Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Books Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.7
Books Hostel Located at Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Books Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20230080 Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa
91% 1397
-22.9146667 -43.1825459
Books Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Sep 2016
9.1

Books Hostel is a great place for young people to stay. Super Close to the party scene in La Lapa and a great place to just hangout. I love this hostel and will definitely be coming back here when I am in Rio. There is a bar, couches, TV to watch movies, and a dinning area next to the bar. Super easy to meet people and the owner of this place is so nice. He is a really friendly guy that will make any trip to Rio and wonderful time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
6.6

Good hostel for ravers but after a long trip across South America the Lapa district is nothing on the coasts of Rio. Moved to Ipedma from here after 2 days and enjoyed my relaxation time more. But a great friendly vibe nonetheless.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.7

The staff really make this hostel. All really friendly and welcoming. Great atmosphere and the bar in the evening is great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.4

Absolutely awesome hostel. The atmosphere is amazing, especially in the evening. Has a good bar and if you want can even bring your own booze. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The location is amazing. All in all best place to stay in rio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AtlantaJR
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
27th Aug 2016
8.3

Really good hostel! The staff are amazing and has great breakfast, hot showers and a good bar, not the place if you want to have an early nights sleep! Only downside is the wifi was a bit hit and miss but would deffinitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
7.7

Books hostel is all about the location, a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Lapa and the best of Rios night life. The only thing that let it down really is that there isn't that many showers compared to the numbers of people staying and whilst I was staying there one of the showers was broken, it isnt the cheapest hostel so I'd expect things like that to be fixed quicker. Overall though I had a great stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.9

Note: do not pay in advance!! As we stayed during the Olympics we booked and payed ahead to secure our spot however totally backfired and cost us R$1000 more over our 2 week stay than what other travellers were paying on the spot. Communication after our stay about this was totally non existent. Aside from this, we loved this hostel, had such an amazing atmosphere and the staff were all awesome! The location is great for partying and plenty of buses close by to get to the beaches or attractions.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.0

Stayed for six nights with some time over the Olympics.. Unfortunately the fun activities started as I left, but otherwise a pretty fun stay and the metro is extremely easy to use to access the city. Would recommend but for drinkers mainly..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
8.6

The problem with books hostel is that you don't want to leave even though you have to so that you can continue traveling. The atmosphere at the hostel is what makes it so interesting, volunteer staff is very helpful, Nick the owner is very witty, Richard cooks delicious meals and the happy hour is very very backpacker friendly. Breakfast has fresh fruits, cold cuts and coffee. Free mineral water is available all day. Bathrooms are cleaned twice a day. Book @ Books !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.4

Fantastic place to other travellers and have a good time. Great atmosphere throughout the day and especially during the evening. Definitely do the two brothers hike on the Tuesday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.