Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
Black Sheep Hostel Located at Barbarossaplatz 1, , Cologne.
Black Sheep Hostel
Germany
Cologne Nordrhein Westfalen 50674 Barbarossaplatz 1
77% 1163
50.9285890 6.9423200
Black Sheep Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • katyensch9060
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.7

I really liked this hostel, they've made an effort to make it feel like home with cute decoration, and the beds are great! Everything was really clean and comfy and although not very central you can walk or take the tram very easily to the main attractions. The staff were all very friendly other than the morning guy who was SO rude! He burnt my toast by putting it down in the toaster again while cleaning, and then he took the bread away and wouldn't let me have anymore! His manner was very harsh

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.7

This hostel was amazing! Super cosy with amazing artwork covering the walls. The beds were comfortable, with curtain partitions to provide privacy. The showers were hot and, over all, this is my favourite hostel so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Dec 2016
9.4

Although I stayed in a mixed dorm, it felt safe. The dorm is a friendly and easy mingle space for those who are keen to meet new friends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Dec 2016
8.0

A decent but nice walk from the train station and old town. Had a fabulous time, only problem is the McDonalds can be a bit noisy if you are in a room right above it, but otherwise a great hostel, really recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
10.0

I stayed in a mixed dorm here. The value for the rooms were great! Be aware that if you stay in the mixed dorms they might smell and there are no dryers. However, I loved cooking in the little common room and every night the company was great! Great for solo travellers. Staff was super helpful. I especially loved this girl with dreads from Ukraine, she was so absolutely kind, sweet and helpful! I love the owner of black sheep he was amazing and made it a really nice overall stay! Great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Dec 2016
7.1

Clean room and comfy beds but bathrooms weren't clean. Perfect location though and very nice staff. Would recommend!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for the nice feedback! With cleaning the bathrooms, we do what we can. Especially when a guy works here alone, we depend a bit on a direct feedback. So when there's something wrong in the female showers or bathrooms, we don't see this at once, because we don't want to run into the female areas all the time. But we do our best to remove any ... as fast as possible... Black Sheep Crew.

2nd Dec 2016
5.7

A lot further out of town that expected though the team was good. Not a lot of things to do around the hostel- no restaurants or bars just a McDonald's. Wifi only worked in the common area, not in the dorm. Staff were friendly enough but there at very limited times if you had any questions.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your rating. What we are wonder: in 2 min walking distance is the (very famos) Zülpicher Street with many many bars and restaurants (it´s the student district) and also the "Ringe" (also a famos party area) are very close by the hostel. So it´s definitly not true that the are no restaurants or bars in the area.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
1st Nov 2016
8.0

A nice hostel close to Luxor (went there for a concert) and easy tram connection to the old city centre and the cathedral. Had a dorm room to myself. Nice private beds, with your own shelf, bedlight and curtain. I would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, cool, thanks a lot! Black Sheep Crew

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
26th Oct 2016
8.6

Great physical location, just our room was right above the train station. Anytime the window was open between 5am and 1am you could hear the roar of the S Bahn. Very offputting. Great staff and kitchen, overall we were very happy, aside from the other inconsiderate travellers, we had a lovely stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks a lot for the nice comments! And yes, the trams are a nuisance... but that's the price we all pay for being in the heart of the city.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
10.0

A truly wonderful hostel, everyone can find their space here. Supportive, friendly and characteristic staff members, really relaxed atmosphere and such a welcoming place. Very close to shops and trams. Great, such great value for money and kindness with the breakfast each morning. The showers were hot and strong too. Such a short stay but such a perfect place to restart our travels. Thank you lots for this and best of luck and fun with everything. Jen and Patrick dragon dorm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, cool, we're glad you enjoyed everything...! Black Sheep Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.