Hostelworld.com

Borders Beyond

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Borders Beyond Located at 8 Nixon St Ponsonby Auckland, , Auckland.
Borders Beyond
New Zealand
Auckland 1021 8 Nixon St Ponsonby Auckland
80% 544
-36.8614203 174.7522205
Borders Beyond
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • poolswift
  • Singapore, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
16th Jun 2016
7.1

Small hostel in a great location by K Road and Ponsonby. Generally enjoyed my stay. The owner is French so you will get to meet alot of French people who are on the Working Holiday Programme, so they will spend the whole day in the hostel common room looking for jobs online. The worst part about the hostel is that you have to pay 50 cents each time you take a shower, and the water stops running after 8 minutes because the hostel is trying to conserve water!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
16th Jun 2016
4.0

Staff member very welcoming and helpful. This hostel was mostly made up of permanent travellers living there, it had a very small kitchen/living area for the amount of people. Toilets and showers were located in the kitchen which gave you no privacy! Bedroom walls were paper thin, and it felt like the people in the next room were sitting next to you, room was not too clean and too much light came in to sleep. Felt really uncomfortable and awkward using toilets/shower and kitchen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • emmawatts
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Jun 2016
9.4

Really good hostel- about 20 minute walk to city centre but the neighbourhood it is located in is lovely and close to supermarket! Was always clean and the staff were really helpful :) would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
8.0

Thomas made me feel welcome and very helpfull

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
7.7

Nice hostel. We arrived and the guy at the front desk was extremely helpful with everything we asked. He even carried my bags up to my room, which was very nice. We got upgraded to a private. Rooms were clean and nicely made. Only downside was paper thin walls, so you could hear everything going on in the next room. Only one female and male washroom and all the way down on the main level. But all in all we had a good one night stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
8.9

My first hostel experience. Loved the place and met some great people. Very friendly and helpful staffs / hostel-mates - sharing of nearby points-of-interest without need to initiate request. Also a great place to speak to people and learn of experiences, tips and pointers from others. Not to mention great location - not too far of a walk to the city (enjoyed the walk to-and-fro). It was a cozy stay overall - highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.9

Really great place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Just next to k Road and 20 min walk from Queen Street. Hostel is small and there is always something going on but it is still quiet enough for good night sleep. Definitely suggest this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel! I wish we had stayed there the first week we arrived in Auckland

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nwillcox
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Mar 2016
7.1

Seems a little dated and slight musty. The French guy was very helpful and gave us loads of information about the city and New Zealand in general. It feels like it needs a renovation. The quiet hours after 11pm rule was well enforced. Seemed to be a lot of long term guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2016
5.4

It's cheap but bot comfortable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.