Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel Medellin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin Located at Transversal 5A #45-133, Patio Bonito, Medellin.
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
Colombia
Medellin Transversal 5A #45-133, Patio Bonito
88% 1305
6.2074343 -75.5756215
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Nov 2016
10.0

Great hostel with super helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

Booked 2 nights - stayed 4!! Good place to stay to get involved in Medellin! Arranged good yours, staff all very friendly and helpful - was good after a long bus from Santa Marta. Good location. All in all one to stay at

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
7.7

Kelvin and Juliana were most welcoming. Within 15 minutes I knew what was in the area and my plans for the next two days! My major peeve was that a lot of travelers were smokers. Even though they did that outside the second hand smoke came into the hallways. Yuck! close those doors! Bathrooms were usable but definitely need TLC from the high use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
9.4

Awesome, friendly staff in a super safe neighborhood in El Poblado. Parque Lleras and the rest of the trendy cafes/restaurants and party area is a 15 minute uphill walk but its nice way to get some exercise. 20 minute walk to two massive upscale malls, Oviedo and Santa Fe, and very close to an Éxito supermarket. Staff helpful with information and booking of tours, and the snacks and beer were the cheapest I've seen at a hostel. Would stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.7

Great, clean hostel in a decent location for exploring Medellin. The private rooms are more like budget hotel rooms (in a good way). The real city tour the hostel recommends is truly excellent. However I wouldn't recommend the Escobar your the hostel also recommends to visitors (paisa road). The staff on the tour seem disdainful of travelers' interest in Escobar - which is fair, but a bit odd if you profit from and run this tour.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
9.1

Great hostel in a decent location with friendly and helpful staff, loads of tours and stuff to do. Very easy to meet people and to get to the bars etc up at that square, whatever it was called. Very secure too. Would definitely go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
8.0

Excellent place to meet friendly backpackers

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Nov 2016
9.4

Our stay was short but sweet. Good lovely atmosphere but also had areas to chill/watch films etc. Staff were really nice and spoke English or Spanish which was really helpful. Rooms were really nice and clean and shower was nice too. Only downside was not having brekkie included Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
9.7

A really great place with a friendly staff. I stayed for two weeks and took Spanish lessons with Yadi (also a great experience). It's walking distance to the Metro (to go downtown), to Parque Lleras (bars, clubs, hostels), and to a massive Exito (Colombian Walmart). There's a great social scene on the patios, but also easy to get a good night of sleep with an early bed time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Nov 2016
3.1

The owner / receptionist was not helpful at all. He was pretty arrogant in fact and neither helped with a pick up from the airport nor with The only question we had once we arrived: is there an alternative pablo Escobar tour to the one we just missed? The answer was No. with a quick online research we were able to book another guided tour of which he surely knows of. The hostel feels overall very shabby, the guests only make it a cosy place. The location is good.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your comments. I must defend myself. firstly in the future you should get your facts straight before launching a personal attack against someone. it is not my fault that due to your own poor planning you arrived one day late on a two day trip to Medellin. also you arrived at the bus station on a bus from Manizales. So how I was supposed to organize a pick up for you from the airport I do not know. so that's just an outright lie. I have been organising morning tours with two Pablo Escobar tour companies for over ten years. we have sent collectively around 10,000 people on those tours. of course I did not have any incentive not to try to get you on one of those tours. and no I did not have any contact or know of an alternative tour. good to see you used some initiative and found out about one on the internet. your comments are obviously in the minority. perhaps the fault lies with yourself. unfortunately we can't retrospectively vet guests. god knows I wish we could. kelvin, owner/recpecionist

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.