Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jun 2017
6.3

The hostel is quite a ways away from the normal tourist destinations of the city. It is fairly close to the Uni and university party areas, however. There was mold in the bathrooms; there were two showers in the women's bathroom but with little privacy to the main hallway. The beds were quite squeaky and you can hear the people in the next room. Our smoke alarm beeped low battery all night. No wireless in the common area. Friendly and helpful staff, esp for late checkin or early check out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.9

Lovely hostel. The beds (at least in the female dorm) had curtains and three outlets, plus a reading light and tiny nightstand thing. Breakfast is free but it's only bread and jam. They have free pasta you can make but sauce isn't guaranteed. However, the wifi is slow, it often didn't work for hours at a time, and it kept kicking me off without me knowing so I ended up getting $25 in international data charges. The staff is very friendly though, I definitely recommend. Bring your own towel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Jun 2017
9.1

This is a great hostel in a well connected location (only 20-30 minutes walking or a 5 minute ride on the tram to the downtown). Facilities were clean and well equipped. Met many very nice travellers here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th May 2017
7.4

A hostel i have stayed at a few times over the years. They do a good job but it is getting a little expensive for what is on offer when there are other good alternative hostels closer to the city centre and station. On the plus side they have wifi and a great communal kitchen and an open outside area and a McDonalds and supermarket just outside the hostel. The showers need a bit of repairing with the shower head and drainage and i remember last year was the same. Overall a good hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
6.0

Facility easy to get to by metro, it looks a lot worse on the outside than it is. Rooms are themed and super cute. Bathrooms were spacious and kept pretty clean. Only downside is a small kitchen (and dirty) lounge area. Staff aren't super friendly and don't care. Overall it was fine for staying there for a day or two.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
7.4

Nice place with lots of character! Larger lockers would be nice. Kitchen needs more breakfast utensils and bowls. Wi-Fi is consistently unstable. The place is great and we'll taken care off. Staff are very friendly and hepfull.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • vandervloetjonas1193
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helped very good when U had questions about Public Transport or visiting things in Cologne. It is not located in the center of the city but also not really far away. The rooms where nice and especially because it was not with numbering but with theme's what was also the decoration of the room. And it is always nice when a Hostel have some free ingredients to cook with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
9.1

Very clean, nice rooms. All the guests were respectful except a group of children who were up until 1 AM screaming and the staff took no steps towards quieting them. Good location with easy access to transportation. Nice, simple breakfast in the mornings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the excellent voting. We're happe, you liked it here...! Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
5.1

I booked this hostel solely for its location to the city centre. It is listed as 0.75 km away from city centre. This is NOT true - they may claim they are close to the bar/pub street and that is NOT the same as the city centre. It should be changed for accuracy. As many people who are traveling need wifi to keep in contact with family the wifi did NOT work!!! Not in the rooms or the hallway. There was also nowhere to sit to try and use the wifi. Overall: would NOT recommend

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for voting us, but come on, we are really central! It's 1 km to the cathedral, less than a km to the Rhine and th central spots, Shopping is even much closer, the pubs and clubs just around the corner belong to the city centre, too. And we're sorry about the Wifi. In the rooms it works, and if there's something wrong, please tell us and we can settle it. Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.3

Very good budget hostel with a laid back and slightly run down atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the "run down atmosphere"! We prefer to call it shared-flat-charm. We like our stuff here, bring furniture from our homes, and are keeping the atmosphere cosy, we hope.... Best Regards, the Black Sheep Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.