X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Blue Sky Hostel Reviews

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
749 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Not worth the price AT ALL. There were free lockers for use if you had your own lock, however all were in use OR had random things in them so we couldn't use them even though they were unlocked. The staff then made us pay to use a small locker. The room was damp and smelled odd, also it seemed like some of the people were living there are there was no room for anything. Some were even two to a bunk. in the middle of the night someone pulled the fire alarm and went off for half an hr.

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay that provides the bare minimum shelter and bed, this place is for you. If you're expecting any of the amenities or service that you'd expect in a civilized country, perhaps you should look elsewhere. The staff are sleazy and rude, the bathroom's mould covered flood is always flooded, the beds are rubbery and uncomfortable and the general atmosphere of the place is more similar to a crack den than a place you'd want to sleep.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm really sorry you feel that way, but it sure didn't stop you from partying when you stayed at the hostel. You're just angry because you didn't get the reduced price of your booking like you asked because your friends didn't want to come along with you. You entered a contract when you made the booking, we can't help it if your friends didn't come along with you. As for the rest of your complaint wee will take that as sour grapes on your part. Have a nice day!

60%

Well-located, good atmosphere, cheap, lovely staffs, but, few bathrooms, just one shower upstairs and not real good, there was only a couple of socket on my bedroom and it suddenly burn and broke, the reater into my bedroom was out of work and the bedroom was very cold, the kitchen was ok, not with plenty of things but, a cook, an oven, a toasted, a coffee maker, a micro-waves, a couple of tables... The basic things. The staffs make noise all the night, music, dance... Until 3;00 o clock

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Wow, just wow, totally a party hostel, would have been nicer if there were more of a party here. Granted it was off season, so I imagine the place gets a lot better when it's not as cold. The HotTub was amazing totally worth staying here for.


94%

Lovely staff! Had a great few days around New Years! Would highly recommend!


60%

Not the worst not the best, should be a little less expensive though given the lack of breakfast and basic nature of the hostel.


80%

Great staff, cool space, screaming fast wifi.


66%

They were remodeling, so its future seems promising. When I was there, the rooms were kind of okay, it was not as crammed considering the number of beds. To get to the showers and toilets it was a little dungeony though. The common area was in another building and it was a little limited too.


57%

Very noisy place. Others partying on the corridors till the early morning hours when others are trying to getget some night sleep. No one cared.

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you read the information on the hostel it states, if you want a good nights sleep don't book here, because we are a party hostel........

63%

Camere spaziose, wifi potente, docce ok. Ostello a 20 min dal centro e rapporto qualità prezzo basso


71%

I was only here for a night but I didn't think it was as bad as some of the reviews make it out to be. I guess for fifteen pounds you might expect a bit more as a hostel like this only costs about ten per night in Edinburgh. The jacuzzi was a nice touch though.


54%

Ownership is lazy and that translates down to the staff. The kitchen is serviceable but poorly maintained and gets dirty quickly. The showers are also pretty gross for the same reason. If you are looking for a place to sleep, it's okay, but be prepared for a level of dirtiness and laziness from the staff. Rooms were also cold at night.


51%

The hostel is very old and needs definitely a renovation. Everytime you turn in your bed, you wake up because of the noise and you have to be afraid that the bed will break. The smelling in the dorms is very bad. The bathroom is very old, but quite clean. Everytime you take a shower, the whole floor is wet. Was definitely the worst hostel of our scotland trip.


34%

There were only 2 showers, one upstairs (didn't work) and one downstairs (with really hot or really cold water sometimes) for the all hostel ! We were 16 in the room I stayed in. Really quiet at night, close to the bars. Not really clean, the commune space was small


97%

it was lovely time. staff r very friendly. using this hostel last one month. every time service was gud.

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

Absolutely disgusting. DO NOT STAY HERE. Dingy and filthy and ppl were smoking in our room. It says that only 18-35 year olds are allowed to stay, but there was an over 50 year old man in our room. There were 8 people crammed into a small room that should have been for 4-6. We asked for a refund for the second night because we felt uncomfy with the smoking and older people (we were 2 girls alone) but they only rule they upheld was no refunds. RUDE STAFF unhelpful, judgmental, HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Rooms were warm & clean, showers and bathrooms kept very clean - all staff were lovely! Lots of information pamphlets and a great glasgow map to do some walking tours and with restaurants/cafe/bar recommendations! More sights to see here then expected really enjoyed Glasgow :)


74%

I stayed for two nights in room 1 and it was very spacious and nice to stay in but we booked two more nights and got moved to another room that constantly smelt really bad and was very small. There were three bathrooms which were a little dirty but manageable. The staff were very nice and helpful. The hostel is in a good location everything is walking distance


40%

The location is very good, but I didn't like too much the atmosphere in there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You don't like to party?? That is a real a shame...

100%

The hostel is ok, staff is friendly and the location really good. Good value for money . There is free coffee and tea, wifi is ok and they let me leave my bags until I took my flight . Thanks


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Glasgow Hostels

Please give us your feedback