X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bob's Youth Hostel Reviews

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1338 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Very nice staff and great atmosphere. Bedrooms were clean and big. Hostel was located well, it was just nearby everything.

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is located in the city centre,very close to all touristic places and pretty easy to find. Some staffs(especially a lady at the reception) was very kind and helpful while some other stuffs were extremely rude to me...Also I felt it was not relly uncorfotable that male staffs enter female dorm whenever without asking us or even knocking the door. Because of this we required to get dressed in the toilets. People choose female dorm to avoid this kind of inconvenience, I felt sorry.


100%

Coffeeshop atmosphere in the lounge, open 'til 3. Breakfast is toast and hard boiled eggs. I've stayed in 3 hostels in Amdam, including about 2 weeks at Bob's. Bob's beats the rest. Book the 16 bed female dorm - almost no stairs. Locked luggage room, enormous lockers in room and enough for everyone. Very clean. Separate toilet, shower, and sinks so you don't have to wait. Walking distance to Centraal station. Best coffeeshops nearby: the Doors (also serves beer), 420 Cafe, Homegrown, Abraxis.


83%

first of all atmosphere was great i will definitely stay there if i can go to amsterdam again but not in twenty person mixed rooms. ok it is cheap but at least there should be a soap in the toilets to clean our hands or there should be something to hang our clothes while we are taking shower.

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

everything is nice, except the fact that there's a cat who walks over the food in the table of breakfast. i don't care about the cats, but this one jumps over the table all the time while you are eating.

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Nothing fancy, just what u need. Especially if you smoke ( the common room is smoke friendly )


40%

Having to walk to another building is the weirdest thing ever! The bed above me was broken and the person sleeping on it almost feel out multiple times. The breakfast is a joke for the amount of money that I paid to stay there. Also the staff was not the most welcoming or helpful. Over all I think this hostel needs a lot of work!


26%

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. There were rats, I felt unsafe the entire weekend and the staff was unfriendly and not helpful. I ended up paying over 100€ for one weekend, a total rip off. Oh and this hostel is in the heart of the red light district. DO NOT STAY HERE, especially if you have the option not to do so

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

common room is kinda dirty. Breakfast is light but the rest is ok :)


83%

Considering the extremely high price, it was a standard hostel experience.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

very fun, would stay again


37%

The staff was not very friendly. I was traveling alone and regularly I asked them if there were any pub crawls or something fun to do at night and they never suggested anything. They didn't know a lot about the city and where to find certain things (like where to go shopping or where they might have jazz). The hostel itself was so filthy and it smelled like weed all the time. Absolutely terrible!!

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Go there if you want to meet new people , esp if you want to smoke! great staff and and average place to lie for an hostel. Value for money. But dont go if youre a snob! go and chill out!

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel! The only bad thing there wasnt enough hot water for all of us to shower

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The girl (Eida?) staff is very friendly and helpful.


54%

Slept for one night and got terrible bed bugs. Sheets were visibly dirty as well as the shower.


89%

Really friendly staff and a fantastic location. Looking to go back to Amsterdam next year and will 100% be staying at bobs. Can't recommend the place enough

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Very dirty hostel. Inside the bedroom, some beds are well located, but some beds are in front of the locker or the bathroom.


1 2 Next » last »
(38 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback