Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
Blue Parrot Backpackers Located at 87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney.
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2011 87 Macleay Street, Potts Point
89% 1108
-33.8711270 151.2250927
Blue Parrot Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
10.0

What a great hostel! The staff make you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door and help you with everything during your stay. Located closed to the botanic gardens and the opera house. The hostel is only a 5 minute walk from some decent night life and there were organised nights out where i easily met others from the hostel. I got upgraded to a room with an ensuite bathroom which was very convenient. Massive bonus was the free wifi which is hard to come by at other hostels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
10.0

Best backpackers hostel so far on my Aussie tour! Just a super chilled and friendly place with clean accommodation and great atmosphere. Nice location close to everything. The sisters who run the hostel are kind and helpful with everything you need. I felt safe and made friends on the first night so i kept on extending my stay from 1 night to 6 nights! You won't want to leave :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
10.0

Super friendly +fun hostel located in a great neighbourhood! What i really liked is the homely atmosphere, there's everything you would find in your own home like a garden, laundry, kitchen with ovens, tv room with fluffy blankets and even a fire place! Free wifi was also great! The hostel organised group activities so i quickly met some great people to continue my travels with. Will definitely stay here again when i come back to Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dexterleezh988
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Jul 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff - in particular Charly and Rosie - are really sweet people. They have been extremely helpful and welcoming, something many chain hostels can't match. The hostel itself is a 8-10 minute walk from King's Cross Station and if you're feeling lazy to cook (the hostel has a kitchen) there are loads of food options in the area. Rooms and bath were nice and clean. Great common room to chill and to meet new people. Look forward to staying here ag

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
9.4

The best part about Blue Parrot was definitely the atmosphere and the people, both staff and other hostel guests. Everyone was so friendly, helpful, and welcoming (especially Charly!)! The hostel is not in the very center, but it's pretty close to King's Cross and a very nice walk to the center of the city. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, there were big lockers, and lots of space in the room (their 10 bed dorm is actually a 12-bed size room, so there's extra space).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.6

Very nice hostel. During my time there, a lot of the guests were on working holiday and staying in the hostel as long term guests which didn't suit a tourist travelling solo looking to do touristy things with fellow travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
9.7

In all my traveling, this is the best hostel I've stayed at thanks to the staff, location, and facilities! Although there is no 24-hour desk-security, after a certain time in the evening, you can only enter with keys and a card, so it's still pretty safe! 8 min walk from metro, comfortable beds, some rooms have their own bathrooms, which I really liked. Blue Parrot made me feel right at home from the moment I arrived until I left, really care about your opinion, too. Wifi was spotty at times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.6

A good hostel in a great location and with great staff. Overall the facilities were good and clean. It was a shame that the bathrooms have separate taps for hot and cold water. Bathrooms were also pretty cramped. Otherwise I have no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Jun 2016
5.7

Thought this hostel would be better given its high rating! Stayed in a 4 Bed dorm which is tight for space! In terms of facilities, there's only one washing machine & dryer which is annoying & the hostel uses it until 1pm in the day! Also have to go to the nearest shop to get $2 coins for laundry in the evenings as reception closes & will not re-open for you! Do not expect to check-in before 12.30/12.45pm as your room will not be ready! Luggage storage is tiny & kitchen is small & dirty!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for giving us a high rating for atmosphere and we apologise that we did not meet your expectations. We'd like to address your concerns below. The laundry facilities are open from 7:30AM until 11PM at night. We apologise if the machines were not available at the time you wished. We try to accommodate early check-ins as best we can however we always make sure the cleaning is done before our new guests enter the room. Please remember these are dorm rooms, not private rooms, so if we start the cleaning too early to allow for early check-ins we will be disturbing sleeping guests. Any early arrivals are welcome to relax in the hostel and we store their luggage until the rooms are ready. Cleanliness is important to us and the cleaners do a thorough clean of the kitchen in the morning and the day staff clean it several times during the day. Unfortunately not all the guests always tidy up after themselves, so as the owners, we also personally clean the kitchen to maintain hygiene standards. After reading your review we will make sure to check the kitchen cleanliness more often in an effort to improve. We wish you happy travels, Effie + Sasha

10th Jun 2016
8.3

Not a bad place to stay! The long termers can make the place feel a bit clique-y, but that's to be expected and not the hostel's fault. Location's good, staff are brilliant, and the prices aren't steep for Sydney.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback we're so happy that you thought our staff are brilliant and we are good value for money. Yes, there are a handful of people who have been here for a few weeks but these guests arrived here like you, when they were travelling solo, and made friends quickly at the hostel so it may feel like they've been friends for a while! We are known for our social atmosphere here at the Blue Parrot so it's never long before our guests become friends :-) Enjoy your travels x Effie + Sasha

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.