Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bob's Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 2,438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 2,438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.5
Bob's Youth Hostel Located at Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam.
Bob's Youth Hostel
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 SG Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG
65% 2438
52.3755598 4.8922848
Bob's Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
8.9

For location and value for money this hostel will be tough to beat. Very central, it is a 15-20 from Centraal Station and very easy to find. The basic facilities provided are to be expected for only £15 a night. Would recommend to anyone and I will be staying again on my next trip. The only thing that it lost credit for is that there are no communal facilities, like Kitchen or Common Room. Also as we were in the top floor the Wi-Fi was extremely poor to non-existent. Overall thoroughly enjoyable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
6.9

Good location in the center of the city. The staff is correct but not very attractive. The rooms were correct: not brilliant but in good conditions. A lot of shops and bakeries near the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Sep 2016
3.7

Checked out covered in swollen welt-like bites all over my body after sleeping in their beds, defintely wasn't worth my money. Toilet handle was broken so sometimes you got locked in, my locker under my bed was broken so couldn't be locked. Hallway smells like urine. Bites all over my body ruined holiday and now I have to hot wash all my clothes and luggage for bed bugs. Not even a little bit impressed other than for location.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
7.4

Really good location! It's not the nicest or cleanest hostel, but it does the job.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Sep 2016
8.0

I think the reviews are abit harsh for here. I stayed in the female form and it was really nice! Beds were very clean and comfortable, the shower was hot and clean (ish) but wasn't terrible. The door handle on the toilet was broken but was very clean and the sink facilities were good. The wifi worked well and the staff seemed lovely and were helpful. The only drawback was that its on the bottom floor and was sometimes abit loud of people were outside the room but other than that it was lovely!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
3.4

Covered in bites Charged an extra 30 euros on arrival which there is no mention of on the website Didn't see a single member of staff except for check in It's the worst place in my life I've ever stayed absolute disgrace

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • fatmax_1824243
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Sep 2016
6.3

Bobs youth hostel was nice enough but with a bit of work it could be much better. The bathrooms need a deep clean desperately and the air conditioning units only make a lot of noise and don't actually cool the rooms down. The staff were friendly enough however, and the location is good

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
5.1

I found a mouse in a bin at the entrance, and the pillows stinked a lot. But it has a very central location, near the station and facilities. Ah, the breakfast is just coffee or tea. I wouldn't go back there

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Sep 2016
7.7

Great location, just 5 minute walk from the main train station. Great security, need a key card to get into the building and rooms and there are big boxes that can fit your suitcases in them. Stayed in the 14 person room and there was a guy who wasn't very considerate and kept turning the lights on when he got back at 5am in the morning. But guess it's luck of the draw. Would stay here again, and hope I got better room mates

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
10.0

Personally speaking I'm mystified by some of the negative reviews that have been left on here. I regularly travel to Amsterdam (about 4/5 times a year) and always stay in Hostels, this was my first time at Bob's. The atmosphere IMO was the best I've experienced staying at a hostel! The location is perfect! Centraal Station, the Red light district, Jordaan, the Albert Heijn supermarket, all within short walking distance from the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.