Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1,124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1,124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
Black Sheep Hostel Located at Barbarossaplatz 1, , Cologne.
Black Sheep Hostel
Germany
Cologne Nordrhein Westfalen 50674 Barbarossaplatz 1
78% 1124
50.9285890 6.9423200
Black Sheep Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
5.1

I have never seen that much filthy hostel! Sorry to say that but bathrooms and toilets are more than dirthy!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Sep 2016
7.4

Great little hostel, nothing fancy but good location and great if you want to meet people and enjoy the night life in the city. Easy to get to and a short train ride from the city center. Food stores are just 1min walk away. Beds were clean, comfy etc. the showers were a bit gross though which would be my only complaint. The older rooms aren't as good as the new rooms so it's worth asking for the newer rooms which have power sockets and curtains. Staff were super friendly!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.3

Good value forr The Money, beds separated.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
8.9

Good hostel. Clean. Good Lockers (a little small, but fitted a half full 40L back pack.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
9.4

I LOVED this hostel. One of the best ones I stayed at throughout my entire trip. The free breakfast was awesome, and the free packages of pasta they keep in the kitchen was a lifesaver too. Wifi was great throughout the building, and the atmosphere in the common room was fun. Not super close to the city center, but a nice walk or a quick train ride would take you there without hassle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
8.3

Great if you're on a budget. While the hostel itself doesn't have planned pub crawls or walking tours, they provide you with information on finding them. On the smaller side so harder to meet people but hang out on the balcony or in kitchen and enjoy free coffee/tea with other visitors.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
10.0

I loved the place. The staff there was friendly and helpful, the hostel had a fab atmospher. I loved the location, the kitchen and the common room are the places to be, met some amazing people there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.9

This hostel is about 15 mins walk into the shopping district of Cologne (which is a pretty big area) but it's very close to a tram stop. This does make some of the rooms a little noisy but for me this wasn't a problem. The big selling point of this hostel though is the relaxed atmosphere. I met some really good people here and had a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.0

This hostel had the best toilet paper on our month long trip. The rooms are really cool - they are themed and each bed has its own curtain for added privacy! Staff was very helpful - I think it's run by one guy - but he is not on reception all the time which is sometimes not ideal. Common room is wifi free to encourage real conversation, which I think works rather well

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

I had a fab time here. Really easy to meet people and had a great time. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.