Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Born Free Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Mar 2017
8.0

Super chill hostel, great lounging areas to escape the Bangkok heat. Free bikes to get around town are always a big plus. Super close to a bunch of restaurants and right up the road from Khao San and a night market. Ask Kevin to take you wake boarding, it's the best!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.3

This was my first hostel on my backpacking trip around southeast Asia and it was a great start! Sam on the desk was brilliant, always friendly and helpful. I loved the communal area with comfy lounge spaces,chilled music and games and books available. The hostel is a short walk to Khao San road but far enough away from that it wasn't too noisy. Only thing I wasn't happy with was was security: there was no lock on the dorm room! There's always someone on the front desk though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.4

This was our first hostel after arriving in Bangkok, and it was brilliant. Sam on reception is extremely helpful, they have bikes you can use, games in the lobby area, and lockers to store your belongings. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanx so much. We keep buying more bikes since they are popular. It is probably the best way to explore the neighborhoods and indulge in the local way of life along the canals of old town. Thank you so much for staying with us and we wish you a super trip.

  • HayleyWorboys
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
8.9

The staff were so helpful and friendly, Sam gave us so much useful information on scams, things to do and important dress codes which saved us getting caught out lots! The hostel itself has great areas to relax and be sociable, really close to khao San Road but without any of the noise. We really enjoyed our stay and I'd recommend this hostel greatly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Mar 2017
10.0

Such an AMAZING hostel!!!It is my first time in Thailand and I had such an amazing time.Although I stayed in the 12-people dorm,it was so quiet and I slept very well.There are two chilling areas and they are so comfortable and good to meet other backpackers. The staff is amazing, Sam is always so sweet and helpful, we went wakeboarding with the hostel owner Kevin and other backpackers, and with Jay, the nightime staff, we visited the weekend market:) I am SO HAPPY that I found Born free hostel:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Haha the wakeboard trip was definitely fun. Next time you need to make sure you get around the entire park though!!! Hope you are having a blast on the islands. Catch you on the flip side and thank you for your amazing review.

21st Feb 2017
8.9

Overall great hostel! Sam was fantastic and a fountain of knowledge, he really helped us out! Onl thing that could be improved would be personal reading lights from the bunks and air con in communal area. other than that fantastic. Would recommend to anyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
9.4

Would happily stay here once more. Samsen Soi 6 is a little walk to Khaosan but at least its not loud. Apart from that great links into the city (express boat a short walk) and Sam is very knowledgeable about where to go and happy to help out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
8.0

Great hostel for first trip to Thailand - staff were so helpful with where to go and booking transportation for us. Grest distance from Khao San road as not too close yet not too far away. Dorm was clean and tidy and showers were fine. Overall a pretty fab place to stay in for Bangkok

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
10.0

This was our first hostel of our travels and we were very impressed. Close enough to the nightlife but far enough out to chill and sleep! Hostel was beautiful. Rooms were perfect. Staff were excellent. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.