Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Birmingham Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
10th Sep 2017
7.7

Owners would do good in investing into new mattresses and window. Rather uncomfortable beds since you can feel each elastic spring in the mattress and I was lucky it was a 'warm' day since the windows are very bad and the air comes through even when they are closed. So must be pretty cold to sleep there on a stormy day or in wintertime. For one night in summertime I would still recommend it though :-) Most adorable common area to hang out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2017
8.9

Really nice hostel. Room was clean and the staff was nice. The area looks a bit creepy but it's actually really close to the center. I would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Aug 2017
6.6

Nice hostel overall. A bit lacking on the facilities though. Wouldn't recommend for solo travelers who are not comfortable yet, as it isn't in the best part of town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2017
9.4

why i rated security not so good because, one night i woke up watching someone, a guy climbing into the room from outside the building through the window, as i was in the Room( room 7 ) to be precise. That was really scaring and as a family man, i couldn't tell source experience to my wife and kids.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Aug 2017
7.1

Stayed multiple times here, but could be my last. I requested to see if I could be moved to a lower bunk as leaving early and was told can’t be done due to being fully booked. Woke up next day to find 3 empty beds. Also lack of shower if you leave early did not work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2017
9.1

All great, but the spring mattress was worn and terrible

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Aug 2017
9.7

The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The beds and rooms are very clean and comfy. Security is good as well. Will definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • JackDavies
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
7th Aug 2017
8.3

Nice little hostel - good brekky, warm vibes, great movies! Nice staff and great location (the area looks a little run down, so beware if you're arriving late at night, but then again I was in the area for a long while at night and I never felt unsafe or saw any trouble). Definitely the best hostel in Birmingham, does it's job well. Would recommend. Also it's literally right next door to the central bus station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Domocn
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
8.9

I would really consider my options before staying here again due to the fact that I I received homophobic abuse from members of the public nearby and also witnessed a car burglary.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Aug 2017
8.3

Good hostel. Location is a bit dodgy. Not a party hostel, seemed to be a place where people stayed kinda long term.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×