Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Borneo Seahare Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Feb 2017
7.4

It's a good well priced hostel in a good location in Kuching. The rooms had aircon and were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
6.3

This place is super basic and a case of you get what you pay for. However, our bed room had no windows and only a office style overhead light the lamp in the room was for a different plug socket fit. The bathrooms are abit rough also. Pros - staff a really laid back, location is decent, really cheap and the wifi is fantastic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us, Just to point out that the room you booked is the twin with no window, as stated in the description, hence why it is the cheapest private room we have, all other rooms do have windows :-) All the best on your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.9

Lovely hostel and great staff who are very happy to help with any enquiries. The only downside was that as a solo traveller it was too quiet. I think this is only because I went in the quiet season. I will definitely be back at a busier time of year or with a friend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for for the great review We would be very honored if you would like to come back to stay with us again you are welcome anytime :-)

22nd Jan 2017
8.6

Very helpful staff, great value for money and well located.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • terry1001
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
6.6

The room condition not so clean and the bedsheets kinda old and cleanliness doubtable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • heather_carroll2445
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jan 2017
7.4

You get what you pay for with this hostel. The dorm is cheap and there is a decent amount of space, but the girls dorm is next to the bathroom (and is a bit dark and dingy) so any time anyone switches on the light in the bathroom, it shines through into the bedroom, and the noise carries very easily. Having said that, it's good value for money:,breakfast is the standard toast and jam, there are good showers, and there's free t&c plus a large tv with dvd choices and a good book swap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay which is relaxing. Staff are amazing and can recommend things to do. Beds are comfy and showers are amazing! Will be returning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great review We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and your time here in Kuching!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
8.9

For this price,really worth your money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us we are happy you enjoyed your stay :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Dec 2016
7.1

The atmosphere was great, but we slept poorly (even in a private AC room) because of noise from the street/a nearby bar. The staff was lovely, however, Andy was often the only one accessible and he was quite new to Borneo, so wasn't able to offer much advice. Longer standing staff were rarely around. The bed was okay but showers were basically on top of the toilets & weren't consistently hot. Later found a place on Agoda for the same price, but with much better sleeping conditions and breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us Sorry to hear about the noise, this is the first time we have received a complaint about that. The showers and toilets are combined in the same room as with a lot of hostels in Asia. they are brand new electric power showers so there is a high possibility that maybe you did not turn the power on at the switch located right outside the door.... that could explain the heat issue? During your stay 1st - 3rd Dec, I had taken a couple of days off, So sorry that I could not be on call 24 hours a day to assist you... Andy Is new working here so obviously it will take him a week or two to get up to speed with local knowledge but that is to be expected, Normally we receive very positive comments that we do our best to help our guests make the most of their time here in Kuching.. All the best on your journey

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Nov 2016
8.3

I found the location great, big rooms, everything were always clean, loved the spa feeling from the showers. My big con were that the kitchen area is more like a smoking room than a kitchen. So very annoying/frustrating to not being able to use the kitchen were the sitting area is including a stationary computer, due to that the staff and guest used it as their smoking room (I have asthma). Only hostel I stayed in during my time in Malaysia were they smoked inside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us I am sorry there was an issue with smoking, During breakfast time smoking is definatley not allowed, we have a designated smoking area during the day time. at night people do smoke at the bar but the rest of the hostel is strictly No smoking. I will look into the staff smoking as they should be using the smoking area provided, Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We wish you all the best on your travels

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.