Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Sky Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 1090 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 1090 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Mar 2017
4.0

Good: - cheaper Bad: - Shower and bathroom is disgusting to use - Kitchen is not clear and crowd - There was a lot of hair on my bed sheet - check out is too early - We arrived and there was no bed made for us (had to wait for 1 hour) - The room is dirty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
4.3

This place is definitely only a place to book if you are terribly stuck for somewhere to stay. Having stayed in quite a few hostels over the years in various locations around the world, this one, hands down, ranks the absolute worst of the all. Showers are disgusting & there seems to be a daily water limit after which the shower continuously beeps, the beeping can be heard from the rooms which is great! Plug sockets in rooms are dodgy as hell & the room I was in had the light switch outside it

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
4.9

No toilet paper or paper towels in any of the bathrooms. The shower stopped working when I had shampoo in my hair and made a beeping sound that wasn't fixed for a long time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
2.3

The name Blue Sky Hostel brings to mind this - I'd rather sleep outside under any colour sky. If you want to stay here I would suggest DON'T. If you want to shower think overwhelming mold and mildew. You'd be cleaner standing in the rain. The floors are black in colour, this is due to dirt and not to the style of the flooring. Don't worry about security, the room is so secure you won't even be able to get into it even with your key. The lockers work just as terribly even with a padlock.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
6.6

My friend and I stayed at the hostel for 3 nights, we booked a private room so we could have more comfort and less noise but it was the opposite. The kitchen and the comon area is in the ground floor just beside the private rooms and guests were drinking and making noise until after 2 am. Also the shower is the worst I ever used in my life. The temperatures don't work, either is too hot or too cold. We tried to used the other showers in the other floors but they were the same! Terrible!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
8.3

Great location, easy to find and awesome friendly environment. Facilities could be better, showers and bathroom need to be upgrated. Staff super nice and also people who stayed there were just firendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
9.1

It's good fun and good people in this hostel. The Kitchen is a 5star well-equipped, good bed comfortable matress. Didn't like so much the toilet and shower, though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
8.0

This weekend gone, my friend and I stayed here. After reading some of the previous reviews on The Blue Sky Hostel and how some of them weren't the best, we were a little skeptical but after all, what do you expect from a hostel but after our stay we found the room was university-esque to great memories there, the beds were comfy, the cost was great value for money, facilities were good, only downer was the wifi signal was weak in the bedrooms other than that two thumbs up from me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Stayed in some other hostels in Glasgow but returned to this one because of the atmosphere the combined common room kitchen is always full of travellers chilling at night you will meet all the other guests. On the west side of glasgow which is the safe trendy side, loads of cool cheap bars. Also you can bring your own alcohol/ cook so it saves you money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • klausdenecke
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Feb 2017
5.7

The room is ok, is not in the same building, you need to cross the street. So every time when you want to cook you need to go back to the principal building. The reception, living room and kitchen are together. If you just need to sleep 1 night go for it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.