Hostelworld.com

Black Sheep Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,054 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,054 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
Black Sheep Hostel Located at Barbarossaplatz 1, , Cologne.
Black Sheep Hostel
Germany
Cologne Nordrhein Westfalen 50674 Barbarossaplatz 1
81% 1054
50.9285890 6.9423200
Black Sheep Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

We had a great stay. Clean facilities; relaxed, fun atmosphere; helpful, friendly staff; and nice rooms. Would recommend to friends and stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2016
7.7

A fine hostel, the decoration is a little bit childish but the room was quite comfortable. The curtains for each bed in the 8 people room are pretty cool. The facilities were fine but the hostel kept closed 1 of the 2 toilettes in the men restroom, and 4 out of 6 showers. The two showers left did not work properly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Lovely hostel stay with friendly, helpful staff! Themed rooms were really cool. Wifi could have been better within in the rooms but that's minor! Access to the rooms could be a little more secure (the door to reception can be entered by anyone). Overall a very positive experience with no major problems or complaints, would highly recommend the hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your lovely comment. For security: the front door is looked with a code, we change frequently and each room is only accessible with a key, in the rooms are lockers for the personal belongings.

15th Apr 2016
7.7

Cash only!! It's like a 15min walk from the center square area. The hostel is in this kind of apartment complex, it's not a self standing building. The one thing I encountered when I was there, was random smells of sewage at certain times of day. It wasn't the hostel that smelled, cuz overall the hostel was pretty clean. It was something outside that was drifting in. I know they have no control over it, but it was pretty bad. Just go site seeing when the smell comes, it doesn't linger.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comment.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.6

Really good hostel, only negative fact is that you can not pay by card

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Nice that you liked the stay with us. We are sorry but we only like cash...

15th Apr 2016
8.6

I would book here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • cem3246
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
7.4

The place was Ok but it didn't look very clean, specially our bed sheets that had a huge brown stain and they were not even folded when handed to us. Bathrooms were also not the cleanest and the showers were very uncomfortable to get dressed. Breakfast was OK.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment. We are sorry that you got unfolded sheets and would you have said that there is a huge stain on it we would ha give you new ones immediately. For the bathrooms: normally we try to keep them clean but we can´t be al the time there and it´s hard to keep common bathrooms clean as private ones.

  • KylieHill
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
9.4

Overall awesome experience. Super friendly staff, comfortable and private beds, main hallway is full of themes rooms. I wish I hadn't booked to stay in the all female dorm so I could have stayed in a themed one (Swedish room, circus room, Indian room etc.) great common area with enough free food to scramble up breakfast in a pinch, and awesome balcony! Would come back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you had a great time in Cologne and in the Black Sheep.

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Mar 2016
9.7

The staff is nice and helpful. The facility is good. It has a good location which has many restaurants and supermarket nearby. But it is not that near to the city centre and it will take you like 20 minutes to walk to the city centre. However, generally it is really good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely comment and we are happy that you had a nice stay in Black Sheep Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
9.4

I was really impressed with the Black Sheep Hostel. Between the atmosphere created by the uniqueness of the place and the upkeep of the hostel by the staff as well as the staff itself, I felt incredibly welcome and comfortable upon the moment of my arrival. I would 100% stay here again if again in Köln.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for the nice comment and that you had a nice stay in Black Sheep.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.