Hostelworld.com

Books Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
Books Hostel Located at Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Books Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20230080 Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa
88% 1358
-22.9146667 -43.1825459
Books Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
9.4

We stayed in books for three nights & would highly recommend this hostel. Staff created a fun atmosphere & we all went on nights out together. People stay at this hostel for weeks & now we understand why. If your looking for somewhere fun to meet people & make the most out of your time in Rio this is the hostel for you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
10.0

Staff were heaps fun to be around. Created an awesome environment at the hostel. Always something to do. They'll always help you out or do walking tours and hikes with you as the other people at the hostel. Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Jun 2016
5.7

This is a party hostel, people. It means loud music, loudly talking are on for 24 hours, especially on weekends. Week nights they turned off the music after 12am, but they can't shut up the party animals. It's good atmosphere only if you are one of this kind. Location is ok. Buses are close by to go anywhere. The rooms are the dirtiest I have ever seen. The staff were good and friendly, only that when checking out, they charged me 80 reals more than I owed. I found out later and went back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Jun 2016
10.0

Books is the absolute greatest! Felipe, Nick and the crew are a wonderful group of people who are dedicated to making sure you have the best time (and you will). This is a party hostel without being over the top and has a great atmosphere for meeting other travellers. There's a reason we'll be dropping back in when we're back in rio for the Olympics!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
5.7

It was just pretty dirty. The Netflix room was cool for a bit until it kinda put a damper on meeting people because everyone was too busy watching Netflix. People only seem to wanna talk when the drinks get rolling

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sad you didn't have a good time staying with us. We defnitely care about the wellbeing of our guests and it is a failure for us that you left without have a good time. We will def work to improve the cleanliness and maybe create a better atmosphere where people feel more willing to talk and interact with each others.

2nd Jun 2016
9.4

One of the best hostel I stayed in south America. Amazing place, good music at the bar and wonderful atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
8.9

Our stay at Books made our time travelling in South America. We loved it so much we came back for the last nights of our trip. The staff are absolutely amazing (we love you Felipe!) and will help you with anything! The location is great for going out and for buses and the atmosphere in the hostel is so friendly and so much fun. There's also a really big bathroom which was really nice and the cheese toasties in the morning are AMAZING and the coffee as well. Definitely go to Books.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
1st Jun 2016
8.9

Can't rate the atmosphere and staff highly enough! Filipe treats everyone like best mates as soon as you walk in. close to the arches and stairs so awesome location. It is a party hostel so don't come if you want an early night. Desperate to go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
10.0

Wow...... stayed in other hostels, they were good..... Books fantastic, blew me away. Staff fantastic, location to Lapa perfect, no walking up hills. Easy acess to the beaches like Copacabana fantastic.... wow!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th May 2016
9.4

Books was an amazing end to our trip in South America. Everyone has so much fun in this hostel. We love you Felipe!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.