Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
31st Mar 2017
9.1

Very clean, nice rooms. All the guests were respectful except a group of children who were up until 1 AM screaming and the staff took no steps towards quieting them. Good location with easy access to transportation. Nice, simple breakfast in the mornings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the excellent voting. We're happe, you liked it here...! Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
5.1

I booked this hostel solely for its location to the city centre. It is listed as 0.75 km away from city centre. This is NOT true - they may claim they are close to the bar/pub street and that is NOT the same as the city centre. It should be changed for accuracy. As many people who are traveling need wifi to keep in contact with family the wifi did NOT work!!! Not in the rooms or the hallway. There was also nowhere to sit to try and use the wifi. Overall: would NOT recommend

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for voting us, but come on, we are really central! It's 1 km to the cathedral, less than a km to the Rhine and th central spots, Shopping is even much closer, the pubs and clubs just around the corner belong to the city centre, too. And we're sorry about the Wifi. In the rooms it works, and if there's something wrong, please tell us and we can settle it. Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.3

Very good budget hostel with a laid back and slightly run down atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the "run down atmosphere"! We prefer to call it shared-flat-charm. We like our stuff here, bring furniture from our homes, and are keeping the atmosphere cosy, we hope.... Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

4th Mar 2017
8.6

Amazing, friendly hostel. Full of life, great people, unlimited brekkie, querky character, free food, makes me realize why I travel. If only people would wash their dishes ugh!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I think the dishes are the same problem in hostels all over the world. For us, the crew here, it's always the challenge to keep the balance between reminding people and washing the stuff ourselves...

18th Feb 2017
8.0

I enjoyed my stay in the blacksheep hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cool! Thanks for the nice voting! Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

18th Feb 2017
6.9

Location is ok, it's about a 20 min walk to the old town, but that's not much of a problem. Staff was really nice. My main objection was that wifi was only available in the hall, and the common room was mainly for breakfast but never really saw anyone in there in the afternoon.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! The atmosphere always depends on who's here. So we're sorry, there were no other guests hanging out in the hostel, but this changes every day. And a word about the wifi: Our idea is to provide wifi in the hall and in the rooms, so everybody can do her/his online business. The wifi is not strong enough for the kitchen, and that's because we want people to spend their time there chatting with the other guests, and not disappearing in their individual cyber worlds. Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.0

Staff were really friendly and location was great! Atmosphere was really nice and the decoration was pretty cool. Really loved that the bunk beds had their own curtains, lamp and plug sockets. The only thing I wasn't happy with was that the wifi didn't reach the room - and when it did, it was extremely slow.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you very much for the nice feedback! ...and for the comment on the wifi, we're working on it... Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.9

Not too much to look at from outside, but the hostel itself is really sweet with themed rooms and a community vibe. My bed was a little enclosed wooden area with a curtain and it was my own little nest over the three nights I stayed. I rented a bicycle which made everywhere in the city maxiumum 20 minutes away. Theres a REWE (supermarket) slapbang outside the door and its great for anything you need. Probably not for you if youre an antisocial 5* hotel snob, but overall for me pretty damn good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Cool, thanks! We're happy, you liked it here. Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
9.1

Does the job. Nice looking place, cheap, showers, social room, free breakfast. You may or may not be able to find people to talk with depending on who is in your room at the time and which staff member is currently taking care of the place! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Cool, Thanks. ...and true, while cleaning we are less talkative. But after having done the necessary stuff we like a chat, too. Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

10th Feb 2017
7.4

Only two showers were available as the others were locked up during my whole stay as well as the bathroom stalls. A little on the dirty side, other than that it's cool, I enjoyed my stay. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the nice feedback. And we do our best to keep everything tidy and clean. So best talk to us, if there's anything wrong. We can open showers or clean... Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.