Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,133 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,133 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
Blue Parrot Backpackers Located at 87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney.
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2011 87 Macleay Street, Potts Point
89% 1133
-33.8711270 151.2250927
Blue Parrot Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay can't fault it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Nov 2016
8.0

Pretty standard hostel facilities (you don't expect top notch) but the bathroom facilities especially feel pretty tired. Probably paying more for the location than anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
9.4

This is in my top 5 hostels worldwide - a hostel run by travellers for travellers. Located in the pleasant, leafy suburb of Kings Cross (it has become gentrified from its colourful days 15 years back!), the Blue Parrot makes you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door and are greeted by the amazing Savvides sisters. The rooms are very comfortable, always clean and there is more than enough room to chill out and/or meet fellow adventurers. Stay no where else whilst in Sydney. Brilliant!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Oct 2016
10.0

This was one the best hostels I have ever stayed at! It was in a great location with easy access to both the CBD, the Opera House, and the beaches. It was just a few blocks from the subway. The front desk staff was always so kind and helpful. It was quiet at night so I was able to recover from some serious jetlag! The only issue is that it is a little difficult to meet new people as a solo traveler because a lot of people staying there live there for weeks/months at a time. Great stay though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Oct 2016
9.4

A great sociable and personal hostel. The location was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Everyone was very nice who stayed there however some nights it was a bit noisy as some of the long termers are allowed to treat the place like their own personal home- I didn't mind this but I'm sure some people might. I would recommend this hostel to lone travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Oct 2016
10.0

Amazing atmosphere. Very small I think just 10 dorms and so you have the chance to meet everyone. Everybody was really welcoming even if you are just there for a short term stay. WiFi was okay. One annoying thing, one staff came in every day for a room check and it was just really weird, because we were talking she just came in and said nothing and looked around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2016
10.0

Picked a great hostel for my first time traveling alone. It's like a big home and staff and guests where all really welcoming :-) There were quite a few others who just arrived in Sydney so during the day we'd do the 'touristy' stuff together and at night everyone in the hostel socialized.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
9.1

Spacious hostel run by friendly staff. Communal areas are much bigger and better than some other hostels in Sydney eg Eva's. Good free WiFi. Kitchen sometimes messy but that's due to guests ignoring the (many) signs and requests, rather than the staff. Overall, highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Oct 2016
8.3

Nice hostel with friendly staff. A lot of people are staying there long term because they're working. The common room is a nice place to chill, especially with the great movie and tv show selection on the hard drive. I was sick the first couple of days so didn't really meet a lot of people. All the guests are friendly, but not really a homely vibe. Would recommend it as a good option in Sydney though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.9

This place was a great introduction to hostels in Australia. Really great location- 20-25 minute walk through botanic gardens to harbour (faster if you go around or take train). Staff was extremely friendly and willing to take the time to show you things to do and how to get around. Pretty clean and nice people to hang out with. I'd definitely recommend and stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.