X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Blossoms York Reviews

28 Clifton, York, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
124 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Nice value for money very basic but clean

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
57%

Stayed in room 5, a large room. The hostel was around 10 minutes walk from the town - a bit far, but a nice walk. The large double bed was comfortable, but it was made of two mattresses, and eventually there was a big gap in the middle. The shower was too small, and too low for a tall person, and the fixture was broken. The kettle was broken, and a lamp was missing a bulb. The carpets were dirty. But we had nice, clean towels. A lot of potential here - it could be refurbished beautifully.


37%

When I booked Blossoms, and saw it claimed the title BnB, I wrongly assumed it would be better than a hostel. Blossoms serve breakfast but only at an extra charge, so technically they are not a BnB. Rooms were only 70% clean, at that, shower was broken and entire place tired. To top it off I developed bites on my arms a few days after staying. Bed bugs? Don't do it to yourself. Spend an extra £20 and stay anywhere else but here!

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

We felt tied after spending 4 hours on the train, but the stuff told us that we can't check in until 4 o'clock. So we had to go out to find somewhere for killing time. The shower and thw window were broken in our room. additionally it's called b&b but customers have to pay at least 4.50 pounds for 1 breakfast.


60%

Booked Blossoms at short notice when travelling to York for a family event, not knowing what to expect, in one section it was referred to as a hotel and then a hostel in another. Looked pleasant from the outside, parking was convenient and the duty manager helpful. However in the room the carpets were heavily stained as were much of the decor and fittings and no TV remote. Came back on the second night to find someone sleeping on the stairs outside our room !.Bedding clean, beds worn out.

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

When we arrived we were told they would have to find the key. The woman who helped us seemed as though she would rather be anywhere else but in our company. Working in customer service myself I understand how important the customer should be. The room we stayed in was small, dusty and even though it had an ensuite, it was tiny, I could barely stand in the shower. The advantage to the stay was wifi. The gentleman who fixed the shower, which wouldnt turn on, was quite pleasant. Don't recommend.

  • 9th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Nice room, small bathroom but good shower, and about 10 min walk from the centre.


66%

Great location: maybe ten minutes' walk from the Minster. TV and coffee in room was a nice touch. The room was a bit small, but adequate, and the ensuite was really convenient (if, again, tiny). Secluded (but not locked) car park was nice as well. Full breakfast, while not cheap (£7.95, I believe), was delicious, and they have a lighter option too. Stayed over Christmas, so I can't really speak to the atmosphere: York absolutely shuts down.


91%

Excellent staff. Alex was very helpful and made our stay wonderful. But expensive but the service was great. The bed was a bit creaky. The car park could have better signs and the breakfast is expensive for what you get. The room was a good size and the bathroom very clean. Would happily stay again.


97%

The staff was really friendly and helpful but it's a bit far from the station


94%

The room vas clean and the staff really helpful. Very good value hostel, close to city center.

  • 21st Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

No complaints, just not overwhelmed although we loved York, despite the bad weather. Staff were helpful and friendly.


94%

It was my husbands birthday and our Wedding Anniversary We had a wonderful time the room was very clean the towel were white clean and Fluffie the bedding was very clean . The breakfast was a full English breakfast a bit to grease for me but never th less the guy worked hard and it was what it said it would be thank you for having us and we will return

  • 2nd Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Really great stay and a lovely clean room, would have been nice to have more leaflets/information about York in a communal area but a really nice stay nonetheless.


89%

a warm and comfortbale stay, thank you very much

  • 14th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice hostel, nice and friendly staffs, our room is clean and spacious, not far from the centre, around 10 minutes walk which is just a straight road, easy to familiar with.

  • 13th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly and helpful staff.Good value for money.

  • 11th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff were helpful and friendly, breakfast was good value for money.

  • 11th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


90%

The only downside was that the shower ran too hot, othere than that, it was a fantastic place to stay

  • 22nd Jun 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

difficult to find,very noisy as it's close to the main road. very tiny shower which is normally used for a boat. we find it very bad to put such thing in such characteristc building.I almost fell from the shower due to too much difference of hight to the ground.very expensive stay without breadfirst included.we won't stay there next time.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(96 results)


View all York Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback