Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Moon Hotel NYC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 268 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 268 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Apr 2017
6.0

Cons: 1) You have to wait until 3PM to check in even thou the room is already clean and available, ridiculous. 2) There is no locker for your bag in the room or in the entire hotel so keep in mind if you have anything valuable like a laptop that you don't want hanging around. Pros: 1) Laundry facility 2) Room and bathroom are top-notch

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.6

Great hostel! Only complaint was the club next door... the music was very loud and made it a bit difficult to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
6.0

I was not very happy with my overall experience at Blue Moon. The location and the beds are nice, but there is a $50 deposit for the room (which seems ridiculous), the "luggage storage" is completely unsecured and there are no lockers (even in the shared hostel-style rooms), and one night I found an enormous bug in my bathroom. The hostel rooms are set up more like a hotel and some girls in my room had to sleep on trundle beds, which I found very weird. It is not really what I consider a hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.0

Blue Moon was a great hostel that is more like a hotel. I was perfectly located and had everything you need. However, its not a party hostel, there are no hotel run social events. But its in the perfect location to go out. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.0

I shared room with 6 females & every shower I took was very cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
9.4

Great location. We loved our suite and the private balcony 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
8.0

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay. My only complaint (that is within the hostel's control) is that I had to make my own bed upon arrival and the blanket felt cheap (light weight and strange material).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
8.3

The location is great. Close to subway stops, good restaurants and Chinatown. The area is artsy with lots of cool shops and cafes and bars. Stayed in the dorm with six beds. A bit cramped but it worked. A clean and big bathroom ensuite. The staff in the reception could have more knowledge about the area and what restaurants to recommend. They literally had no idea. The German guy was unfriendly and unhelpful. He didn't seem to be happy to work there, neither did he seem to like people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • djjsimpson8981
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
27th Mar 2017
8.3

Spacious rooms, new bathrooms, clean, expensive but so is everywhere in NYC

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Mar 2017
7.7

Good place, well located. In the morning there is no enough hot water for two people taking a shower in a row.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.