Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Books Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2017
8.0

A complete and total party hostel. If that's what you're looking for, this is easily the best one you'll find - but if you can't handle a party hostel, then this definitely isn't for you. The vibe is like a 24-hour frat party (which was great for a few days, but might get overwhelming after that!). Amazing staff, and great people too - but like I said, the cleanliness is at the level of a college party.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jun 2017
10.0

One of my favourite hostels in Brazil! Staff here are so welcoming and created such a great atmosphere for the hostel. Facilities and rooms were clean and safe. Already planning a trip back to rio just to stay at Books Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
9.1

Super fun place to stay especially if you want to meet other travelers! It's definitely a party hostel so there's music til late but the bar is super cheap and everyone sticks together on a night out. The staff were super helpful and they plan stuff to do on the weekend so it's really easy to get involved with everyone. They have an airport transfer service (Alex!) and he's super helpful and can pick you up if you don't want to use taxis etc. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review girls! It means a lot to us. Hope you are having a great time around South America!

14th May 2017
8.9

Booked to stay for 5 nights and ended up staying 10. Very easy to get stuck here! Definitely a party hostel- the friendly staff know where to go every night and always on hand to help you out at other times. Good location near the metro and everyone staying there were on it. Free breakfast was good everyday, the only annoying thing is the lack of bathrooms/showers so sometimes had to wait ages to use them. 2 caipirinhas for 8 real in happy hour get involved!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

That is def something we are looking to improve, to make more showers and bathrooms on top floor. We are saving and soon will do it. Hope it didn't bother you too much.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
10.0

Best hostel ever! If you go to Rio you have to stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!!!!!

27th Apr 2017
8.6

If you want a party hostel come here, period. It is super fun! If you want to rest maybe not the best option. Felipe is a cool guy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
9.4

Estuve alli 3 noches y me encomtré super agusto en todo momento. Todo el equipo que trabaja allí se vuelca para hacerte la estamcia agradanle y es el sitio ideal para conocer a mas gente, salir por la noche, etc. Me volvería a quedar allí sin duda.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rsharma123
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.6

Absolutely amazing vibe here, truly the best if you enjoy a party and meeting others. I'm even considering coming back for my last few nights!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
9.7

BOOKS IS AMAZING!! i absolutely loved it! its the perfect place to stay, everyone staff and visitors are so friendly. Its not super clean but its not dirty by any standards the sheets are clean and beds really comfy. I would say its the same as a house with uni students, its not your mums standards of clean but not dirty nor makes you feel unclean. I just love it i would go back all the time if i could. just amazing .They put on events and nights, foods etc. for guests its so good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot. We are very glad you had a good time here. People like you make us love to work here.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.7

Good location and friendly staff. Felipe is super helpful with anything you need! Breakfast was decent but there aren't enough bathrooms and showers were pretty cold

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Showers fixed. Hot water again. ;)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.