X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bob's Youth Hostel Reviews

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1616 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great location!! A bit too expensive for the accomodation itself, but amsterdam is always expensive. We had to complaints! Loved the piano :)


63%

Shout out to Felix - the only staff member who was friendly and helpful to us! Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, dorms were basic but suitable. Paid over 70 euro for two nights though, which I don't really think the place was worth. Good location, only a few minutes walk to Dam Square. Not allowed to smoke in the rooms which is understandable but then getting shouted at by an angry man for going outside to smoke was a bit much!


54%

The atmosphere was sketchy from the minute you walk into the front lounge area. You think youth hostel would have young people but there were always old men sitting in there. I stayed in an all girls dorm and the male workers would walk into the room during the day and night without knocking or anything and look at the people in the beds. That was creepy and made me uncomfortable. Also had an early flight and couldn't check out during the time I needed to so I lost my key deposit.


49%

There were rats and mice in the common areas. No kitchen. Very dirty

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Bob's is awesome, its cheap with a great location and a lot of fun times. Only the weak would tell you to go to another hostel (although there are better ones)

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

terrible experience. the wifi didnt work the whole time i was there. the staff was really rude. i stayed in a bedroom that was not in the same building as the reception so it was not very safe. it was in the street behind, so not very good to talk to the staff at night. wouldnt recommend the hostel to anyone.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great stay, except there was a mixup with the beds in my dorm and there was more people than beds, thankfully we all had a bed to sleep on, but two people had to share.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Lack of electrical plug sockets in the room

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It was a good place.. The only problem i had was .. Had to climb 4 floors on stairs.....


46%

My friend saw a rat on his room. Bunk beds doesn`t have stairs. No lockers enough.


57%

I've stayed in a room in which the bathroom's door didn't exist, only for the facilities itself, which would really help with the privacy issue. Nevertheless, it smelled a little bit and we only had 1 toilet and 1 shower for 10 people to use. Ok, the price was really low, but this with the bathroom was really annoying.


80%

Basic hostel, get what you paid for. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are decent, but it kinda sucks if you get put in the second building. No common area to hang out in, but the lobbey has tables for drinking and smoking.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

We reached hostel on firday night. When we enter in the room there were 5 girls and guys sitting on the floor and smooking drugs and having drinks. The worst part is there was toilet papers and no hot water. Moreover the sheets were brown and there is absolutely no heating in the building (the second one which we were told to go there). I suggest anyone who is looking for this hostel, avoid it all cost.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Very dirty hostel. There was no soap in the room bathroom to wash your hands.


43%

If you wanna a cheap place to sleep in a good location, that's it. Dont expect much more than that. Another tip look after your stuff, the lockers doesnt work properly.


83%

Nice hostel, and great staff. Bathrooms were clean and they have towels to purchase. They don't have breakfast but they do have coffee and tea. Only thing was when I stayed there was some sort of construction going on either in the building or directly infront of it so it was difficult to get sufficient sleep. Other than that it was good value for money.


69%

Bob's is a good place to be if you just need a place to sleep at and meet a few people along the way. It is in a great location between the touristy and less touristy areas. Unfortunately no kitchen and the lounge could be more inviting (more art!) but all in all~ a great place to be!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Very close to Dam Square and train station, just the basics inside. The motion sensor lights in the shower were incredibly annoying, also the big clunky metal trunks for your bags. They do give you a lock for this, but they make so much noise. Also so cold, it was like there wasn't heat, especially in the rooms. Wake and bake atmosphere, a little difficult to meet people if you aren't planning on getting high all day.


83%

Staff were very friendly if somewhat disorganized. Awkward that the check in area is the bar area. Stayed in I think a 16 person dorm? It was okay because it was a large room and barely half filled, but would be tough if filled to capacity. Bathrooms were already gross after 1 or 2 nights (and that's with only a half filled room). Heater didn't seem to work. Lobby/common area was always buzzing with activity though. Excellent location and really not a bad accommodation for the price we paid.


60%

Staff were pretty rude

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback