Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2017
8.9

Nice staff, nice people. Room was clean, and I got a free upgrade to a 10-person room with a shared bathroom. The location isn't ideal - there are a lot of strip clubs/adult video stores on the street, but I felt safe the whole time (and I was doing solo travel as a female).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jun 2017
9.7

This place is AWESOME!!!!! Right from the off, the staff were really welcoming and made an effort to get to know you & gave tips to the best tourist spots in the city. Hostel is right in the heart of King's Cross, less than 5 mins walk from good food and drink. There is a quiz every Wednesday night that is absolutely FREE and gets some great banter going between the guests. The Sydney Big Bus tour stop is just down the road. Just an awesome place and a really good introduction to Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

Great hostel! The staff was so friendly-- the friendliest that I've come across in all my stays. They also had a luggage room for us to store our bags before we checked in. This hostel was a great place to stay while in Sydney! It's within walking distance to the King's Cross train station. Definitely would recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Sydney!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
8.3

Nice hostel, super sweet staff. Lots of long timers though, so lots of the guests already knew each other. One downside is that it is above a club or bar or something and the nst nst music every night is super loud in the rooms. Also, it's located on a very busy street, and the traffic noise is very loud all day long. Not far from botanical gardens/ opera house which is super awesome! Very clean as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! We are very happy that you thought our staff was sweet, found the hostel clean and liked our super awesome location! We are sorry you were disturbed by the street noise, as you mention we are in a great location so there may be more action on the streets in such a central location. If the windows of the room are closed though you usually can't hear any noise. Our 4 and 6 bed dorms are all facing away from the main street so they are quieter. Your room was located on top of a jewelery store which closes by 6pm and there are no bars or clubs under our hostel so we're not sure where you could hear music from? We will investigate this further in case the jewelers are having midnight parties that we don't know about. All the best Effie + Sasha, Blue Parrot Sisters/Owners/Staff

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
9.7

If meeting new people is important for you then this is a good hostel to choose. It's small and social set up like a home. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and the room was quiet, good for a nice sleep. Also very nice staff memebers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.1

The staff at the Blue Parrot Hostel were so nice, easy-going, helpful, and welcoming. They were also very professional and happy to help you plan your day in a big city! Mark and Harriet were especially helpful. It is a nice quiet hostel where you can get a good sleep and feel safe and be within walking distance to some great Sydney attractions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
10.0

Great little hostel which is not about the latest flashy facilities but all about the people, atmosphere and socializing which is what i was looking for traveling alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
10.0

My first hostel experience and i loved it! The staff are really welcoming, the place is clean, free wifi and excellent location for seeing the sights. The communal areas where great places to meet other travelers and i never felt alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
10.0

All was perfect, thank you guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Mar 2017
7.1

Hostel ok for a few days. Everything was very clean except the kitchen. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Most of the others lived here and worked and they very cliquey (not the hostel fault of course). So not easy to mingle for a solo backpackers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're happy you liked our staff, location and cleanliness. The kitchen can get messy if guests do not clean up after themselves but as soon as staff see any mess they do their best to quickly clean up. Since we are a small, homely and personal hostel some of our guests choose to stay a bit longer and they inevitably get to know other long staying guests a bit better. We understand you felt this is cliquey but 90% of our guests are here for shorter term stays travelling solo and looking to make friends . If you join us on one of our hostel nights out we're sure you'll quickly meet new people :-) Hope you have a safe and happy journey. All the best, Effie + Sasha, BP Sisters/Owners/Managers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.