X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Borders Beyond Reviews

8 Nixon St Ponsonby Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
459 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

very disappointed from this hostel. very dirty living room that isn't being routinely cleaned. mediocre showers with absourd 6min of hot water for 50 cent. the 6 bed room is way too small. not enough lockers or electricity outlets. I wouldn't recommend anyone staying there unless they have no choice.


94%

The Staff and Manager were very accommodating and helpful. The other customers were nice. Good thing is you can cook by yourself with well organised kitchen.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very friendly french staff. Lockers to store valuables would be a great option.


71%

Not bad budget option, bit cramped but lively & popular with Frenchies.


20%

The receptionist guy was very arogant and sarcastic,and could not find my reservation.the advert was not true,there was no parking.I had to park in the driveway.the receptionast guy made feel very unwelcome and humiliated me infront of the person in his office.because of the welcome I recieved,I lost my deposit and he lost a week worth of accommodation.I will not recomend this place to anyone!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we have 20 carparks on week ends and 6 during the week, check out google earth to be sure. Asking someone to wait for the on-going check-in to finish (the people in the office), before serving him, is nowhere near sarcasm or anything else but a customer service rule.

71%

friendly and easy going atmosphere, unfortunately no warm water, unless you pay for it, security is more an idea but this depends also on the backpackers. nevertheless it was ok, the rooms are not too big ...


97%

Excellent quality hostel, very friendly staff, like a family (more like a big flat house) and no like a big factory like Xbase, YHA.... We organise community food and activities (games, go out ...). Everybody has good vibes, very good ambiance ; the boss got humour, we are never bored. Only little thing, the wifi sometime doesn't work but we have tricks to make it work better ;-), and finally we don't need wifi so much ! Enjoy in the best place ever in Auckland !!

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. Full of nice french people. Feels like a big french family. A very friendly hostelowner! We loved to stay there.


46%

NZ is a wealthy westernized country, so paying for hot water for a shower is a no-no. if the owner wants to market his hostel as a place strictly for french people, that is ok (there are plenty of hostels that cater to only one nationality). but if he wants to draw guests from many countries, he needs to do a better job of making sure non-french people do not feel alienated due to not being french.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Regarding the shower, it is written in the property description, it is not hidden. and the bed price remains the cheapest in Auckland...Regarding the customers I can't, nor want, restrict or market towards on nationality, it will be segregation... Happy new year

63%

Helpfull and friendly staff! Poor toilet/bathroom facilities.


100%

Pretty central, good rooms and friendly staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you have a nice trip!

97%

Good hostel where I stayed one night. The location is pretty nice and quiet, especially practical if you have a car. The beds were nice, the one hour free wifi worked perfectly. It's small and cosy. Only "annoying" thing was the fact that the cleaning team was cleaning the kitchen before check-out time, which made it kind of a challenge to use the kitchen before checking out.


86%

You have to pay 50ct for 6min hot shower and wifi is relatively expensive. There is a big kitchen and you can use the fridges and geht a box for your food. The sitting room can be really cold because the doors to the outside are opended over the day so sometimes its torquey. It's 90% french people even the owner is a frenshman. But although most people only speak french in there everybody is nice and matey and if your in a luck they will even talk to you in english :-D had a good time there


83%

Great hostel with very friendly staff


77%

There's a really lovely atmosphere, a great place to meet people


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

The feeling and athmosphere is Stränge if you are not able to speak the french language, because everyone is speeking french!

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Owner was very friendly... Place had a great feel seemed like a great backpackers lovely people.


100%

Borders Beyond looked to me a Home right after I first stepped into the kitchen/living room, where other people where living their stay as house mates. It does not feel to be in a pack and go, fast and busy place, it got atmosphere!!It is not a huge hostel, therefore allows for quiet living. David, the owner, is super nice and helpful, making is very easy to arrive to a totally new place and settle down as if having been there all the time. Definetely the place I'd call Home in Auckland.


54%

It was our first hostel here in new zealand. the hostel has a great location, but in my mind it wasn't a good atmosphere for me. To much party, open discussions, a to small kitchen and a '50 cent shower'! the community area is to little and dorms are directly next to the community area. The room arrangement/layout and the rooms self is not really good and not really well conceived. But the staff were really nice and helpful. it was okay but not really good!

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A really good place, and the owner is (French) Clermontois! Really clean (a good point for a backpacker), not so far from the city center.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(314 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback