Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Born Free Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • boonejoc
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2017
9.1

Nice hostel with a relaxed vibe and close enough to walk to the main backpacker zone without being fully in it. There are two Born Free locations 300m apart, we went to the wrong one at first.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • benoren5635
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Aug 2017
9.4

A great all round hostel in a good location. The staff were really friendly and helped me with my onward journey very much. A nice sociable place with lots of people to talk to... and the air con was amazing after a day of slogging it round the city. Had great facilities like 2 chill out areas with sofas, great wifi, unlimited free tea and coffee and good hot or cold showers. Definitely will go back here when I return to Bangkok!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Aug 2017
9.7

Would definitely recommend this hostel! It's not a party hostel but the atmosphere is very social and there are parties nearby for those who want. Lots of good places to eat within a 5 minute walk as well (including the born free cafe opposite).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Jennyconde9294164
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Aug 2017
10.0

Love, love, love!!! Everyone that is part of this team is just exceptional. Very clean, free coffee & tea with an awesome vibe. They have a wonderful cafe across the street with the best food. Walking distance from all the hustle and bustle, but far enough for a nice quite sleep. I had so much fun. Thank you everyone! Miss you already.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2017
9.1

Zen hostel. Chilled vibes. Felt like home. Cat 2 cool 4 life. The receptionist San is my homie for life. Played chess, drank coffee, read, drew, played ukelele in the lobby. Owner is super kind. Lots of cool people to meet here. 5-10 min walk to Khao San. Would def recco

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
9.7

Born free was an amazing hostel! The rooms/bed were exceptionally clean and the air conditioning was a life saver. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly as well. Also, the Born Free Cafe right across the alley is some of the best food I have had in Thailand! I highly recommend going to born free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Aug 2017
8.9

Great A/C !! Staff were exceptional and location was really good. Not cat people at all but don't let this stop you from coming as we only saw the cat once.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2017
9.1

Great vibe with music playing 24/7 in the lobby. Super close to Khaosan rd!! 2 Owners are kind and fluent in English and staff give amazing tips and advice for travelling in Thailand. Arrived in August and the Hostel was moderately full. Not a party hostel, very chill. Beds and pillows were quite hard but bedrooms were clean, with a nice balcony to hang clothes and admire the view. Showers clean but tight, the showers are not isolated as you will be showering with the toilet. Enjoyed my stay! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2017
9.4

Very nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Osha249
  • Egypt, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
5.4

The hostel was Okay, but no atmosphere at all so not suitable for solo travellers Location was good though 700m from koah san road kepps u away from night noise in the street.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×