Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp Reviews

Calle Principal contiguo Alamo Rent a Car, Tamarindo, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained


230 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Had a blast! Great rooms with ac, cool staff especially the cleaning lady she was a star. Had some memorable nights and made tons of new friends. Will be back next year Blue Trailz!

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


I loved that hostel! I even stayed more than i have planned! I had a lot of fun! Renting the boards was very cheap! Great staff! I highly recommend it


cheap, central location, coed dorm style room with shared bathroom. Be prepared for Party central. Marta is awesome, she'll do your laundry for $5 a kilo and leave your clothes on your bed. Surf instructor Kurt Szuba, is a great Teacher book with him. If you're a single traveler you will have a hard time jumping on to tours, everything is based on Double occupancy front desk staff is friendly up to a point and for some reason or another they give Tica attitude of gringo go home.


Had an awesome stay there! Rooms have A/C and the surf shop is very useful for renting boards for a pretty good price! It's location is very near a good beach access point for a very low price! The only thing is that there is no one at the front desk after 7pm except a security guard which postpones the problem solving to the next morning! The guard makes it safe but don't expect to do any kind of hanging out after 11pm! ;) They have a wall with all the major events in the bars in Tamarindo!


Definitely the nicest looking hostel, prime location, but not as social as others; most guests are serious surfers


Had a long stay there. Many bugs, staff friendly, except that one guy who like came in without knocking on the door. Room is okay, surf service is a plus.


Good spot, close to the beach. 24h AC in the dorms was great! Back patio common area was a like a greenhouse during the day.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The lady who works in the front gave my friends and I atittudes. We didn't like her vibe and energy that she was giving us. She was very unfriendly and not helpful. Plus the bathrooms was very dirty and disgusting

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The hostel itself was great. Great facilities and great location. However, the staff was not very helpful.


Staff only wanted to sell the schuttle...weren'thelpfull when we wanted to take a public bus to go to santa Teresa.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate any comments you have, however, there is little we can help you with when you want to go to Santa Teresa by public bus. As the staff explained, you first need to take a bus direction San Jose, then a local bus to Puntarenas, then the ferry, then a bus to Montezume and from there a taxi or bus to Santa Teresa. We cannot book any tickets for you, nor can you book them online. I hope you made it safely to Santa Teresa.


Best place I stayed while in CR. 200% would stay here again. Nice social hangout area. I think one night almost every person from the entire hostel was sitting at a group of tables together. Good security at gate @night. The door/lock on the door to our dorm (lower floor/left room) room wasn't functional so it would be nice if they fixed that but honestly, just lock up your stuff in the lockers if you have stuff you are worried about. The AC in the room was key for a great night's sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and great to hear you had a great time. We are happy to tell you that we will be installing brand new doors and locks to all the rooms in the next week. We look forward to seeing you back soon!


Location is prime for a hostel, especially considering the price. The quality of the actual dorm we stayed in was below average, mostly due to the lack of cleanliness in the bathroom. Kind of a weird vibe in general. We made friends with everyone there because it was so small, but this also meant it was hard to get away from the group to read or chill out - the dorm room is depressing so we definitely weren't going to hang out there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
All the rooms get cleaned on a daily basis, but as you understand the cleanliness of your (bath)room depends a lot on your fellow guests. If you would have told us that there was an issue with the cleanliness, we could have done an extra cleaning, but we didn't hear from you. Most guests appreciate making friends and spending time with the group and still find space and time to get away from the group, relaxing in the dorm, the hammocks common area or the reading corner with rocking chairs.

View all Tamarindo Hostels

Please give us your feedback