X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Books Hostel Reviews

Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1063 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Awesome hostel and one of the best breakfasts Ive seen so far in a hostel.


94%

It was really nice to spend some time at this awesome hotel! Although the location is not that close from the main places in Rio (Copacabana, Ipanema, Corcovado, etc); the place was really cool, the rooms are all very clean and organized, the staff was very helpful and the bar was just perfect :)

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • mollymellado95
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I never write reviews but I just gotta point out that Books is THE place to stay in rio. Yes, its a party hostel but its different from other party hostels. There is a really community feel here that makes you feel welcome. ThePerfect size. I came here as a solo traveler and it was extremely easy to meet people. You can chill, you can party (Trust me, you're gonna want to party) and prime location next to the best of lapa. Also shout out to Felipe, he really is as awesome as people says he is.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a really good place to stay and I recommend it for every people who wants to go to Rio !

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Absolutely loved my stay at Books. The staff are great, the atmosphere is fun and vivacious and owner Felipe goes above and beyond to help you in any way possible. Would definitely recommend Books to all.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Centrally located hostel within a few walking minutes of the main attractions in Centro and Lapa. Staff and atmosphere are great, though the place draws very young people. Facilities could do with an upgrade, though. Only 2 upstairs bathrooms for 7 or 8 dorms means long waiting times and poor hygienic conditions. One toilet had a broken flush on a semi-permanent basis - really gross!


100%

THE place to stay in Rio! Great atmosphere and Felipe is amazing. He gave us lots of recommendations of things to do whilst we were there and was always up for showing everyone a good night in Lapa. Would 100% stay there again and would recommend anyone wanting to meet new people and have the best time ever to go to Books!

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great party hostel - however I was moved beds halfway through my stay and loads of my things went missing, which none of the staff could help with.


91%

I liked the time what I spent on hostel, it's a nice place to stay and have an excellent breakfast.


97%

Atmosphere is outstanding! Probably the best hostel during my whole south america trip! A blast!!!

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff here are all locals


60%

It's a busy hostel. And yes it's a party hostel. Music on all night long, weird folk hanging around, we found some guys in our room most likely consuming stuff while we were away. So if you are into party


94%

If you are expecting perfectly new, clean and modern place, Books Hostel is not for you. The place is all about amazing atmosphere, friendly staff, nice location and good facilities. The bar is great and Caipirinhas are delicious, especially during happy hours ;). Books Hostel is kind of a legend on backpacker's map of Rio - check Brazilian TV series "Albergue Carioca". I really enjoyed my time there - thanks a lot guys!


94%

It's a pretty cool hostel at a great price for what you get: an all you can eat varied breakfast, spacious air conditioned 10-bed dorm (where the wifi still works & plug sockets near each bed), good facilities and a perfect location right between Santa Teresa & the buzzing nightlife of Lapa plus buses to most tourist points of interest. It's a party hostel but they shut the music off by midnight, then Iago is your go-to-guy for the best spots to hit after (André too if you're into your hip-hop!)


94%

Super cool staff, very good location


83%

I was wondering why people consider it hostel as one of the best. At the first sight, you wonder, but you need to stay there to see it. Don't expect much sleep, even if the rooms have airco and are comfortable, its much better at the bar. Good thing, the music stops at 12. After that, you can go to bed if that's what you want to do. Breakfast is great. Coffee its good compare to the other hostels in Brazil. Bad thing:There aren't many toilets. Perhaps cleaning rota should be more often


97%

Unbelievable party atmosphere and so close to the nightlife in Lapa. Both staff and guests were great fun so would highly recommend if you want to see the sights of Rio and want the amazing nightlife. Such a good time staying at Books hostel!

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels I have stayed. The atmosphere is cool and the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is unbeatable, it might be far from the beach but you can go there easily by metro or by bus. The hostel is surrounded by banks, supermarkets, pharmacies, ATMs, a full of cultural spots. Nightlife around is amazing, people at the hostel usually start the party inside and later go to one of the amazing places Lapa has to offer. I'm happy I stayed here and not in Copacabana.


94%

Hostel has everything what backpackers need. Functional kitchen, very cool common area with bar and great caipirinhas, good wi-fi, every weekday cheap and very tasty dinner option and of course the most important: very helpful and kind staff. Because for me good people make the hostel good.


91%

Hostel is a really great place to meet other travellers and have a good time. The owner is extremely helpful and the location is right by the nightlife.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! I'm glad you had a good experience here. Should just improve a bit your beer pong skills to be able to compete with the greatest!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback