Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bonsai Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 743 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 743 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
Bonsai Guest House Located at 1-4-13 Momodani, Ikuno-ku, Osaka.
Bonsai Guest House
Japan
Osaka 5440034 1-4-13 Momodani, Ikuno-ku
88% 743
34.6586037 135.5282154
Bonsai Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.9

Great location as close to Loop Line train station and easy to access anywhere else in Osaka though this made my stay slightly more expensive. Lovely staff who were willing to help with planning day trips and were fun to talk to about general day-to-day things. Lockers were secure, though small, and the hostel was impeccably clean. Curtains could also be drawn for privacy. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.3

Close to a station on the loop line, decent facilities and nice staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
9.7

This hostel was right beside the train but there was not much noise and it stopped by midnight. There were restaurants, shops and a supermarket right around the corner. The staff were very helpful and very friendly - we were allowed to check in early. The beds were so comfortable and private - we were in a mixed dorm, the kitchen had everything you needed and the shower rooms were always kept clean. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Osaka.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
7.7

I stayed just one night. Good location, easy to get by JR Train, Bed with privacity (curtain). Good wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jun 2016
7.4

Pretty average as hostels go! The staff were really friendly, but it was really quiet. It takes about half an hour to get to Namba which is pretty good. The room doesn't have a lock, so there are lockers in the communal area which is fine but not ideal. The kitchen is well equipped and the showers and toilets are clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
8.3

Great experience except for the paper thin walls and noisy neighbors.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2016
9.7

Best possible location: literally 100 steps from Momodani station. Don't worry, the train is silent when passing. The noise of aircon blowing is more audible than the noise of train passing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
6.9

Although the building is modern and clean there are no female only dorms. only mixed dorms were available and that made me uncomfortable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th May 2016
9.4

Clean and very close to momodani station, just one minute walk. You can also buy food in the nearby food shop and supermarket with a bargain price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th May 2016
7.7

A nice hostel, I was just unfortunately placed in close quarters ( the dorms are indeed really small) 3 guests who had the largest suitcases possible, making it virtually impossible to walk through the dorm. I found it a little expensive for what it offers as well. The staff were super friendly and very helpful, and the bonsai roof garden is awesome!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.