X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Borders Beyond Reviews

8 Nixon St Ponsonby Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
510 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Only 4 car parking spots. Staff member not wearing even a staff tshirt. His own shirt was food stained and he complained of a hangover. We had to pay 50 cents for showers. The light didnt work in the shower. Our room key did not work, this was changed for a working one later on. We didnt even stay 1 night it was that bad. Ive lived and worked at a hostel before and i know it can be a lot better. Cheap doesnt have to be bad...!

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

My best hostel ever with amazing staff.


100%

Great atmosphere in this backpacker that feels like home far away from home. The owner is really friendly and helpful, helped me with admin stuff, gave me tips to find a job in Auckland and advised where to go to have a good time in the city. Definitely the best hostel I've been staying at for the last two years I've been traveling. I will come back for sure and can only recommend it! :)


66%

Auberge de jeunesse sympa. Un peu excentrée mais tout se fait à pied facilement pour qui ne rechigne pas à marcher. C'est comme une sorte de grosse coloc parce que la majorité des gens sont des français qui vivent la. Donc on se sent pas vraiment à l'aise, on se sent chez les autres. La cuisine est difficile à utiliser du coup parce que pleine de monde en même temps. Suffisant pour y passer un nuit.

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • AnaisCharmeau
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good hostel in general, spent my new years eve here and had a great time. 90%+ including the staff was French so the main language spoken in the hostel was French.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you, glad to hear you had a great time

46%

Dieses Hostel war die absolute Katastrophe!!! - Wir bekamen nicht 3 Betten in einem Schlafsaal, sondern wurden aufgeteilt. Mussten auch noch die Zimmer wechseln. Totales Chaos! - Atmosphäre: Rumhängen vieler Backpacker in dreckiger Küche und Wohnbereich. Schlechte Stimmung! - "Tipps" der Mitarbeiter bezüglich Beantragung Konto/Steuernummer erwiesen sich als falsch, so dass wir mehrere Tage verloren - Internet schlec - Ausstattung: Alles kostet extra. Selbst das warme Wasser aus der Dusche!

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Really enjoyed our time here Very friendly atmosphere French owner is very welcoming and funny. There could be some more toilets tho

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment

100%

Awesome place... awesome people. Good last stay in New Zealand

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

1. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are uncomfortable. Mostly French speakers, easy to feel isolated when everyone else speaks french and you don't. 2. Lack of Security: The staff tends to allow non-travellers to hang out, party, smoke and sleep over. 3. Cleanliness: The entire facility is overall not very clean and looks messy. 4. WIFI: Not Free + bad connection 5. Showers: $0.50 for a 6 minute shower. 6. Inappropriate conversations: racist slurs/jokes openly said by owner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear about your experience with us.Regarding point 1 to 4 : you never mentioned anything to the staff (managers included) during your stay, in order for us to act on it. Moreover the people staying over were ALL paying customers. Regarding the shower, it is mentioned in all the hostel descriptions. Regarding point 6 it must have been a misunderstanding. Nevertheless, we will take your comments on board in order to improve, we hope you had a good trip in New Zealand and that you made it safe home.

83%

Avec un peu d'appréhension je suis arriver au "Borders Beyond"( mon premier backpack) mais je me suis tout de suite sentis a l'aise. Le staff m'as très bien accueilli, expliqué le fonctionnement, montré les bons plans, les endroits à voir, et aidé dans toutes mes démarches administratives. Tout seul à l'autre bout du monde, je suis heureux d'avoir trouver une nouvelle famille avec qui j'ai passé des moments extraordinaires et passé une soirée de Noël que je n'oublierai jamais !

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff very friendly. Yeah the hostel is full of French but it makes a nice atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment. Have a nice trip.

66%

Okay room, but paying for the shower and having them literally in the common hangout area/kitchen was a bit strange..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for your comment. The layout of the premise is something we can't change unfortunately. regarding the $0.5 for the shower, it is written in all the descriptions on internet, we don't hide the fee.

94%

Since the first day i felt very comfortable in this human sized bcpker. The place is quite small but very friendly . Really easy to meet new people. I met some amazing people here and stayed more than two months instead of a week. Just an home far away from home.Sharehouse spirit.Very friendly staff. Majority of french people but not only fortunately. Wifi is not great but who cares.Cheap compare to other backpacker in Auckland. Borders Beyond : come as you are leave as you can!! Sylvain 4ever !


94%

Super auberges de Français (mais ouverte à tous), bonne esprit et bonne ambiance, l'host est très arrangeant et sympathique, très bon point d'arrivée après l'aéroport où pour ceux qui ont le mal de la France.


54%

In the room things were lying around which belonged to previous travellers. It was extremely untidy. There are only two showers and they are in a corner of the kitchen. The kitchen was also very untidy.


100%

Un Super accueil! Je conseille vivement ce Backpacker comme point de départ!!!! ( surtout pour les français peu à l'aise avec l'anglais) L'ambiance est très chaleureuse , le personnel très sympas et plein de bons conseils. Le point négatif : On s'attache très vite à la "Borders' Beyond familly" et c'est difficile d'y partir sans un petit pincement au coeur..... Merci à tous ceux qui on fait de ce court séjour une bien sympatique experience!!!!!!

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci du fond du coeur, bon voyage a toi. Thank you so much, have a lovely trip.

89%

Beaucoup de français mais très bonne ambiance est l'endroit et très chaleureux. Je recommande !

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you , very happy you enjoyed it.

100%

Such a really nice place!! Close to shop, bus, bars and city center but remains really peacefull! I did enjoy the room and the atmosphere! I spent quality time! Really great meetings as well! The house is welcoming, the owner and his staff are always helpful and ready to provide you advices as much as they can. So yeah, the only thing required is an active sense of humor, which doesn't hurt!! :) Must-go places!

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much.

89%

Excellent pour demarer: tres bonne ambiance. C'est un peu comme l'auberge espagnole. Personnel accueillant et chaleureux, cuisine et salle a manger sympas pour croiser du monde et manger ensemble. Proche de tout : banque, super marcher local, bar... bref je vous le recomande!

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Un très bon souvenir de cette auberge qui nous fait sentir directement comme chez nous. Le personnel est très sympathique et l'ambiance très agréable. Par contre il y a beaucoup de français, cela peut être donc très pratique quand on vient d'arriver sur Auckland et que l'on a pas mal de questions mais pas top pour améliorer son anglais. Les prix sont très corrects, et malgré que cela soit un peu loin de Queen Street, il reste bien situé. Je recommande ce backpack.

  • 21st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback