Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1049 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1049 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel, good location except for noise from trainstation. Bring earplugs or ask for a room in the back., and you will be fine. Great experience overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.1

Perfect location within walking distance to everything, great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
8.0

Good solid hostel in a good location to explore the blue mountains. Good cooking facilities wth lots of signs reminding you to wash up. My main complaint is the rooms were baking hot. I asked reception if they had any spare fans, our room had nothing. Their response was, "no because people keep stealing them." So if you see any backpackers wondering around Australia with a room fan, tell them to give it back!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Jan 2017
9.7

Very large kitchen with lots of storage & clean bathrooms. Good location close to the train station but does mean it's noisy to sleep up to midnight when the last train seems to go. Good hostel with big dorms but no fans so can be pretty hot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
8.3

Spacious relax hostel. Great kitchen (not enough cutlery though). World class hostel when they renovate the common area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
9.1

Perfect place to stay in the Blue Mountains, great value and location, super friendly staff . Free laundry is always a bonus, WiFi is better than most but when Australia still struggling to stream movies... Could also do with changing the Washington clothes in the kitchen more regularly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.6

A good hostel in a good place. The kitchen is well stocked of everything you'll need to use. There is a good common area with a free pool table, tv, wifi etc. The rooms were clean and quite spacious with large individual lockers. The girl on reception was very friendly and really helpful despite her being so busy. One of the nicer hostel we have stayed on our trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

I had a lovely stay at the Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room clean and spacious and it was very useful to have your own locker. The kitchen facilities were also great and much better than other hostels I've stayed at. The location was fantastic and very easy to find from the station. I would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
7.7

Lovely location and easy to find your way around. Only downside with experiencing fleas in our room. The staff were more than helpful with moving us to a new room and working to sort the issue. This hostel was perfect for our brief stay in the blue mountains. Not a very friendly atmosphere with fellow travellers, however most were older than us and seemed to be there long term. Overall rating, very good :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review of our hostel. We take reports of unsatisfactory experiences very seriously and follow up at all times. Of course, we're very pleased that you found our staff more than helpful and that they sorted the issue out. Just to let you know, while we found no evidence of fleas (fleas themselves or their eggs) the room in question has been comprehensively sprayed, steam cleaned and was removed from use as a preventative measure. We hope these actions confirm to you how seriously we take your concerns and go some way to rectifying any concerns you may have about returning to us at a future date. Kind regards, BMBH Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was great too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.