X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Blue Danube Hostel Reviews

Kazinczy street 5, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

98%

Rating
502 Total Reviews
  • 98%Value For Money
  • 98%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 97%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Our stay at the Blue Danube was fantastic! By far one of the best places we've stayed at, really has raised the bar for all other hostels! Sandor was amazing, he picked us up from the bus station and on the way to the hostel gave us a mini tour of the city, and when we got to the hostel went through everything we could possibly want to do with us. We had a private room which was very spacious, and a kitchen and common area we shared either just one other room- so lovely! Thanks Sandor!


100%

Sandor is really enthousiastic in informing about the best spots in Budapest!!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thinking that we had booked a hostel room with a double bed and ensuite, we were stunned when the manager, Sandor, picked us up from the bus station and took us to a cool little studio apartment, complete with kitchen and laundry facilities. We didn't get much of a chance to use the kitchen, as the apartment was right in the middle of the restaurant and bar district known as the Jewish quarter. Having said that, it was part of a gated complex, so it was completely secure and quiet as a mouse. A+

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent choice. Very helpful with local info; it's good to see someone so passionate about his city. And really couldn't want a better location.


100%

We took an entire tour across Europe, and this hostel, along with its owner, Sandor, was the best experience that we had by far. Not only was the location beyond perfect, as it was right in the ex-Jewish quarter, which is the center of nightlife in Budapest, but the apartment and its amenities were also beyond amazing. It was clean, modern, had the most amazing bathroom, a personal balcony, a personal washer, and full service kitchen. And Sandor...is like a walking encyclopedia about Budapest.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Sandor is a great host. He is very helpful and knows everything about events, places and food. Across the street from no. 1 ruinbar in Budapest.


100%

Had an absolutely fantastic stay. Sandor was the most helpful hostel owner we've ever encountered and was willing to do anything for us to improve our experience. Fantastic Hostel, location is unbeatable.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, great service and great value-couldn't ask for anything more !


100%

Don't generally review hostels, but had to make an exception for the blue Danube. An excellent place to stay! Very clean with great facilities. Above all though, Sandor, the owner, helped make our experience in Budapest very easy and enjoyable. Extremely accommodating and always happy to help with everything from transfers to the airport/train station along with information about the city! Money couldn't buy the tips he provided us with! A man truly passionate about his city- and it showed!


97%

Sándor is the best hostel owner ever! he picked me up at the station free of charge and took his time explaining and showing in a map tons of things to do in Budapest, from bath houses to the best restaurants and pubs. the room and bathroom were very clean. the location is pretty good, close to the train station and to a metro station also. I would definitely stay there again!


100%

My friend and I stayed at the Blue Danube during our interrailing trip. I can honestly say that the Blue Danube was probably our favourite hostel that we stayed at. It had a perfect location, great facilities, and the manager (Sandor) was absolutely brilliant. When we arrived at the train station, he picked us up and gave us a quick tour of the best places to go during our stay. Thank you, Sandor, for being so hospitable, friendly and warm.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Sandor is absolutely amazing! Great customer service, great location. My only suggestion for improvement is to have a lock box for valuables in the room. It's the place to stay in Budapest!

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel I have ever stayed at! Sandor was amazing

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Extremely well stocked apartment with all the essentials available. Very pleasant and helpful hostel manager. Location really cool not have been better either :)


83%

The owner was excellent, extremely helpful, spent a lot of time with us giving us tips on the best places to go in Budapest. Only issues were that some of the sheets/pillows smelt like sweat, and the shower space was very a bit small.


100%

Thank you Sandor! You were so helpful in making our stay a wonderful experience.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Where should I start? Sandor is unbelievably helpful. He picked us up from the train station for free and then gave a drive around the city. Then, he gave a 30 minute crash session on what to do in Budapest. Location for the hostel is beyond ideal and the facilities were high end hotel quality. Could not recommend this hostel enough. Thank you Sandor!


100%

Wonderful place to stay in Budapest ! Would go back in a heart beat. Can't get a better location and awesome host.


100%

Absolutely perfect location right in the centre of everything you want to see. So close to all the bars and clubs but still peaceful if you want to have a night in! Sandor the owner picked me up from the airport, he is so passionate and knowledgeable about this home town. He gave us so many places to go and things to see and told is we cld call him any time of the day or night if we needed anything! I loved this place! Wld recommended anyone to stay there and will defiantly be staying again!!


100%

This was our best hostel experience on our trip around Europe. The room and kitchen were a good size, the location was right in the middle of the best bar and food scene, and you were also walking distance for sightseeing. The best part though was the owner, Sandor, who picked us up from the train station, told us everything that we should see on our stay, and also drove me to the hospital at 5am after an alochol/spa-party related incident our first night. I highly recommend staying here!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback