X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Blue Sky Hostel Reviews

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
559 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 61%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

No lockers or wifi in the room. Reception and the common area is locked from 4 am to 8am, even tho on the weekends the nightlife doesn't normall end until later. Really close to cool music bars on sauchiehall street tho.

Owner Comment (Hide)
if you want to stay up all night fine but we close at 4am! People are trying to sleep. 4am is late enough. there is no wifi in the rooms for the same reason. wifi is in the common room only so inconsiderate people watching porn dont keep everyone awake in the dorm!

89%

Fun place to stay, comfortable beds, clean showers, fully functional kitchen. It's in a great location, central, and the owner works hard to keep it clean every single day. If I'm ever in Glasgow again I won't even bother looking for a new spot; this one's great.


71%

Very little water pressure in the bath, everything else was acceptable, clean, not very far from city center.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The atmosphere was ok because there was this communal lounge when you met other people. But everything else was bad. There were 2 showers one broken another working but not even properly. 3 toilets two didnt have light another you had to pull whatever to make it work. Hostel was not that clean and decoration was just terrible.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry that our £12 a night hostel didnt have the appropriate decorations. Thing do break from time to time but we fix them as fast as possible.

80%

It was a nice place, friendly staff. There was a small common area and kitchen space, with an oven, microwave and fridges etc. The beds, although having thin mattresses, were surprisingly VERY COMFORTABLE. Also the receptionist showed me to my room! and the duvet cover etc were already put on the bed for me. The upstairs bathroom was nice. For £12 it really was worth the money! Improvements (little things) mainly style e.g. power socket needed screwing into wall properly, bathroom lights problem


46%

Pay for what you get. Pretty dirty...toilets were feral as. Didn't shower because of how unclean the place was.


66%

Unwell preserved building. Just two toilettes for more than 20 people. The staff was quite friendly and helpful though. Also there was free coffee and tea and the atmosphere was nice!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


23%

Worst hostel I've ever stayed in (including 100 rupee per night hostels in India). It was filthy and messy and the facilities didn't work. I couldn't imagine what it's like in the busier summer months. I actually can't believe they're not breaking some sort of health and safety laws. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor (after my stay unfortunately) and reading the defensive, blame shifting responses from the 'manager' that blame guests for the mess, I see how the place is run. Disgusting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In our hostel description it says "backpackers only, if you are not a backpacker you will not be happy here". It says this for a reason. The hostel can only be as clean as the guests that are staying here at the time.

100%

Despite bad reviews, Bluesky Hostel has far exceeded its ratings. Security and facilities are the most important factors when it comes to my satisfaction at a hostel. The facilities were clean and spacious. It did not smell or have any mold in the shower. Anyone could tell the bathrooms were cleaned daily. I accidentally left my nice Nikon camera on a bed next to mine and when I came back a few hours later, everything was still there. It could be my luck, but I think it was the great environment


40%

This hostel is cheap for a reason. The buildings are run down and in a poor location. I stayed in a room across from the main building which had no wifi access, run down bathrooms, and run down bedrooms.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

the room smelt like dirty feet, the shower is dirty there is no handle on the toilet to flush and generally is filthy


66%

You get what you pay for. Decent hostel. The bathrooms upstairs didn't have light. The location wasn't in the city center, but it's really close.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Nice staff and atmosphere was ok, just a bit strange being across the road from the main building. Great location tho, handy to the city. Maybe an organised group event would be a good idea for the weekend nights.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Probably one of the worst hostels I have stayed in. I put in a house across the road. I wonder did the house have a permit to operate as a hostel. There was no attached door to men's toilet. No key to women's toilet . Impression I got from the place was that it was rented for a short while over the busy season and as little money was spent as possible.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The reason there is no door on the toilet is because it is being repaired. Common sense should tell you that it should not be used. There are two other toilets in the building to use.

51%

For a hostel there were a lot of older people there. The shower was broken. I put the temperature to an average shower temperature but the water temperature would go from freezing cold to burning hot back to freezing without me even touching the dial. I am so glad I got a private room because otherwise I do not feel that my stuff would be safe. The kitchen was disgusting and so was the lobby area. Wifi was also unreliable.


63%

They need a common area with sofas, a t.v. maybe? movies? Plugs next to the beds was a big missing. But an ok hostel in general, not bad for the price.


89%

I spent only one night there and felt it was one of my best nights in years. The staff are amazingly friendly, welcoming and I felt like I was at home. After loads of fun I had in the lounge with people I met for the first time, we ended up dancing in a night club. I stayed awake all night long and checked out early in the morning feeling tired but my heart was full of excitement. It's a shame that I didn't have enough time to try out a hot tub in there, but hey, I will go back there for sure:)

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel have a really good atmospher, you can always found someone to talk and chatting. Everytime parties!But if you are tired you can going to sleep in your room!It's good!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Staff were friendly. Shower wasn't hot or cold. Bedroom gets really warm at night, I couludn't sleep well. Location is good.


23%

Don't go for this hostel just cause its cheap, its the worst hostel i've ever stayed at. Terrible location, disgusting facilities, its not worth saving an extra 2 or 3 euros - especially when its so far away from the city centre, at least a 15 minute walk


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Glasgow Hostels

Please give us your feedback