Hostelworld.com

Black Sheep Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
Black Sheep Hostel Located at Barbarossaplatz 1, , Cologne.
Black Sheep Hostel
Germany
Cologne Nordrhein Westfalen 50674 Barbarossaplatz 1
81% 1073
50.9285890 6.9423200
Black Sheep Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2016
8.3

It was a bit away from the city center but the tram stop is just right outside so you can go to the tourist attractions fairly easily. The staff was really nice. I stayed in an 8 bedroom dorm and felt that I had some privacy because of the curtains they had by the bed. Their free breakfast was simple bread and spreads. They had free pasta and tea/coffee. Their WiFi worked well for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jun 2016
7.4

It was alright but the place was kind of messy and a bit out of the way. Also the fire alarm went off twice one night for no reason

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your review. We are sorry but we are not organized like the big hostels or hostel chains but we try the best for you. Fire alarm: we are happy that´s just without any reason (but no fire alarm is the best).

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2016
7.7

Friendly staff. Great stay and great to meet some good people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your lovely comment and that you enjoyed the stay in Black Sheep Hostel

  • paulliwali
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th May 2016
4.9

I didn't have high expectations for Black sheep hostel and I went in expecting a relatively messy but fun place to stay. However, when I went the atmosphere was terrible and I didn't feel safe living there. It might have to do with the other residents living there who were a large group of younger people that only talked within themselves, some older adults and a few other backpackers. It might have been a better experience if travelling during peak season. Otherwise the facilities were usable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comment, yes we had a large group so the atmosphere was not really backpacker-like but not unsafe or dangerous. they just stayed in their own group... So if you are back in the backpacker season it would be different...

29th Apr 2016
7.7

Odd place but decent. Decent location to find bars nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

We had a great stay. Clean facilities; relaxed, fun atmosphere; helpful, friendly staff; and nice rooms. Would recommend to friends and stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, 100% rating!! Thank you very much.

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2016
7.7

A fine hostel, the decoration is a little bit childish but the room was quite comfortable. The curtains for each bed in the 8 people room are pretty cool. The facilities were fine but the hostel kept closed 1 of the 2 toilettes in the men restroom, and 4 out of 6 showers. The two showers left did not work properly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Lovely hostel stay with friendly, helpful staff! Themed rooms were really cool. Wifi could have been better within in the rooms but that's minor! Access to the rooms could be a little more secure (the door to reception can be entered by anyone). Overall a very positive experience with no major problems or complaints, would highly recommend the hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your lovely comment. For security: the front door is looked with a code, we change frequently and each room is only accessible with a key, in the rooms are lockers for the personal belongings.

15th Apr 2016
7.7

Cash only!! It's like a 15min walk from the center square area. The hostel is in this kind of apartment complex, it's not a self standing building. The one thing I encountered when I was there, was random smells of sewage at certain times of day. It wasn't the hostel that smelled, cuz overall the hostel was pretty clean. It was something outside that was drifting in. I know they have no control over it, but it was pretty bad. Just go site seeing when the smell comes, it doesn't linger.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comment.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.6

Really good hostel, only negative fact is that you can not pay by card

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Nice that you liked the stay with us. We are sorry but we only like cash...

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.