Hostelworld.com

Bonsai Guest House

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2
Bonsai Guest House Located at 1-4-13 Momodani, Ikuno-ku, Osaka.
Bonsai Guest House
Japan
Osaka 5440034 1-4-13 Momodani, Ikuno-ku
86% 730
34.6586037 135.5282154
Bonsai Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2016
7.7

I stayed just one night. Good location, easy to get by JR Train, Bed with privacity (curtain). Good wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jun 2016
7.4

Pretty average as hostels go! The staff were really friendly, but it was really quiet. It takes about half an hour to get to Namba which is pretty good. The room doesn't have a lock, so there are lockers in the communal area which is fine but not ideal. The kitchen is well equipped and the showers and toilets are clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
8.3

Great experience except for the paper thin walls and noisy neighbors.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2016
9.7

Best possible location: literally 100 steps from Momodani station. Don't worry, the train is silent when passing. The noise of aircon blowing is more audible than the noise of train passing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
6.9

Although the building is modern and clean there are no female only dorms. only mixed dorms were available and that made me uncomfortable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th May 2016
9.4

Clean and very close to momodani station, just one minute walk. You can also buy food in the nearby food shop and supermarket with a bargain price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th May 2016
7.7

A nice hostel, I was just unfortunately placed in close quarters ( the dorms are indeed really small) 3 guests who had the largest suitcases possible, making it virtually impossible to walk through the dorm. I found it a little expensive for what it offers as well. The staff were super friendly and very helpful, and the bonsai roof garden is awesome!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th May 2016
8.0

The staff is nice and very helpful. The hostel is located close to the JR line so it's convenient when using the train. Unfortunately there is not much to do by foot in the area around the hostel so you are always required to take the train. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable but they are lacking the charm most other hostels I tried in Japan had.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th May 2016
9.4

We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at Bonsai Guest House. Staff were friendly and helpful. Facilities were good. Position was excellent, very close to the station. We enjoyed the "village" atmosphere of the area and the long shopping tunnel that went under the railway line and much further on. It was good to be able to shop in a proper suermarket instead of a convenience store.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.4

I thought the Bonsai Guesthouse was the perfect overnight stop on the way to the airport. Not much in the way of lighting or privacy in the dorm rooms (and there COULD be a little more sink space) but other then that, the staff were really nice and helpful, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a quick and easy stop over in Osaka.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.