Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Books Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.7

Good location and friendly staff. Felipe is super helpful with anything you need! Breakfast was decent but there aren't enough bathrooms and showers were pretty cold

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2017
9.4

Best hostel everrrr! We had the best time here with everyone. Such a great atmosphere and the staff are all AMAZING. Insane breakfast, brill location. One of the most fun hostels in South America

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mavimontanes94
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Mar 2017
10.0

Books is definitely the best hostel I've been to. Everyone in the staff is very friendly and willing to help you. Ed and Moni are a great team in the bar, the caipirinhas are really good!! There's something to do every night and the atmosphere is excellent. Thank you Leandro, Alex, Ben for everything!! I'd recommend Books to anyone visiting Río!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.0

Not the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in but the breakfast is awesome, the staff are great and the vibes are even better! Great social hostel in a central location of rio, would recommend :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.9

Great party hostel with awesome friendly staff! Not enough bathrooms or showers and facilities are a bit run down but beds and pillows are extra comfortable. Fans and aircon in rooms is a bonus. Great breakfast and awesome location in Lapa. Really social and has the best happy hour! Cool lounge area and good kitchen. A perfect place to stay if you wanna be close to the action. No locks on doors but lockers are available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
6.3

Depends on what you are looking for. Great staff, good atmosphere. "Social". Maybe not that comfortable. But a great hostel for young backbackers..!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
7.4

Staff and location (during the weekend) were great. But there were no hot water in the showers and nobody seemed to care.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

True, we were shit that weekend. Water is fixed and it won`t happen again!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
9.7

Awesome atmosphere! Every night happy hour of caipirinhas, everybody is down in the bar talking one with each other and going out later to the amazing parties in Lapa, wich are 3 blocks from the hostel. It wont be boring, you also have netflix all the time in the common room with a 4k tv!! Perfect location! Near the famous stairs of santa teresa, great and cheap places to eat and amazing nightlife.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
21st Feb 2017
8.9

We stayed during Carnival, so happy we chose Books! Atmosphere is amazing, and there's always a party going off every night, this was perfect for when we got back from Blocos and wanted to carry on partying before going out. Staff are all amazing, and Felipe is the best guide for Rio, ask him anything. Security is not ideal, as so many non guests are always at the hostel. Toilet situation is also not great, they are limited for the amount of people. A must stay for Rio if you want to party!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th Feb 2017
5.7

Definitely a party hostel which although fun does end up lacking in some things! The cleaners were the absolute heroes here, constantly trying to clean the bathroom and common areas but unfortunately i found people just had no respect for the place. I personally wouldn't use them again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.