X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Boho Hostel Reviews

'Cycas' Guzeppi Xerri, St Julians, St. Julians, Malta

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
356 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

You're doing a great job, your Hostel is so cozy. I had an amazing time. Thank you.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a great time in best hostel ever! Second time in Malta, but first being in Boho Hostel. Perfect location because of residential area, gardens, and close to Sliema beach. Perfect to share traveling with other guests, really clean and nice staff. Hope to see you again! Thanks Boho!

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

2nd time in Boho, and already waiting for the 3rd. I can't wait for being there again!. Incredible facilities, gardens, perfect atmosphere and events. It makes you feel at home, and help you to speak and share with people, is the perfect place to stay with friends or couple, but also to be alone and meet interesting people. Also really clean, it seems is the main concern for the owner and I have to say they are doing a great job. Also got in love with catstevens and Penny again. See you soon!

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

A lot of long termers, lifers living there, guy in my room got up early to go to work every day which woke me up and turned the lights out at 10 in the evening to go to sleep which was annoying. Also there is a main road outside where you can here the cars which can make it difficult to sleep if you are a sensitive sleeper. No free tea or coffee after 12. Hostel has a nice garden to sit in, and staff will help you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We're glad you found the team helpful and the garden area nice to hang around in. I'm so sorry that you were woken up by your room-mates. This happens sometimes when you're in a dormitory, unfortunately, whether you're sharing with long-termers, or 'weekenders'. We wished you would have communicated the issue with us when you extended your stay from 2 days to a further seven nights. We would have either changed your room or asked your room mate to be more considerate. Usually when guests extend their stays, it's an indirect way of telling us they're happy here. We've never really had any negative feedback about 'no free tea/coffee after 12,' as since breakfast is not included in the room type, guest usually express their gratitude that there's even any free coffee offered at all....

100%

Most amazing staff. Very friendly, really felt at home.


97%

Very good atmosphere and staff is really good and helpful. airy and clean rooms. The bathrooms are big and clean as well. Kitchen is big and full of equipments.I personally highly recommend this hostel!!!


94%

Fantastic, welcoming hostel. Very homely feel and lovely staff. Would definitely recommend.

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel is far away from the bus stop (1.5 km uphill) and it takes about one hour to get to Valetta from where you can get to other places. There is no common room at the hostel where you can talk without disturbing other guests. No dorm room had any locks. The preassure in the shower was really poor. However the staff and a lot of the other guests were really friendly and welcoming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write the review. We're glad you found the hostel staff friendly and helpful, and we're also very happy that other guests too were nice- this all contributes to the wonderful atmosphere found at boho. I'm sorry you felt let down with a few things, though I'd like to explain the reason behind a few: Dorms don't have locks because they're shared and staff is always going in and out cleaning / changing sheets etc. We do, however, provide you with extra large lockers for your valuables, and the hostel has 2 entrance doors which are always locked and well secured. The closest bus stop is just 2 streets away (not 1.5 k) and takes you to Valletta in 20 minutes, depending on traffic, and boho is just a ten minute walk to the center. The showers are all power showers and many guests have complimented them! But sorry if these did not live up to your expectations.

94%

The reviews are unprecedently good and it's not hard to see why when you are there. Fantastic, friendly, welcoming staff. Wonderfully clean. Often you find that in a large 'corporate' style hostel it's clean but without personal touches, or you stay somewhere with bountiful personal touches that lacks cleanliness / security. Boho does a fantastic job of combining both: it has a great vibe and is efficiently run! My only regret is that I wasn't there in the summer..excuse to return I guess :)


91%

The best hostel in terms of staff and friendliness ever.


94%

Great place, with a great atmosphere. Thank you for everything!

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent stay ın Boho Hostel! Staff all very friendly and we met some awesome people! Short walk to the bus stop that takes you all over the island. İf İ can İ will definitely come back!

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

fantastic hostel, go stay there if you like a laid back atmosphere, you won't regret it!


86%

Awesome atmosphere, the friendliest staff and fellow guests ever! The organised bbq was lovely, plus regular organised events. Great place for socialising with other guests yet also be able to get a decent nights sleep. Not the a central location, but bus connections are great value (1.50 Euro for an all day pass to anywhere in Malta!) The only thing I would suggest to Boho is to upgrade the bunk beds to a more sturdy type, but not too much of a problem in October as the rooms are not too busy


100%

Such a relaxed haven to escape the madness of Malta, well worth staying here. Penny the owner is superb and is building quite an animal sanctuary which adds to the whole bohemian theme and calm hostel. Will return for sure.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Penny was a wonderful host and I would highly recommend Boho to anyone looking for a great holiday in Malta.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all St. Julians Hostels

Please give us your feedback