Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Moon Hotel NYC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
10.0

Everything is good, except I got tranfered to its "sister hostel" of International Student Residence for the first two nights, I was only informed when I got there. That hostel is across the river and is next to rail, not so good even I got "upgraded" from room of 4 to room of 2, it's actually more crowded. Apart from that, this hostel is in downtown, few minutes to metro station, spacious room, bed could be noisy if you move a lot. The staff is very friendly, and they work at both hostel, ha!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jul 2017
6.6

Stayed for 2 nights in a dorm. The room was great, big and bathroom clean. Peaceful hotel. Other areas (lobby, reception) were not so nice. The location in Chinatown was great. The street was lively but not too much traffic around. Easy to catch subway.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
10.0

Very clean, the bathroom was great, the beds we're nice and made. The girl working the front desk was having a rough day but was still really friendly when I checked in and answered all my stupid questions!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2017
3.1

I booked for 4 female beds. When I arrived there, I got a six female beds. I ask the receptionist but she was insisting no room for 4 beds ant that they are same price. I asked her to call the person I sent email to, who apparently the manager, when her colleague said: "TAKE THE ROOM OR NO ROOM FOR YOU". At the end, he manager gave me 4 beds. But in the second night, it becomes 5 beds. Be careful, you might ended up pay more for you are supposed to. BIG NO to this hostel! NO MORE!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
9.1

The staff was Amazing, very helpful and chiilax. Maybe one more shower close to the dorms would be nicce, the only shower to our 6 bed dorm got pretty crowded from time to time. Can really recomend anybody to stay at Blue moon hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2017
8.3

Staff so friendly and helpful. Lovely place to stay if you want to see lower manhattan xx

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
8.9

Simple, but clean in a great location. I've visited and lived in NYC many times over the last decade and consider Blue Moon one of the best values in the city. Easy access to JFK and Brooklyn. Walking distance to SoHo/Chinatown/Lower East Side. Rooms are very clean with mini fridge and bathroom. If you want a clean place to sleep in the heart of the city this is it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
10.0

Clean and in a great location in Manhattan. It's easy to get everywhere. Staff were super friendly and professional. They responded quickly to all queries.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.6

Brilliant location. Clean. There are lockers in dorms for valuables. A lot of character to the place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katkarketan94
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
8.6

It was a nice stay at Hotel blue moon, and is worth its value. The rooms were secure and clean and felt like staying in a hotel all the time. All my roommates were friendly and interactive. The area, downtown Manhattan, where the hotel is situated is not very safe at night is you are traveling single. However the area has good pubs and hotels around to dine and hangout

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.