Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Borders Beyond Reviews

8 Nixon St Ponsonby Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained


478 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Excellent hostel, very nice, cosy, with a very funny French manager. The only problems were the showers' hot water activation, which was sometimes a trouble (you have to put 50cts for starting hot water, which is sometimes failing, and it's +/- funny to go to the office, wrapped in a towel, a few meters away but outside) and the WiFi network, whose quality was not good even though you pay for having it (one hour free when you check in)... But I've heard a better network could be installed soon.


Lockers in room which all hostels should have, but they're pretty old. Location is quite far away from center of town, but not in a quiet, nice neighborhood... Not too loud either though. It's not a terrible location but there are much better located hostels in AKL. Staff was very nice. Atmosphere... well almost every single person who is here is French. So if you want to speak French it will be a great place to stay. I think the bunk beds are a little old and not the best.


All the staff at the hostel was just great in all ways, very friendly and helpfull! The atmosphere there was nice and very close to nice restaurants and coffees. It was a pleasant experience being there!


Timelimited wifi and paying for hot showers is poor.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. But It is written in the description of the property. It was not hidden when you have chosen to book with us. It feels unfair to complain about it now.


The positives on this hostel is the location and also the guy on reception,proper sound he is! He is very laid back and you can have a laugh with him. The downside is that if your not from France you may want to look else where, you may come across a couple of Germans but the vast majority are French. Which as a Brit I found the atmosphere a bit hostile.If your from France this is the place for you,it should have a French flag outside!

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

very disappointed from this hostel. very dirty living room that isn't being routinely cleaned. mediocre showers with absourd 6min of hot water for 50 cent. the 6 bed room is way too small. not enough lockers or electricity outlets. I wouldn't recommend anyone staying there unless they have no choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Regarding the shower It is written in the description of the property. It was not hidden when you have chosen to book with us. I find a bit unfair to complain about it now. Regarding the room, I'm sorry if you didn't like it, neitherheles my door is always opened to customers, you could have let us know the way you felt in order for us to be able to make your stay better.


The Staff and Manager were very accommodating and helpful. The other customers were nice. Good thing is you can cook by yourself with well organised kitchen.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


Very friendly french staff. Lockers to store valuables would be a great option.


Not bad budget option, bit cramped but lively & popular with Frenchies.


The receptionist guy was very arogant and sarcastic,and could not find my reservation.the advert was not true,there was no parking.I had to park in the driveway.the receptionast guy made feel very unwelcome and humiliated me infront of the person in his office.because of the welcome I recieved,I lost my deposit and he lost a week worth of accommodation.I will not recomend this place to anyone!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we have 20 carparks on week ends and 6 during the week, check out google earth to be sure. Asking someone to wait for the on-going check-in to finish (the people in the office), before serving him, is nowhere near sarcasm or anything else but a customer service rule.


friendly and easy going atmosphere, unfortunately no warm water, unless you pay for it, security is more an idea but this depends also on the backpackers. nevertheless it was ok, the rooms are not too big ...


Excellent quality hostel, very friendly staff, like a family (more like a big flat house) and no like a big factory like Xbase, YHA.... We organise community food and activities (games, go out ...). Everybody has good vibes, very good ambiance ; the boss got humour, we are never bored. Only little thing, the wifi sometime doesn't work but we have tricks to make it work better ;-), and finally we don't need wifi so much ! Enjoy in the best place ever in Auckland !!

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Great hostel. Full of nice french people. Feels like a big french family. A very friendly hostelowner! We loved to stay there.


NZ is a wealthy westernized country, so paying for hot water for a shower is a no-no. if the owner wants to market his hostel as a place strictly for french people, that is ok (there are plenty of hostels that cater to only one nationality). but if he wants to draw guests from many countries, he needs to do a better job of making sure non-french people do not feel alienated due to not being french.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Regarding the shower, it is written in the property description, it is not hidden. and the bed price remains the cheapest in Auckland...Regarding the customers I can't, nor want, restrict or market towards on nationality, it will be segregation... Happy new year


Helpfull and friendly staff! Poor toilet/bathroom facilities.


Pretty central, good rooms and friendly staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you have a nice trip!


Good hostel where I stayed one night. The location is pretty nice and quiet, especially practical if you have a car. The beds were nice, the one hour free wifi worked perfectly. It's small and cosy. Only "annoying" thing was the fact that the cleaning team was cleaning the kitchen before check-out time, which made it kind of a challenge to use the kitchen before checking out.


You have to pay 50ct for 6min hot shower and wifi is relatively expensive. There is a big kitchen and you can use the fridges and geht a box for your food. The sitting room can be really cold because the doors to the outside are opended over the day so sometimes its torquey. It's 90% french people even the owner is a frenshman. But although most people only speak french in there everybody is nice and matey and if your in a luck they will even talk to you in english :-D had a good time there


Great hostel with very friendly staff


Having to pay for a hot shower is really really a minus point when it's winter in NZ. Seriously it's like common sens. Wifi was really bad also BUT very nice place to stay, very clean and cosy. The staff is really helpful !

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(320 results)

View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback