Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Black Sheep Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,093 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,093 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Black Sheep Hostel Located at Barbarossaplatz 1, , Cologne.
Black Sheep Hostel
Germany
Cologne Nordrhein Westfalen 50674 Barbarossaplatz 1
80% 1093
50.9285890 6.9423200
Black Sheep Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jul 2016
8.3

This hostel was a good price in a good location, many places to get food and right across the street from the store. Although, it didn't have a/c so you had to leave the windows open while you slept which is right in front of a quite populated tram stop, so it was very loud. I suggest you buy a pair of ear plugs from the reception, you'll need them. But overall I really enjoyed staying at this hostel and would probably stay here again if ever in Cologne (Köln).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
6.6

The place was very very noisy and was hard to get a good sleep. Also very hot as they have no air conditioning and no fans in any rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
4.3

The staff member on the day was very Rude Was more interested in trying chat up the Asian customers Trying to give her the royal treatment as if he was doing peacock dance to get into her pants Very unfriendly Where is that german friendly hello And place looks like someone the let kids go wild on the walls And smile and a hello goes a long way for customer service and reviews Please avoid

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.1

Great funny themed rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
5.1

The main reason that I chose it was the localization, 0,5 km away from the city center, as is written in the web site. When I arrived there I realiased that I need to take a metro to go to the place. It wasn't far but It wasn't what I wanted. The place seens to be very dirty. Not all staff are so friendly. The rooms were really hot and noisy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2016
6.9

Great comfy bed, and love the curtains to make it more private. Wifi didn't work in the rooms but thats the only downside. Great little hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
10.0

Brilliant location, great price, really fantastic friendly and helpful staff and a great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
8.3

It was a bit away from the city center but the tram stop is just right outside so you can go to the tourist attractions fairly easily. The staff was really nice. I stayed in an 8 bedroom dorm and felt that I had some privacy because of the curtains they had by the bed. Their free breakfast was simple bread and spreads. They had free pasta and tea/coffee. Their WiFi worked well for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jun 2016
7.4

It was alright but the place was kind of messy and a bit out of the way. Also the fire alarm went off twice one night for no reason

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your review. We are sorry but we are not organized like the big hostels or hostel chains but we try the best for you. Fire alarm: we are happy that´s just without any reason (but no fire alarm is the best).

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2016
7.7

Friendly staff. Great stay and great to meet some good people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your lovely comment and that you enjoyed the stay in Black Sheep Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.