X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Blue Mountain Backpackers Reviews

208 Long Street, Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

51%

Rating
80 Total Reviews
  • 20%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 40%Atmosphere
  • 20%Cleanliness
  • 40%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

We stayed one night, thank god not more. The bathrooms were very unclean, the toilet door couldn't be closed. The room was not cleaned and noisy. We saw a VERY BIG cockroach on the floor. Only positive thing, is the convenient location and the terrace overlooking Long Street.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

The Balcony at Blue Mountain overlooked Long Street and was a great place to sit and chat with other Backpackers. It was nice to have a single room and not share in a Dorm. I have stayed at Long Street Backpackers before but preferred Blue Mountain probably because of the single room.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a nice stay in this hostel

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

A good stay all in all, cheap, staff is helpful and bathrooms has warm water and is cleaned everyday. I recommend!

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I really enjoyed my stay! The staf is very friendly and helpful.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Bed linen was stained and holed and floor of room unswept and dirty. Staff very nice and helpful. Great location but dont stay here if you are a light sleeper as loud noise every night until the early hours. Overall good value for money in a prime location.

  • 4th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfectly located directly on Long Street, so very recommendable especially if you go out there.


74%

just a cheap and very loud place to sleep. not really a backpacker.


83%

Good for the price but too many cockroaches and bad that the reception closes at 10 pm.

  • 9th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

me and my friend had a twin room but somebody stole some of our money anyway.


57%

I stayed there for 3 nights in a double room. the room was very dirty and the cupboards were very sticky. the bathrooms and the kitchen were okay. the staff was friendly but not on time so we had problems with checking out and getting on a tour on time. the location is directly on long street so it can be very lound at night. so please stay anywhere else!!!!!

  • 9th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The staff were nice and the balcony was cool but don;t stay here if you want to sleep. Windows offer no insulation from the noise of long street, the rooms are sweat boxes, no effort is made to curtail other guests making loud noises at all hours of the night and there was hostel renovations going on, with builders hammering away from 7am (no warned was given about this). The rooms them selves were dingy and generally disappointing. Would not recommend this hostel at all.


83%

The hostel is old, but, well organized, clean and the reception staff and very competent.

  • 18th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Blue Mountain is right in the heart of Cape Town, located in the middle of the busy and famous Long Street. This means it is noisy in the night, but there are earplugs at reception :) Mould in the bath. Do not trust receptionists with tour bookings. They messed ours up. Rather book with the tour operator two blocks up the street, it's cheaper and more reliable. No WIFI However, if you're only in the city for a few days and don't plan to do more in the hostel than sleep, the hostel is good value!


63%

Dissapointed. Was scruffy around the edges, kitchen poorly equiped and staff smoked at the reception desk whilst checking in. Very noisy hostel not just from city location but every door, stair and floorboard creeks. Great for access to bars and clubs tho


71%

Good value for money, great location. Not quite as lively and inviting as some of the other hostels in the area, but a nice retreat. Great for booking trips.

  • 25th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

first, it is hot and there is no air con. you can get a fan if you are lucky. the noice, makes sleep is very unlikely even you have your ear phone on. but i think the location is good. so if you are only care about location, this is the place to stay. other wise, there are plenty backpackers in town.


97%

I was really impressed with this hostel. Right in the centre of Cape Town, you truly are connected to everything. The most impressive sights are only a stones throw away. The staff were really friendly and always willing to help. They were never short of a smile which created a nice, friendly atmosphere throughout the establishment. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and there was never a shortage of hot water. I wasn't too sure about the lack of cubicles in the shared bathroom though.


87%

Not a typical backpacker (I'm 60) but this place was fine - great location, helpful staff, not noisy and did the job for a night at a very reasonable price


83%

Great location, right in the middle of Long Street, the bathrooms were clean and never too busy. Staff were great, helping out with arranging tours and advice on places to eat. Kitchen seemed to have everything, though the one time we used it lots of the crockery and utensils weren't clean.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback