Hostelworld.com

Black Sheep Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,060 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,060 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
Black Sheep Hostel Located at Barbarossaplatz 1, , Cologne.
Black Sheep Hostel
Germany
Cologne Nordrhein Westfalen 50674 Barbarossaplatz 1
80% 1060
50.9285890 6.9423200
Black Sheep Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2016
7.7

Friendly staff. Great stay and great to meet some good people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your lovely comment and that you enjoyed the stay in Black Sheep Hostel

  • paulliwali
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th May 2016
4.9

I didn't have high expectations for Black sheep hostel and I went in expecting a relatively messy but fun place to stay. However, when I went the atmosphere was terrible and I didn't feel safe living there. It might have to do with the other residents living there who were a large group of younger people that only talked within themselves, some older adults and a few other backpackers. It might have been a better experience if travelling during peak season. Otherwise the facilities were usable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comment, yes we had a large group so the atmosphere was not really backpacker-like but not unsafe or dangerous. they just stayed in their own group... So if you are back in the backpacker season it would be different...

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

We had a great stay. Clean facilities; relaxed, fun atmosphere; helpful, friendly staff; and nice rooms. Would recommend to friends and stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, 100% rating!! Thank you very much.

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2016
7.7

A fine hostel, the decoration is a little bit childish but the room was quite comfortable. The curtains for each bed in the 8 people room are pretty cool. The facilities were fine but the hostel kept closed 1 of the 2 toilettes in the men restroom, and 4 out of 6 showers. The two showers left did not work properly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Lovely hostel stay with friendly, helpful staff! Themed rooms were really cool. Wifi could have been better within in the rooms but that's minor! Access to the rooms could be a little more secure (the door to reception can be entered by anyone). Overall a very positive experience with no major problems or complaints, would highly recommend the hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your lovely comment. For security: the front door is looked with a code, we change frequently and each room is only accessible with a key, in the rooms are lockers for the personal belongings.

15th Apr 2016
7.7

Cash only!! It's like a 15min walk from the center square area. The hostel is in this kind of apartment complex, it's not a self standing building. The one thing I encountered when I was there, was random smells of sewage at certain times of day. It wasn't the hostel that smelled, cuz overall the hostel was pretty clean. It was something outside that was drifting in. I know they have no control over it, but it was pretty bad. Just go site seeing when the smell comes, it doesn't linger.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comment.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.6

Really good hostel, only negative fact is that you can not pay by card

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Nice that you liked the stay with us. We are sorry but we only like cash...

15th Apr 2016
8.6

I would book here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • cem3246
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
7.4

The place was Ok but it didn't look very clean, specially our bed sheets that had a huge brown stain and they were not even folded when handed to us. Bathrooms were also not the cleanest and the showers were very uncomfortable to get dressed. Breakfast was OK.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment. We are sorry that you got unfolded sheets and would you have said that there is a huge stain on it we would ha give you new ones immediately. For the bathrooms: normally we try to keep them clean but we can´t be al the time there and it´s hard to keep common bathrooms clean as private ones.

23rd Mar 2016
5.4

This is not a horrible hostel its just seems rundown and old.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.