X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Boho Hostel Reviews

'Cycas' Guzeppi Xerri, St Julians, St. Julians, Malta

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
309 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The hostel is a 15min walk up hill from st Julian's, mind you they mention this on their website but it's still a bit hard to find even by locals. It has a welcoming hippie/chilled vibe and the staff although friendly seem a little hesitant to go out of their way to help visitors. You can tell this hostel lives of their former glory, the fascilities haven't been looked ufter for some time. It's clean but not so much towels and bathroom matts need an update. The fridge and taps need to be fixed.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Working in hospitality we feel that, though we try our best, we can't please everybody, and it saddens us when guests only focus on what in their eyes is 'negative.' Like you pointed out, it states clearly that the location of boho is ten minutes away from the center. You read the reviews. So why book it? As for Boho living off its former glory- the hostel has been open for just 2 years, so we're not sure what former glory you're referring to.

91%

It is very hard to find any fault with this hostel. The staff are all lovely and very helpful. The hostel is set in a quiet, relaxed atmosphere which is perfect for a hangover! Regular barbeques and excursions are organised by the hostel at a good price, naturally followed by a pub crawl later at night. The garden has a tranquil, sociable setting which makes it easy to meet new and interesting people. I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Awesome property, pretty far away from everything though, but it´s fine. Pity you can´t stay in the gardens after 11PM, definitely best part of the hostel. Really nice atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely words! It's our guests who help create the wonderful atmosphere at the hostel. The laws in Malta are what they are, so keeping outdoor/garden area open past 11 at night would be illegal unfortunately. About the location; boho is not your super-central mainstream hostel. It's a slightly off the beaten track backpackers, and we never try to promote it in any other way. Having said that, it still remains only a 10 min walk to 'everything', with great close bus connections.

77%

I really liked this hostel, especially for the nice evenning barbecues and the very nice staff. . But I would definitely recommend a trip to Boho hostel.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Definitely under the TOP3 out of all the hostels I visited so far!


91%

The instruction for how to get to the hostel should be updated and modified.


97%

Lots of reviews put the location down because of the two short but steep hills, in our opinion this did not effect our stay and were never too difficult or taxing even during the mid-day heat or coming home from a few drinks. The location is near several bus stops which take you everywhere and is extremely cheap and easy to use.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Boho is a fabulous, social, relaxed place where to stay in Malta: the atmosphere is great: very relaxed, familiar, chilled... absolutely ideal for an island break! The staff is fabulously friendly and helpful: a great hostel under this point of view! The staff is just not someone sitting behind a desk at reception! The location is the only minor down point as it is a bit further away from the main transport arteries in Malta, but that is true of all hostels in the island!


74%

So kind of you to find my phone that was left in the hostel and have it delivered to rotterdam immediately. You are reliable, helpful, and nice.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Basically a big sociable house. Excellent stocked kitchen, chill out lounge, and lots of comfy outdoor seating. Good wifi access - including outside. Great for meeting new people, but also quiet at night. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. Totally recommended - it felt like someone had done a lot of backpacking, and put together the 'best bits' of all the hostels they stayed in, and then made that a home!


97%

This is a very nice hostel!! Maybe the best in Malta. Hostel's staff is very easy and efficient. In this hostel you can make a very nice holiday alone because you can find a very nice people in the hostel from all over the work. The staff also organize a lot of activity to improve your permanence in Malta. Thanks for all Penny, thanks, Alberto

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This was my first solo traveling trip and my first time in Malta. Boho Hostel was the BEST choice I could of made.The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly.Any questions you have they will answer them or help you find the answers. Boho has great vibes and great people, the fellow travelers are friendly as well and great to talk with. Boho has a large beautiful garden space so there are social setting, or personal gardens to hangout and read. The next time I come to Malta I will be at Boho.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This place is magic! Surely it's the best hostel I've ever been to, and I'd totally go back there should I return to Malta next summer. The garden makes it the perfect place to chill (there are also parrots!), and in general the wide rooms and spaces are perfect to know new people. Only note: there is no air conditioning, and my dormitory (and I suppose the others too) tendend to become painfully hot during the night; it's possible to open the windows, but there are mosquitos out there.


86%

Amazing experience at Boho Hostel! The accomodation & location were very good! But the people made it a memorable holiday! Thank you very much staff & guests, you are missed!

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Boho Hostel has an atmosphere of feeling home.many travellers Were here on their own, but Boho Hostel and the staff created very soon a family for them. Beautiful place.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I loved staying at the Boho Hostel. Since there are no groups bigger than 6 people allowed, you get into conversation with one very easily (most people are there alone). The only thing I had a little bit of a problem with was that it was somewhat pretty loud, since some people hang out downstairs until late and you can hear it upstairs in the rooms.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

No laundry facilities ( only outside of laundry services). Poor location where visitors need to go up on very steep roads with heavy baggages. Less hot water for shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We provide guests with an external laundry service, where it gets collected, washed, ironed and delivered the next day at unbeatable prices. The hostel is located up a hill which is just 10 mins away from centre. This was known to you prior to booking as per reviews. We further offer complimentary shuttles and 8 euro airport transfers. Happy travels. Penny

97%

lovely clean, comfortable, friendly, quiet place in nice surroundings, with free wifi and luggage storage ( not a given yet in other places) its a bit tricky to find at first, but once you find it then its easy access.. ten mins walk from the main areas and transport etc is situated in nice gardens to relax in, if you feel the need


97%

Awesome hostel, had a great time meeting people and chilling in the sun outside. Great place to meet other solo travellers, and is truely unique. The only warning I'd give is though some partying definitely does happen, it's not a party hostel, and the vibe is leaned more favourably for solo backpackers, travellers and the like. Overall, amazing time and can't wait to come back.


94%

Very friendly and homely place, helpful staff and generally a good atmosphere! Thoroughly enjoyed my staff and would definitely return

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all St. Julians Hostels

Please give us your feedback