Hostelworld.com

Borders Beyond

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 532 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 532 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
Borders Beyond Located at 8 Nixon St Ponsonby Auckland, , Auckland.
Borders Beyond
New Zealand
Auckland 1021 8 Nixon St Ponsonby Auckland
80% 532
-36.8614203 174.7522205
Borders Beyond
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Apr 2016
7.7

Nice hostel. We arrived and the guy at the front desk was extremely helpful with everything we asked. He even carried my bags up to my room, which was very nice. We got upgraded to a private. Rooms were clean and nicely made. Only downside was paper thin walls, so you could hear everything going on in the next room. Only one female and male washroom and all the way down on the main level. But all in all we had a good one night stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
8.9

My first hostel experience. Loved the place and met some great people. Very friendly and helpful staffs / hostel-mates - sharing of nearby points-of-interest without need to initiate request. Also a great place to speak to people and learn of experiences, tips and pointers from others. Not to mention great location - not too far of a walk to the city (enjoyed the walk to-and-fro). It was a cozy stay overall - highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel! I wish we had stayed there the first week we arrived in Auckland

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nwillcox
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Mar 2016
7.1

Seems a little dated and slight musty. The French guy was very helpful and gave us loads of information about the city and New Zealand in general. It feels like it needs a renovation. The quiet hours after 11pm rule was well enforced. Seemed to be a lot of long term guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2016
5.4

It's cheap but bot comfortable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
6.3

Very kind and nice manager. Not very good atmosphere unless you are french or looking for party. Too many people for one kitchen Too bad you have to pay for internet and shower Not bad location, about 20 minutes walking to downtown

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2016
9.7

This place was not too far from town or expensive. Everyone was friendly and there was a great atmosphere. The staff here really made the place worth staying in :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2016
9.7

This Hostel is great. The people are all very nice and helpful. I had a great time. The facilities are good and you get used to it that the showers are in the common room. Even the 50ct for a hot shower is completly okay, you protect your planet if you have just 6 mins to shower. I enyoed my stay and would recommed it to everyone! Its true that you will meet many french guys but as I was here now there were aswell many other different nationalites.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy you had a good time with us. thanks again

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2016
4.9

Only 4 car parking spots. Staff member not wearing even a staff tshirt. His own shirt was food stained and he complained of a hangover. We had to pay 50 cents for showers. The light didnt work in the shower. Our room key did not work, this was changed for a working one later on. We didnt even stay 1 night it was that bad. Ive lived and worked at a hostel before and i know it can be a lot better. Cheap doesnt have to be bad...!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear about your experience. regarding the car parks during the week end there are 11 spots and 5 during the week days. Regarding the manager's shirt we don't have uniform indeed. Regarding the shower fee, it is written in all the hostel description. You didn't mention anything to the staff or anyone else, for us to be able to act on what you didn't like. We hope you had a good time in Auckland anyway.

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jan 2016
7.7

Really good hostel! Great value for money. Location is quite far from central. Lots of long time stayers. And they are all french;) but really homely and welcoming atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.