X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Reviews

144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba, Blue Mountains, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
587 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

Absolutely horrific time. I was diagnosed with flu but had almost recovered. Staff were friendly when I arrived but in the morning they threatened to kick us out unless we spent money we didn't have on a medical certificate and also refused any of our other hospital papers. We ended up leaving having been treated so abhorrently. Having been diagnosed with cognitive and motor problems this obviously made things much worse for us.We were extremely shocked.we wouldn't recommend this place to anyone


100%

Location was great being just a few minutes walk from Katoomba Train Station and cafes. They have a big sitting area which was great to sit in and have your meals. They also allow you to use their kitchen and BBQ pits. Room and areas were clean. Love that the toilet next to my room was big (some hostels have really small cubicles!). Only negative point would be one of our pillows was really flat, which made it difficult to sleep. Great stay overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us Yin Xian Chee! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed all the facilities on offer at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel. We are very proud of our common areas and we will take your comment about the pillows into consideration. We hope to greet you again in the future! Safe travels, The team at BMBH

100%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! 2 mins from train station and 20 minute walk to the three sisters. Staff were incredibly friendly and the kitchen is the best I've ever seen in a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Matthew , We are glad to hear that our hostel has been the best you have stayed in ! and that our location and staff made it an enjoyable stay , Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again oneday from all the staff at BMBH

77%

The room was too cold. The heater was nowhere good enough to heat up the room, so I froze all night. The windows were very drafty as well. Apart from that the room was a odo size, and the shower very good.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Sandra , Thank you for taking the time to write a review , we like to know how our guests stay was and we are sorry to hear that you were cold in your room , you will be happy to know we have made a note of this and we will be looking into this further . Thanks BMBH

97%

The staff's response to any questions or problems was swift, professional and kind. The hostel was clean and well equipped -- a locker, kitchen tools, computers, a hair dryer etc, all for free.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Naoko , Thanks for your review we are so happy to hear you had a great stay with us , we hope to see you again sometime soon from all the staff at BMBH

86%

Low season so it was very quiet. But good hostel


94%

Really great value for the money you pay - clean beds, warm rooms, warm sheets and clean facilities. The staff were friendly and informative. The location was great, really close to the main street of Katoomba and a few hundred metres from the train station, couldn't be better.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rhys , Thanks so much for taking the time out to write a review , we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us with our winter being quite cold we enjoy hearing from our guests that they were nice and warm , we certainly are lucky to have our hostel so close to everything we hope to one day see you again all the best with your travels from the staff at BMBH

91%

Loved my stay. The emergency exit light in the dorm room was very bright when trying to sleep, however it did provide sufficient light to easily see what you were doing when you arrive into the room late at night! If I am back in the blue mountains again, I will be sure to stay at this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jamie , thanks for the reply we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us , we have a high regard when it comes to safety in our hostel thus why we need the emergency exit lights I'm glad you were able to use the light as a night light as well and i guess it that regard it came in handy ! we look forward to having you stay with us again when you are next in the Mountains ,safe travels BMBH

97%

Had a great stay. Staff are friendly, atmosphere is very welcoming. The hostel could need more power plugs or power distributors as it was hard to find a place to charge my things. However, I felt safe leaving things to charge. The kitchen was great, very clean and well equipped, I rarely see hostel kitchens looking this good. All around really well done, would like to come back some day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Sofie , Thanks so much for your review about our hostel and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay , we would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention regarding the power points as we are always looking for ways to make our hostel even better we will have a look at what we can do to get some more power points in the rooms we hope to see you again one day all the best BMBH

80%

Hostel was quite quiet because of off season. Kitchen was clean and well stocked, ensuite felt a little off,(12 people, one bathroom) wifi through building, easy access to grocery store and blue mountain national park, clean building, computers for resident use.


