X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bossa Nova Hostel Reviews

Rua Geraldo Antunes de Vasconcelos 33, Parati, Paraty, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
198 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Probably the most helpful owner ever!! 10 min walking to downtown and the bus terminal. Rooms were clean. The only problem was the poor wifi reception but is probably solved by now.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment. Was a pleasure to host you. The wifi is working good now. During the morning there were 40 guests sharing the signal and its why it was slower than usual. Safe travels!! :)

91%

Great hostel to base yourself in Paraty. Alan the owner is a really friendly guy with all the info and tips you need for your visit. We stayed in a double with ensuite. Really spacious and clean. Dorms looked good to. It's just outside the old town (10min walk) so it's a nice chilled place to relax. Really recommend staying here.


86%

really nice hostel, good breakfast, the Owner was really helpful and gave us good tips for things to do around Paraty. near the bus station, but a 10-15 minute walk to the beach on Paraty front. would deffo stay again!


83%

This little find was exactly what I was looking for after a pretty turbo-charged Rio. I booked two nights off the bat but ended up staying for five, just couldn't tear myself away. Al makes you feel very welcome and once you've heard the chilled Brazilian reggae on arrival you know you're in for a relaxing stay. There's just a great vibe, Al is very easy going and very helpful, the breakfast is good and the big courtyard is an awesome communal area. Nothing flash, just a cool, simple hostel

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The owner (Alan) is a really great and calm person! He seems to really love music, since there is always some chillout music on the speakers, especially bossa nova kind of music. There is also a guitar at the hostel and Alan really enjoy when people play some music :) thanks for some really great days!


86%

Great and relaxed atmosphere and a superb and helpful staff. Only the rooms were really hot without aircon!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Chris! During the summer some days are really hot in Paraty. However along 99% of the year is not that hot and our powerful van are good enough to offer you a refreshing rest. :) See you next time!

83%

We enjoyed staying here a lot. It is a good hostel to meet fellow travellers and has a well equipped kitchen. Allan, the owner, is very kind and have the answer to all your questions. Breakfast is awesome! Cons: Wifi doesn't work during rush hours and they don't have any luggage storage so you will have to leave your luggage in the bus terminal or pay half day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just to clarify: our wifi works very well once we pay for the best service offered in town. However when 30, 40 guests are sharing the signal it will be slower than usual as anywhere. Also we offer this half staying as a good option for our guests. In this case you have payed 20R$ to use all the services (wifi, guest kitchen, shower and your bed) until 11pm. I guess its absolutely fair enough once you left the hostel 12 hours after the checkout time. I believe its reasonable enough. Thank you.

80%

I had a good time in the Hostel. Mostly because of the other guests. It is a good place to stay. And Alen has all the information to make your time in Parati very nice.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I had an excellent time at this hostel. The owner is a very friendly and trustworthy person and was very genuine with the guests. The atmosphere in the evenings is great! A beautiful girl comes to make the most delicious caiparinhas each night and they were very reasonably priced. She took her time and made each one with love. One evening, several of us sat around playing music and singing and it was absolutely beautiful. I loved my time in Paraty and at this hostel.


100%

Alan, the incredibly friendly host makes you feel right at home, offers you all the info you need to have a great time in Paraty, and genuinely cares about making the guests feel comfortable, relaxed and happy. Far from being a money-making business, the focus was all about creating an enjoyable atmosphere for everyone...I wish all hostels could be like that! I can't wait to come and stay at Bossa Nova again.


94%

Our stay in Paraty was amazing : not only the city and its surroundings are truly beautiful but also we had a great time in Bossa Nova hostel ! Alan, the manager, is now a real friend for us : kind, caring, funny ... We spent days and nights talking with him about Paraty, Brazil and manu other subjects. It was the best way to know deeply the city ! Don't hesitate and seize your opportunity to enhance your stay in Paraty by staying in BN hostel :)

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Super hostel, very good value, nice atmosphere, both calm and cool. The staff was amazing, very friendly and looking after us. The breakfast was one of the best we had with fresh fruits and all you need...few blocks away from the center, bars and restaurant...overall a very nice experience ! We will come back here if passing by Paraty


86%

Excellent stay at Bossa Nova hostel. The host was very welcoming, and took the time to answer our thousand questions ;) I strongly recommend this hostel for backpackers - you have everything you need to enjoy your stay in Paraty !

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is pretty good for what you are paying considering that Paraty is a touristic place and in an expensive country. I stayed in a female bedroom with private bathroom, it is spacy comfortable and there is enough space to put your stuff around. The breakfast is really good (fresh fruits, bread, hot drink, juice) and the manager was really helpful and nice, the kind of person who is always available for anything you need, of course Brazilian. Thanks a lot!!!


74%

Hostel is a bit out of the historic centre but is easily walkable. There is a large supermarket just around the corner.


91%

The staff was really helpfull and nice! We felt like at home :)

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel isn't that bad. But it's a bit more like a hotel for families. They aren't prepare for backpackers. The rooms have only one fan and no much ventilation, which means it is quite hot. A lot of mosquitoes and the toilets are en-suite, that's fine but there aren't any outside. Only one hammock and in the check out is very strict. You can't leave your bags there. It even says on the rules, there are some lockers in the bus terminal. A good thing, the staff is friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry but something must be wrong. For sure we are prepared to host backpackers once 95% of our guest are backpackers from all over the world. First week of January are the brazilian holidays and its why we had some families here as well. Check our reviews. All our rooms are ensuite and nobody needs an outside bathroom in this case. I believe you dont have enough experience as a backpacker and its why your rate doesnt represent our hostel and quality. I kindly ask to you to read others reviews.

97%

This hostel was absolutely fantastic! The staff are great and full of recommendations of how to spend time in Paraty! The communal area and bar was a great place to meet other travellers. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast in the morning was delicious! Although a 10 minute walk from the centre, its easy to get around Paraty and the hostel is next door to a supermarket. Would definitely recommend The Bosa Nova to those thinking of booking!

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely place to stay.


89%

Very nice stay at the Bossa Nova Hostel. Familiar atmosphere, the staff tries to help where they can. Nice patio where you have breakfast or a caipi at night and they put very good brazilian music there. We stayed there around New Years Eve, the city is kind of overloaded in that time which leads to water problems. Sometimes we didnt have water in the bathroom, but they have another source so you can take a shower outside. Not the hostel's fault but a structural problem of the city.


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Paraty Hostels

Please give us your feedback