Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Black Sheep Hostel Located at Barbarossaplatz 1, , Cologne.
Black Sheep Hostel
Germany
Cologne Nordrhein Westfalen 50674 Barbarossaplatz 1
80% 1107
50.9285890 6.9423200
Black Sheep Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
10.0

I loved the place. The staff there was friendly and helpful, the hostel had a fab atmospher. I loved the location, the kitchen and the common room are the places to be, met some amazing people there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.9

This hostel is about 15 mins walk into the shopping district of Cologne (which is a pretty big area) but it's very close to a tram stop. This does make some of the rooms a little noisy but for me this wasn't a problem. The big selling point of this hostel though is the relaxed atmosphere. I met some really good people here and had a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

I had a fab time here. Really easy to meet people and had a great time. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
7.7

It was noisy due to a tram stop and an S-bahn stop outside the hostel. It didn't bother me so much but I'm sure it would bother some people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
8.3

This hostel was a good price in a good location, many places to get food and right across the street from the store. Although, it didn't have a/c so you had to leave the windows open while you slept which is right in front of a quite populated tram stop, so it was very loud. I suggest you buy a pair of ear plugs from the reception, you'll need them. But overall I really enjoyed staying at this hostel and would probably stay here again if ever in Cologne (Köln).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jul 2016
5.7

Not a great hostel if your traveling alone , there was no atmosphere at all , they have a kitchen but very small and hard to cook with the lack of pots and pans etc , I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here maybe 2 nights tops of you want to see the city and sights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kinkaninan5567
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.9

Hello! Many thanks for your service but the only thing I can complain,it is the bath area was in mess, a lot of puddle in each shower room.May please I suggest to you to have someone available from 6h00 am to 20h00 to clean. I even did not like the smell in the lift. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
6.6

The place was very very noisy and was hard to get a good sleep. Also very hot as they have no air conditioning and no fans in any rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
4.3

The staff member on the day was very Rude Was more interested in trying chat up the Asian customers Trying to give her the royal treatment as if he was doing peacock dance to get into her pants Very unfriendly Where is that german friendly hello And place looks like someone the let kids go wild on the walls And smile and a hello goes a long way for customer service and reviews Please avoid

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.1

Great funny themed rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.