Hostelworld.com

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 942 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 942 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Located at 144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba, Blue Mountains.
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Australia
Blue Mountains New South Wales 2780 144 Bathurst Road, Katooomba
87% 942
-33.7114711 150.3098988
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th May 2016
8.0

Good - Massive common room and kitchen, Big spacious rooms, good location, with good parking. Friendly enough staff. Bad - Bunk beds were poorly designed and the lower bunk has no headroom at all. Not enough showers on the main floor. Closed the common room even though there was only 2 of us chatting... Cleaner was cleaning the toilets in the morning when everyone needs to use them... Has some strange scheduling. All said would totally stay again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jbdeyo8203
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
6.6

Staff were great and friendly. Having one staff member during check-in times caused a bit of a queue. Good to see plenty of hand soap and paper towels in bathroom. The bedding was still damp from being washed. My 3 friends had the same problem, so we just put our quilts in the dryer. There aren't enough power points for charging phones etc. and the 5 that were there, were either too high too reach or under a bed. The shower house had a hole in it and sprayed water all over my clothes

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
8.6

Convenient location and value for money hostel. Rooms and toilets were clean. Kitchen was big as well. The only complaint is the washer and dryer that were not functioning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
6.6

I didnt have a hot water while taking a shower. Also, if you want to leave your luggage after you check out (which is free in every other hostel I ever been to) you need to write a (positive) review or you have to pay 5 dollars. So basically, their ratings are much based on the fact that people dont want to pay extra 5 dollars for something that should be free anyways. Besides this, the hostel is very clean and quiet and on good location. The atmosphere was bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2016
9.4

This hostel is great! Very welcoming as soon as you arrive and free pool and a lovely fireplace! The kitchen was really big and had plenty of equipment to go around. Wifi is good, slightly slow at busy times. Could possibly be a few more showers but that's our only major criticism. Everyone is very friendly and we had some great evenings here. Great Blue Mountains walks very close by. If you are looking for a chilled place for a few days this is the one!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
7.1

clean, efficient, a bit stark and offputting - but I might have been prejudiced by the party of yahoos who monopolised the common area on the night I stayed!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rhapeta9932
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
8.0

Good. Two storey, so don't book here if you have an issue with stairs, though there are a few downstairs rooms. The common room was noisy but good. Hard to get a park, but it was a long weekend when I was there so Katoomba was crazy busy, so understandable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.9

A superior backpackers and certainly worth checking out if you are in the area. Excellent value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
4.6

- The senior female receptionist had very poor interpersonal skills and unreasonable demands; at one point, she indicated that she would not allow us to check-in unless all guests were there (two friends were still en route to the Blue Mountains). - We had booked all 8 beds in the dorm as we were a group of 6 and wanted the extra security, however despite having paid for all 8 beds, the receptionist only gave us 6 keys - she seemed to think that we were not entitled to the additional keys.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel would recommend to anyone. Staff were all so friendly and welcoming. Clean facilities, very spacious and great location. Can't fault anything, wish we hadn't booked in advance to leave the next day as would've loved to stay longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.