Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Almond Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Mar 2017
10.0

So happy I got to spend time with Juan and Jenniffer (and Shaggy the dog!) at Blue Almond. They were nothing but helpful and fun to party with. The hostel is clean and cozy, which ensures you make friends fast. The location is ideal and it's easy to get to any destination. Thanks for the wonderful time and hope to see you in Toronto soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
6.6

I took a private room, basic room, holes on the ceiling and small share restrooms, this place has a kitchen that you can use, so it's a good place if you are traveling on a limited budged. Quite place after 23h, can't do laundry and there is extra charges for a lot of things, like taking a shower after 13h on your checkout day, in case your decide to go to the beach before your flight.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear John, the information you shared is false, or partially true. There's indeed an extra $20.000 COP charge after 4 PM (not 1pm like you wrote) on the day of your check out IF and only IF you want to use the facilities of the hostel (showers, kitchen, computers, netflix, surfboards, towels etc), however you are not obligated to pay this if you are only going to hang out in the common areas. About 90% of the people taking late flights have no problem paying this fee, because they find it fair. Besides that charge I don't know what other charge you are talking about, if you mean the snorkel gear, the golf carts or scooters we rent, there's obviously a charge for those as they are complementary services. On another topic We told you many times the reason why we don't do laundries at the hostel, water is a very limited resource in the island, so we rather not do laundries so we would have enough water for showers and toilets, I told you there's a laundry place 5 mins away from the hostel that charges $8.000 per item that you could take your laundry to.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.9

A hostel with a really friendly atmosphere. The owners are great ppl that make you feel home and happy. Always willing to help with any question. The only problem was that it was overbooked when we arrived so they gave us a room in a house across the street. There were two seperate beds and one was very uncomfortable. Also there were children crying a lot and every morning at 7am somebody was putting music on high volume and cleaning. I guess at the hostel itself we would have gotten more sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
9.4

An amazing hostel! It was clean, beautiful, well located and the owners were incredible ! They are always thinking about creating a good atmosphere among the people of the Hostel . we spent two great nights there and we got to know lots of people :) ,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Had an awesome stay! Juan and Jennifer are fantastic hosts who help you out and treat you like family. Best Hostel I have ever stayed at. They have a beautiful dog named Scooby and the helper Miss Ryan was very nice and very helping. Met new friends and had an incredible experience in San Andrés.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
8.9

the hostel is basic,so might not be for everyone - no air conditioning, a walk to the beach, wifi mostly in common areas and a little lower water pressure (in an attempt to help the environment of the whole island!) you are in san andres! to us these were very minor details especially based on the atmosphere, kitchen and cost of the rooms at the hostel. if these things matter to you, you might want to stay somewhere else. Thanks again juan and jennifer for making our visit great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
29th Jan 2017
5.7

I don't get all the rave reviews about this place! It was fine but nothing special in my opinion. My main issue was security. I was in a room at the front of the building and was shown how to open the door by opening the window and reaching in to the door handle, so anyone could have got in. The showers in the room were also useless (although others were better). There's limited hostel options on San Andres so maybe this is the best of a bad bunch...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.4

This small hostel is centrally located- a walk to the centro town -& beach and a bus/mototaxi to the the more southern beaches. The size of the hostel and the friendliness of the owners and staff make it feel more like staying at a friend's house. owners Juan and Jennifer are from the island and can recommend or help with anything. They are also fun and amiable folks who make everyone feel included and enjoy the island, including going out w the hostel sometimes. Stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Dec 2016
8.6

Nice place to stay for a few days, but be prepared to travel. It's a 15 minute walk in to the central part of town, or hire a motorbike/golf buggy to get to the nicer beaches and snorkelling spots. There's a friendly inclusive vibe and the staff are all really helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Dec 2016
5.4

Spent here 14 days. Water - I think they should inform people there is no pressure at all (some drops per sec). They tried to convince me it is normal for the island (quote: Didn't you read anything about San Andrés?!) but the gym next to the hostel had normal pressure. WiFi - only if you are in the central prt and no one is using it. Constantly drops, just unusable even for simple browsing. Alejandro - although a bit intense at first is the best part of BAlmond. Super resourceful and funny.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.