Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Almond Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 213 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 213 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th May 2017
4.9

Place was just a little grungy and didn't seem clean. The staff was decent. Just a chill place to rest your head and then jump off to the next destination, nothing special

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th May 2017
6.6

I was really surprised that this hostel had such a high rating!! There is no air conditioning and the rooms are very stuffy. The facilities are quiet bad especially the kitchen. The bathoom doors in my room did not lock, blunt knives, shitty pots and pans makes it hard to cook a decent meal. My mattress had a hole in the middle of it so i spent most of the time trying to sleep around it. The wifi is also quiet weak which makes planning quiet hard. The only pro is the atmosphere!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, this review breaks my heart and it proves a point that when you go out of you way to help people it generally goes unnoticed. You were a party of 4 people staying only for 2 nights and you had to move out as we didn't have any availability, nonetheless We let you all hang out in the hostel (against hostel rules) and even use the kitchen and the facilities free of charge, we even let you guys take your PADI exam in our hostel. Why on earth would you come back and use the kitchen if it was that bad?, why didn't you tell me about the "hole" in the mattress?. Faith in humanity LOST!

10th May 2017
6.9

Really helpful staff. Free rum n coke on party Wednesday was also a nice touch. Spacious room with lockers and free towel. Good kitchen facilities. Broken furniture, location a 15 min walk to town/main beach. Awkward sliding door to access room with sensor light and outdoor light beaming in. Snorkels can be rented for a day for 15mil but bought in town for 20mil? For half the price u can get air con, pool, bar, good wifi, free breakfast & water pressure elsewhere in Colombia but might just be SA

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Henry, we are sorry you disliked our hostel. Comparing San Andres to any place in Colombia is very unfair, just for reference we pay the most expensive electricity in Colombia, so expensive that the government subsidies half of everyone's electricity bill, out Internet bill for 1 MBPS is what 20 MBPS cost in Bogota, almost all perishables are shipped from Colombia so everything is about 30 to 40% more expensive than in the mainland hence we have to pay higher wages so our employees can afford to live here. As for the snorkels we rent, we offer high quality, brand name, tempered glass snorkels that retail for about $200.000 COP, we would never try to sell/rent the plastic snorkels you are talking about buying downtown.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
10.0

best hostel, designed by backpackers for real backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
10.0

Loved staying here, I became friends with the owner and the work away volunteer as well as everyone else that was staying here, we all went out together. Juan, the owner, introduced everyone to eachother and encouraged people to talk and hang out, he also made sure he personally knew everyone staying here. There was never a dull moment! Wifi is not the best but it's like that on the entire island. Rooms and beds were great, comfortable. Wednesday's are designated party nights!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Mar 2017
10.0

So happy I got to spend time with Juan and Jenniffer (and Shaggy the dog!) at Blue Almond. They were nothing but helpful and fun to party with. The hostel is clean and cozy, which ensures you make friends fast. The location is ideal and it's easy to get to any destination. Thanks for the wonderful time and hope to see you in Toronto soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
8.6

Love Love the hostel owners. Very friendly and helpful and would hang out with the travelers. The hostel consists of 2 houses. One house is the 10-bed dorm. I happened to stay here and I wouldn't chose this again. Bathrooms are small and non existent water pressure. Door is opened through the window. Some beds are better than others (the one located in the rooms). But no bunks, which is great. The other house is much better. I ended up taking shower there which has way better bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
6.6

I took a private room, basic room, holes on the ceiling and small share restrooms, this place has a kitchen that you can use, so it's a good place if you are traveling on a limited budged. Quite place after 23h, can't do laundry and there is extra charges for a lot of things, like taking a shower after 13h on your checkout day, in case your decide to go to the beach before your flight.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear John, the information you shared is false, or partially true. There's indeed an extra $20.000 COP charge after 4 PM (not 1pm like you wrote) on the day of your check out IF and only IF you want to use the facilities of the hostel (showers, kitchen, computers, netflix, surfboards, towels etc), however you are not obligated to pay this if you are only going to hang out in the common areas. About 90% of the people taking late flights have no problem paying this fee, because they find it fair. Besides that charge I don't know what other charge you are talking about, if you mean the snorkel gear, the golf carts or scooters we rent, there's obviously a charge for those as they are complementary services. On another topic We told you many times the reason why we don't do laundries at the hostel, water is a very limited resource in the island, so we rather not do laundries so we would have enough water for showers and toilets, I told you there's a laundry place 5 mins away from the hostel that charges $8.000 per item that you could take your laundry to.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.9

A hostel with a really friendly atmosphere. The owners are great ppl that make you feel home and happy. Always willing to help with any question. The only problem was that it was overbooked when we arrived so they gave us a room in a house across the street. There were two seperate beds and one was very uncomfortable. Also there were children crying a lot and every morning at 7am somebody was putting music on high volume and cleaning. I guess at the hostel itself we would have gotten more sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
9.4

An amazing hostel! It was clean, beautiful, well located and the owners were incredible ! They are always thinking about creating a good atmosphere among the people of the Hostel . we spent two great nights there and we got to know lots of people :) ,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.