Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1246 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1246 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • momaynard
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
8.3

Quite a simple hostel, cheap and cheerful, but honestly the BEST atmosphere. Staying for only 3 days I met so many interesting people, and I totally loved it. (They have free pasta too so that's brilliant)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2017
7.7

Location is great if you want to visit the bars of the city. Facilities are basic but nothing too special. It was very close to a busy road so it was noisy at night. It's good for a short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
7.1

The hostel itself was fairly nice. The decorations are amazing although the corridors lacked natural light however this is not a massive issue. It had facilities such as a lovely kitchen with some items of free food to use, a washing machine, a large number of showers etc. My only issue was the wifi which personally almost never worked in the rooms or the common room. Although you are told about this when you arrive it is still an issue. However location and staff are very good. Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.6

Central, clean, lovely themes for the rooms, funny staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.6

Me and my friend stayed in the Swedish room, which had quirky decor and a nice view over Barbarossaplatz. The free breakfast was toast and cereal which was good, and everyone was friendly. Its quite central, but we got lost on the walk from the train station, so its probably a good idea to get a definitive idea of the route prior.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Jul 2017
8.0

It won't win any awards for its facilities but I would stay here again just for the atmosphere- it has one of the best hostel vibes I've found, I think that's because it's so small and has a lot of solo travellers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
6.3

The hostel is quite a ways away from the normal tourist destinations of the city. It is fairly close to the Uni and university party areas, however. There was mold in the bathrooms; there were two showers in the women's bathroom but with little privacy to the main hallway. The beds were quite squeaky and you can hear the people in the next room. Our smoke alarm beeped low battery all night. No wireless in the common area. Friendly and helpful staff, esp for late checkin or early check out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
6.6

This hostel is one floor on the first floor near a busy road, good for transportation but try to get a room not facing the road unless you like the noise of traffic. Wifi wasn't great. Outside smoking area and kitchen were good and helpful for socialising. Also the washing machine was an added bonus. Location was good for food and drink but about 30 minute walk from the river.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
8.9

Lovely hostel. The beds (at least in the female dorm) had curtains and three outlets, plus a reading light and tiny nightstand thing. Breakfast is free but it's only bread and jam. They have free pasta you can make but sauce isn't guaranteed. However, the wifi is slow, it often didn't work for hours at a time, and it kept kicking me off without me knowing so I ended up getting $25 in international data charges. The staff is very friendly though, I definitely recommend. Bring your own towel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jun 2017
8.6

Very friendly feel to the hostel once you're inside. From the outside it seems a bit run-down and is difficult to find. The facilities were good, a really good cooker and a nice common area. Breakfast was basic but adequate. The dorm had a locker for each bed which was useful. The traffic outside was a bit noisy but otherwise a nice place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.