X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Borders Beyond Reviews

8 Nixon St Ponsonby Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
446 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Excellent quality hostel, very friendly staff, like a family (more like a big flat house) and no like a big factory like Xbase, YHA.... We organise community food and activities (games, go out ...). Everybody has good vibes, very good ambiance ; the boss got humour, we are never bored. Only little thing, the wifi sometime doesn't work but we have tricks to make it work better ;-), and finally we don't need wifi so much ! Enjoy in the best place ever in Auckland !!

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. Full of nice french people. Feels like a big french family. A very friendly hostelowner! We loved to stay there.


46%

NZ is a wealthy westernized country, so paying for hot water for a shower is a no-no. if the owner wants to market his hostel as a place strictly for french people, that is ok (there are plenty of hostels that cater to only one nationality). but if he wants to draw guests from many countries, he needs to do a better job of making sure non-french people do not feel alienated due to not being french.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Regarding the shower, it is written in the property description, it is not hidden. and the bed price remains the cheapest in Auckland...Regarding the customers I can't, nor want, restrict or market towards on nationality, it will be segregation... Happy new year

63%

Helpfull and friendly staff! Poor toilet/bathroom facilities.


100%

Pretty central, good rooms and friendly staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you have a nice trip!

97%

Good hostel where I stayed one night. The location is pretty nice and quiet, especially practical if you have a car. The beds were nice, the one hour free wifi worked perfectly. It's small and cosy. Only "annoying" thing was the fact that the cleaning team was cleaning the kitchen before check-out time, which made it kind of a challenge to use the kitchen before checking out.


86%

You have to pay 50ct for 6min hot shower and wifi is relatively expensive. There is a big kitchen and you can use the fridges and geht a box for your food. The sitting room can be really cold because the doors to the outside are opended over the day so sometimes its torquey. It's 90% french people even the owner is a frenshman. But although most people only speak french in there everybody is nice and matey and if your in a luck they will even talk to you in english :-D had a good time there


83%

Great hostel with very friendly staff


77%

There's a really lovely atmosphere, a great place to meet people


77%

The feeling and athmosphere is Stränge if you are not able to speak the french language, because everyone is speeking french!

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback