X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Born Free Hostel Reviews

Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), Bangkok, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
416 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It was my first backpacker hostel experience, and it really has set a high standard for other hostel. What's amazing about this hostel: 1. 7-10 minute walk to Khao San area. 2. Nice staff. Thank you Kevin. 3. The lobby atmosphere is nice, a really good spot to read book. 4. The bed and room was clean and cool


91%

This hostel is in an excellent location with a great group of people staffing it. It was pretty quiet while I was there and the cats are a nice touch. Be aware that the bathrooms are very small and can require some serious yoga-like skills to use if you're a bigger guy or gal. But that being said, they were kept clean and there were enough of them. Beds are decently comfortable and clean.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The owner is really cool guy


100%

AWESOME hostel and Kevin is the best really. Nothing to complain about really. Will always go there when Im in Thailand. Thanks! Sam

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great value for money considering other hostels in the area can go for way more! Loved the location - 10 min walk to khao san, which is nice if you're looking for a quieter place to sleep. I didn't think it was a party hostel, which was nice, but it also didn't lack atmosphere. Good atmosphere, possible to meet others! Owners are very helpful and nice. Bathrooms are awkward, but they're being redone in April. No locks on main door, but it wasn't a problem.


94%

Such a great, chilled out hostel. The staff are able to offer so much knowledge and advice, there are activities every night including football vs the locals and cycling. Cheap beer downstairs in the really comfortable common area, and an all-round welcoming and friendly atmosphere, will be staying again when I return to Bangkok.


100%

Really nice hostel, relaxed and quiet atmosphere and amazing staff


94%

Great atmosphere and perfect location if you want to experience the madness around khao San road AND want to have the possibility to lay back in a very decent hostel with a 10 min walk to khao San

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The place is nice and clean with a great atmosphere. The lobby also works as a common area where you can hang out with other guests. They sell beer at a pretty good price (50bht for a large Chang), so be prepared to be hungover. In general a nice place, but the 10 bed-dorm rooms are not really my thing; too much noise.


83%

The Born Free Hostel has a great location: about 35 minutes walking to the Grand Palace and only a few minutes to the busy Kao San Road. Staff is very helpful and nice, the beds in the dorm are clean. Only the bathrooms were very basis and sometimes dirty in the evening. Definitely worth the money!


94%

Nice and cozy hostel in an actual Thai house. Great atmosphere and space to relax.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an awesome time stopping here ended up staying longer than planned. Real nice vibe staff amazing and beds very comfy and clean. Great for meeting other travellers.


86%

The fan room it's really good, it's not that warm, but it can use better pillows.


97%

Very friendly and helpful staff, owner of the place speaks about five different languages, so I noticed this made it very comfortable and easy to communicate with the guests. I will stay here again :)

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best Hostel for this Price. The owner is really nice and will be there for You and all your uestions!. theres nice lodge to have a nap or reed a book. also its not far from Khoachan road, and there are lots of shops, other hostels, and restaurents in the neighbour hood. will come back definitely

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Hy, it was clean, quiet and 10 minutes from the Khao San Street! Always friendly stuff!


94%

Great place. Really lovely interior. Great management. Too near Khaosan road and the foreigner neighborhood for my tastes, but then, isn't every hostel in Bangkok? Could use some maps/travel information/directions to sites and transit hubs posted somewhere in the building.


100%

you,s are great keep doing what your doing! Terry


91%

Overall great hostel. However the showers do let it down. A tiny space to shower with sharp edged tiles which i cut my toe on.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the kind feedback K. I saw the tile you mentioned, something must have dropped on the edge and splintered it. We are fixing all bathrooms during the April month where we will close for about 20days to undertake the renovations. After that there will be more space, both visually and physically. Thank you for staying with us.

83%

The workers ate very friendly. The main guy worker know his way around Bangkok, and will be able to tell you how t get to the place you wanna go. My only issue I had was the cleanliness of the bathrooms.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback C. The bathrooms are being fixed during the April month where we will close for about 20days to undertake the renovations. It has been long over due but we never found the right moment to close :) Thank you for staying with us.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(92 results)


View all Bangkok Hostels

Please give us your feedback