X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Borders Beyond Reviews

8 Nixon St Ponsonby Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
472 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

All the staff at the hostel was just great in all ways, very friendly and helpfull! The atmosphere there was nice and very close to nice restaurants and coffees. It was a pleasant experience being there!


60%

Timelimited wifi and paying for hot showers is poor.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. But It is written in the description of the property. It was not hidden when you have chosen to book with us. It feels unfair to complain about it now.

54%

The positives on this hostel is the location and also the guy on reception,proper sound he is! He is very laid back and you can have a laugh with him. The downside is that if your not from France you may want to look else where, you may come across a couple of Germans but the vast majority are French. Which as a Brit I found the atmosphere a bit hostile.If your from France this is the place for you,it should have a French flag outside!


51%

very disappointed from this hostel. very dirty living room that isn't being routinely cleaned. mediocre showers with absourd 6min of hot water for 50 cent. the 6 bed room is way too small. not enough lockers or electricity outlets. I wouldn't recommend anyone staying there unless they have no choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Regarding the shower It is written in the description of the property. It was not hidden when you have chosen to book with us. I find a bit unfair to complain about it now. Regarding the room, I'm sorry if you didn't like it, neitherheles my door is always opened to customers, you could have let us know the way you felt in order for us to be able to make your stay better.



View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback