Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
Blue Parrot Backpackers Located at 87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney.
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2011 87 Macleay Street, Potts Point
89% 1101
-33.8711270 151.2250927
Blue Parrot Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jul 2016
9.4

The best part about Blue Parrot was definitely the atmosphere and the people, both staff and other hostel guests. Everyone was so friendly, helpful, and welcoming (especially Charly!)! The hostel is not in the very center, but it's pretty close to King's Cross and a very nice walk to the center of the city. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, there were big lockers, and lots of space in the room (their 10 bed dorm is actually a 12-bed size room, so there's extra space).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.6

Very nice hostel. During my time there, a lot of the guests were on working holiday and staying in the hostel as long term guests which didn't suit a tourist travelling solo looking to do touristy things with fellow travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
9.7

In all my traveling, this is the best hostel I've stayed at thanks to the staff, location, and facilities! Although there is no 24-hour desk-security, after a certain time in the evening, you can only enter with keys and a card, so it's still pretty safe! 8 min walk from metro, comfortable beds, some rooms have their own bathrooms, which I really liked. Blue Parrot made me feel right at home from the moment I arrived until I left, really care about your opinion, too. Wifi was spotty at times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.6

A good hostel in a great location and with great staff. Overall the facilities were good and clean. It was a shame that the bathrooms have separate taps for hot and cold water. Bathrooms were also pretty cramped. Otherwise I have no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Jun 2016
5.7

Thought this hostel would be better given its high rating! Stayed in a 4 Bed dorm which is tight for space! In terms of facilities, there's only one washing machine & dryer which is annoying & the hostel uses it until 1pm in the day! Also have to go to the nearest shop to get $2 coins for laundry in the evenings as reception closes & will not re-open for you! Do not expect to check-in before 12.30/12.45pm as your room will not be ready! Luggage storage is tiny & kitchen is small & dirty!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
8.3

Not a bad place to stay! The long termers can make the place feel a bit clique-y, but that's to be expected and not the hostel's fault. Location's good, staff are brilliant, and the prices aren't steep for Sydney.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Its samll so you know everyone, its clean, it has a great armosphere and staff. The only complain i have is that the wifi was slow, which doesnt matter

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback! We often get first time solo travellers since we are small and friendly. We pride ourselves on taking care of our guests so they don't feel overwhelmed like they might do at the bigger hostels. Sorry that you thought the internet was a bit slow but it is literaly the fastest cable internet you can possibly get in Australia, and it's free :-) Hope to see you here again, happy travels! Cheers, Effie + Sasha, BP Owners

1st May 2016
9.4

Superb hostel, little but cozy in a cool neighbourhood. Staff was very kind and helpful. Excellent place to meet other travelers. Facilities are all there, there even is a big but not so great backyard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
8.0

Very bad sheets, like, bring your own. They were so scratchy and didn't cover my body (I'm only 5'7"). If you book through hostelworld, the hostel makes you pay in cash and they don't give you a free towel. Otherwise it was a decent place, the location is really close to all the cool stuff but it's around the corner from a lot of "VIP" lounges, but not close enough to bother you. Lots of good coffee places and eateries nearby. All female room had an in-suite bathroom which wa

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
9.4

This place was cool, nice mattresses and everything you need. Only stayed a couple of nights but nothing to complain about from my brief stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.