Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Borneo Seahare Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse Located at 187 Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching, Sarawak, Kuching.
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Malaysia
Kuching Sarawak 93000 187 Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching, Sarawak
88% 278
1.5548222 110.3538801
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay which is relaxing. Staff are amazing and can recommend things to do. Beds are comfy and showers are amazing! Will be returning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great review We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and your time here in Kuching!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
8.9

For this price,really worth your money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us we are happy you enjoyed your stay :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Dec 2016
7.1

The atmosphere was great, but we slept poorly (even in a private AC room) because of noise from the street/a nearby bar. The staff was lovely, however, Andy was often the only one accessible and he was quite new to Borneo, so wasn't able to offer much advice. Longer standing staff were rarely around. The bed was okay but showers were basically on top of the toilets & weren't consistently hot. Later found a place on Agoda for the same price, but with much better sleeping conditions and breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us Sorry to hear about the noise, this is the first time we have received a complaint about that. The showers and toilets are combined in the same room as with a lot of hostels in Asia. they are brand new electric power showers so there is a high possibility that maybe you did not turn the power on at the switch located right outside the door.... that could explain the heat issue? During your stay 1st - 3rd Dec, I had taken a couple of days off, So sorry that I could not be on call 24 hours a day to assist you... Andy Is new working here so obviously it will take him a week or two to get up to speed with local knowledge but that is to be expected, Normally we receive very positive comments that we do our best to help our guests make the most of their time here in Kuching.. All the best on your journey

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Nov 2016
8.3

I found the location great, big rooms, everything were always clean, loved the spa feeling from the showers. My big con were that the kitchen area is more like a smoking room than a kitchen. So very annoying/frustrating to not being able to use the kitchen were the sitting area is including a stationary computer, due to that the staff and guest used it as their smoking room (I have asthma). Only hostel I stayed in during my time in Malaysia were they smoked inside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us I am sorry there was an issue with smoking, During breakfast time smoking is definatley not allowed, we have a designated smoking area during the day time. at night people do smoke at the bar but the rest of the hostel is strictly No smoking. I will look into the staff smoking as they should be using the smoking area provided, Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We wish you all the best on your travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Oct 2016
10.0

Booked one night and stayed for 7 - this is a great hostel, great facilities to hang out and relax. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us All the best

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Oct 2016
10.0

Nice hostel, cool team,perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much! Really happy you enjoyed your stay with us Have a great trip!

10th Oct 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Helpful and friendly staff. Rooms were nice and clean and the bathrooms were surprisingly amazing. Pretty good location as well. Only bummer is that it was fairly quiet while we were there so a bit more difficult for solo travellers. Definitely would return though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • josephmcandrew6182
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th Oct 2016
9.7

Great staff, nice atmosphere (if you wanna mingle and party, but also if you just need a few days to unwind; the hostel is big enough to do both!). The biggest asset is the staff, and especially the tours organised by Arthur and Justine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We try our best to help our guests organizing activities and offering advise on what to do, to suit each individual so that you can really make the most of your time here in Kuching. Really happy to hear we managed to do that! Wishing you all the best for the rest of your travels!

  • kamleshini
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
8.0

Good location. Bars are nearby. Rooms are clean and friendly owners. Only cons is that the water pressure at the top bathroom is quite low. Deffo recommended

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us! I am happy to say we have taken your comments on board and have now installed power showers with pumps on the top floor and the water pressure is now very good! Hopefully you will come back again one day to give them a try!

15th Sep 2016
9.1

One of the best hostels I've come across in Malaysia. The owners have everything prepared so you can make the most of your stay in Sarawak. The location is a little out of the center but it is close to local pubs, a grocery store and a food market. This is the best value accommodation in Kuching.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.