Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Borders Beyond

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Mar 2017
7.4

Too many people living there and more than 80% is french, maybe is not a good idea if you dont speak french

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Troutman
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.4

Borders Beyond is without a doubt the best hostel in Auckland. The atmosphere and the staff are what make it amazing. Everyone is inviting and friendly even if there is a language barrier. Very close to the supermarket, the bottle shop, and some of the best bars and clubs in Auckland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
7.4

Not the cleanest hostel, but while I was there, the other hostelers were some of the most respectful youth I've encountered in that setting. There was no disorderly conduct, or public drunkenness, and everyone was very quiet after 11pm even if they stayed up later. Everyone was incredibly respectful and kind even though it was likely overbooked. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
8.0

Great small Hostel, short walk from City Most helpful staff I've had, genuinely wanted to help out! good free wifi, only problem i had with this place was many people spoke french the whole time, which is uninviting, but if you are french, probably 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.9

Very nice staff! Good kitchen! Cosy terrace and seats in front of the hostel. Really liked my stay there. Free Wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • webbermax6568
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Jan 2017
7.7

Fix the other oven. When I was there (not sure if it still is that way) there was only one oven and a burner was broken so it was only 3 burners for the entire hostel. Cooking a meal was madness. Other than that it was really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
4.9

Decent hostel in an okay part of Auckland. On the edge of CBD. We had a private room which was fine for the cost. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My biggest issue with the hostel is a lack of diversity. Clientele is about 80-90% French. Great place to stay if you are French and only want to hang out with other French people, but as a non-French person it just felt like an unwelcoming environment. Screaming partying until 3:30 AM was not ideal, nor was our food and wine being stolen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear about your experience. The diversity of our guests is out of our control, we can't (neither we want) to forbid(select) our hostel to anyone. As for the partying and the food and wine, you didn't mention anything to the management team, which makes it impossible for us to act on it. Even when you left nothing has been said, therefore we can't improve/fix what you mention in your comment. Have a nice trip.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Dec 2016
7.1

We were surprised to pay for the short hot shower of 6 minutes and disappointed that the toilets, bathrooms and showers were only downstairs, right next to the kitchen and living room. My mattress was really uncomfortable. The staff was nice and there was a landline phone available for international calls.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Dec 2016
5.1

Total rip off! We chose this hostel for its location since we had plans in the Ponsonby area, but were very disappointed. Staff was friendly enough and willing to give us tips on the area but the hostel was the worst, absolutely tiny crowded spaces, old shabby furniture. And cherry on the cake: extra payment required for hot showers. Acceptable in $10/night campsite but certainly not in a $30/night hostel! And even more unacceptable because no mention was made of this in the description!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2016
7.1

Staff were very nice and helpful. Facilities were decent, kitchen could get a bit crowded at peak times. Quiet at night. Location 20-30 minute walk downtown but a lot of options in the immediate area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.