Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
10.0

My first hostel experience and i loved it! The staff are really welcoming, the place is clean, free wifi and excellent location for seeing the sights. The communal areas where great places to meet other travelers and i never felt alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
10.0

All was perfect, thank you guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Mar 2017
7.1

Hostel ok for a few days. Everything was very clean except the kitchen. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Most of the others lived here and worked and they very cliquey (not the hostel fault of course). So not easy to mingle for a solo backpackers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're happy you liked our staff, location and cleanliness. The kitchen can get messy if guests do not clean up after themselves but as soon as staff see any mess they do their best to quickly clean up. Since we are a small, homely and personal hostel some of our guests choose to stay a bit longer and they inevitably get to know other long staying guests a bit better. We understand you felt this is cliquey but 90% of our guests are here for shorter term stays travelling solo and looking to make friends . If you join us on one of our hostel nights out we're sure you'll quickly meet new people :-) Hope you have a safe and happy journey. All the best, Effie + Sasha, BP Sisters/Owners/Managers

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Feb 2017
7.7

Great location, needs some air con.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
7.4

The security measures taken and the staff were great, especially Harriet. It's located in a very ritzy area of Sydney, but unfortunately you have to walk through a dodgy red-light district to get there from the train (King's Cross). The lack of air conditioning in our room was disappointing, and they don't serve breakfast. Overall it's a nice hostel but I'm not compelled to stay there again for my next trip to Sydney.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and give positive feedback about our location, staff and security. We're sad to see you rated us down for not having air con and not having breakfast because we do not advertise or list that we have either of these and you would have known this at the time of choosing our hostel . We understand Sydney experienced an unusually hotter summer than normal and all our rooms have large windows with natural air flow and fans which usually are sufficient to cool down the room. Now that we have entered March/Autumn the weather has cooled down but we will look into getting ECO friendly air-conditioning for next summer though! Thanks for staying, Effie & Sasha, Blue Parrot Sisters

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.9

Was a nice stay! I really liked the location and the point that we had a bathroom in our room. Plus I've got to meet some sweet people! So definitely go for Blue Parrots Backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent place to stay, very clean and well kept with lots of atmosphere. It felt more of a home than an impersonal hostel, I guess because it's family run by lovely sisters. Comfortable rooms for a good sleep and nice common areas to meet others. Free wifi and free lockers were included. Had a lot of fun and will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.4

Had an absolutely amazing time here! Staff are unbelievably nice, there was a warm welcome as soon as you walked into the hostel. Really good atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
8.3

Really great fun here. Blue Parrot!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
8.3

I really wanted to love this hostel after all the great reviews but unfortunately did not like it. The staff are wonderful and the two sisters that own it are great. The location is awesome as well. My biggest issue was the lack of air con making the entire place unbearably hot during a Sydney summer. Every room was hot, there was no escaping the summer heat. Also the bathrooms usually had a wait and smelled gross.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for bringing your experience to our attention we really wanted you to love us too! We're happy you thought our location was awesome and thanks for the kind words about the staff and us (the sisters)! We are sad you didn't have a great experience at Blue Parrot due to Sydney's unusually hot summer. All of Sydney experienced it's hottest January on record and we could not have anticipated this. The heat has never been a problem for us before and all our rooms have large windows with natural air flow and fans which usually are sufficient to cool down our home. The good news is we have entered February and the heat has dropped with cooler evenings. We will take your suggestion on board and look into getting ECO friendly air-conditioning. Thanks for staying, Effie & Sasha, Blue Parrot Sisters

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.