X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Blue Skies Porthtowan Reviews

The Unicorn, Beach Road, Cornwall, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
63 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Booked 2 nights to surf over the weekend, I will definitely come again!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice atmosphere, lovely staff, the showere in the en-suite of the family room was quite slow to drain, otherwise the stay was perfect

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The location of the hostel was good as it is right by the beach and there is plenty of parking. The dorm was quite small but ok. Although we were one of the only people staying, there were insufficient WC and showers as showers were either clogged or not working. Breakfast was better than I thought. Due to the proximity it did get quite noisy at night until about 1am.


100%

Couldn't have asked for a more friendly and homely accommodation, we will definatley be staying at the Unicorn again 😃

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing location and a really nice hostel with great staff. The bar nearby was awesome for us and didn't keep us up but if you're a light sleeper


89%

Value for money, extremely friendly and helpful staff. The accommodation is obviously adjacent to the bar so it was a bit noisy until closing time. I was in a dormitory and the bed was very comfy indeed.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Beautiful setting, seconds from glorious beach. Very chilled. Great coffee. Helpful, personable staff.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The proprietors were very welcoming and gave us tea and a drink for our grandson on arrival when the room wasn't quite ready. The room was very comfortable and clean and with shampoo and shower gel plus complementary bottles of water. We had full English breakfast next morning and cereals, toast and fruit juices, and coffee or tea. All was very hot and well cooked. We were permitted to leave our car in their car park for the day whilst attending our Son's wedding. Would recommend this place

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Without doubt the best breakfast ever and I couldn't fault the staff, they made us really welcome and the children loved every minute of it. It is so nice to stay somewhere where you feel the children are as welcome as you are. We had a really lovely stay, the people were brilliant and I would definitely stay there again.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly and helpful staff .


63%

Lovely location-right on the beach! The staff were very accomodating and pleasant. A big drawback for me was the complete lack of atmosphere. I'd reccomend for families but not for young people.


89%

Very helpful and accommodating staff for our one night stay for a wedding. Good sized rooms, comfortable bed, decent breakfast and unbeatable location. Would definitely return

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

From our early check in to our check out everyone was very welcoming - thanks so much for the extra efforts, a sarny when we arrived in late, starving and for accommodating our late rise with a wonderful cooked breakfast. Hope to see you again.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent location right next to the beach, warm and cosy atmosphere in the pub next door and friendly staff, couldnt fault it really

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Porthtowan is beautiful! First visit here and will definitely be back in the summer. My room was clean an comfortable, and the showers were fine too. The food at the unicorn was lovely, was good to be able to have a meal and pint or two after a long walk along the cliffs. The staff were very helpful and kind and made me feel welcome. Can't complain!!!




View all Cornwall Hostels

Please give us your feedback