X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Blue Mountain Backpackers Reviews

208 Long Street, Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
89 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The rooms could use a little paint, new floors and new beds, one bunk bed nearly fell apart. There were bed bugs. Staff was very friendly. Female bathroom needs more light, very dark at night with only one light source. The balcony is nice.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

We had a double room and on the second day had a large amount of money stolen from our room. This was either a member of staff with a key or a past customer still holding a key. Do NOT stay in room 20. It's a blind spot from the cameras and nothing was done to look into this. There were cockroaches in the living room area/kitchen.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Too close to the main stretch of clubs and bars, was difficult to get to sleep and the room felt cramped and stuffy.


74%

They need to change the furniture in the livingroom coutch in bad condition the rest is ok its a very nice place would be nice to have a shower in the single rooms but i had a grad time .

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
51%

We stayed one night, thank god not more. The bathrooms were very unclean, the toilet door couldn't be closed. The room was not cleaned and noisy. We saw a VERY BIG cockroach on the floor. Only positive thing, is the convenient location and the terrace overlooking Long Street.


83%

The Balcony at Blue Mountain overlooked Long Street and was a great place to sit and chat with other Backpackers. It was nice to have a single room and not share in a Dorm. I have stayed at Long Street Backpackers before but preferred Blue Mountain probably because of the single room.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a nice stay in this hostel

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

A good stay all in all, cheap, staff is helpful and bathrooms has warm water and is cleaned everyday. I recommend!

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I really enjoyed my stay! The staf is very friendly and helpful.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Bed linen was stained and holed and floor of room unswept and dirty. Staff very nice and helpful. Great location but dont stay here if you are a light sleeper as loud noise every night until the early hours. Overall good value for money in a prime location.

  • 4th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfectly located directly on Long Street, so very recommendable especially if you go out there.


74%

just a cheap and very loud place to sleep. not really a backpacker.


83%

Good for the price but too many cockroaches and bad that the reception closes at 10 pm.

  • 9th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

me and my friend had a twin room but somebody stole some of our money anyway.


57%

I stayed there for 3 nights in a double room. the room was very dirty and the cupboards were very sticky. the bathrooms and the kitchen were okay. the staff was friendly but not on time so we had problems with checking out and getting on a tour on time. the location is directly on long street so it can be very lound at night. so please stay anywhere else!!!!!

  • 9th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The staff were nice and the balcony was cool but don;t stay here if you want to sleep. Windows offer no insulation from the noise of long street, the rooms are sweat boxes, no effort is made to curtail other guests making loud noises at all hours of the night and there was hostel renovations going on, with builders hammering away from 7am (no warned was given about this). The rooms them selves were dingy and generally disappointing. Would not recommend this hostel at all.


83%

The hostel is old, but, well organized, clean and the reception staff and very competent.

  • 18th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Blue Mountain is right in the heart of Cape Town, located in the middle of the busy and famous Long Street. This means it is noisy in the night, but there are earplugs at reception :) Mould in the bath. Do not trust receptionists with tour bookings. They messed ours up. Rather book with the tour operator two blocks up the street, it's cheaper and more reliable. No WIFI However, if you're only in the city for a few days and don't plan to do more in the hostel than sleep, the hostel is good value!


63%

Dissapointed. Was scruffy around the edges, kitchen poorly equiped and staff smoked at the reception desk whilst checking in. Very noisy hostel not just from city location but every door, stair and floorboard creeks. Great for access to bars and clubs tho


71%

Good value for money, great location. Not quite as lively and inviting as some of the other hostels in the area, but a nice retreat. Great for booking trips.

  • 25th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback