Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Birmingham Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Apr 2017
3.7

Terrible location, pretty sketchy area. Old and the room smelled terrible. The 3 guys working were really only concerned with hanging out with 2 girls that had been staying there.One guy at reception was really nice and helpful, but a younger guy who was obviously a boxer do to his practicing in the common area, was really aggressive and douchey. He turned on music super loud while we were all watching a movie and yelled&cursed at a girl who asked him to turn it down. Wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
8.9

Very easy to reach, friendly staff, great breakfasts, easy check in-out procedures, thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
8.6

For a night to crash out its great. Cleanliness is miles ahead of most . Wifi works only in reception area which is a big let down.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
5.1

The hostel smells and the atmosphere is rather creepy. Definitely not worth the GBP15 I paid.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Mar 2017
7.7

Bathrooms and showers are very clean. Showers have absolutely no pressure though. Bedding needs to be cleaned (found dried gum in my pillowcase). Some of the rooms need a little work. Not a lot of electrical sockets to plug anything in. No lockers to keep your stuff, or even your valuables in which made me a little uneasy. Breakfast was nice and simple. Staff are friendly and happy to help. Close to the Bull Ring and most central areas

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
6.9

Staff friendly. Cosy lounge. Showers awe full in attaches accom. No pressure. An emabatrrsment. Was a rave on sat night right next to us. Music thumping all night. Close to centre so handy. Basic breakfast. Good free tea coffee all day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
9.4

Really friendly and helpful staff, a quick walk to the centre and Breakfast readily available! Only complaint is not having a mirror in the bedroom, sorry I'm a girl!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
7.7

Decent hostel, not the cleanest, but decent, price is very good. Little bit out of the city (20 min walking) but that's not a big deal. Staff is quite friendly and helpful as well. Only thing I didn't like is you have to pay to hire a locker. But overall, I'd say there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
7.7

location is perfect, 5 min to the coach station, 10 min to city centre, there are some stores around but everything major you get from the bullring probably hostel itself was ok, some weird people but that's not the hostel's fault, staff was friendly and helpful. the free breakfast is basic but good (bread w/ jelly/nutella + fruits + juice) my bed was not really comfy, matress needs to be changed and there are too few sockets for everyone in the room clean toilets and bathroom though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
5.7

Staff were really friendly, breakfast and wifi were both good. However, the room was so hot and smelt absolutely terrible, and was super crowded so everyone's shoes, laundry, and food were all over the floor. I didn't feel safe walking around the area at night either. Bathrooms were cleaner but overall it wasn't enjoyable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.