X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bossa Nova Hostel Reviews

Rua Geraldo Antunes de Vasconcelos 33, Parati, Paraty, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
140 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very pleasant stay in comfortable 4 person dorm, which we had to ourselves as staff clearly prefer to make people's stay comfortable over reducing their own workload. Very friendly and helpful service, Alan, the owner provides useful information on the local sites of interest and amenities. I would definitely come back here!


89%

I like Alan. He likes to party and was very helpful directing us from itataiaia.


100%

We stayed at Bossa Nova for a week and it wasn't long enough. The hostel is clean and in a central location so you can walk every where you need. But the best thing about this hostel is it's owner Alan, he welcomes you with a big grin and gives you all the advice and assistance you will ever need to get the most out of your stay. This is a must visit hostel and town for anyone who is visiting Brazil :)


100%

Great friendly atmosphere at bossa nova! Awesome communal area to meet other travellers. Great tips and info from hostel owner Alan! Nothing is too much trouble and no question is silly! About 10mins walk to town with a supermarket right around the corner! A great hostel!


97%

Great hostel with friendly and helpful staff. Well located, good breakfast, secure with private parking. Clean dorms with only 4 beds in, so high chance of a good nights sleep. V hospitable owner Allan (who also speaks excellent english) even put us in an unoccupied dorm, despite there being others half full. Very highly recommended.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A nice, friendly and very clean hostel. Thank you for your help and kindness.


74%

A little bit far out of town but good value overall. Lots of rules which is a bit off putting and the breakfast was poor.


71%

Bossa Nova is a quaint place with a very friendly owner Alan. We had only one night here but slept well in this quiet location. There is a nice atmosphere to BossaNova. Breakfast was basic but it is free. Directions to the hostel are quite poor and more complicated than they need to be. Low voltage makes charging mobiles a little tricky.


89%

It's a nice and cozy hostel, the only thing is that they should inform better how to arrive.


74%

Location in comparison to other hostels in Paraty is poor. Moved after 2 nights to another hostel just 15 seconds walk to the beach. Good breakfast, though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest,the beach you are talking about is absolutely polluted. For lots of years these beaches are inappropriately classified. Unfortunately nobody let you know about it there. Instead it, we are the hostel in town with the best rating for security, cleaning, staff, atmosphere, value for money. Its why our guests are recommending and rating us very well. We are behind the biggest market in town where easily our guest get things to eat and catch the local bus to the best beaches and waterfall

97%

We stayed at the hostel during the Easter, So the prices were really high, but the hostel had plans for 4 days of stay with a discount. Stephane, that works in the hostel was amazing!! Helped us so much with every thing from the information about the beaches to arranging us a ride to our next location, was very kind and the breakfast was great! The only downside was that the wifi was a bit weak, but it was becase the hostel was full, and was like that when everybody were at the hostel.


94%

Bossa Nova Hostel in Paraty is a great place to meet other travellers and to make friends! The room are clean and the breakfast is great,. As well as the staff in the morning at breakfast and at the reception are very helpfull. Paraty is a good place to spend a couple of days and the boat tours are well organized. I would recommend this hostel to other travellers.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a lovely time at Bossa Nova. Great experience, great staff, great atmosphere! Couldn't be better! :) The owner helped us a lot and we are really greatful meeting Alan. Keep up with the good work and we hope to see you in Sweden soon.

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

SHORT:: Great hostel, great staff, clean, inexpensive -> definite recommendation! LONG: We arrived way later than announced but still got a warm welcome from the owner. Rooms / Bathrooms are clean, beds are comfy. Staff is more than just kind and helpful - we laughed a lot, had great fun. Not people who just wanna rent a bed and that's it, but people who are curious about and interesed in you (if you want them to be). Bar, living rooom with large TV and a yard - highlight there: An avocado tree!


100%

Loved this hostel! Booked in for 3 nights but extended our stay by 2 extra nights as enjoyed it so much. The hostel is clean, comfortable, all the staff were lovely and made you feel at home. Alan who owns the hostel was so helpful and knew a lot of information about the area. The hostel is right next to a big supermarket and a short walk to the historical centre. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really good place to stay. The owner Alan is really nice and helpful as are the rest of the staff. Slightly out of the centre but only 5 mins walk so not a big deal. Right next to a supermarket and the kitchen is good so we cooked most of the time. Only thing I would change would be lockers in rooms rather than in main reception.


100%

Great hostel! Alan is an awesome owner. The best hostel we stayed at in Brazil!


74%

ventilator in the room very Noisy ! I can't sleep breakfast average director push you to buy some extra activities, he proposes some activities (I try one) close to double price to the same in the city... you can feel he want to make money. but he is nice I am not sure the activities are legal for the insurance if something happens

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Im sorry for the fan. I have replaced it. Our staff offers the best tours in town and we work with the best travel agency in town which charge 15% more than in average. They are really professionals and safe. The others doesnt offer the same quality and it´s why they are cheaper. But is impossible to be double price. We charge 70 R$ with our own land rover and no one in town charges less than 60 reais. The weird thing is we gave you a discount for your tour. Thank´s for your visit.

20%

Beds to small and a very hard pillow that feels like a stone.... makes it impossible to sleep. No air conditioning, no place to put your stuff, shower is cold and very bad working. Don't do the tours with the hostel, they will charge you a lot of money for nothing. If you want to see the waterfalls go there by yourself with the local bus for about 3 Reales and don't waste 70 Reales at the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our bed are the biggest as possible for a single bed; all our showers are hot here; our waterfall tour is going to a off-road area where none buses are going to. All our guests really love our tours, as you can check at the others reviews. We do here an amazing job to offer the best we can for our guests. Please check our others reviews to have a real impression.

100%

We had a fantastic time staying at Bossa Nova Hostel, Alan was amazing and made sure we had a great time in Parety. The hostel is very clean, comfortable and the breakfast is great. We would definitely recommend going on the waterfall trip, it was amaing.


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Paraty Hostels

Please give us your feedback