Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
10.0

I like the hostel, it was clean and has a good location. Only stayed one night but had fun with other people there and will come back in future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
10.0

Cool hostel in a great spot. Clean and comfy with some cool people to hang with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
10.0

This is a great place to stay in Tamarindo. It's clean and secure and literally just a few steps from the beach. My dorm room had a hot shower and aircon, and just slept 5 other people. Very comfy and relaxed crowd, great to hang out in the social area. the guy and girl at reception were very nice and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Apr 2017
7.7

We stayed in the 6 bed mixed dorm, which was OK. The rooms are not very spacious but that's pretty common in dorms. The lockers should be repaired/replaced in my opinion. The AC, WIFI, and staff were great. The shared kitchen was also a bonus, given the prices in Tamarindo for a backpacker. Good Value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Apr 2017
7.7

Nice hostel! Insanely good location! Good beds and a really nice common area. However the staff...I know that it's their work and not everyone enjoys their work every single day but when you work at hostel where the main purpose is to show hospitality and helping your guests.Then please do so!We didn't feel welcome by the staff at all! We felt more like we were a burden for the staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
9.1

Simple and straight forward hostel. Great location if you just want to surf and explore the beach. Met the owner, he's a super nice guy. The other staff on property though, they're straight forward. The lady receptionist literally would ask a question to someone and then follow up with "yah, I don't care," to your response. The cleaning lady was nice though! I'd stay here again, but just don't expect wonders from the staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
6.6

Located right next to the beach . Clean hostel . Secure your belongings , i coudnt find my shorts which i left in the patio to dry. The guy working during day is so rude .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
9.4

This was the best hostel that I have stayed at! The room had its own personal bathroom and kitchen, and the common area was perfect! 10/10 would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Feb 2017
6.6

It's a nice hostel, quite small but cosy.Lovely common area with hammacks, good wifi, clean.Nice people staying and working.No complains...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
10.0

A very nice hostel and very close to the beach. Rooms are clean with airco and hot showers. Staff was friendly and helped me with bus schedules.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.