Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Books Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,456 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Books Hostel Located at Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Books Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20230080 Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa
87% 1456
-22.9146667 -43.1825459
Books Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
10.0

Books was AWESOME!!! We had five nights there over New Years in Rio, and for the money we spent we couldn't have asked for more. Super nice, helpful, friendly staff. Fun events (the New Years Eve party on Leme Beach was AMAZING!) and helpful in navigating around Rio and even getting to other places in Brazil. Can't say enough good about Felipe and his people, not to mention the other guests. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Dec 2016
6.0

When we made our reservation 7 months in advance we were forced to send the total amount of the money via pay pal in order to maintain our reservation. Unfortunately when we got to the hostel our reservation wasn't there; we were sent instead to Mamembe hostel a couple of block away, a lovely and quiet hostel, staff in Mamembe was always kind and helpful. Also each bed has its on curtain, lamp and power outlet! Books is by far a party hostel, a that is how our reservation and payment was manag

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are completely right. We were very unorganized and I am very sorry. Sometimes you need a slap on the face to wake up and start to do your work. From now on that is what I will do.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Dec 2016
8.9

Great party hostel-lots of fun! Staff are friendly & try their best to get you involved, though can be pretty vague about tourist info. Dorms were comfortable & the cleaners tried their best to keep them & the bathrooms clean but they had a tough job with it being a party hostel! Netflix was a bonus as was the breakfast. Wifi was patchy. Good location. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Dec 2016
5.1

Great atmosphere for partying, but facilities are pretty terrible. Only like 3 working showers for the entire hostel, and staff seem more focused on partying than on fixing issues. Bar is expensive as well, but you can bring in your own drinks

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • badamson94
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
9th Dec 2016
9.4

Although this hostel is really loud, I wouldn't recommend it if you need sleep, the staff and owner are awesome and so helpful! I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • flogonckel
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
5th Dec 2016
8.0

Great place with a good atmosphere day & night. Nice parties organized and a lots of different tours offered. Conveniently located as well in the centre and close to subway stations

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2016
9.4

Absolutely love this place. Such a good atmosphere and in a great location. So much going on in lapa. Spent 7 nights here, could've spent more! The staff are just brilliant!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.9

Had a great stay at Books. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was basic but clean, with lockers and on a plus side only had two story bunk beds. Note there are only two bathrooms for the hostel. The breakfast is good and the staff are fantastic, really helpful! It's a good place to meet new people if travelling solo and is a serious party hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
9.4

Love this hostel - would recommend 100% Felipe is awesome and vibes are super chill. Everyone I've met thus far enjoyed their time here and breakfast is AMAZING

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
6.6

the main problem, for me, was the bathrooms, there are only two in the second floor and one downstairs (with 2 baths and 2 toilets). the toilet wanst work well (couldnt flush even liquids). there is too many people to use 2 bathrooms and they are not good. the staffs are cool. there is no big lockers for everybody. some bunk bed (as mine) are too short (i could not seat). the breakfast is really good. the location is pretty good, really close to everything in Lapa.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.