Hostelworld.com

Bonsai Guest House

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 719 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 719 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2
Bonsai Guest House Located at 1-4-13 Momodani, Ikuno-ku, Osaka.
Bonsai Guest House
Japan
Osaka 5440034 1-4-13 Momodani, Ikuno-ku
87% 719
34.6586037 135.5282154
Bonsai Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th May 2016
7.7

A nice hostel, I was just unfortunately placed in close quarters ( the dorms are indeed really small) 3 guests who had the largest suitcases possible, making it virtually impossible to walk through the dorm. I found it a little expensive for what it offers as well. The staff were super friendly and very helpful, and the bonsai roof garden is awesome!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th May 2016
8.0

The staff is nice and very helpful. The hostel is located close to the JR line so it's convenient when using the train. Unfortunately there is not much to do by foot in the area around the hostel so you are always required to take the train. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable but they are lacking the charm most other hostels I tried in Japan had.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th May 2016
9.4

We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at Bonsai Guest House. Staff were friendly and helpful. Facilities were good. Position was excellent, very close to the station. We enjoyed the "village" atmosphere of the area and the long shopping tunnel that went under the railway line and much further on. It was good to be able to shop in a proper suermarket instead of a convenience store.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.4

I thought the Bonsai Guesthouse was the perfect overnight stop on the way to the airport. Not much in the way of lighting or privacy in the dorm rooms (and there COULD be a little more sink space) but other then that, the staff were really nice and helpful, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a quick and easy stop over in Osaka.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
7.7

Good Hostel in total. Unfortunately the dormitory room was very small!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Apr 2016
7.4

The beds made a lot of noise, it was hard to fall asleep comfortably because I was worried I was making a lot of noise! The staff were very helpful and gave recommendations for places to eat/things to see. Most people kept to themselves (hostel can`t control that!). The hostel was clean but the bathroom was area in the room was small. The hostel is right beside a train station which made it convenient to travel around within the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
7.4

The staff was nice and helpful, the Hostel is super close to the station, supermarkets etc. Didn't really like the dorm room, it felt like the ones on a school trip. People were playing loud videos and TV late in the evening but overall ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Apr 2016
9.4

Although far from Osaka Station, the place is so close to the train station (Momodani) Graffiti on the wall, caught my attention, so artistic The staff is so friendly, and the place is great Only feedback is that the faucet on the lavatory does not have heater The water is so cold, whenever we are washing hands or brushing teeth Bottom line, would recommend this place to friends/family who would be visiting Osaka If given the chance, would stay at this place again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
9.7

My only (small) complaints would be that there wasn't a little more room to store your luggage, especially sleeping in a top bunk, and that the beds were a little squeaky. I first thought that the common room and front desk being in the same room would be a downside but it turned out to be the best thing about the guesthouse because the staff were just that great to hang out with. Super fun, friendly and helpful! Wall paintings are really cool and make sure to check out the bonsai on the roof!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.7

Great location, only a minute walk from Momodani station (which is on the JR Osaka Loop Line). Very friendly and helpful staff and good facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.