Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Books Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
9.1

We spent 3 nights at Books and we felt like a party of the family at once. The staff is super helpfull with everything and Felipe is a beautiful soul. Everyone who is staying at this hostel is so open and social and we already have friends for life - from Australia to Holland and England. Only downside is the cleanliness. The showers is pretty dirty. But overall an awesome place that I would happily visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
29th Jul 2017
10.0

Epic. The most helpful staff you could ask for. Probably some of the best staff I've ever come across in 30+ hostels. Party hostel, so don't expect any sleep. But you won't want to sleep. Good beds and lockers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2017
8.3

Funniest place ive stayed, great atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
8.6

Very lively hostel. Stayed over the weekend and was like a 24/7 house party which was good fun. Easy to socialise and Phillip was an excellent host, joining in with the party. Not the most clean, reminded me of a student house.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2017
7.7

Very lively atmosphere which is great if you want to meet other travelers. Staff were friendly and helpful! Great location in Lapa.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
19th Jul 2017
6.9

Atmosphere was great and everyone was really friendly. A great place to party and go drinking. The cleanliness however is lacking. The hostel smells of hangover and stale smoke and showers are cold. Breakfast has good toasties.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.4

Had the best time here. Wonderful people. So welcoming!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.7

Fun place! Definitely a party hostel, im not the type that likes to party every night but still had a great time here! Phillipe, Ed, Alex and the staff were great! Cheers, would definitely recommend for the party-goer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
10.0

My favourite hostel out of my 5 month trip! Great breakfast, friendly staff and guests who include everyone in their plans for the day, awesome atmosphere, dangerous bar.. Basically everything I wanted from a hostel. And Felipe the owner is a beautiful soul! Can't fault this place in any way and was so gutted to leave. If I didn't have a flight home I would have been stuck at Books for a looong time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2017
8.6

Good social hostel in the centre of lapa, the hostel usually organises a night out nearly every day

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.