Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Borneo Seahare Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse Located at 187 Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching, Sarawak, Kuching.
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Malaysia
Kuching Sarawak 93000 187 Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching, Sarawak
89% 255
1.5548222 110.3538801
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2016
9.1

One of the best hostels I've come across in Malaysia. The owners have everything prepared so you can make the most of your stay in Sarawak. The location is a little out of the center but it is close to local pubs, a grocery store and a food market. This is the best value accommodation in Kuching.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome place! Absolutely loved it. Ended up staying a night at Bako and they kept my bed for me when I came back. Very flexible place with awesome staff: Ben, Dave, Arthur, and Justine. Very knowledgeable and friendly. Would highly recommend for a short or long stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us! It really means alot and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us All the best for the rest of your adventures!

  • paulhancock99
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
10.0

Truly memorable stay in Kuching, we didn't want to leave! Staff are all so lovely and helpful. Arthur & Justine took us on a fantastic tour on the second day to Semenggoh (saw orangutans at 2nd feeding yay!), Annah Rais village and hot springs. It felt more like a day out with friends than a tour, a must do! Room is basic but everything you need. Tea, coffee, toast etc all provided. Bar area has a nice feel about it. These guys know how to run a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review guys! We are very happy you enjoyed your time here in Kuching and hope the rest of your journey is just as good! Best wishes for the team!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.9

Comfortable atmosphere with a good vibe. Staff are polite, friendly, and always smiling. Toilets, washrooms, and common areas are most of the time at least 85% clean. Price is very reasonable too. Room for improvement = weak water pressure at top floor, and provision of room temperature drinking water. Other than that, it's a very good hostel and I liked it very much =).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us Glad you enjoyed your stay here in Kuching Wishing you well on the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.1

We loved out stay here! We spent 6 nights, which is longest we've stayed anywhere in the last 2 months. 10 min walk from the Riverfront - and good bars are a stones throw away - comfy beds, and hot showers! A great communal area which was really social, and absolutely lovely staff (Arthur and Justine gave us a great tour of the Orangutans, Annah Rais Longhouse and Hot Springs) - thoroughly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank for the great review guys! Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best of luck on your journey!

6th Sep 2016
9.7

Got one of the warmest welcomes we've had in Malaysia. Staff was always helpful with information on things to do, and there is a nice common area with cheap drinks. The location is a short walk from the typical touristy shops and restaurants, but there are plenty of great bars and restaurants in the area if you don't feel like walking around. Just be careful when taking a taxi from the airport. Apparently the hostel changed locations and the drivers sometimes drop you off at the old location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us! It was a pleasure to have you here and good luck on your travels!

11th Aug 2016
5.1

The hostel itself is fine, though a fair walk from the main center of town. My main complaint is with the staff. They were drunk all day and night and completely unhelpful. On every occasion we asked for directions, they gave us wrong information.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am slightly confused by this review! I remember you both well, we helped you to book the wetlands tour which you were very happy about, you came back very happy telling us all the things you had seen and how great it was! Our staff are definitely not drunk all day and night and are very knowledgeable about the area...?

11th Aug 2016
9.7

I felt the hostel was very clean and bathroom was really nice. The staff were so friendly and really helped us out. It was easy to get to places by either walking or jump on a bus the staff would let you know where to go. It was also good if you wanted to have a chilled night to watch a Dvd they had a great choice to choose from. It was really close to the airport too about 10/15 mins in the taxi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great review! We do try our best to help our guests make the most of their time here in Kuching. so we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your journey is just as good! All the best!

  • pinktangent
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.0

We only stayed here for a night before we had to fly out and it was a very enjoyable stay. Location was good, staff was helpful, bathrooms were amazing and beds were simple yet clean. Would totally stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, even though it was brief! maybe next time you can stay a little longer to explore our wonderful city, you are always welcome at the Seahare!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
9.7

We had a fantastic stay here. The staff were amazing. They helped us to arrange trips to Bako National Park, Cultural village and orangutang sanctuary, and even took us to the local karaoke bar. Facilities were fab and we really enjoyed our stay here. Would strongly recommend to all backpackers! Thanks again guys and keep up the singing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review guys It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we had a great time at the karaoke with you! Although I think we need a little more practice! Good luck on the rest of your journey from all of us at the seahare ;-)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.