74%

Kitchen big and well equipped, big communal space for socialising (not the most lively hostel, but there were a few people playing drinking games over the weekend), decent location, bunk beds a bit cheap and wobbly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Amy, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at BMBH, it was a pleasure having you. Thank you for taking the time to review us we hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels, BMBH

94%

Central location right opposite the train station, very friendly & very clean hostel. The dorms were absolutely huge with big lockers. Lots of different types of people here. Never stayed anywhere with free clothes washing like here, free wifi & lots of games, free pool to keep entertained. Defintely recomend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Laura, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at BMBH, it was a pleasure having you. We pride ourselves on offering travelers genuine value for money and we are pleased you made use of our facilities. Thank you for taking the time to review us we hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels, BMBH

91%

My best hostel experience since arriving in Australia 3 months ago. The atmosphere was very enjoyable and relaxed, the kitchen area was large and well-stocked with utensils, and the private lockers for each guest was a bonus. The staff was friendly, and the cleanliness was far above most other hostels. Also conveniently located just a block or two from the Katoomba train station.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Melissa, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at BMBH, it was a pleasure having you. Best in Australia, we are so pleased you think so, we do too! Thank you for taking the time to review us we hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels, BMBH

91%

Would definitely stay here again BUT a few warnings. The hostel is very cold, with just one heater in the lounge (although this forces people to be social huddled around it which is nice). The kitchen is also a big fire risk (although one of the biggest and best in hostels ive seen). The pots in the kitchen will burn you if they are picked up by the handle and the flame from the stove may ignite you when you first turn it on if you're too close. I learnt the hard way - one very burnt hand :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kirsten, We are so happy to hear you would stay again at BMBH, it was a pleasure having you. In regards to the heating we also provide electric oil heaters in every room, plus additional blankets at reception. We are so sorry to hear you burnt your hand, we always advise caution when using stainless steal pots and igniting gas stoves. All our ovens meet the fire-safety guidelines. Thank you for taking the time to review us we hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels, BMBH

83%

Nice, quiet hostel....possibly too quiet depending on what you're looking for. Lacked a bit of atmosphere but overall a clean hostel with good facilities in a good location. Free use of the washing machines was an added bonus.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hannah, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay at BMBH, it was a pleasure having you. The Blue Mountains is a unique part of the world and in comparison to the major cities one might consider it a little 'sleepy' but we find it a great place to relax and escape the hustle bustle. Thank you for taking the time to review us we hope to see you again in the future! BMBH Safe travels, BMBH

80%

Great hostel, but really disappointed by the lack of recycling in the kitchen and around the hostel in general.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Jennifer, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay at BMBH, it was a pleasure having you. In regards to the recycling we have 2x designated recycling bins located in the common area just outside the kitchen. We take your comments into consideration and will work on expanding our recycling options. Thank you for taking the time to review us we hope to see you again in the future! BMBH Safe travels, BMBH

89%

The room was spacious and clean, the staff was friendly and the kitchen was well-equipped. Unfortunately the TV in the room didn't work (no big deal anyway) and hot water was running low in the evening (as expected during the 'busy' hours) but overall we enjoyed our stay there.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Siang Lee Yeo, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at BMBH, it was a pleasure having you. We are sorry to hear about your TV, we always welcome guests to inform reception of any maintenance issues, but it doesn't seem it affected you badly. We are working on the hot water system.Thank you for taking the time to review us we hope to see you again in the future! BMBH Safe travels, BMBH

86%

Location staff and value for money are great. We were there over easter so they were fully booked but the staff were still friendly and helpful. However the hot water at the hostel was barely warm, and some of the stovetops were broken which made the kitchen very crowded.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Tim, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the fantastic value for money at BMBH, it was a pleasure having you. We apologize for the minor inconveniences you experienced over the Easter weekend, we have 150 beds and when they are all full all our resources are pushed to the limit but we are working on the issues you have raised. Thank you for taking the time to review us we hope to see you again in the future! BMBH Safe travels, BMBH

91%

Very nice Place to stay. Nice kitchen with a Lot of stuff you can use. Clean Place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Leonie, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at BMBH, it was a pleasure having you. Thank you for taking the time to review us we hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels, BMBH

89%

Had a great stay in Katoomba. Only complaint would be that the showers needed better pressure and hot water, otherwise perfectly good place to stay.


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Blue Mountains Hostels

Please give us your feedback