X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Reviews

144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba, Blue Mountains, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
861 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Having an oven was quite a treat! Thought the hostel was good but could be updated a bit as when there wasn't many people around it felt very empty and not too welcoming.

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place. Building is a bit old, but well looked after. Big kitchen on ground floor. Laundry also available. Not far from Katoomba Street which is the Main Street. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

double rom much nicer than dormitory. Noisy when trains came past.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

One criticism, there should be somewhere to hangout when the main room closes.

  • 13th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Wifi was slow to the point of being unusable at points.


86%

Big hostel! Mostly great but a few gripes. Free laundry is nice but limited evening opening hours so everyone does their laundry between 8 and 10am before check out and there's a long queue. Probably fine during the day, but who wants to hang around all day doing laundry? Beds creaky and really hard. WiFi nearly useless.


100%

Great place. Awesome and helpful staff. You get your own locker. Awesome people! Probably one of the best hostels I stayed at in Oz

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Wish to visit at Blue Mountains area and stay at Blue Mountains Backpackers hostel again in future.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location by Katoomba main street. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Staff helpful. Comfy beds and free lockers in rooms are great to keep your mind at ease when out and about. Only slightly negative thing to say would be that it is a bit noisy at night outside windows overlooking main street with train station and skate park but not fault of hostel and hostel generally quiet so no need to worry about that! Fab stay and value for money- would defo go back!

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Perfect location and very good accommodation in general. only negative points is the breakfast is not included and a fee of 5 dollars to leave your bag in the storage aftet checkout.


83%

Great location, hard working & friendly staff. They could do with some more help. Older building with many, many rooms, large kitchen, updated bathrooms, & large common area. Due to the climate in the mountains where it often rains, the damp & wet conditions have taken a toll on the hostel. Windows in rooms should be open a little to allow fresh air in. Free laundry, computers, & supermarket 2 blocks away a PLUS. Negative, some drunken rowdy hostelers spoil the common area by being loud.


91%

Pleasantly surprised at this hostel - had free wifi, computers and free laundry! Nice big lockers to store you stuff. The room we (3 of us) stayed in was lovely and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The whole place is like one big house, so it's comfortable carpet on the floor, nice fire and big living area with sofas, there are board games too, had an intense game of scrabble. The staff were great and gave useful info on what to do, what things were worth doing/avoiding etc.

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was great apart from the matress and pillows they were so hard like sleeping with a rock under my head, I ended up folding a towel and using that as a cushion

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

great social atmosphere ,free laundry, wifi in common room, pool table, foosball


57%

I was on the top bunk in a mixed bedroom door, room 20 to be precise. My bunk bed creaked every time I moved it was a nightmare. I hardly slept.


83%

Lovely hostel. Clean rooms with comphy beds, large clean kitchen and lots of toilets and showers! Very close to everything in the town. Nice quiet hostel for resting in after a longs day sight seeing. Staff are lovely and very helpful.


83%

4 bed dorm too small. walls too thin, I had earplugs on all night, but could still hear fellow on the other side of the wall chatting on the phone for a good hour. Service was good.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Rooms, bathrooms, and common area were all clean and well kept. The kitchen is usually alright, but can get messy at times. I expect it depends on the crowd. The laundry room was a bit dirty but free. The computer room is nice, although Wi-Fi isn't top notch. Very low-key, calm atmosphere which made it harder to meet people but that's all preference. The location is great; right next to train station, main street of Katoomba, and supermarkets. Overall, definitely worth staying.


100%

Oh my god. Best hostel I've stayed at! For how big of a place it was, the rooms were exceptionally clean!! Amazing staff, they were so nice to recommend some awesome hikes. My best hostel experience yet:)

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel with free laundry which is amazing, but lack of power points in common areas and only one 5 plug power board in a 12 bed dorm makes it a bit difficult to charge things,.that and maybe free coffee/tea and cereal would be the only things missing.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Blue Mountains Hostels

Please give us your feedback