Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 986 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 986 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Located at 144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba, Blue Mountains.
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Australia
Blue Mountains New South Wales 2780 144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba
87% 986
-33.7114711 150.3098988
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
10.0

What a great find! Very clean, wonderfully friendly staff and a great bunch of fellow visitors to mix with. We booked a double room with en-suite. The accommodation is basic (as you'd expect for a backpacker hostel), but so, so clean and well maintained. Free internet, free laundry and and free luggage storage (for a review or Facebook like) were nice touches -- especially as you normally have to pay extra for these things in Australia. Could not recommend more, will definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
10.0

An excellent gem of a hostel in Katoomba. I would not hesitate to stay here again, or heartily recommend this hostel to others looking for a great experience in the Blue Mountains. Definitely do the Katoomba Falls hikes if you are in this area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
8.0

Very comfortable. I will recommend my friends ưhen they get to the Blue Mountain

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
9.7

I stayed for 2.5 weeks at Blue mountain Backpackers and absolutely loved it. Most of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I've met some great friends here, and sitting at the fireplace is a great way to relax with a book and tea. The hostel was very clean, and the free laundry is awesome. The wifi is not great, but what can you expect. This is a great location to do hikes, and to see the town. Thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
8.0

Blue Mountain Backpackers was clean but spare and a bit dreary (in my room, there were no hooks so you had to lay all your belongings on a small portion of floor, I could feel the mattress springs, etc). It was winter + low season when I visited, so maybe it's just a big space and feels a little sad when few people are staying, but I left early. Staff were friendly! Book carefully; Hostelworld.com won't allow you a refund if you try to leave early (any number of days!) regardless of the reason.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.6

Great location for exploring the blue mountains. Helpful reception staff. Big, equipt kitchen. WiFi is terrible and 4G doesn't work because you're in the mountains, so don't expect to be streaming anything on your laptop or phone. But thats not what you're there for! Everything clean. Quiet, so not much of an atmosphere. Bathrooms freezing at night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
9.1

The people on reception were outstanding. They were so happy, friendly and helpful. The service from then was so impressive. My room was spacious, modern and clean. There was enough bedding, although a couple of the pillows were very hard. The only down-side was the shower that merely trickled and was luke warm. The common area was probably for younger people and all open plan. But the boys enjoyed the free games on offer like pool and fussball. It was very good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. Lots of room, good facilities, friendly staff. Awesome location. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
8.6

Great staff, the common areas were also very good. Only thought that the toilets were cold... at least in winter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

Large clean rooms with lockers (you don't need your own padlocks), huge kitchen and common room, free laundry, and lots books or board games to pass the time if you like to stay in. Also have a fireplace in the common room which is great for the winter. A very short walk from the Katoomba station, this is my favourite hostel so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.