X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Blue Sky Hostel Reviews

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
584 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great location, bus stop right outside the hostel takes you to the airport. Rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean. Great kitchen facilities. There was a dog in the hostel throughout our stay which seemed to belong to the owner which could be a problem for anyone with allergies.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

There were definitely not enough lockers for the number of beds in the room. The kitchen also could have been cleaner.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Not bad. We had a private room so we didn't have many issues. Just the staff. We arrived late at night and halfway through checking in, the girl left us waiting for 10 solid minutes while she did something else. And we were really tired and it was obnoxious waiting. Then she wouldn't split the cost with our two cards when every other hostel has done that for us. It just seemed like she had no intention of trying to help us in any way.


60%

One word sketchy. Really glad I did not have to shower here because I wouldn't. The common area in the other building was a run down mess. Wi-fi only works in main building front desk area. They have a dog that is kind of behaved unless you get close to it then it snarls and snaps. Probably not the best thing to have right next to the desk where people check in. He also has a tendency to be in the door ways. Someone actually walked into it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are mistaken, the common room you speak of is a laundry room, all the dirty laundry piled up and the industrial washing machines might have been a clue to this...There is no wifi in the rooms for a reason. rooms are for sleeping not watching movies or skyping or keeping all the other people in your room awake .

69%

The aggressive dog might not be the best idea to have in a hostel. Dogs are okay, but only if they can live together with the guests of course.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the dog, hes not aggressive hes just old. Think of it this way for a minute. your in a bar and guys keep grabbing you butt, you tell them to stop but they continue to grab you. What do you do? When you approach a dog and he growls at you it means he does not want you to touch him, if you continue to approach they will growl and snap to tell you to not to touch them. if you continue after this you will most likely get bitten. anyone who has ever had a dog will tell you this.

51%

The room smelled awful and the floor was disgusting. The bathroom was either out of paper towels or toilet paper at any given time. All but one member of the staff was rude and standoffish. It soured Glasgow for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry about your experience, There are a lot of people using the facilities. If you would have mentioned there was not any paper it would have been replaced. You booked a 16 bed dorm, people smell. What can the hostel do about peoples hygiene. You should stay to small dorms if peoples smell bothers you that much

100%

Blue Sky was great- I expected it to be worse considering it's the cheapest hostel in town, but the room was nice, actually quiet at night, the bathrooms didn't smell gross and the toilets were clean, the staff was helpful and the decor is pretty cool too.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Screw all those negative reviews! Blue Sky hostel is awesome. The beds are perfectly comfortable, they provide you clean sheets, pillow and blanket. The bathroom and showers are clean and the owner is really cool. She works hard to keep the place in tip top shape. Kinda wish there was wifi in the rooms but at least there is wifi in the kitchen. Overall, great hostel. I'd stay again and recommend to a friend.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Staff was awful, the rooms were tiny, wifi didn't work in my room, and the hostel was pretty expensive for what you get. I would recommend avoiding this hostel.


89%

Bluesky was great value for money, the rooms were clean and spacious, the common room was large and connected to the kitchen. The building is close to attractions like the botanical gardens and the kelvingrove museum, and about a 15 - 20 minute walk to the city centre. The hot tub was glorious and I spent most of my time in there. Reception is open until 4am so there's usually someone around if - like me - you happen to lock yourself out of your room. Thanks for having me (:


69%

Comfortable beds, but some tenants will live across from the kitchen/lounge area


69%

No lockers or wifi in the room. Reception and the common area is locked from 4 am to 8am, even tho on the weekends the nightlife doesn't normall end until later. Really close to cool music bars on sauchiehall street tho.

Owner Comment (Hide)
if you want to stay up all night fine but we close at 4am! People are trying to sleep. 4am is late enough. there is no wifi in the rooms for the same reason. wifi is in the common room only so inconsiderate people watching porn dont keep everyone awake in the dorm!

89%

Fun place to stay, comfortable beds, clean showers, fully functional kitchen. It's in a great location, central, and the owner works hard to keep it clean every single day. If I'm ever in Glasgow again I won't even bother looking for a new spot; this one's great.


71%

Very little water pressure in the bath, everything else was acceptable, clean, not very far from city center.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The atmosphere was ok because there was this communal lounge when you met other people. But everything else was bad. There were 2 showers one broken another working but not even properly. 3 toilets two didnt have light another you had to pull whatever to make it work. Hostel was not that clean and decoration was just terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry that our £12 a night hostel didnt have the appropriate decorations. Thing do break from time to time but we fix them as fast as possible.

80%

It was a nice place, friendly staff. There was a small common area and kitchen space, with an oven, microwave and fridges etc. The beds, although having thin mattresses, were surprisingly VERY COMFORTABLE. Also the receptionist showed me to my room! and the duvet cover etc were already put on the bed for me. The upstairs bathroom was nice. For £12 it really was worth the money! Improvements (little things) mainly style e.g. power socket needed screwing into wall properly, bathroom lights problem


74%

Definitely an interesting Hostel. At first we really were unsure about the place. In the end we ended up having a great time and were able to meet a lot of people. Would really only recommend if your looking to party and go out.


94%

Why all these bad reviews?! I just cannot understand you people, thas is a hostel and the price is really worthing. I stayed there for two weeks and I really felt like at home. The staff and the owner are super friendly, you have anything you need in the kitchen and there are 4 showers and 5 toilets in the main building. The location is excellent, 5 minutes walking from City Centre and West End. They gave me clean and tidy sheets and pillow cover/duvet cover for free. RECOMMENDED!

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Pay for what you get. Pretty dirty...toilets were feral as. Didn't shower because of how unclean the place was.


66%

Unwell preserved building. Just two toilettes for more than 20 people. The staff was quite friendly and helpful though. Also there was free coffee and tea and the atmosphere was nice!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Glasgow Hostels

Please give us your feedback