Hostelworld.com

Born Free Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1102 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1102 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
10.0

This was our first hostel of our travels and we were very impressed. Close enough to the nightlife but far enough out to chill and sleep! Hostel was beautiful. Rooms were perfect. Staff were excellent. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Very relaxed and clean hostel with good staf for a low price. I will definitely book the hostel again when back in Bangkok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
8.0

Friendly staff and relaxing environment great to get away from the hustle and bustle of bangcok

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
10.0

This was my first ever hostel and it was amazing! Stayed in the fan room, Bangkok was sooo hot so I was worried I would be really hot in the night but the fan room was perfect! The staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful couldn't ask for better. Location was great as well right in the heart of everything. Couldn't ask for a better hostel! Love the design and how chilled it was, perfect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking time on the review. We are very happy your first hostel left you a good impression and we hope to see you again very soon :) Wish you a safe trip around Asia.

5th Feb 2017
8.0

Hostel is in good location and has very relaxed vibe. Facilities are good but not exceptional. Staff are amazing!! So helpful in helping me plan my time in Bangkok. Also very accommodating when I needed to book an extra night, although ended up getting moved to their other location, Born Free Hostel-Vista, a short distance away, which was not as nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • katiemordarski6164
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.0

Like so many dorms, your experience has a lot to do with your roommates. The guys sleeping above me came in at 4am yelling, moaning, and jostling the bed around, so I didn't sleep well. Please be respectful of others when you travel. Bathroom facilities could use a bit of updating and my preference is for a bigger locker (under-bed would be totally possible here with a little construction), but otherwise it's a solid hostel. Love the fluffy cat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Only stayed one night but all good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

I had a great stay at Born Free. The communal areas are lovely, the staff were brilliant (the owner is a great fella who instigated an awesome trip wakeboarding) great location, good music. Met lots of lovely folk and then spent another 3 nights at the other Born Free Vista hostel too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.4

Very good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Jan 2017
7.4

Good location, just far enough away from Khao San to be quiet but still in walking distance. Good common area to chill in and cheap beers at front desk!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.