Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel Medellin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
7.7

Really well located hostel with a really helpful reception staff who would go out of there way to help book tours for you and give you tips on what to do. Well done guys! The rooms and facilities were very basic though. I was on the top bunk bed and my bed creaked non stop and wasn't very sturdy. The plug sockets are very outdated and didn't really work. There was also no a/c or even fans in the room. It's a nice hostel in a good location but I think you can get better value for your money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
13th Jul 2017
10.0

This is a great hostel, the privates are like staying in a hotel! The staff are very friendly and really helpful with anything that you need to know, especially Daniel who made our stay unforgettable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
8.3

Great hostel, awesome tours and very helpful staff. I'll be staying there again if I make it back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
8.6

Definitely come for the atmosphere+staff, that's top notch! Location wise it's pretty decent too, with a fairly short walk to Poblado metro station and a 10 minute walk to the restaurants and bars. The "hard product", i.e. beds+, is definitely not up to par though. Beds are squeaky and not comfy. No individual reading lights nor power plugs. Half of the power plugs in the room were too loose and wouldn't even work. Bathrooms are decent at best - clean, but with traces of mold in corners.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
10.0

Black Sheep was a great hostel in Medellin! It felt extremely safe, with a buzzer-entrance and 24-hour reception, and was a friendly environment. The hostel has a kitchen you can use, as well as spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. The staff were helpful in setting up tours and arranging taxis.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.4

Really good value. Has everything you need and a sociable atmosphere. Only thing was it's a bit of a walk to get to Calle 10.. but we had an awesome stay. They also didn't shut down too early - about 1.30am which is ideal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
8.6

Big hostel with many people. Has lots of space to chill, in my sense too many drug taking folks there but could be coincident. Kitchen is fairly small for size of hostel. Excellent wifi which is really fast! Highly appreciated for backing up photos! More for party folks I guess

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Jun 2017
8.0

Nice social hostel with a good vibe. There is not enough power sockets and the ones that are in the rooms often don't work. The facilities are decent but some bigger lockers in the rooms would be really nice. Overall it was a really nice hostel though. The staff were helpful and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hostel if you are looking for somewhere that is very social but not one of those 'party' hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
9.7

I was only meant to stay here for two nights and ended up staying two weeks. The staff is really incredibly nice and knowledgeable. Juliana knew the answer to everything and was extremely helpful in making appointments and setting up tours. Stephen was so patient and helpful with everyone during the late hours of the night. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate everyone's needs. The facilities had pretty much everything you could ever want from a well equipped kitchen to hairdryers/irons

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Jun 2017
8.6

We really liked this hostel. About 20min walk from main square in el poblado but very close to metro stop which makes up for it. Great friendly vibe around the hostel and easy to meet other travellers. People would have a few drinks together and then if going out head out together at 11ish so the hostel didn't feel that much of a party hostel. Low points were a very busy kitchen at meal times and the wifi didn't make it down to our room which was at the very end of the hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.