Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Born Free Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.1

Cheapest way to get to the hostel: take the airport link-BTS-bus in total 70 baht, if you don't mind to spent at least 2 hours on the road. The hostel has 2 dorms with large space, even the 10 beds dorm with fans. It doesn't feel very hot because the breeze through the doors and windows. Very equipped facilities and clean! Located in the middle of old town, loads of vendors nearby, walking distance to Khaosan road, good for the people who wanna experience the typical Bangkok hustle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.6

Rooms and bathrooms were clean, staff were friendly. However they need more bathrooms for the number of beds there are. Fan room got quite hot so would recommend booking an AC room. If you want a party hostel then book somewhere closer to Koh San road. Cafe opposite had good food and you get a discount on food if staying at the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.7

Arrived at 3am and the staff was helpful and no late night fee which was nice. Beds are the leather cot style, after a long trek didn't sleep at all cause it was bloody hot and uncomfortable. Comfy and cool common areas but no one was chilling in them so the atmosphere was blah. Relatively clean, small lockers, bathrooms and showers were alright. Not close to the hostel/bar/party area but cabs are cheap and abundant so easy enough to get anywhere from the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • samsmith1396375
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Apr 2017
7.1

The hostel was great for a quick stop over and the beds are very private in the dorm rooms and well equipped. Didn't find the staff very helpful and just seen to rush me when I was asking any questions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.3

Staff were nice and the beds were really comfy! Nice and quiet area but only a ten minute walk to kohsan road so ideal location. Would stay there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
10.0

I stayed at this hostel for a full week and it was amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful, and I never felt unwelcome. I was there during Songkran (water festival) and despite that the hostel was quite clean. The hallways were never soaking wet, and you couldn't tell that the hostel was filled up. I met many solo travelers like myself, and always had someone new to talk to everyday. It was a truly lovely experience. The location was perfect. Close to Koh San rd and also the ferries.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Apr 2017
9.4

Living at Born Free Hostel was purely a very good experience. The staff were amazing and ready to guide/help you at any point in time. The location is brilliant, 2 min away from Khao San Road where all the parties take place. Clean, good atmosphere, great value for the money. Strongly recommend for a few days in Bangkok!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Apr 2017
8.3

Good hostel in Bangkok if you're looking for a good location to start your holiday. It's in the backpacker district, but in the more relaxed part. Great street food around the corner. Good atmosphere in the hostel. Clean enough and had the most basic things. Very helpful and friendly staff. It bothered me that the didn't serve breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Apr 2017
8.9

Wonderful Hostel! Sam at the front desk and owner (Kevin I think) were both delightful! Perfect location only a 10 minute walk from Khao San Road but you could come back and it would be perfectly quiet if you just want to sleep. I stayed in both the dorm with just fans and the dorm with air - conditioning and both were very clean and very comfortable! Do yourself a favour and stay here!!!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
7.1

Perfectly fine hostel but nothing special. Not very social and not really any activities going on at the hostel, but it was close enough to the action of Bangkok. Not a great place to meet people as not many people hangout in the common area but I would stay again if I just wanted a couple chill nights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.