X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bob's Youth Hostel Reviews

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
1790 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Having seen a couple of bad reviews, we were concerned about our stay here. However, we found nothing to complain about. Perhaps some people have too high expectations of what a hostel is like, but it was certainly everything we needed. The staff were kind and helpful, the beds comfortable and the general atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. We would stay again.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

At 4am, the bald owner came into the dorm, and went to wake me up and ask for my receipt. Thanks to some fellow travellers in the dorm he didn't manage to, they had seen him kick a "dirty frenchman" out the previous night, also at 4am. "breakfast included" nope. No soap was provided in the bathroom, and the sink was in a separate cubicle to the loo, so if someone was using the shower, you couldn't wash your hands. No friendly feel from staff. Location was excellent, shame about the rest.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The staff is rude, not willing to help,never smile.However, the location is excellent,very near too the city center. The room is also okay.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Terrible hostel. Extremely overpriced. Upon arrival we were directed to a second building that we didn't even know existed, the rooms were dirty and dusty and the smell was putrid. No soap in bathrooms but they were filled with mould, floors were never swept and we noticed covers and pillow cases were never changed between guests. Felt dirty being here. Coupled with rude staff would definitely look elsewhere for the price.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Bob's Youth Hostel is the most god awful place we've ever set foot in. Absolutely so ridiculously overpriced. 1. The stairs - or should we say ladder! Hauling your luggage up them is a mission! 2. Bob's Wifi. It actually turned into a little game trying to connect to Bob. Think you've got bars? Nope, just tricking! 3. The door to our room didn't actually lock 4.The bathroom, utterly disgusting. The whole floor was wet. All the time because of how the shower was set up.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Do not stay here.


54%

Decent enough hostel for Amsterdam but for the price we paid, it could have been cleaner. The dorm bathroom was dirty and the lock on the shower room door didn't close properly.


60%

For a 16br dorm it was well overpriced even if there was an event on the weekend

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really good hostel experience, great location and the beds were comfy and showers good. I locked my padlock in my locker and the staff were really helpful at sorting it out at 1am!

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

From arrival and for the duration of our stay the staff were very unhelpful and often unnecessarily rude which was a shame. There was a communal area but it had no real atmosphere and the hostel didn't do anything to help bring people together. Given Amsterdam is such a backpackers hub we had hoped to meet people in the hostel but this proved pretty tricky. The location was fantastic however - right in the centre of the city and so close to everything - so its okay if that's what you're after.


54%

€28 a night is way too expensive for what you get at the hostel. There was one toilet for our 16 bed dorm and one shower which made things awkward. Staff were not very helpful so overall it was not a great stay.


60%

Although it was in a great location towards stereotypical tourist attractions, it was a little strange and tense I feel with the staff and backpackers. The rules of smoking is confusing as you are allowed to smoke hash/cannibas inside(no tabacco) 'cept everytime someone would smoke inside, they'd be told smoking is outside. They don't really have a kitchen either, staff can make you 2 minute noodles, cup-a-soups etc. but you can't access the kitchen, only they can.


86%

When we booked Bob's there were a fair few bad reviews that said lockers, toilets etc weren't good, so we were concerned before we arrived. However, all of the bad reviews are incredibly unfair in our opinion. The beds were comfortable, the sheets were clean, the bathrooms were clean and lockers were good. Yes you need a €20 deposit for the keys, but you get that back so who cares. The locations is amazing, the staff are helpful and there is free tea and coffee all day. It's great.


80%

Love bobs hostel. Second time visiting, and would still come back, 5 mins walk to the coffee shop, cheap and comfortable rooms

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is really well located, close to the main station and to the main points, you can do everything walking. Rooms were good and clean and had plugs for everyone. Wifi worked really good in the rooms. would stay there again.


80%

Bob's was a cool place with chill atmosphere. I really liked the 18-30 rule because it made it feel like it was actually a youth hostel. Overall it was a good place in a great location. Nothing was extraordinary but there was nothing to complain about.


86%

Slept in a corner bed next to the window. Couldn't close it so was quite cold through the night plus the noise from people and traffic was not good.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Had a really good stay at Bobs, bit pricey over the weekend but most hostels in Amsterdam are. We were in the second building it was a great location really close to dam square but on a quieter road so no noise at night. If you want to get bikes I would highly recommend right next door to the second building of bobs, such nice guys and cheap too!! Great hostel would definitely stay again


71%

Lockers were broken in the room and we had no hot water after the first morning but this hostel had a great atmosphere and was in a really good location, so we'd stay again :)


89%

We had a fab stay, its right next to Centraal Station which is really convenient. Unfortunately the facilities weren't great, there is no kitchen to use, only a shared fridge. Otherwise had a fantastic time


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback