Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1,148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1,148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4
Black Sheep Hostel Located at Barbarossaplatz 1, , Cologne.
Black Sheep Hostel
Germany
Cologne Nordrhein Westfalen 50674 Barbarossaplatz 1
78% 1148
50.9285890 6.9423200
Black Sheep Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
1st Nov 2016
8.0

A nice hostel close to Luxor (went there for a concert) and easy tram connection to the old city centre and the cathedral. Had a dorm room to myself. Nice private beds, with your own shelf, bedlight and curtain. I would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
26th Oct 2016
8.6

Great physical location, just our room was right above the train station. Anytime the window was open between 5am and 1am you could hear the roar of the S Bahn. Very offputting. Great staff and kitchen, overall we were very happy, aside from the other inconsiderate travellers, we had a lovely stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
10.0

A truly wonderful hostel, everyone can find their space here. Supportive, friendly and characteristic staff members, really relaxed atmosphere and such a welcoming place. Very close to shops and trams. Great, such great value for money and kindness with the breakfast each morning. The showers were hot and strong too. Such a short stay but such a perfect place to restart our travels. Thank you lots for this and best of luck and fun with everything. Jen and Patrick dragon dorm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Oct 2016
5.7

The breakfast is really poor, just some bread and jelly in a room where you have to cook to yourself and clean your own dishes. The bathrooms are not that clean, and the hostel is above a mc donalds store, so the room smell like mc donalds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
6.6

The toilet paper was amazing. You weren't allowed to eat or drink anything (except for water) in the rooms which felt pretty strange to me. The hostel is a little bit far from everything if you're staying only for a short time and prefer to walk everywhere like we did.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
10.0

One of my favourite hostels so far. Great for if you're travelling alone. ty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
28th Sep 2016
5.7

Beds were comfortable. It's a small hostel, and was full of a school group during my stay, so not very social. Not a very big common area to sit in. Very basic breakfast. I found the kitchen very untidy. 30 min walk from dom, and I found directions given difficulty to work out how to get there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Sep 2016
8.0

I was lucky enough to share with some very pleasant gentlemen who were very friendly. I may have been the only female in the room, but I always felt comfortable. The tram stop is right at the hostels doorstep which is perfect if you're feeling a little lazy. The outdoor furniture could have done with a bit of a revamp, but otherwise everything was great. Although each bed didn't have a plug socket, an extension cable with 3 ports was shared between each bunk, so always a plus. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
5.1

I have never seen that much filthy hostel! Sorry to say that but bathrooms and toilets are more than dirthy!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Sep 2016
7.4

Great little hostel, nothing fancy but good location and great if you want to meet people and enjoy the night life in the city. Easy to get to and a short train ride from the city center. Food stores are just 1min walk away. Beds were clean, comfy etc. the showers were a bit gross though which would be my only complaint. The older rooms aren't as good as the new rooms so it's worth asking for the newer rooms which have power sockets and curtains. Staff were super friendly!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.