X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bob's Youth Hostel Reviews

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1576 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Basic hostel, get what you paid for. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are decent, but it kinda sucks if you get put in the second building. No common area to hang out in, but the lobbey has tables for drinking and smoking.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

We reached hostel on firday night. When we enter in the room there were 5 girls and guys sitting on the floor and smooking drugs and having drinks. The worst part is there was toilet papers and no hot water. Moreover the sheets were brown and there is absolutely no heating in the building (the second one which we were told to go there). I suggest anyone who is looking for this hostel, avoid it all cost.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Very dirty hostel. There was no soap in the room bathroom to wash your hands.


43%

If you wanna a cheap place to sleep in a good location, that's it. Dont expect much more than that. Another tip look after your stuff, the lockers doesnt work properly.


83%

Nice hostel, and great staff. Bathrooms were clean and they have towels to purchase. They don't have breakfast but they do have coffee and tea. Only thing was when I stayed there was some sort of construction going on either in the building or directly infront of it so it was difficult to get sufficient sleep. Other than that it was good value for money.


69%

Bob's is a good place to be if you just need a place to sleep at and meet a few people along the way. It is in a great location between the touristy and less touristy areas. Unfortunately no kitchen and the lounge could be more inviting (more art!) but all in all~ a great place to be!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Very close to Dam Square and train station, just the basics inside. The motion sensor lights in the shower were incredibly annoying, also the big clunky metal trunks for your bags. They do give you a lock for this, but they make so much noise. Also so cold, it was like there wasn't heat, especially in the rooms. Wake and bake atmosphere, a little difficult to meet people if you aren't planning on getting high all day.


83%

Staff were very friendly if somewhat disorganized. Awkward that the check in area is the bar area. Stayed in I think a 16 person dorm? It was okay because it was a large room and barely half filled, but would be tough if filled to capacity. Bathrooms were already gross after 1 or 2 nights (and that's with only a half filled room). Heater didn't seem to work. Lobby/common area was always buzzing with activity though. Excellent location and really not a bad accommodation for the price we paid.


60%

Staff were pretty rude

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Dorms are so cold. Someone always opens windows at night. Heating system also doesn't working!!!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good location, friendly staff but not the best for security.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great atmosphere, Lovely people, very social, perfect location.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Not great cleaning when you pay 60€ for Two nights! Apart the good environment in the hostel lobby, its a very poor hostel!


49%

I'm not used to this kind of hostel.. its less than normal..sorry only good thing its near shopping centers.. and RED LIGHTS


69%

I was expecting the hostel to be a lot worse after I read the reviews. It wasn't the best hostel I've stayed at. The wifi is only in the smoke infested common room, no breakfast facilities nor kitchen to use and most of the lockers stored under beds not actually lock but mighty fine location.


63%

Bobs was tight, its pretty chill but the bathrooms were ratchet

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The older "gentleman" decided midnight was a good time to test keys on the women's dorm. Woke all of us up! The first night he came in demanding one of the girls for Id, it set all of us on edge...He was also very rude anytime I had a question. The hostel isn't really a youth hostel, more a stoner hostel. So, if you're in Amsterdam for more than weed I wouldn't reccomend going here!


86%

Wifi is very poor and not many plugs in dorm rooms..apart from this its great..perfect location..we walked to everything..shos etc next door..

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

4 of us stayed 4 nights. We were in the complex round the corner from reception which was really basic and couldn't open the windows (it got stuffy); but we had lovely roommates and we were only in the room to sleep. We made a booking to stay an extra night where stayed above reception. The room had loads more character, windows and a nicer bathroom! We enjoyed our stay the first nights but the different rooms might explain the mixed reviews! Get what you pay for; lucky if you're above reception

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Girl at the front desk was as thick as 2 planks and had the personality of 1 plank. Its cheap, but the slug ya an extra 10 to lock ya bag up and 10 for a key that I couldn't return cos 'there's no one working' 3am-8am. Yet one of the staff come in shinning a torch in my face, giving me 21 questions when I got in at 330.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback