for the entire floor and it wasn't very clean. As for the rooms.. lo lockers. I stayed in a room where people had already left and the beds hasn't been done.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
6.0

The hostel was in easy walk of the city centre and the tourist attractions. The staff were friendly and helpfull. However the area around the hostel was run down and the hostel needed decorating, a new furniture, and more showers and toilets for the number of people. As the price was cheap, it was reasonable value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.7

The hostel was ok and the staff were friendly and helpful but it's in a dodgy-looking area. The communal lounge closed at midnight which was a pain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.