X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Birmingham Central Backpackers Reviews

58 Milk Street, Digbeth, Birmingham, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2008 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The mattress was thin so the bed was hard. The electric sockets were held together with masking tape and didn't work properly. There was one shower and sink between five dorms, plus two toilets with no sinks. The common room was locked midnight-8am, except it didn't open at 8am either. The windows were blacked out, creating a very dark, dingy place. The "parking" is on the street and the surrounding area is pretty grim. However, the guy on reception was friendly and helpful and it's cheap.

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

did not go

  • 24th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

I really liked the hostal... Enjoyed a lot the time in there All the staff was really friendly. Just think the living room should be open 24 hours. Thanks guys.


86%

Great location for public transport. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

+: very close to the centre, coach station, Moor station (train Station), nice staff, free breakfast. -: I was accomodated in the 12 people dom. It is very close to the street, and it is a little noisy.The room has no lockers to keep your valuables. There had a lockers, but no key. The mattress are vey worn out, and your back can feel the springs of the mattress... reall unconfortable. The beds are so close that when you are moving in your bed, it affects to the beds next to you.


86%

I was particularly impressed with the calm and well behaved fellow guests, which is probably in no short measure down to the basic rules which everyone has to adhere to. The staff are very helpful, the Birmingham Central Backpackers is really very near the centre/Bullring area and just far enough away from any main roads to be pleasantly quiet. I have already recommended it to colleagues who regularly stay in Birmingham and pay over the odds for hotel accommodation.

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

There are no basins (sinks) sin the bathrooms where you can wash your face or teeth: in one bathroom the sink was without any tap and in another- only with cold water. This disturbed me the most. Also the whole in the window in the room I stayed in (kind of "air condition"- the whole cut in the glass with a blower in), what made the room very cold. The small kitchen (in the second building) coId, in general I've found it cold All the rest fine, showers fine, beds fine, clean, staff excellent.

  • 9th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Fantastic Bohemian style reception and common area:-) staff are very helpful and with a good mix of characteristics, also there is one of the best mixes of long term guests and stop over guests I have seen in a long while,the long term guests are very easygoing and add to laid back friendly vibe:-) free tea and coffee all day is a bonus,especially when it's good branded stuff,not like the crap other hostels pass off, I would definitely recommend this place:-)


97%

This was an incredible hostel! The atmosphere was amazing, very friendly and relaxing! The staff were cheerful, helpful and overall great!

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Pros: Friendly staff Equipped kitchen Good showers Cons: Poor location as far as a 'Central' backpackers should go Other Tenants often left our room door unlocked all day so would be nice if it locked automatically The bar was quite poor for a licensed premises


51%

Very poor unpleasant location in the scary outskirts of the city, difficult to find for a tourist, a distance from a centre...The hostel should not definitelly charge for 2 nights as a minimum charge. Overpriced accomodation and service.

  • 17th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

lots of sketch vibes are unfairly brought in from the surrounding area. but they are brought in, so keep it in mind. it truly is central though. if you can hold your breath for the last two minutes coming back from town, its not a bad place, especially if you dig that hippie homey lounge.


29%

Rude staff, small rooms for the number of beds, unsafe, smelly, the beds are uncomfortable and the linen is very used and dirty, bathrooms are also in a very poor condition and the showers too.

  • 11th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Staff were extremely nice and other guests lovely. The accommodation is scruffy, the beds uncomfortable, the hallways smelly, the carpet in the hallways filthy, yuk! The bathrooms confusing and inconcenient. They are unisex which is not clear. I spent ages looking for the ladies bathroom on my first night. Personally I didn't like this because of the way it is done. The bedding tired and dirty looking, pillows too well used. Lounge dingy. Overall not pleasant at all.

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good time. Met nice people in a good atmosphere. Nice light breakfast, should put cereal. Room was clean. I booked for a 12 beds dorm mixed and i had finally a 6 beds dorm mixed so not bad at all. Glad to watch the rugby matches on a big screen in a common area, thanks a lot. Friendly hostel, small, good location. Will go again.


77%

I would not normally choose to stay in a pub, the location is great for the proximity to transport. Woke up suffering from a hangover - strange since I had not consumed any alcohol. Breakfast was nothing to write home about. Relaxed atmosphere & friendly bunch of locals.


49%

This hostel felt very run down and unloved. Staff were rather confrontational and rude. There were a number of longterm guests that had been/were living in the hostel (mixed dorms) for months on end. Each to their own, but it seemed a bit weird. The atmosphere in the communal area was a typical modern hostel: a mortuary of glowing blue faces engrossed in smartphones. Overall it felt like it was decaying and due a knocking down. Beds & linen were clean, as were free towels.


100%

Top place to stay


57%

Nothing particularly wrong with the place, just seemed very miserable like no one wanted to be there!


100%

Wonderful hostel and great people working there. My friend and I felt really comfortable there and safe. Thank you for making our short staying as comfortable as it could be.


(57 results)


View all Birmingham Hostels

Please give us your feedback