X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Birmingham Central Backpackers Reviews

58 Milk Street, Digbeth, Birmingham, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1897 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It was simply the best hostel we've been so far. Even though it is located in some kind of rundown area and the building from outside didn't look convincing, the inside was really nice and cozy. We even got upgraded to private 2 beds room, but I saw the dorm room was also nice. Showers and toliets are plenty and clean, free continental breakfast, free coffee and tea all day, some activities going on every night, fully stocked kitchen with microwave and fridge. Recommended !!


57%

dodgy location but had decent security so I didn't feel unsafe at any point. staff was nice enough. little to no atmosphere, most people wanted to stay to themselves. rooms weren't clean but not dirty. bed smelled of cigarettes and was very uncomfortable. it was pretty much what I expected from a hostel in Birmingham though. overall, if you're on a budget, it's not a bad place to stay for a night or two, just don't expect too much.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Former pub turned hostel (still a licensed pub, apparently), homely hostel-like atmosphere. Free tea and coffee and wi-fi. Breakfast is pretty basic but included in the price. Rooms were fine.


97%

Had a great time at your place! Not only the staff was great but all the other people staying there. Great things happen to good people and a good hostel attracts great people. Keep up the good work boys and girls! If I ever go back to Birmingham you will be my first choice. Great room service for sure!

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The mattresses were absolute awful but it wawas generally clean with nice shower facilities.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Well situated hostel in the warehouse district around Digbeth. Taxi ride to the centre is about 5 quid. Hostel is quiet, and plenty of free roadside parking around.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Awesome facilities, features and rooms. Could use a few more power points and showers but otherwise a very, very good place to stay.


77%

The hostel was fine, and cheap. Everything was clean and the wifi and breakfast were good. The average age of the hostel was much higher than I have ever experienced, and this meant the atmosphere wasn't as good as other hostels. It is located close to the centre, but in an industrial area (like most of Birmingham). The staff were friendly but not super useful. The lockers in our room didn't work but there were some downstairs we could use.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Very disappointed with the attitude of the staff, did not get required assistance at all. Confusion about when we had booked in; I don't think the right hand knew what the left hand was doing! it was not professionally run, only accepting cash for payment. Hostel grubby and smelly. Facilities minimal. Will never return, and will never recommend.


89%

The most interestingly painted hostel ever. They do free toast and coffee in the morning with any spread you like, and i love toast, so it was fab.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Hostel itself is in a rough street but once inside its a nice place to stay with helpful staff. Breakfast is basic but all I needed, 2 min from the coach station and 10 min from the city centre. Only bad thing is lack of bathrooms and wall plugs in rooms but wifi is great in rooms.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Mattresses and bedding were pretty uncomfortable. The place was just a bit dumpy and needed some fixing up and general maintenance (plumbing, leaking roof, etc.), however the kitchen was really nice but small. The lounge area was okay, but could have been a bit nicer and to make it that much better, they could think about expanding the bar and offering some food which would bring people together a bit more. I was there on the weekend and everyone just sat around.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Everyone was very nice and welcoming! For the most part, things were clean and comfortable. Free wifi is always a plus and it was awesome that towels were free too! The atmosphere is very relaxing and welcoming.


89%

Good location in middle near everything good value too


86%

Hostel itself was fairly nice, but there is a nightclub down the street that makes it very loud into the late hours of the night.


54%

The location is very close to the bus station and not too far from the city centre. The lounge area was cool. The atmosphere seemed a little stagnate. Stock standard free breakfast. The whole place seemed a little tired and old. Incredibly loud music was playing from nearby for what seemed like two days straight. The staff were not friendly or helpful. All they did was the minimum to do their job and then talk between themselves.


77%

Nice atmosphere inside. Great staff. It's just a shame that although the hostel is close to the city centre, it's not in the most pleasant of neighbourhoods.


57%

If possible I'd recommend not visiting Birmingham on your trip. The staff were friendly but the location didn't feel very safe.


94%

This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in! The beds were really comfy, towels, breakfast and lockers included at no charge and really friendly and helpful staff. I also loved the lounge area, it felt really homey and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.


100%

If you love and understand what a hostel is and means you'll love this place. The common room is full of charm, people are nice and helpfull, and there is any facility you need from free towel to laundry and lockers to store your belongings. I was pleasantly surprised and I really had a good time here.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Birmingham Hostels

Please give us your feedback