X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Reviews

144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba, Blue Mountains, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
611 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The 12 bed dorm smells awefull!

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice hostel, the only sad thing is that you cant get your things out of the fridge after a certain time (forgott which one, but is was early :P )

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place! Clean, enough space for everyone, close to the train station and supermarkets and helpful, friendly staff. I booked an eight bed dorm and ended up having the whole room for myself. Probably the best hostel I've stayed in OZ so far...


80%

Beautiful place!!!


77%

Quite pleased with the accommodation. However on our 2nd night of the stay, there are other patrons having bbq right below our room, and the smoke + smell entered our room through the ventilation in the toilet making the whole room full with the smell.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I was only there for one night and a very late check in (11.30). The night manager had been forewarned and was expecting me. Everything was handled in a friendly and efficient manner. I stayed in a 8 bed dorm and the only down comment I could make would be on the lack of power points adjacent to the bunks. Not a big deal perhaps, but handy for charging mobiles etc.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Was a great place to stay (games, good equipment even if the kitchen could have more knifes and forks) and the staff was very nice.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff nice and helpful, room was very nice, everything tidy and clean, especially the kitchen, would love to stay again


57%

Singularly unwelcoming environment. Booked online, only to arrive and be confronted with a hostile receptionist and about a dozen signs saying "no Australians in dorm accomm". If you're going to maintain such a regressive policy, at least have the common decency to post it on your website (it wasn't even in the terms and conditions). Lots of over-the-top warning messages posted everywhere (one gem stated the wi-fi would be turned off if residents didn't dry and put away dishes).

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Absolutely horrific time. I was diagnosed with flu but had almost recovered. Staff were friendly when I arrived but in the morning they threatened to kick us out unless we spent money we didn't have on a medical certificate and also refused any of our other hospital papers. We ended up leaving having been treated so abhorrently. Having been diagnosed with cognitive and motor problems this obviously made things much worse for us.We were extremely shocked.we wouldn't recommend this place to anyone


100%

Location was great being just a few minutes walk from Katoomba Train Station and cafes. They have a big sitting area which was great to sit in and have your meals. They also allow you to use their kitchen and BBQ pits. Room and areas were clean. Love that the toilet next to my room was big (some hostels have really small cubicles!). Only negative point would be one of our pillows was really flat, which made it difficult to sleep. Great stay overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us Yin Xian Chee! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed all the facilities on offer at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel. We are very proud of our common areas and we will take your comment about the pillows into consideration. We hope to greet you again in the future! Safe travels, The team at BMBH

100%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! 2 mins from train station and 20 minute walk to the three sisters. Staff were incredibly friendly and the kitchen is the best I've ever seen in a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Matthew , We are glad to hear that our hostel has been the best you have stayed in ! and that our location and staff made it an enjoyable stay , Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again oneday from all the staff at BMBH

77%

The room was too cold. The heater was nowhere good enough to heat up the room, so I froze all night. The windows were very drafty as well. Apart from that the room was a odo size, and the shower very good.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Sandra , Thank you for taking the time to write a review , we like to know how our guests stay was and we are sorry to hear that you were cold in your room , you will be happy to know we have made a note of this and we will be looking into this further . Thanks BMBH

97%

The staff's response to any questions or problems was swift, professional and kind. The hostel was clean and well equipped -- a locker, kitchen tools, computers, a hair dryer etc, all for free.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Naoko , Thanks for your review we are so happy to hear you had a great stay with us , we hope to see you again sometime soon from all the staff at BMBH

86%

Low season so it was very quiet. But good hostel


94%

Really great value for the money you pay - clean beds, warm rooms, warm sheets and clean facilities. The staff were friendly and informative. The location was great, really close to the main street of Katoomba and a few hundred metres from the train station, couldn't be better.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rhys , Thanks so much for taking the time out to write a review , we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us with our winter being quite cold we enjoy hearing from our guests that they were nice and warm , we certainly are lucky to have our hostel so close to everything we hope to one day see you again all the best with your travels from the staff at BMBH

91%

Loved my stay. The emergency exit light in the dorm room was very bright when trying to sleep, however it did provide sufficient light to easily see what you were doing when you arrive into the room late at night! If I am back in the blue mountains again, I will be sure to stay at this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jamie , thanks for the reply we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us , we have a high regard when it comes to safety in our hostel thus why we need the emergency exit lights I'm glad you were able to use the light as a night light as well and i guess it that regard it came in handy ! we look forward to having you stay with us again when you are next in the Mountains ,safe travels BMBH

97%

Had a great stay. Staff are friendly, atmosphere is very welcoming. The hostel could need more power plugs or power distributors as it was hard to find a place to charge my things. However, I felt safe leaving things to charge. The kitchen was great, very clean and well equipped, I rarely see hostel kitchens looking this good. All around really well done, would like to come back some day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Sofie , Thanks so much for your review about our hostel and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay , we would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention regarding the power points as we are always looking for ways to make our hostel even better we will have a look at what we can do to get some more power points in the rooms we hope to see you again one day all the best BMBH

80%

Hostel was quite quiet because of off season. Kitchen was clean and well stocked, ensuite felt a little off,(12 people, one bathroom) wifi through building, easy access to grocery store and blue mountain national park, clean building, computers for resident use.


74%

Kitchen big and well equipped, big communal space for socialising (not the most lively hostel, but there were a few people playing drinking games over the weekend), decent location, bunk beds a bit cheap and wobbly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Amy, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at BMBH, it was a pleasure having you. Thank you for taking the time to review us we hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels, BMBH

« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Blue Mountains Hostels

Please give us your feedback