Hostelworld.com

Born Free Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 801 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 801 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
Born Free Hostel Located at Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong), , Bangkok.
Born Free Hostel
Thailand
Bangkok 10200 Samsen Soi 6 (Soi Woraphong)
89% 801
13.7643492 100.5000114
Born Free Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Apr 2016
7.1

The hostel is not too bad but there are a couple of things ( simple ones) that make the stay a little less pleasurable. First the lack of AC in some of the dorms is a bit annoying but fans are an imperfect substitute. Second is that the staff is a bit cluless about recomendations and finally is that the hostel is a bit boring.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there and thank you for your feedback. We offered you the AC dorm on arrival because it is the hottest month of the year but you wanted to save money so you stayed in the fan dorm. You stayed a total of two nights here and the only ever question you asked a staff member is where to buy milk from? I am pretty sure they managed to answer you that only question :D About the hostel being boring, well what to say, sometimes it is lively sometimes it is a little quiet but it also depends on who stays here. Some people want action some people want to read a book! You for instance spent a lot of time in the room. We asked you to come with us for a 5v5 football match against the locals and you preferred to go drinking. The day after we asked you to come with us to the JJ Green night market and again you declined. Either way we wish you an enjoyable trip around SE Asia.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.1

I stayed in born free hostel for 4 nights, and loved it. Manager Kevin is amazing and the rest of the staff is very helpful and conversational. The setup of the hostel is really nice and the vibe and atmosphere is really cool and chill. Definitely staying here again and would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanx so much for your lovely feedback. We hope you have an amazing trip around SE Asia.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
7.4

Was fine for a night or two, friendly enough staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jackbeaunier
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.1

Had such a great stay here, Sam and the swiss? guy (whose name i forget! Sorry!) were great. Really nice atmosphere and location is great with a 5-10 minute walk to khao san road without being in the middle of it. Would love to stay here again when i come back through Bangkok!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ahaha, his name is Kevin. Thank you very much for your lovely words. We really appreciate it. Happy travels and see you soon again we hope.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
9.7

Very nice place with a great staff. I would definitely recommend this to a fellow traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for recommending us and for leaving the feedback. Wish you a super trip around Asia.

  • santiastrobbi
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Apr 2016
4.0

The staff is completely unhelpful. Except for the owner, who knows a little bit about Bangkok. The rest can't help you at all, and that's a problem for a foreigner trying to know the city. Location not bad, but there must be better. Little atmosphere at all as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, we provided you with a map and explained how to get around the area with several local transportation methods in order to save you money and see the most you can when getting around. We also gave you a free bike to see the neighborhood. Both the owner and the manager have been in Bangkok a long time and know how to get around. The other staff members are a cleaning lady and a night staff so it is very possible you did not get your answers out of them. We always try and have people come together and create a friendly atmosphere, go do activities together but it does not always work out. Thank you for your feedback and apologies if we did not quite meet up to your expectations.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Apr 2016
10.0

I left my heart in this place. If you looking for a quite place where to rest and feel like at home, this is the place! The place it self is an absolute paradise and what's more important is the people who work in there. Kim, Mamamai, Joy are absolutely extremely welcome and made me feel like I was at home. I will always be greatfull for their kindness. The food is great and if you have a chance try one of the cooking classes running at the homestay. One love!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
8.0

Clean and cheap hostel. But probably can add some bigger fans at the corner beds of dorm. Staff was helpful and direction given were perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sophiekerrigan
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel, would so recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel with amazing staff good bedrooms nice common are located far enough of the Khoa San that it's not noisy but it's also close enough to walk would highly recommend staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.