Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bob's Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 2,289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 2,289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.6
Bob's Youth Hostel Located at Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam.
Bob's Youth Hostel
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 SG Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG
67% 2289
52.3755598 4.8922848
Bob's Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Jul 2016
4.6

Would not recommend the location is the only positive. Wifi kept dropping out the room door didn't have a lock and the staff burst in for a "security" check. Bathrooms were dirty and covered in graffiti. Had to give a 10 euro deposit for a locker that didn't work. Never going to stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
4.0

Don't bother even thinking about booking this place. As you walk down the steps to the dank, dark, smelly, graffitied walls and ripped couches, you will see why. I stayed here for 2 nights in hot weather, with no air conditioning, one window for 12 people and a shower that is literally a room with no ventilation (so by the time you turn your cold shower off, you're sweaty because it's like standing in a hot box). If you arrive early, you will be able to put your bag in a tiny, smelly basement.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
2.9

The experience at Bob's was horrifying. We were six people in a room that barely fit 4. The bathroom was shared with another room that was 3 times bigger than ours. The neighbors were rude and abused of our property. The guardian is awfully rude and locked us out because we were interrupting his Beauty sleep. The air conditioning never worked a single day, and nobody cared to fix it. The location is ok, however this room violates every basic human right and it's simply disgusting.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
9.1

Good hostel in Amsterdam

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
4.6

My stay at Bob's wasn't great. The rooms hadn't been cleaned, it was way too hot in the rooms (especially at night), wifi didn't work in the rooms, the bathroom facilities were extremely dirty and cramped. The rooms were mouldy and smelled bad. The luggage room was filled with garbage and rotting food and smelled terrible.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2016
4.9

Only stayed one night but it was awful. Very dirty. Staff where rude. Poor security. However it's in a really good area. Would only recommend if your just going to be sleeping!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
5.4

Overall I really enjoyed our stay with Bob's Hostel. I and my two friends shared a 6 bed mixed dorm. The only thing was after arriving after a full day of travelling we were told that our room was in a different building round the corner which was easy to find but our room was on the fourth floor, meaning we had to climb four sets of stairs. The room itself was clean though we never used the shower as it was dirty. Room was always extremely humid and was very hard to sleep at night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
4.0

Bobs hostel is okay. Staff was decent and rooms were acceptable, except for the fact that we were on the last floor and there are only stairs up. Everything is cleaned once you move out around 11, so if you're not moving out expect to see someone cleaning around that time.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
4.9

Well what can I say its very dirty and stinky in the Hostel as well as the Wifi is working not further then the 1 level but not even in the rooms of the 1st level. The location is perfect and if someone doesnt need a big luxus its fine but I wouldnt stay there again even when the location was really great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.6

Fantastic place! Took a while to check in but once we did it was great! Optional lockers in every room, wifi is good, cheap beer, fantastic location, staff are A++! Very comfortable stay if only for the one night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.