Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Born Free Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 913 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 913 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2
Born Free Hostel Located at Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), , Bangkok.
Born Free Hostel
Thailand
Bangkok 10200 Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong)
88% 913
13.7643492 100.5000114
Born Free Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
9.4

My favorite hostel in Bangkok. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful with things in Bangkok and my travels afterwards. The Wi-Fi worked great, and there were places to hangout and relax. You can't bring beer in from outside because they sell it there, but it's cheaper than 7/11 so it's a win-win. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thoess
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.4

We've been there for 2 nights. Nice hostel to relax an chill. Not far from the big touristic night spots. Cool owner of the hostel. I can absolitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Hope to see you again some day. Until then wish you a nice trip in Thailand

7th Aug 2016
10.0

My second time in this hostel and this was just as good as last time round. The A/C room is so comfortable and I slept so well in there every night, the daytime reception staff is a very kind, welcoming and helpful guy who really improved our stay a lot. The owner is also great & organises activities for guests, he showed us a great local spa where we spent the afternoon relaxing with him before catching our bus to the north. Lovely atmosphere as well, not a party hostel, will be back next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heeeey guys, thanx again for staying with us and thank you for coming to the sauna. Was really chilled. Wish you all the best in Japan :)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Aug 2016
9.1

The staff was very nice and easy to talk to! :) We also liked the shared area and the cats! The hostel is a 10 minute walk from Khao San Road

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very kindly for your lovely review.

  • sophiecoleman96
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
7.1

Checked into born free and I felt it was quite a chilled place. The guy who worked behind the desk was friendly but not that welcoming. I asked him a few questions and didn't get much in the way of a reply. The dorm is standard hostel except for the fans instead of a/c which I didn't mind. I got bit a lot by mosquitos as people had left the doors open coming in. Close to Khao San road, only problem was the pillow which was a hard as a rock! But other than that pretty decent for a night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback. Yes we have two dorms, one fan one A/C and we kept it this way because a lot of people do not enjoy the cold air when it's boiling outside. The person you met when you arrived late at night, was our night staff who is in charge for late check ins and security. Our manager arrives at 9AM and he can explain what to do and what not with a little more detail but you left early hence you got that opinion of our staff I think :) Either way, we wish you a safe trip in Thailand and thank you for staying with us.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
7.7

Location quite near Koh San road but equally quite difficult to find, Staff friendly enough. No real atmosphere so wouldn't call it a social/party social. Fine if you're just looking for somewhere to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
8.3

Great value for what you pay. Choose the 12 bed A/C room over the 10 bed fan room, worth the extra couple dollars, fan room is a bit difficult to sleep in given the summer weather. No locks to the rooms but there is always someone at the reception. Good location, close to Khao San road but far enough so you can get a good night of sleep if you want.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review and thank you for staying with us :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Jul 2016
7.7

A good hostel, in a good location, helpful staff, nice clean rooms and good beds, at a good price! Nothing spectacular about the place but it does the job for the budget traveller.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • liliewaring
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.9

Really great. The beds were hard but comfy - and the duvet is so soft! Air con was perfect and the staff made a huge effort to know you and get everyone involved. They let you leave bags early and stay after check out. Also the location is amazing, a 10 min walk to Khao San road but the walk is awesome, passing loads of stalls and shops. Loved the kitties too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
9.4

Excellent place to stay in bkk if you are looking for a chilled out hostel...walking distance from all imp places...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.