Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Books Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,385 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,385 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
Books Hostel Located at Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Books Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20230080 Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa
90% 1385
-22.9146667 -43.1825459
Books Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.0

Stayed for six nights with some time over the Olympics.. Unfortunately the fun activities started as I left, but otherwise a pretty fun stay and the metro is extremely easy to use to access the city. Would recommend but for drinkers mainly..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
8.6

The problem with books hostel is that you don't want to leave even though you have to so that you can continue traveling. The atmosphere at the hostel is what makes it so interesting, volunteer staff is very helpful, Nick the owner is very witty, Richard cooks delicious meals and the happy hour is very very backpacker friendly. Breakfast has fresh fruits, cold cuts and coffee. Free mineral water is available all day. Bathrooms are cleaned twice a day. Book @ Books !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.4

Fantastic place to other travellers and have a good time. Great atmosphere throughout the day and especially during the evening. Definitely do the two brothers hike on the Tuesday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.4

One of the best hostels in Rio, real good atmosphere, they just want you to have a good time 100% would recommend and would go back. ps it's a real good party hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • benwalshuk
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jul 2016
8.6

Great hostel in the great location of Lapa. Just a stone throw from lapa arches and the world famous Escadaria Selarón steps. The hostel itself is 2 minutes walk from the bus stop and 10 mins walk from the metro. The hostel is a party hostel so you will find music and entertainment from 6pm till midnight most nights. The breakfast was awesome rooms were fine toilets and showers were suficient and id totally stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
30th Jun 2016
8.6

Really friendly, helpful staff. They always made sure we knew where we were going, provided itinerary suggestions, and hostel activities. If your looking for a party hostel in the Lapa area then look no further. Awesome bar, happy hour and vibe. Great breakfast in the morning. Only downside were the bathrooms- small and grungy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
10.0

We had the absolute BEST time at Books!! Such a great atmosphere, all the staff are lovely and cheese toasties in the morning are a life saver :) Couldn't recommend this place more, it is fab x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kempe
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.7

We absolutely loved our stay at Books (even though it was so short :( ). The staff were so so helpful and welcoming. They helped us get a taxi to the airport, and we're always keen to help with directions to places! The atmosphere in the hostel was great, with really good communal areas and spaces. Beds were really comfy and breakfast was good. In a really good area as well for bars and clubs. Would recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking for a sociable hostel with lovely lovely staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
10.0

best hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

Books Hostel was my final destination after 4 months of travelling South America and it was without doubt the most at home I've ever felt in a hostel. Felipe, Nick and the rest of the staff really do make you feel like part of the 'books family'. They are so helpful and actively want to be part of your time in Rio. You have to stay here - I wish i could've stayed longer than 2 weeks. See you soon books family! Guy X

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.