Hostelworld.com

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Located at 144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba, Blue Mountains.
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Australia
Blue Mountains New South Wales 2780 144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba
87% 955
-33.7114711 150.3098988
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jun 2016
9.7

ONe of the best hostels I have been at in Australia. The kitchen was perfectly organized and very clean, so were the rooms. Usage of laundry facilities is free. There is a huge common area with Pool table, Kicker, TV, Chimney and comfy sofas. The staff was very friendly and gave great advice. It was a very quiet place, not like the busy hostels in the city. The only minus is that some of my food got stolen... but lets not blaim the hostel for that ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel! Night manager could crack a smile but other than that, no complaints at all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
10.0

Clean, great atmosphere, large and I was very happy with my stay. Upstairs outdoor smoking area could be done up a bit to be nicer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
9.1

It was nice to have the hostel so close to the train station, but a location closer to the main attractions (The Three Sisters, Scenic World, etc.) would have been more convenient. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. The rooms themselves were not very warm or welcoming, but the bedding was nice and it was great to have a locker with a provided lock.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • boourns1101
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
6.9

It was an okay room but a bit overpriced. It was really hard to sleep due to very noisy neighbours running up and down the corridor and chatting. Earplugs are a must.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
7.1

I stayed for 3 nights. This hostel bathrooms were not very clean at all!! The showers also did not get to a really warm temperature so it felt pretty cold. People were also up late partying. The kitchen got really dirty each day too and didn't get cleaned again until the morning. I was there on a long weekend so maybe it is not like this during non-peak times. I feel if they hired more staff for the long weekend then it may not have gotten so dirty. Staff were really nice and helpful though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
10.0

Very good service and support. Clean and big kitchen, really good backpacker in Blue mountain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th May 2016
6.3

Dorm: an ok hostel if you don't want sleep. The fire exit sign in the room is lit up so bright all night you might as well leave the lights on. Obviously been a problem in the past because sign says don't cover it. Also no curtains means bright sun early in the morning. Located right beside the train station- handy when arriving but you can hear the trains until late into the night. The room also smells very strongly of damp. Common area is ok, although no atmosphere. Free laundry is good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
8.0

Good - Massive common room and kitchen, Big spacious rooms, good location, with good parking. Friendly enough staff. Bad - Bunk beds were poorly designed and the lower bunk has no headroom at all. Not enough showers on the main floor. Closed the common room even though there was only 2 of us chatting... Cleaner was cleaning the toilets in the morning when everyone needs to use them... Has some strange scheduling. All said would totally stay again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jbdeyo8203
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
6.6

Staff were great and friendly. Having one staff member during check-in times caused a bit of a queue. Good to see plenty of hand soap and paper towels in bathroom. The bedding was still damp from being washed. My 3 friends had the same problem, so we just put our quilts in the dryer. There aren't enough power points for charging phones etc. and the 5 that were there, were either too high too reach or under a bed. The shower house had a hole in it and sprayed water all over my clothes

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.