Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Almond Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jul 2017
10.0

Been in South America a total of 8 months and this is easily up there with one of my favourite hostels. An unbelievably warm welcome from the staff that made me feel at home straight away. They offer cheap and reliable services across everything there is to see and do. If your not out on the beach or seeing the islands, hanging out at the hostel with a few beers and some music is just as nice. It was very sad to leave both Alejandros who work there, both absolute legends and brothers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2017
5.7

Except for the good people that stayed with us and the cute dog, this hostel, for it's price, didn't answer our expectations at all. The rooms and the hostel itself are extremely hot. There are fans to ease your suffer, but the morning's sun will wake you up eventually. The showers have the weakest stream I've ever seen in a hostel. The owner is really nice and helpful, but his hostel is just not as nice as him.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
8.9

Great atmosphere, amazing staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
9.4

Great experience and best hostel atmosphere I have ever been to. Alejando goes out of his way to make sure you have a great time. Facilities are okay, but hey it's San Andres. Definitely going back one day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andreaiseppi2311
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
4th Jun 2017
8.0

Cool little hostel with a nice chilled out vibe. Lovely friendly staff who make an effort to introduce guests to each other. Good kitchen and decent wifi. It is about a 15 min walk to the main town and the rooms are super hot but each bed has its own fan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
29th May 2017
8.6

Stayed at Blue Almond for a week and loved it, Juan is lovely, will help with anything you need and also make sure you're shown a good time, when you all go out on Wednesday. Cleaner is always cleaning so place is super clean!! Location is out of town, but worth the 15min walk into town, as it's the best hostel in San Andreas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
4.9

Place was just a little grungy and didn't seem clean. The staff was decent. Just a chill place to rest your head and then jump off to the next destination, nothing special

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th May 2017
6.6

I was really surprised that this hostel had such a high rating!! There is no air conditioning and the rooms are very stuffy. The facilities are quiet bad especially the kitchen. The bathoom doors in my room did not lock, blunt knives, shitty pots and pans makes it hard to cook a decent meal. My mattress had a hole in the middle of it so i spent most of the time trying to sleep around it. The wifi is also quiet weak which makes planning quiet hard. The only pro is the atmosphere!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, this review breaks my heart and it proves a point that when you go out of you way to help people it generally goes unnoticed. You were a party of 4 people staying only for 2 nights and you had to move out as we didn't have any availability, nonetheless We let you all hang out in the hostel (against hostel rules) and even use the kitchen and the facilities free of charge, we even let you guys take your PADI exam in our hostel. Why on earth would you come back and use the kitchen if it was that bad?, why didn't you tell me about the "hole" in the mattress?. Faith in humanity LOST!

10th May 2017
6.9

Really helpful staff. Free rum n coke on party Wednesday was also a nice touch. Spacious room with lockers and free towel. Good kitchen facilities. Broken furniture, location a 15 min walk to town/main beach. Awkward sliding door to access room with sensor light and outdoor light beaming in. Snorkels can be rented for a day for 15mil but bought in town for 20mil? For half the price u can get air con, pool, bar, good wifi, free breakfast & water pressure elsewhere in Colombia but might just be SA

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Henry, we are sorry you disliked our hostel. Comparing San Andres to any place in Colombia is very unfair, just for reference we pay the most expensive electricity in Colombia, so expensive that the government subsidies half of everyone's electricity bill, out Internet bill for 1 MBPS is what 20 MBPS cost in Bogota, almost all perishables are shipped from Colombia so everything is about 30 to 40% more expensive than in the mainland hence we have to pay higher wages so our employees can afford to live here. As for the snorkels we rent, we offer high quality, brand name, tempered glass snorkels that retail for about $200.000 COP, we would never try to sell/rent the plastic snorkels you are talking about buying downtown.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
10.0

best hostel, designed by backpackers for real backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.