Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp Located at Calle Principal contiguo Alamo Rent a Car, , Tamarindo.
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
Costa Rica
Tamarindo 50309 Calle Principal contiguo Alamo Rent a Car
87% 282
10.3015821 -85.8401781
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Jul 2016
8.0

The hostel appeared larger in the pics we saw prior to booking. It's a pretty small place. It's across the street from the beach and in downtown, so the location is great. The staff didn't tell us about logging into the Internet, so the wifi was horrible until somebody overheard us complaining & they told us we needed to do a special login. Tamarindo is very touristy so we only ended up there for 1 night. If you like that & want a hostel w/ young people, then this place is for you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.6

It is very unfortunate how one staff could ruin the whole hostel..two female workers were very friendly but this male worker was absolutely rude and full of himself. We have been to 50+ countries and 250+ hostels and no worker has made us as uncomfortable as this male worker did. We saw many other reviews saying the same thing about him, not sure why he hasn't been fired yet. Other than that rude worker, the hostel is pretty much unbeatable. Few steps from beach and in heart of town. FIRE HIM!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.0

Stayed there for a few days, decided to upgrade my stay for a surf camp stay, not worth it. They charged me an extra day of board rental when it was included and the coaching was mediocre. Other than that, the facilite was awesome. Rooms were always cleaned and I felt secured leaving my stuff all over my bed during the day (nothing got stolen).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • losho
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
9.7

honestly couldn't have asked for a better stay in tamarindo. right across the street from the beach, cheap board rentals, and (since it's so small) so social. made some great friends and caught some nice waves. loved it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. Location is amazing, since the beach is so close.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
6.6

Overall, the actual hostel was really nice. Very clean, air conditioning, and a nice social atmosphere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jun 2016
7.7

Great place if you want it to be close to the beach. It's actually a small hostel so it's great for meeting people. Facilities weren't the best, the light in the kitchen wasn't working and the stove top/oven wasn't optimal to cook with, but AC and hot water is nice. Like I've read before, the staff is fine - the guy isn't very friendly but the woman at the front is awesome! NOTE: there was a beer theif the entire time that stole from multiple different people and dorms which kin

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
9.4

The location of this hostel is the best. The beach is literally across the street! If you want surf lessons or rentals you can do so right at the hostel for a good price! This place is very secure with a closed gate and security guard. I loved staying here, everything is walking distance and had a great vibe!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th May 2016
10.0

By far the best Hostel in Town. Staff is really helpful and nice. Laundry is cheap. The beach is right across the street and the rooms are air conditioned! What more can you ask for. Blue trails is the best hostel by far. Security after 7pm too so its is safe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved blue trailz, fantastic location, clean, great staff, and an incredible vibe.. couldnt ask for more

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.