Hostelworld.com

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 923 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 923 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Located at 144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba, Blue Mountains.
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Australia
Blue Mountains New South Wales 2780 144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba
87% 923
-33.7114711 150.3098988
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
7.1

clean, efficient, a bit stark and offputting - but I might have been prejudiced by the party of yahoos who monopolised the common area on the night I stayed!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.9

A superior backpackers and certainly worth checking out if you are in the area. Excellent value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
4.6

- The senior female receptionist had very poor interpersonal skills and unreasonable demands; at one point, she indicated that she would not allow us to check-in unless all guests were there (two friends were still en route to the Blue Mountains). - We had booked all 8 beds in the dorm as we were a group of 6 and wanted the extra security, however despite having paid for all 8 beds, the receptionist only gave us 6 keys - she seemed to think that we were not entitled to the additional keys.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel would recommend to anyone. Staff were all so friendly and welcoming. Clean facilities, very spacious and great location. Can't fault anything, wish we hadn't booked in advance to leave the next day as would've loved to stay longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.9

Lovely hostel close to train station. Staff, especially Angela, were all helpful especially as my boyfriend had a broken thumb and was in a cast. Kitchen size was great and loved free pool and laundry, things you would pay for in any other hostel! Overall great hostel, I would come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.7

I had an amazing time, the hostel is greatly located and very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly, I would definitely recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2016
10.0

Very very good. Some of the other users did leave mucky plates and cups everywhere in the lounge however. Good facilities. Excellent location. Was only 100m along road once out of train station. However asked for notification of deposit reimbursed and still nothing so not brilliant as overall end cost more than other hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
8.3

Great hostel. Good staff, fun and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
8.0

Some of the reception staffs are not very friendly,but over its a lovely stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2016
5.4

Although it's a cheap hostel, I'd expect a cleaner kitchen, a cleaner shower and cleaner toilets. In the hostel I could not help noticing a strange and dull smell that I did not particularly like. The beds weren't very stable. I recommend the hostel's owners to take cleaning more seriously and to renovate the building a bit. The carpet is very old and smelly, and the tables and chairs in the common areas are rather sticky.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.