Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Born Free Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 881 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 881 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
Born Free Hostel Located at Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), , Bangkok.
Born Free Hostel
Thailand
Bangkok 10200 Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong)
88% 881
13.7643492 100.5000114
Born Free Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel. Beds were basic and shower floor a bit dirty, but otherwise a good stay. Staff were very helpful with directions and helped us book a very last minute bus trip to Cambodia. Location was very central and an easy walk to restaurants and the water taxi which was a cheap way to get to the Grand Palace etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.4

Amazing hostel with a chilled and relaxed atmosphere. Within walking distance to Kao San Rd and a short taxi/tuk tuk to main sights. Perfect base for escaping hectic Bangkok! Sam was so helpful and kind and will help you out with anything at all. Clean, relaxed and friendly hostel...would definitely return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
8.9

Stayed here at the beginning of my trip and was the perfect way to start my travels. Chilled vibe, definitely not a party hostel but perfect to wind down after a long flight or busy day out in the city. Well placed location. Staff are extremely helpful, 24hr reception, decent facilities including power sockets and reading lights by your bed. Small downside- the beds are quite hard, not much else! Also THEY HAVE 2 ADORABLE FLUFFY CATS which is an added bonus (unless you hate cats)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • roseaidan
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
9.7

Overall a very good place to stay. The staff are very helpful and are eager to please. It was quiet but I didn't mind that! Cheers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.9

Good hostel for a very reasonable price in Bangkok. Fan is enough to keep you cool and the beds are okay with your own power socket. Just wish there were more bathrooms as it can be busy in the morning. The common area has a very chill and relax vibe, location is quiet ahile still not far from the business of Khao San. I would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words. There are a total of 4 bathrooms with showers. Usually it is plenty for the amount of beds we have but you were here in the same period as a couple of bigger groups which means they tend to exit/enter the hostel at the same time and then certain facilities can be occupied for longer than expected. We apologize if that made your stay less comfortable. We wish you a super trip around Asia however and good luck with the diving on the islands :)

8th Jul 2016
7.4

Alright hostel. Good location for partying but nothing out of the ordinary. No room keys provided but always someone at the desk

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • crowthersnaps
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.6

Nice Hostel, facilities are a little dated but relatively clean, staff are friendly and helpful, only downside to this hostel is the beds... most uncomfortable bed I've had in a long time, but besides that a good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
8.0

Good for the price. The bathrooms weren't the best and the beds were super uncomfortable but worked for being jet lagged and broke. Relatively close to the main attractions of Bangkok and the staff were all super welcoming and friendly. The massage place right across the ally was the best one I've found so far in Thailand!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jul 2016
8.9

This hostel is really good for first timers in Bangkok. In a really good location, about 10 mins from koh San road and 10 mins from the boats which can take you all over the city! Sam is really helpful, pretty much has an answer to any question about Thailand, and will book excursions for a decent price! Only downside is the beds are a little hard, there isn't much privacy around the bunks, and the first floor shower rooms are not great... However I would 100% recommend and definitely return!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind review. The first floor bathrooms are still in their original Thai style design hence they might seem a little quirky. It is a feature of the house and we decided to leave as it is but modified the 2nd floor bath/shower rooms with a more modern touch to them. Thank you very much for staying with us and we wish you a safe trip around SE Asia. :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2016
9.1

We booked Born free hostal at our arrival flight to Bangkok and booked again the night before departure just because we loved it. Very nice hostal in a stategic location. Dorms are clean and quiet, and the hostal si not located right in the action of Kaon San Road, but 5 minutes walking, so perfect for us. 7eleven, laundrys and restaurants very close. Nice cozy spaces to meet other travellers. Would definetely go back again! Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for the nice review. Hope we see you again one day until then we wish you an enjoyable trip around Thailand.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.