Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 310 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 310 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp Located at Calle Principal contiguo Alamo Rent a Car, , Tamarindo.
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
Costa Rica
Tamarindo 50309 Calle Principal contiguo Alamo Rent a Car
82% 310
10.3015821 -85.8401781
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • maddielesaux
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.7

This place was great! Amazing location and really nice people. Their wifi was not the best, but otherwise great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Dec 2016
7.7

This is a nice hostel. Aesthetically it's great, clean and secure, the beds are comfortable and the communal area outside is nice to relax and read, and socialise too. The staff are ok- although one of the guys wasn't the friendliest. The other staff were really helpful. It's in a good part of town, not far at all from the beach and restaurants and bars. I booked 5 nights but left after 2, more so because Tamarindo was a little too touristy for me, but BlueTrailz is a nice hostel nevertheless.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
7.7

Great location and an excellent hang out / communal area which makes it easy to get to know everyone. I had my phone charger and portable battery stolen and the staff just shrugged their shoulders. Would stay here again but be careful with your stuff. I paid for surf lessons and they were great, I had the lady and she was excellent!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
8.3

Loved my time here, great location and good selection of surfboards. I did lose a pair of shoes that I left out to dry but I'm not sure if it was for cleaning or if someone needed them. Other than that the owner was very nice and helpful. Only one of the employees was a little stand-offish. The place is fairly small but everyone was very social and felt like a family.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
8.9

Great location, right down the road from the beach. Easy to rent boards and surf, go back and hang out on a hammock, and go back out to surf. Also everyone was extremely nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
8.9

Chill place to stay , super near the beach with surfboard rentals available. It was really quiet the first few nights and your not allowed to chill out on the hammocks or outside your after 10. The security guard was very strict about this. Not a party place by any means but if you want something quiet this is the place. Kitchen was a bonus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
10.0

Nice cozy hostel with great location, with a fun communal area where it's very easy to make new friends. The hostel was clean and the staff was very friendly and relaxed. The dorm comes with ac and a hot shower which was a first on my travels in Costa Rica. The beach is literally across the street from the hostel and all the rest is so close by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.0

It's a good spot that is value for money. Close to the beach and cheap board hire. Plenty of options for food or if you're looking to cook the facilities are more than adequate. Staff are friendly and helpful and will point you in the right direction if you ask. Air con was a massive bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
10.0

All round an amazing place with a cool people and a great vibe! The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The facilities were great and clean, with ac and hot showers. And you can't beat the location, which is just a few steps from the beach. I booked for 1 night but ended up staying a whole week. Best spot ever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • farrelly_155112
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.1

Really good spot right on the beach of Play Tamarindo. Good rental boards, clean and spacious rooms with fridge, ac, and kitchenette. Really good place. The local guy that works there doesnt give much of a crap about anything and isn't very helpful but the other 2 ladies that work there are fantastic. Very knowledgeable, helpful and charming

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.