X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Books Hostel Reviews

Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1017 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed in. Felipe and staff are awesome. Must stay here if visiting Rio.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff here are so friendly fun and helpful. Great place to meet people. Nice bAr and chill out tv room. Great location for partying but not much else there. Easy to get a bus or metro to the beach. Rooms were clean and showers are hot!


83%

Ask Felipe for anything and he will help you. Happy hour 1930-2030 two for one drinks for 6 reais is great! Close to supermarket, gym and good restaurants. Resonable walking distance to the Metro and possible dinner at the Hostel for 15 reais. The ac is so-so and the rooms are warm at night and the staff controls the remote and shut it off during the day. I have some problems with stairs and sleeping in the top bunk so they helped me with a room with only one stair and the bottom bunk.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Legends, if you want to have a good time make sure to stay here.


100%

Magnificent hostel. Very clean and in a great location. Great atmosphere with a very friendly and helpful owner as well.


91%

Books is a really amazing hostel. The atmosphere is great with a lively bar and good common areas. The staff are nice too and the owner Filipe is a really lovely guy. On top of that his knowledge of European football is great. Having said that, he does just need to remember that David Luiz is to be believed in and Didier Drogba worshipped. Thanks for everything.


100%

What a hostel!! Best hostel we have been to yet, it's got everything you need to have an amazing time in Rio. Massive shout out to Felipe who really goes above and beyond, he even helped me sort out a fractured heel and really does make the hostel one a kind. Thanks to all the Books Family as well- great breakfast and caipirinhas! (Perfect facilities, really clean, well organised, great bar, great atmosphere, looks after you, good breakfast) We will be back.. Vic & Jack xxxxxxxxxxxx


100%

Best hostel we've stayed in in South America for so many reasons. Fun every evening and always somewhere good to go out in lapa, awesome awesome staff, cheap bar which is always full, really good

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best Hostel in Rio. Felipe and all the staff are amazing and friendly. Really sociable hostel. People are going out in Lapa every night we loved it. Thanks so much for the best time ever.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

My friend and I stayed at books upon arrival in Rio. Initially we were a bit worried about travelling and the safety of Brazil in general. Books took us in as a family and made sure we had everything we needed for an amazing trip. On top of having the best staff we met some very interesting people. All of which were eager to chat and have a fun time. I would suggest this hostel to anyone, especially if you are looking for good night life.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had the best time ever. By far the best hostel I ever stayed in. All because of the owner Felipe and his amazing staff. For sure coming back there.


77%

Staff were approachable, friendly and helpful. General atmosphere in the hostel was fun - definitely a party hostel. The owner, Felippe, was great. Happy hour drink specials were the best we've seen in Brazil. Breakfast was good.


97%

This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in, it's a really great place to meet people and common area always had a great atmoshphere! the owner really makes the effort to make you feel at home, he'll help plan your days and takes you out once the hostel bar closes! The bar is cheap, the breakfast is good and most nights they'll make you dinner for under R15. I'd deffinately stay here if I'm in Rio again!


100%

awesome hostel, the place was set up to party and u can easily walk home from all the clubs in lapa. the dude who runs the place is a legend and the drinks at the bar are cheap!


100%

Great hostel! I felt so welcome there, great atmosphere and place for meeting other travelers. Practically, the hostel is in a good location (near the train), clean, lockers available and good breakfast. They also have a good bar for socializing. But the thing that really makes this hostel great is Felipe and the staff! You can tell when a hostel is run by people that are passionate about people and travelling. There needs to be more hostels like this in the world. I'm definitely going back!


97%

AMAZING HOSTEL! Great atmosphere, staff, happy hour, breakfast. Also has netflix and a good common room, which came in great handy for me, as I sprained my foot and couldn't walk for 4 days. Thanks so much to Felipe and all the staff for helping me out..Taking me to the hospital, bringing me food, ice and crutches.They went above and beyond for me. The hostel bar is a great way to meet people, and the staff can point you in the right direction for partying after. Definitely stay here!!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I was travelling alone to Rio and from the first moment I arrived at BOOKS hostel I felt welcome. The hostel is clean and located in a great area in Rio. I always felt safe as a woman! Felipe and his team are lovely people who made my stay unforgettable. It felt like being part of a big family. If you look for a place to have great Caipirinha and party you will love BOOKS hostel. The only thing which i would change is the volumne of the music during dinner time to ensure people can talk ;)


94%

Amazing place to stay! The friendliest staff I've experienced on my trip and a really welcoming atmosphere. Awesome location, great atmosphere and cheap bar top this place off. Felipe has done an incredible job with place and has made sure the place has anything and everything a good hostel needs. Extended my stay two extra nights. Highly recommend it.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a really great time for the two days I spent at books hostel. It's located more in Lapa than in Santa Teresa, but if you like to go out at night, it's an awesome location (especially on friday nights). The 2 for 1 happy hour was definitely a great thing that they had. All of the staff were super helpful and gave me good suggestions. I felt safe in the hostel and the beds were fine and the bathrooms were clean. I think this is a great hostel and I would definitely recommend it!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel I've stayed in by far. Ended up staying a lot longer than planned due to the amazingly welcoming staff and the easy going, fun loving atmosphere. I can't recommend it enough. The only place to stay in Rio.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback