Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Born Free Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1209 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Maikendavidson
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2017
9.7

Great value for the money! The hostel is in a great location, clean, nice chilled and laidback atmosphere, the staff are very knowledgable helpful and on hand 24hrs. The Born free cafe was lovely, and makes the best thai food I have had so far! Would recommend to other travellers and would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.6

Great place for great value, staff were super helpful and informative, and you can't go wrong on the location. My only issue was having showers right next to the toilette which soaked everything and it was also the place to change which made it a pain with everything being wet. And the bathroom, bedroom and lockers were all on different floors depending on what room you were in. Overall great value though, but book AC!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
9.4

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel. It is walking distance from all of the main temples, khao San road, and many restaurants, and the staff is extremely helpful with recommendations of what to do and answering any questions. The air conditioned room was really nice and the beds were comfortable. I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • georgia2894
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2017
9.4

Good walking distance to Koh San Road. Plenty of street food vendors around, restaurants and 7/11's. The hostel is really clean and they have comfy chill out areas. The staff were helpful and friendly and the cafe they own just across the road is delicious. The rooms are pretty basic but you get what you pay for and it actually really good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th May 2017
5.7

Atmosphere at this hostel is not the best if you are wanting to meet people to go out and do things and there never really people hanging around in common areas. The hostel was clean enough but the toilet seat was broken and there were not enough toilets and showers for the amount of guests.The staff were not very accommodating or helpful and did not offer much in the way of advice or things to do in Bangkok. If you are looking for a good night sleep only perhaps here would be the right choice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We feel like readers will get the wrong impression reading your words if not explained properly. Perhaps explaining that spending the entire stay in the bedroom will not work for socializing, no matter how many people chill in the common areas. What you also missed out on was some of the many activities we organize from here such as climbing, wakeboarding, football, cycling etc. and asking for more details would have helped you understand that we do care about how you can fill your days throughout your stay in Bangkok. If you thought we would deliver everything on a golden platter right to your bed, then you came to the wrong place. On a side note, there are 4 bathrooms which has never been an issue. The toilet ring was just unhooked and got fixed in 10 seconds and communicating it to staff in person would have been a little more constructive then having to read it on the web. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you a safe onwards travel.

6th May 2017
9.4

Lovely place with lovely staff. I found the place to be clean, comfortable, and had a good atmosphere. Cafe across the street was amazingggggg! Has a nice home-y and laid back feel to it. Great place to relax and just chill around (that's what I did anyways hahaha)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the food at Born Free Cafe. Have a safe trip home.

3rd May 2017
8.6

24 hour staff on duty which is great! And the staff were super nice. The hangout area seemed abit sleepy, but I think that's because it gets abit hot and stuffy in there and people just fall asleep on the sofas :P

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Really great vibe and fantastic location for backpackers. The Born Free café was AMAZING, we found it hard to eat anywhere else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • smamczasz
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st May 2017
10.0

Had a great stay here. Stayed in the AC room which has two twin beds separated by a curtain, but since we are travelling as a couple we just pulled the curtain up and basically had a queen size bed which was nice. We stayed at the Vista a few weeks before staying here and both are great hostels but this place is a little more laid back and chilled out which is exactly what we needed. Definitely eat next door at their restaurant. Cheap and amazing food! Kevin's wife is an amazing chef! Stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey you guys. So happy to read your review and to know the bed setup was comfortable for you guys. Thanx so much for trying both our hostels and feeling at home twice. We hope Myanmar is treating you well and we will catch you on the flip side.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.7

Born Free is easily one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The location is perfect, it's super sociable, and the staff are so lovely, especially the owner Kevin and Sam who works on reception. Their cafe across the road also does some of the best food I've had in Thailand. Would 100% recommend this place to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.