X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Black Swan Reviews

Ali Bei 15, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
598 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Dreadlocks guy was legit. Great stay at black swan. An awesome atmosphere and great people.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was very nice! Everything was very clean and tidy, the rooms werent stuffy, lockers in the rooms, events pretty much every night. The kitchen was fantastic. Really close to everything and a grocery store next door (still completely shocked how cheap food is there). The workers were all very nice with the exception of one condescending girl. The place is more pricey than other hostels in barcelona but definitely worth it. Dryers suck! You have to pay twice 4 them to be dry, 3.50€ each


100%

Jenny and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Black Swan is very well managed and I would strongly recommend any traveler to stay here.


100%

This hostel was awesome. We arrived in the pm, were told about a bar crawl with the hostel, put our stuff away in the clean rooms, and had a blast on the bar crawl. People were super nice and helpful, facilities were clean, and everything just worked well.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good value for the little money it costs to stay. Breakfast was great! A little disappointed with staff, most of the times we had questions or were trying to check in or out we were told "it wasn't a good time" and to come back a little later. And we got wrong directions from the staff multiple times. But still loved the hostel and would stay again!


94%

Really nice hostel with dedicated and friendly staff. Especially the receptionist Jenny was very talkative and suppportive. Even got my bus tickets printed out for free. Only point for improvement potential are the toilets... the room lacks ventilation and is too small. But all in all, I had a wonderful stay in the Black Swan.


91%

Great, friendly, helpful staff. The cleaner does a great job but for some reason the guys bathroom still smelt a bit off and the room (number 110 I think) smelt a bit like a rabbit cage (except after the cleaner had been in, it smelt good after that for a few hours). I had a great stay and would recommend it to friends. Thankyou!

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was friendly and helpful! Place was very clean and the atmosphere was great!

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome comment and review ! Safe travels =)

100%

VERY good hostel. The staff was helpful and they had a lot of activities planned for everyone which was very nice.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to know you had a lot of fun when you were here =) Thanks!

86%

Jenny, one of the staff, was very very lovely, very nice and helpful with directions. it's quite a social hostel, free breakfast is always nice, and the walking tour was the highlight that is organised through the hostel. Angie, (I hope was her name) my tour guide for the Gothic quarter tour was amazing. She knows so much history, and has a personal connection with Spain and Barcelona.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment !

91%

Really nice modern hostel with really friendly and helpful staff. Good location close to metro station and not too far to walk to some major attractions. A touch expensive though


94%

This was the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It was clean and well organized, the staff were all super friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was amazing. They really put an effort in to get people involved in activities and the city. I would recommend anyone to stay here and hope to be back soon.

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We will be glad to see you again soon =) Thank you

80%

My room did not have hot water :(

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

super friendly staff, super helpful, great atmosphere

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review =) Safe travels!

100%

Such an amazing hostel for meeting people, touring Barcelona, and partying. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
With people like you, the hostels atmosphere will always be alive and friendly! Gracias =)

100%

Not even sure how to write how fantastic my stay was and how incredible barcelona is! Sight seeing to partying to amazing staff and making wonderful new friends around the world! Black swan focuses on community within I could not be happier with my stay!

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's what BlackSwan hostel is all about ..A community where people meet, enjoy and relax =) Thank you! We'll be glad to see you again here Safe travels!

83%

A bit cumbersome that outlets were in lockers for the 14 person bedrooms. Music in the areas right outside rooms was a bit much, its better to have that mainly in the lobby area. Otherwise, great hostel that fits Barcelona!


97%

Centrally located, clean and comfortable hostel with a spacious, well equipped kitchen and good amount of showers, and - most of all - super nice, friendly and helpful staff. Really nice time at Black Swan hostel!

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks =) We hope to see you here again soon !

100%

Josh gave me a free samosa if I wrote s good review

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The Rasta man let us stay after check out time on Sunday morning, so that was awesome :)

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And thanks for the awesome review as well ..The Rasta man sends his regards =) Cheers!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(108 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback