Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bondi Beachouse YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Apr 2017
8.9

Was okay, great location but residential. Pretty comfy and lots of space. Not too many toilets and showers (plus the ladies light went out...) and the kitchen was a bit confusing with no dishes/pans available for general use, it was all people's baskets of food and equipment. Would recommend for a few nights but good luck cooking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for your comments in regards to the hostel. The Bondi Beachouse Yha is an older style art deco building, due to this we do acknowledge that levels 2 and 3 are small bathrooms, however we do have larger ones on levels 1 and 4. In our peak Summer time, the kitchen is also very busy, however it is cleaned a minimum of 4 times a day, cutlery packs are avalible to rent at reception for a refundable $5 deposit - this is to encourage guests to be responsible for their own equipment.

  • lisastorer
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.1

Great location, walking distance to Bondi and Tamarama beach. Friendly and helpful staff. Older facilities but very clean. Wifi was a bit dodgy but there's the option to pay for it. Would highly recommend and definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou very much for your kind comments, especially in regards to our staff! :)

27th Mar 2017
6.9

Pretty expensive hostel. The kitchen was too small and the bathroom should be better cleaned.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for your comments in regards to the hostel. The Bondi Beachouse Yha is an older style art deco building, due to this we do acknowledge our facilities are smaller than those in the city and this is reflected in the lower price comparativly. Kind Regards, Management.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.4

Very good hostel to stay at! Nice and clean, helpfull staff. Beautiful view from the rooftop!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for such a positive review of the Bondi Beachouse YHA!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel, great location, lot of restaurants and cafes in the neighbourhood. And off course the beach:) friendly staff, and the atmosphere was also really good. We would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for such a great review of the hostel! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.0

The hostel was dirty in the room especially. Not the hostels fault but the room I was put in was disgusting with garbage dishes food and clothes all over from other girls in my room. After they checked out I asked reception if they could get house keeping to clean it up and the girl at the desk was rude and u helpful and said house keeping comes once a day and they will deal with the mess then. No surprise I saw cockroachs crawling on the top bunk rails later that night :(

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for your feedback in regards to Bondi Beachouse YHA. All rooms are cleaned daily, apologies on this occasion it was not up to standard - we are looking into our routine to see if we can improve. In regards to cockroaches, unfortunately in Australia (when you stay close to the Ocean in summer time) this can be unavoidable. Large cockroaches’ fly in from outside and are hard to control. We use a professional pest control company called CPM and they perform monthly services to the hostel. Kind Regards, Management.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
5.4

The rooms smelled as if they hadn't been cleaned in a while. The sheets had stains on them and the place was overall unsanitary.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for your feedback in regards to Bondi Beachouse YHA. All rooms and common areas are cleaned daily - apologies on this occasion it was not adequate, we are always looking for ways to improve our routine. Kind Regards, Management.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Feb 2017
6.3

Very basic. Wifi connection was rubbish, only available in the common area & even there the connection was bad. The only chargers in the dorms were a couple of plugs by the door. Not secure overnight or if you weren't in the room. No personal light by the beds so when the lights were off, they were off! I needed a spoon to eat a yoghurt & had to pay a $5 depositi! Staff were not overly friendly especially a guy cleaning the bathrooms, really rude.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for your feedback in regards to Bondi Beachouse YHA. The Bondi Beachouse YHA is an older style art deco building and thus does not have some of the modern extras, such as individual lights per bunk, therefore this hostel is marked at a lower price than city accommodation. We do provide extra power strips on request and are always happy to charge devices securely at reception. We charge a fully refundable $5 deposit for cutlery sets to encourage guests to be responsible for their equipment during their stay. Kind Regards, Management.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.9

Brilliant location for bondi beach and not too far at all if you fancy a walk into bondi junction. The hostel is really well set up if you're on a budget with kitchen facilities and a large dining room, the bbq is really good value. The atmosphere was good but not quite as 'party hostel' as some ive stayed in, however i realise the YHA's aren't renowned for this. The beds are comfy and the showers/toilets etc are sound and are kept really clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for your kind comments!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
4.6

You would think such a large hostel would be good but it was awful. None of the rooms had AC So you had to leave the window open. Which did nothing to cool the room down; only just invited all the mosquitoes in. On the second day of visit 10 Feb all the fridges broke. This meant that almost everyone's food had spoiled and had to be thrown out. The staff barely apologised for this. Would not recommend at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for your feedback in regards to the hostel. All hostels in Bondi are older style art deco buildings and do not have air-con - February was one of the hottest on record and we do acknowledge that some of our fridges did break down during this time - staff placed all refridgerated items in alternate fridges and repairs took no longer than 24 hours - apologies if any of your food was spoiled. Kind Regards, Management.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.