X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Books Hostel Reviews

Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1005 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

What a hostel!! Best hostel we have been to yet, it's got everything you need to have an amazing time in Rio. Massive shout out to Felipe who really goes above and beyond, he even helped me sort out a fractured heel and really does make the hostel one a kind. Thanks to all the Books Family as well- great breakfast and caipirinhas! (Perfect facilities, really clean, well organised, great bar, great atmosphere, looks after you, good breakfast) We will be back.. Vic & Jack xxxxxxxxxxxx


100%

Best hostel we've stayed in in South America for so many reasons. Fun every evening and always somewhere good to go out in lapa, awesome awesome staff, cheap bar which is always full, really good

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best Hostel in Rio. Felipe and all the staff are amazing and friendly. Really sociable hostel. People are going out in Lapa every night we loved it. Thanks so much for the best time ever.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

My friend and I stayed at books upon arrival in Rio. Initially we were a bit worried about travelling and the safety of Brazil in general. Books took us in as a family and made sure we had everything we needed for an amazing trip. On top of having the best staff we met some very interesting people. All of which were eager to chat and have a fun time. I would suggest this hostel to anyone, especially if you are looking for good night life.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had the best time ever. By far the best hostel I ever stayed in. All because of the owner Felipe and his amazing staff. For sure coming back there.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff were approachable, friendly and helpful. General atmosphere in the hostel was fun - definitely a party hostel. The owner, Felippe, was great. Happy hour drink specials were the best we've seen in Brazil. Breakfast was good.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in, it's a really great place to meet people and common area always had a great atmoshphere! the owner really makes the effort to make you feel at home, he'll help plan your days and takes you out once the hostel bar closes! The bar is cheap, the breakfast is good and most nights they'll make you dinner for under R15. I'd deffinately stay here if I'm in Rio again!


100%

awesome hostel, the place was set up to party and u can easily walk home from all the clubs in lapa. the dude who runs the place is a legend and the drinks at the bar are cheap!


94%

I was travelling alone to Rio and from the first moment I arrived at BOOKS hostel I felt welcome. The hostel is clean and located in a great area in Rio. I always felt safe as a woman! Felipe and his team are lovely people who made my stay unforgettable. It felt like being part of a big family. If you look for a place to have great Caipirinha and party you will love BOOKS hostel. The only thing which i would change is the volumne of the music during dinner time to ensure people can talk ;)

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing place to stay! The friendliest staff I've experienced on my trip and a really welcoming atmosphere. Awesome location, great atmosphere and cheap bar top this place off. Felipe has done an incredible job with place and has made sure the place has anything and everything a good hostel needs. Extended my stay two extra nights. Highly recommend it.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a really great time for the two days I spent at books hostel. It's located more in Lapa than in Santa Teresa, but if you like to go out at night, it's an awesome location (especially on friday nights). The 2 for 1 happy hour was definitely a great thing that they had. All of the staff were super helpful and gave me good suggestions. I felt safe in the hostel and the beds were fine and the bathrooms were clean. I think this is a great hostel and I would definitely recommend it!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel I've stayed in by far. Ended up staying a lot longer than planned due to the amazingly welcoming staff and the easy going, fun loving atmosphere. I can't recommend it enough. The only place to stay in Rio.


97%

Very nice place to stay in Rio, breakfast is really good, the place is clean, and the location is great. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They have loud music at night during the weekend, good if you are up for a party, but not so good if you wanna sleep, although I did not have any problems!


80%

Great vibe and friendly staff.


94%

So lively hostel, the staffs were really kind and helpful, mainly Isabel. It's located just some steps from Lapa which is pretty good. The building is a little bit old, but it's not something to care about.


86%

I had a really awesome time there! Definitively a recommendation! :)


83%

Lovely hostel, super helpful staff. We were told not to stay in this area as it was rough but we were absolutely fine - two british girls! Great value too

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good party hostel with own bar and nice staff


97%

Splendid hostel I had a really good time. Great bar and good atmosphere


100%

I've visited a ton of hostels, and never felt like here. The atmosphere is the greatest feature of Books. Staff is always there to help you even more that what you need, making you feel like home, seriously. Already been twice and I'm gonna be back in Rio soon, to stay again. WARNING: Be ready for REAL party, not a quiet grandma-style hostel. Live here and be happy, as they say. Cheers to the books family! See ya soon.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback