Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1182 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1182 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
9.7

If meeting new people is important for you then this is a good hostel to choose. It's small and social set up like a home. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and the room was quiet, good for a nice sleep. Also very nice staff memebers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.1

The staff at the Blue Parrot Hostel were so nice, easy-going, helpful, and welcoming. They were also very professional and happy to help you plan your day in a big city! Mark and Harriet were especially helpful. It is a nice quiet hostel where you can get a good sleep and feel safe and be within walking distance to some great Sydney attractions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
10.0

Great little hostel which is not about the latest flashy facilities but all about the people, atmosphere and socializing which is what i was looking for traveling alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
10.0

My first hostel experience and i loved it! The staff are really welcoming, the place is clean, free wifi and excellent location for seeing the sights. The communal areas where great places to meet other travelers and i never felt alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
10.0

All was perfect, thank you guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Mar 2017
7.1

Hostel ok for a few days. Everything was very clean except the kitchen. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Most of the others lived here and worked and they very cliquey (not the hostel fault of course). So not easy to mingle for a solo backpackers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're happy you liked our staff, location and cleanliness. The kitchen can get messy if guests do not clean up after themselves but as soon as staff see any mess they do their best to quickly clean up. Since we are a small, homely and personal hostel some of our guests choose to stay a bit longer and they inevitably get to know other long staying guests a bit better. We understand you felt this is cliquey but 90% of our guests are here for shorter term stays travelling solo and looking to make friends . If you join us on one of our hostel nights out we're sure you'll quickly meet new people :-) Hope you have a safe and happy journey. All the best, Effie + Sasha, BP Sisters/Owners/Managers

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Feb 2017
7.7

Great location, needs some air con.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
7.4

The security measures taken and the staff were great, especially Harriet. It's located in a very ritzy area of Sydney, but unfortunately you have to walk through a dodgy red-light district to get there from the train (King's Cross). The lack of air conditioning in our room was disappointing, and they don't serve breakfast. Overall it's a nice hostel but I'm not compelled to stay there again for my next trip to Sydney.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and give positive feedback about our location, staff and security. We're sad to see you rated us down for not having air con and not having breakfast because we do not advertise or list that we have either of these and you would have known this at the time of choosing our hostel . We understand Sydney experienced an unusually hotter summer than normal and all our rooms have large windows with natural air flow and fans which usually are sufficient to cool down the room. Now that we have entered March/Autumn the weather has cooled down but we will look into getting ECO friendly air-conditioning for next summer though! Thanks for staying, Effie & Sasha, Blue Parrot Sisters

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.9

Was a nice stay! I really liked the location and the point that we had a bathroom in our room. Plus I've got to meet some sweet people! So definitely go for Blue Parrots Backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent place to stay, very clean and well kept with lots of atmosphere. It felt more of a home than an impersonal hostel, I guess because it's family run by lovely sisters. Comfortable rooms for a good sleep and nice common areas to meet others. Free wifi and free lockers were included. Had a lot of fun and will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.