Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Borneo Seahare Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse Located at 187 Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching, Sarawak, Kuching.
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Malaysia
Kuching Sarawak 93000 187 Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching, Sarawak
88% 243
1.5548222 110.3538801
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Aug 2016
5.1

The hostel itself is fine, though a fair walk from the main center of town. My main complaint is with the staff. They were drunk all day and night and completely unhelpful. On every occasion we asked for directions, they gave us wrong information.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am slightly confused by this review! I remember you both well, we helped you to book the wetlands tour which you were very happy about, you came back very happy telling us all the things you had seen and how great it was! Our staff are definitely not drunk all day and night and are very knowledgeable about the area...?

11th Aug 2016
9.7

I felt the hostel was very clean and bathroom was really nice. The staff were so friendly and really helped us out. It was easy to get to places by either walking or jump on a bus the staff would let you know where to go. It was also good if you wanted to have a chilled night to watch a Dvd they had a great choice to choose from. It was really close to the airport too about 10/15 mins in the taxi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great review! We do try our best to help our guests make the most of their time here in Kuching. so we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your journey is just as good! All the best!

  • pinktangent
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.0

We only stayed here for a night before we had to fly out and it was a very enjoyable stay. Location was good, staff was helpful, bathrooms were amazing and beds were simple yet clean. Would totally stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, even though it was brief! maybe next time you can stay a little longer to explore our wonderful city, you are always welcome at the Seahare!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
9.7

We had a fantastic stay here. The staff were amazing. They helped us to arrange trips to Bako National Park, Cultural village and orangutang sanctuary, and even took us to the local karaoke bar. Facilities were fab and we really enjoyed our stay here. Would strongly recommend to all backpackers! Thanks again guys and keep up the singing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review guys It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we had a great time at the karaoke with you! Although I think we need a little more practice! Good luck on the rest of your journey from all of us at the seahare ;-)

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.0

Owners are friendly and helpful. Had a good stay at Seahare.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
8.9

I really liked this hostel. The staff was great and the vibe was casual/relaxed but not loud or disruptive at all. The bathrooms were really nice and the public spaces were comfortable. The room is a little bright so bring an eye mask. The owners/staff are really cool and friendly. The beds were comfortable and each one has a little outlet/light. While we were there, one of the guests drunkenly pooped all over the floor but the staff handled it really well. I hope I never see that guy again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was very nice to meet you all, It was indeed an unfortunate accident that happened that morning, It was definitely a first for us, and hopefully the last! ;-)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
31st Jul 2016
8.9

Really liked the stay here. First night I stayed in a 8bed female, that was great. But than I had to switch into a 14bed mixed and I didn't really liked it because it is a very dark room without enough space for so many backpacks. The showers are really nice and with "open roof". The staff is so friendly and helpful while planing your trips to the national parks. So I definitely recommend this hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad that you enjoyed our outdoor showers! and generally your stay with us, we do provide bedside lights for all the mixed dorm beds in order to try and minimize other guests being disturbed by the big light being switched on and off throughout the night, we are sorry that was not to your liking. Wishing you all the best on the rest of your journey!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
9.7

Simply the best place you can stay at in Kuching! The staff is second to none, atmosphere is top notch, the showers are legendary and did I mention about the staff? A home away from home. Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for this lovely review! I will pass on your comments to the team, It always brightens up our day when we receive such nice comments! All the best on the rest of your adventure!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jul 2016
10.0

My first 10. Loved this place, the people that run the place are so cool. Good location. Had a great time there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you Julian for the great review, It was a pleasure to have you here, and we are very proud to receive your first 10! it really means a lot to us. all the best on the rest of your journey!

7th Jul 2016
8.3

Staff are very helpful, beds comfy enough, cool showers, good WIFI about 5 days is all you need in Kuching to get things done

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.