Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel Medellin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Sep 2017
8.9

Would recommend booking in advance as it gets fully booked very quickly. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and was very clean and comfortable with lockers just outside. The staff were extremely helpful and we went on some of the best tours we have done in Colombia. We took a graffiti tour, a day trip to Guatape and a walking tour all organised through the hostel and were fabulous. The kitchen is small but easy to cook food. The outside area is small and often the smell of smoke lingers in the building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2017
9.4

Beautiful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Jellyfeather
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Sep 2017
8.6

Upstairs is new and great quality. Downstairs a little older. Superb friendly staff who are happy to help. Not enough power points per room or lockers for all guests. Sometimes have to wait for bathrooms. Small kitchen but functions. Close to Metro but about 20min walk to party zone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2017
9.4

Great location, great atmosphere, clean room, and super friendly English-speaking staff. Though a bit noisy one night, didn't really bother me:) Highly recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Sep 2017
9.7

My girlfriend stayed in a private room with shared bathroom for a few nights after completing a WorkAway on a farm and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The room was very much like a hotel room (though a bit hot), comfortable and spacious. The bathroom facilities were very good, and cleaned regularly. The kitchen was spacious and functioned well, though there was a curious shortage of forks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And the atmosphere in the court at night was fun. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mollytpagden3559
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2017
8.9

Great hostel if you are traveling alone, I found it really easy to meet people. There aren't enough lockers for people so that is one of the only downfalls. Location is great, not far from all the bars and restaurants in Poblado but also really close to the metro. Could have had more bathrooms but that was never really a huge issue. Staff was super helpful and friendly!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Sep 2017
9.1

Great clean hostel worth staying in on your travels. Helpful staff and great rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
4th Sep 2017
9.7

A great place to discover Medellin from. Awesome staff on reception and a friendly crowd in the hostel. Our room was great and free coffee kick started the day. A 15 or so min walk up to the centre of Zona Rosa and about 5 mins from the metro station. Oh and they managed to magically make our clothes from the Lost City jungle trek smell like new!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2017
9.4

The staff were super friendly... You couldn't ask for better. The hostel is really close to the Plobado metro stop which is great, but it's a 20 minute walk from Poblado neighborhood so be prepared for the uphill walk. Also, the water was cold and pressure was non-existent the first day, but worked fine days 2 and 3. Overall, you get what you paid for... great value for the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Sep 2017
8.0

Staff members were very friendly and helpful. The other guests we met were also great and we had an awesome night out with them in Medellin. The kitchen was pretty filthy though and we found someone else's old socks under our bed... No bar but beers are on offer from reception area (cold and cheap) and a decent sized balcony upstairs to socialise. Well located for the station and all Poblado has to offer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us we are making an effort to keep the kitchen tidier and have increased our cleaning staff shifts to make an effort to improve the cleanliness of the hostel. thanks again, Kelvin

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×