Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Located at 144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba, Blue Mountains.
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Australia
Blue Mountains New South Wales 2780 144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba
88% 1033
-33.7114711 150.3098988
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Jan 2017
9.7

Very large kitchen with lots of storage & clean bathrooms. Good location close to the train station but does mean it's noisy to sleep up to midnight when the last train seems to go. Good hostel with big dorms but no fans so can be pretty hot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
8.3

Spacious relax hostel. Great kitchen (not enough cutlery though). World class hostel when they renovate the common area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
9.1

Perfect place to stay in the Blue Mountains, great value and location, super friendly staff . Free laundry is always a bonus, WiFi is better than most but when Australia still struggling to stream movies... Could also do with changing the Washington clothes in the kitchen more regularly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.6

A good hostel in a good place. The kitchen is well stocked of everything you'll need to use. There is a good common area with a free pool table, tv, wifi etc. The rooms were clean and quite spacious with large individual lockers. The girl on reception was very friendly and really helpful despite her being so busy. One of the nicer hostel we have stayed on our trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

I had a lovely stay at the Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room clean and spacious and it was very useful to have your own locker. The kitchen facilities were also great and much better than other hostels I've stayed at. The location was fantastic and very easy to find from the station. I would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
7.7

Lovely location and easy to find your way around. Only downside with experiencing fleas in our room. The staff were more than helpful with moving us to a new room and working to sort the issue. This hostel was perfect for our brief stay in the blue mountains. Not a very friendly atmosphere with fellow travellers, however most were older than us and seemed to be there long term. Overall rating, very good :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review of our hostel. We take reports of unsatisfactory experiences very seriously and follow up at all times. Of course, we're very pleased that you found our staff more than helpful and that they sorted the issue out. Just to let you know, while we found no evidence of fleas (fleas themselves or their eggs) the room in question has been comprehensively sprayed, steam cleaned and was removed from use as a preventative measure. We hope these actions confirm to you how seriously we take your concerns and go some way to rectifying any concerns you may have about returning to us at a future date. Kind regards, BMBH Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was great too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.9

Overall a really good stay here. Quite old fashioned decor but doesn't matter as it's clean. We had a private room which was nice but was very far away from a toilet which was annoying in the middle of the night! Nice atmosphere especially in the common room area, very helpful and friendly staff and good kitchen facilities. overall a pleasant stay and would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Nov 2016
7.1

Pros Great location, half hour walk from echo point and three sisters (steep) and close to train station. Common room good. Large full size lockers. Laundry on site free (charge for detergent) and good sized kitchen. Cons Loud train runs past through the night so be aware of this. Loud guests especially at weekend, damp rooms and damp smell, make you pay $5 to hold luggage when you check out unless you write a good review and show them! ) No room mirrors and few showers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Nov 2016
7.7

Great location, right by the train station, and not much of a walk down to eco point or the scenic walk way, as long as you're here for walking. The wifi is very slow, and the free computers take a very long time to load everything. But over all it's a value hostel, has lockers, comfy beds, and free washing facilities, nice little stay for a couple of days on a budget

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.