Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
9.4

This was the best hostel that I have stayed at! The room had its own personal bathroom and kitchen, and the common area was perfect! 10/10 would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Feb 2017
6.6

It's a nice hostel, quite small but cosy.Lovely common area with hammacks, good wifi, clean.Nice people staying and working.No complains...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
10.0

A very nice hostel and very close to the beach. Rooms are clean with airco and hot showers. Staff was friendly and helped me with bus schedules.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
10.0

Cute little hostel, cool lounge chairs and hammocks in the common area and really close to the beach. Place was clean, loved the aircon in the room and the hot showers. Staff gave great suggestions where to go eat and party! Will be back soon guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maddielesaux
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.7

This place was great! Amazing location and really nice people. Their wifi was not the best, but otherwise great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Dec 2016
7.7

This is a nice hostel. Aesthetically it's great, clean and secure, the beds are comfortable and the communal area outside is nice to relax and read, and socialise too. The staff are ok- although one of the guys wasn't the friendliest. The other staff were really helpful. It's in a good part of town, not far at all from the beach and restaurants and bars. I booked 5 nights but left after 2, more so because Tamarindo was a little too touristy for me, but BlueTrailz is a nice hostel nevertheless.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
7.7

Great location and an excellent hang out / communal area which makes it easy to get to know everyone. I had my phone charger and portable battery stolen and the staff just shrugged their shoulders. Would stay here again but be careful with your stuff. I paid for surf lessons and they were great, I had the lady and she was excellent!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Nov 2016
2.3

The management at this property is awful. We were supposed to travel to Tamarindo literally on the day that Hurricane Otto hit Costa Rica, causing devastation and deaths - we emailed to ask to cancel our reservation, and were denied!! Under literally life-threatening conditions Blue Trailz refused to cancel our reservation =/

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
8.3

Loved my time here, great location and good selection of surfboards. I did lose a pair of shoes that I left out to dry but I'm not sure if it was for cleaning or if someone needed them. Other than that the owner was very nice and helpful. Only one of the employees was a little stand-offish. The place is fairly small but everyone was very social and felt like a family.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
8.9

Great location, right down the road from the beach. Easy to rent boards and surf, go back and hang out on a hammock, and go back out to surf. Also everyone was extremely nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.