Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Borneo Seahare Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Aug 2017
8.6

Friendly and helpful staff. Standard toast and instant coffee breakfast. Beds uncomfortable. You get what you pay for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us I will look into the uncomfortable bed as we don't usually have a problem. All the best from all of us!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.1

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Place was clean and had everything necessary although the wifi wasn't working well when I was there. Location is walking distance to town and to great food places (including a chinese food court right downstairs! There was even an access card for each guest for added security. Highly recommend Borne Seahare Guesthouse for your stay in Kuching!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and sorry about the wifi, we found out our neighbors had somehow got our password which was slowing it down, we changed it and that solved the problem! All the best from the team!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.7

Clean and friendly hostel. Lots of help with bookings trips! Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
7.7

Overall I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Main lounge area is lovely too. Room for improvement: toilets can be pretty grim and lack paper, bedding and towels are old and tatty, hand soap in bathrooms is needed. Lockers dont work - my key could open other lockers. Had to lock my things in my big backpack which was not ideal. This majorly needs sorting out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feed back and taking the time to review us and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. I will look into the points you have raised here. Our toilets are cleaned twice daily, although when you stayed it was for the music festival and we did have a real problem with guests bringing mud and sand into the hostel, it was a real task to keep on top of it 24hrs a day! All the best for the team :-)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2017
8.6

Great for the price you pay, really helpful staff. Though the communal area could do with freshening up, and the breakfast could have a little more TLC put in to it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for reviewing us We are happy you enjoyed your stay, Our breakfast is complimentary consisting of the usual toast, jams, tea and coffee, the same as most other hostels in Kuching. Take care on the rest of your travels

  • ewal892
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jul 2017
9.4

Great atmosphere (not necessarily party-like, just sociable), good for solo travellers and groups. Helpful friendly staff, they even leant us a tent for the rainforest world music festival. Good access to local food/town. Hot clean showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fleurgommers9158
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jul 2017
7.4

Nice hostel, owner was very friendly, helped us sort out our trips. Breakfast was simple but ok. Beds were very unstable and made a lot of noise everytime you moved the slightest bit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Jun 2017
10.0

We loved our stay at the Seahare! Fantastic atmosphere and staff! It was great coming back 'home' and relaxing having a beer at the bar, while either watching sports, chatting with the staff or other travellers or really winding down watching a movie at the lounge.The staff is also very knowledgable on what to do around and would organize activities as well. You can also rent bikes (really good ones) to cycle around town. The rooms were really clean and comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2017
10.0

This is one of my favourite hostels ever. The place has such a nice vibe. The staff that run it are lovely. I had my birthday whilst I was there and one of the members of staff bought me a cake and some candles to share with the other guests. It was so lovely and thoughtful. The place really felt like home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
9.4

The hostel was really easy to find and located right at the city area. Security was good and staff was friendly and nice too. The shower room was really pretty and cool. Overall was a nice and comfy stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.