Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bob's Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 2,370 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.4
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 2,370 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.4
Bob's Youth Hostel Located at Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam.
Bob's Youth Hostel
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 SG Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG
64% 2370
52.3755598 4.8922848
Bob's Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
5.7

Beds were terrible. Every bunk in the room rattled and squeaked anytime someone moved. Only 3 charging plugs in a room for 6 people too which is pretty tough. Quite over priced for what it is.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.3

Really isn't as bad as what people make it out to be, yes it's no 5 star hotel but it was good. Check in staff were lovely and the guy was really nice and helpful too. The luggage bag room DID have a lock on it, as well as a key card needed for the door to the stairs and then the bedrooms. Lockers available in room too. Perfect location for everything, the place was pretty clean (okay spots which could do improving but was more than okay). A bit more on the expensive side but would go again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
6.6

The guy who works at reception was very unfriendly. Location is very good, 5 minute walk from the central station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
4.3

The smell on the bags room was awful, the morning staff is not so helpful and doesn't have patentice at all., but the afternoon staff is pretty good. The lockers in the rooms didn't work , you got a lock to use, but 6 out of 8 boxes in the room where damaged.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
4.9

Cheap good location but very dirty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
6.3

The beds were very comfy. But the staff was very rude and unhelpful. Both times that we went to the desk for help, they put their duties before us, told us to come back at a certain time and when We returned they made us wait up to an additional 30 min each visit. Once we got to talk to them they seemed very put out by our requests (acquiring a key for the lockers, key malfunction).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Aug 2016
4.9

This hostel has a wonderful location and I met some lovely people who were also staying there. The hostel also has a worn down but okay enough lobby. However the bathrooms were appalling and looked like they had never been cleaned. There was a cleaner however all she seems do is take the bedding off empty beds. There was also damp on the walls in the first floor dorm. The shower was hanging off the wall and was just generally filthy. Also the man that checked us in was extremely rude.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
8.0

This was generally a nice hostel. There was one older gentleman on the night staff, I think his name was Ahmed, who was a major pain in the ass (1 star) and a complete douchebag. 5 star service from the other staff members.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2016
3.7

the only thing good about this hostel is the location. If your booking late it may be the only option. Its extremely overpriced for what it is.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Aug 2016
2.6

The only thing I can say positive about this hostel was the location. The overall conditions of the hostel are poor, not very clean and the older man that is in the front desk is a really disgusting person. He is not willing to show any kindness at all, and seems to be fed up of his work and dealing with travellers. Check in is at 2 PM, and while you wait to have your room, you have to leave your luggage in a very small and smelly room. Worst hostel of my trip and of my life by far.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.