Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Birmingham Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
5.4

STAFF NOT TRAINED TO DEAL WITH THE GUESTS AND THERE NEEDS.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
7.7

A lifesaver for those looking for a cheap overnight stay or two in B'ham. The lounge is a cool place to hang out, however the guests didn't appear the most social. Rooms aré secured by a front door security card and another for the dorms, but there are no lockers from what I could see. The service and staff were prompt and moré than happy to answer my questions on B'ham and the cleanliness overall was ok. The beds were the most disappointing with kreaky frames. As a city stopover, its not bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.9

good place to stay nice and clean and friendly staff with good common area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
7.7

I stayed in a twin private room. It was what you would expect for the 36 pounds approx price. The room was nice and warm. There was a lot of noise going on all night outside the window. Sounded like construction work of some sort. There was a bit of a stale smell in the room which we soon got used to but still was not very pleasant at first. Two plugs in the room were not working. However there was no shortage of power outlets so this was not an issue for us. We enjoyed our stay overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
5.7

Nice staff. Horrible facilities. Too many beds in a room. Poor quality too! Was in more expensive 8 bed ensuite dorm, was a lie - had shower & sink in the actual room! Obviously unusable with a room full of strangers sleeping. Not enough facilities with one shower/sink room beeing shared by 20+ people. more toilets, without hand washing facilities, but no air tight walls so smells galore! Worst thing - the smell, all the bed sheets stank. They need to bleach their washing machine!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • dancingotter
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.4

Really cool hostel I loved the decor and atmosphere. The staff were lovely and helpful and the place was clean and well. Having tea and coffee available all day was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 42 reviews
6th Jan 2017
5.7

an average place. Reasonably close to the center but facilities and the whole building have seen better days. Mattress well worn with springs sticking into my ribs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.1

The hostel is located in a strategic location near Coach Station and train station Staff is professional, courteous and friendly Facilities are clean, well maintained and commensurate with what you paid Good value for money that fits a student budget The student lounge has a relaxing, friendly atmosphere Will definitely stay here again the next time I go to Birmingham

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Dec 2016
10.0

Staff are very welcoming and facilities are great Wifi is really good too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
10.0

Mark staff is very friendly helpful smile his face. Colourful big lounge warm room. Wow three bed (not bunk bed no wobbly) with curtains and safe lockers £5 despost. Close to the City Centre nice view to Bull Ring shapes building from Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.