Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bluetongue Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 7.4
Bluetongue Backpackers Located at 515 Brunswick St, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane.
Bluetongue Backpackers
Australia
Brisbane QLD 4006 515 Brunswick St, Fortitude Valley
73% 251
-27.4614814 153.0383920
Bluetongue Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
5.1

Staff were unavailable during openingen hours, unfriendly and unprofessional. Location was good with bus stop right out front.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jwhittmyer
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Jul 2016
3.7

It was overall disgusting! Never saw anyone who worked there, no toilet paper in the 2 common toilets, the shower was too gross to even use. Tiny and dirty kitchen. Would not stay again, but decent location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • annepepping7511
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
7.1

Was a good place to stay, location was very close to the valley so easy to get back after a night out. Didn't see much of the staff at all but got some instructions via a text. Over all it was not dirty but not exactly super clean. The room itself was quite clean and had clean sheets plus two towels but the shared bathroom had someone's dirty underwear in it... :/ apart from that a good night stay for a good price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
4.6

I do not recommend this place. Dirty, smelly and noisy. During my 3 nights there i couldn't sleep at all - either due to a party going on till 5am or somebody randomly switching on TV at a maximum volume in the middle of the night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
10.0

Best hostel in Brisbane!!! Staff are very friendly, fantastic building and very comfortable!!! Tres bien 👌

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2016
5.7

Room was nice. Bathroom was disgustingly dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
27th Feb 2016
7.1

This hostel was sweet, in a good area just up the street from very busy nightlife but quiet. The staff were nice. The common area was pretty gross, lots and lots of cigarette butts and beer cans around and the whole area smelt like smoke. Lots of books and games available. The hostel was in quite a nice old Queenslander house with high ceilings, it felt homely. Not the best atmosphere but very good value for money and location was good too. Comfortable beds and clean rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2016
9.4

Even though I only stayed for the one night, it was a really lovely stay. The girl on reception had double booked so out is in another room which was so lovely! I would 109% reccomend this hostel as the staff were great and the location for fortitude valley was perfecto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2016
9.7

Love the staff Lucille is a legend. Great atmosphere for long and short term stays. Awesome outdoor area for chilling out and the odd game or 10 of goon pong! Not a party hostel, but not uptight either. My first time staying in a hostel alone and I've now been here 3 weeks and counting!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2016
9.4

My partner and I enjoyed our stay very much. We loved staying here so much, that we extended our stay twice. It's the perfect spot to relax after a lot of traveling. The wifi is free and reaches into the rooms which is awesome. Since we are not real party people we loved the fact that it wasn't a party hostel. The staff was super helpful and went above and beyond to make us happy. We felt at home and really don't want to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.