X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bob's Youth Hostel Reviews

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1664 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Very average. Stayed here cause there were no other available options... Very few bathrooms and not all that tidy, long steep hike up to top floor dorms. Atmosphere not great: not much going on in the Hostel but close to everything and train station


57%

The hostel was in a prime location and clean, but those were the only selling points. They reception desk and staff felt very uninviting. Beds and storage were metal and very loud. Too many beds in a room so they did not fit well. They are no longer serving breakfest, and only offer the bare minimum they have to. They required a €10 cash deposit on the room keys, but the reception desk was only open for a few hours so we were unable to return them before we had to leave. Will not stay here again

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Exactly what we paid for! Great location, could stay there again

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall a great place for a good price. The staff are friendly & helpful & also attractive! Definitely take advantage of their suggestions. The hostel itself was pretty decent - we just had confusion over beds & two of the beds that were assigned to us had not been changed & one of the security personnel had to come in & change the sheets himself around midnight or 1AM. We - a group of four girls - stayed in the 16-bed mixed room & slept great once the sheets were finally changed :)

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The bathroom had human feces on the ground and the shower smelt really bad. Loved the location though.


49%

One of the worst places I've stayed at. The worker was so rude! He came into our room at 2:30 in the morning without knocking and just walked into our room for no reason. Not to mention this was an all female room and he was a male worker. This is not okay! Secondly there's no outlets only about four for the entire room. The facility was really old and run down bathrooms were gross and dirty. Far too overpriced for the quality.


40%

Completely disgusting. Felt like a prison.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Bobs was convenient and a place to stay whilst in Amsterdam but no atmosphere , staff didn't really seem to excited about anything


80%

It's a chill place. Not the cleanest, but it does the job.


80%

Nothing fancy but pretty clean hostel. I would recommend to budget travellers/


37%

It's a terrible hostel. Very desorganaised and durty!! The staffs dont care about problemans. There isnt kitchen at the hostel and the bedroom is very loundy.


57%

Not the cleanest - my sheets were stained. Shower wasn't great, toilets neither. Overall ok, and the location made it a good base for our trip, but I would not return.


43%

The receptionist was rude, the sink was broken in our room and the bathroom was dirty.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel was in a very good location, only a few minutes walk from Dam square. Room was fairly clean considering there were 14 people in it. Main problems were TWO sockets between 14 people and only one toilet/shower.


34%

The bathroom was disgusting and the whole dorm smelled like pee. The staff wasn't very friendly. Nothing about that place was clean. Waste of 100 euros.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

This was an OK hostel, very much a backpackers kind of place, not for those looking for an 'up market' experience. The place was clean enoughenough and in a good location. Be warned, there are 2 parts to this hostel, so you may end up in the 2nd building behind the main hostel. The staff were a little surlysurly, but helpful enough for me. The atmosphere is ok if you like/don't mind weed smoking, as the main lobby area was devoted to this. Overall a no frills hostel in a good location.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I really couldn't stand the music that was playing in the common room during my three nights there and also heard others make the same complaints. It was mainly college aged students so I feel like more mainstream or recent music should have been played. Additionally the bathroom cleanliness could have been better, however in large shared rooms I realize it can be a difficult thing to maintain.


89%

Overall good quality. Would have been nice to have a better quality mattress though

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This is a good place to stay it's really close to central station but also very close to other areas of the city. There are two buildings so if you book separately from the people that you want to stay with make sure that you ask to be in the same building. They are right across the street from each other so it's not the end of the world if you can't. But I would defiantly recommend this hostel to people!


86%

Exceptional service and nice room. I didn't ask for the 3am wake up call and strip tease from one of the cleaners, but what a show! Will inevitably put the 'Banana Shows' of the red light district out of business!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback