Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Books Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.9

Great party hostel with awesome friendly staff! Not enough bathrooms or showers and facilities are a bit run down but beds and pillows are extra comfortable. Fans and aircon in rooms is a bonus. Great breakfast and awesome location in Lapa. Really social and has the best happy hour! Cool lounge area and good kitchen. A perfect place to stay if you wanna be close to the action. No locks on doors but lockers are available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
6.3

Depends on what you are looking for. Great staff, good atmosphere. "Social". Maybe not that comfortable. But a great hostel for young backbackers..!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
7.4

Staff and location (during the weekend) were great. But there were no hot water in the showers and nobody seemed to care.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
9.7

Awesome atmosphere! Every night happy hour of caipirinhas, everybody is down in the bar talking one with each other and going out later to the amazing parties in Lapa, wich are 3 blocks from the hostel. It wont be boring, you also have netflix all the time in the common room with a 4k tv!! Perfect location! Near the famous stairs of santa teresa, great and cheap places to eat and amazing nightlife.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Feb 2017
8.9

We stayed during Carnival, so happy we chose Books! Atmosphere is amazing, and there's always a party going off every night, this was perfect for when we got back from Blocos and wanted to carry on partying before going out. Staff are all amazing, and Felipe is the best guide for Rio, ask him anything. Security is not ideal, as so many non guests are always at the hostel. Toilet situation is also not great, they are limited for the amount of people. A must stay for Rio if you want to party!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Incredible staff, great location, very clean.. All together one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! The owner and staff are happy to help you with anything you need. Will definitely be back one day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Books was awesome! The best party hostel in Rio - the atmosphere was great. Rooms were comfy, most had air-conditioning. The only thing was that there were limited bathrooms but it wasn't an issue is you could wait. Would definitely recommend for partiers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Best hostel in rio! This was my third stay at books and can't recommend it highly enough. Awesome staff who join in the fun and go out of their way to help you and make your stay in rio unforgettable. Good location close to all the bars and attractions of Lapa. Will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Books was great. Booked one night and ended up staying 4. The owner Phillipe is awesome. I was unable to withdraw money from the ATM so he let me borrow cash out of his own pocket. I really appreciate the hospitality. Great atmosphere, easy to meet other travelers. Awesome staff...Thanks Phillipe, Ben, Alex, and Thor!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
9.7

Good fun party hostel cool staff rios a great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.