Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Sky Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 941 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 941 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.6
Blue Sky Hostel Located at 65 Berkeley street, , Glasgow.
Blue Sky Hostel
Scotland
Glasgow Glasgow G3 7DX 65 Berkeley street
63% 941
55.8651978 -4.2744326
Blue Sky Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
5.7

Decent hostel, for that city/location/price. The hot tub's across street, & only available sometimes. Unfortunately, usually at night, so guests return loud & hammered in the wee hours. Main floor room doors thin, & closed loudly, so you hear everything. Good kitchen, & spices, coffee, tea, oil, etc. Fridge space minimal. Communal tables hogged by laptoppers, as there's NO WIFI IN ROOMS. Train is close, dwtn a 10 min walk. Shower on main scalds then freezes unless you use light pressure setting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
5.1

The place is run down a fair bit, but its okay for a night or two. Staff seemed okay, and social for going to bars or pubcrawls. Hostel is 15mins walk from the main streets. No lockers in the rooms, only a dozen or so in the main lobby area, I wouldn't leave anything valuable in the rooms. Only a couple of plug sockets in the rooms, take a powerboard. I think only two toilets were working throughout the whole hostel, which meant lots of waiting time. Free tea and coffee.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

all the toilets are working? what do you mean? We dont have lockers in the large dorm rooms anymore because people destroy them, all the lockers now are in the reception area so that they are more secure and also because people complain about people making noise with them in the middle of the night.

  • florence1995
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Aug 2016
4.3

The dorm that we were in was not tidy at all. There was no space (under the beds or elsewhere) for bags so everyone's stuff was all over the floor. The hostel claimed that anything left on the floor during the day would be chucked however there was no evidence of this. The toilets all smelt like urine, and the noise from the street was horrendous. Easily the worst hostel I have stayed in so far. The staff were friendly, and the location not too bad, in between the centre and the big museum

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Aug 2016
9.4

Easy to find, people are friendly, great experience there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
4.9

Not the best, not the worst. The shower was clogged but the staff didn't notice until the whole bathroom was flooding. Some random man was given a key to our room by a staff member only because he wanted to talk to my friend so definitely didn't feel safe in the middle of the night with a random person in our room. I would not stay there again. Plus all female dormitories apparently can have men sleeping in them...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I love this one, shower was clogged but the staff didn't notice it BECAUSE self centered people who don't care about anything or anyone out side of a facebook window would rather take the time to write a bad review about a clogged drain than to mention it to a staff member so it might be fixed before it floods the whole building???? There are no female dorms! all our dorms are mixed. so apparently you cant read. It clearly states this in the hostel description.

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.9

I had a great time at this hostel because it was cheap, I met new people, we partied late and we drank in the jacuzzi with the owner who is an old-school rocker. I think somebody who is looking for peace and quiet, pristine cleanliness or characterless staff should probably go to a hotel instead. But if you want a good time that costs next to nothing then Blue Sky is the place to base yourself in Glasgow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

This is what we strive for! Im glad you had fun!

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
6.6

The hostel can definitely do with a bit of upgrading. This is the ultimate youth hostel, constant noise, not entirely clean but just manageable, affordable but not fantastic. Note the towel is for rent at 1 pound.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

we are trying to improve and upgrade as much as possible but things get broken faster than we can fix them at times and it holds up the process!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
6.6

The location was good, really close to the center. The beds were awful, but sheets were clean. 1 bathroom only was available for the whole building, cheap but more or the less clean. We did not really enjoy the atmosphere as far as we were there only for sleeping. What we could get is a good rock'n roll attitude, where drinking is mor important than cleaning. Regarding the prices I did not expect more. =)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

there are 9 bathrooms all you had to do is ask for directions. it clearly states in the hostel description that its a party hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
7.7

I wrote to the hostel if there would be a safety place where stock my weight 2 bags. Thay didn't reply to me. The bags have been stock under a table where everybody could stole them. The atmosphere is amazing. Very recommended just for few days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

ok, we have been open 16 years and never had a bag of dirty laundry stolen. who wants to steal this?

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
5.1

This is gross. Didn't shower cause thought it would only make me filthier. There is 1 stove for the entire hostel. Their common room in de building on the opposite side of the street is disgusting and more used as storage and party room for the staff (till 4am). Almost no lockers available since staff is using them as well. Staff don't have their own rooms but sleep in the guestrooms. I had the guy from the nightshift sleeping in min. Staff argues with each other in front of guests, awkward.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.