X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bossa Nova Hostel Reviews

Rua Geraldo Antunes de Vasconcelos 33, Parati, Paraty, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
230 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Overall, good hostel. It is indeed far from downtown (considering that the city is small), at late night a bit unsafe to walk at its surroundings. The breakfast is complete. My friends and I were disappointed with the noise at night. People (including the manager) were playing cards, playing guitar and talking out loud until 1am. I've been to many hostels all around the world, and this hostel was one of the noisiest I've stayed :( The hostel doesn't store your luggage

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, we have hosted more than 4.000 guests and absolutely none of them had none problems with our surroundings. Our 7 blocks away from the historic center are by the main road of Paraty what is always busy and not unsafe at all. We have a silent policy from midnight and we super care about offer a quiet night to our guests. Be sure about that! One of your nights we were playing cards with our guests and it exceptionally extended until 1am. Im sorry if we disturb you. Next time come and let us know and we will stop for sure. We do offer lockers to our guests. Its one of the reasons to never have had none looses inside the hostel.

83%

Very friendly and clean hostel. Great kitchen area and breakfast had a wide selection. They need to invest in air con for the rooms though. We had a four bed room and couldn't sleep because it was so hot and humid! The ceiling fan was not enough. It's also a 15mins walk from the bus station and old town. This is fine but plan your route before you arrive - the hostel is down a back street and not obvious. Great for security though!


97%

Manager is really nice.


100%

That's one of the best hostels i've ever stayed at. The atmosphere is great and it's very close to the town buz. The place is kept spotless, the kitchen is really well equipped and the staff is extremely friendly. Alan, the owner, is always around and he insists on making sure every guest is happy. The best super market in town is just next door and Paraty itself is one of the greatest destinations of the whole of Brazil.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel was nice, the main issue is its location away from the historic town. Takes about 15/20 minutes to get to the historic town. The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.


74%

- Located a bit far off (wouldn't be a problem if bike rental was cheaper ), rooms are a bit smelly. + good showers, good breakfast, it's small so there's a family like atmosphere, but the best thing is Alan, the host: always ready to help with everything or just to have a beer and watch NBA. It's like staying at a friend's :) Would come again !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your review. We are 7 blocks away from the city center, its a walking distance throw the main street. We are behind the biggest supermarket in town and 1 min away from the bus stop, pharmacy and bakery. You were here during the raining season and the town was wet. We realized your room was a bit smelly and we just repainted it for the hi season. Im sorry about it. Its smelling like a baby soap now.. :) Thanks for your visit.

100%

Perfect holidays. Paraty is unbelievable. Alan's Hostel is a great place to stay, close from the city center (but not too close, as it can get noisy sometimes). Alan is a super host, very helpful, knows the place and always available to help. I felt at home in his hostel. Nice little kitchen, clean bathrooms and dorms, secure neighbourhood.


100%

A friend of mine recommended this hostel. He had spent a great time at bossa nova hostel and i must say i had a wonderful time! The hostel is a good place to chill, quiet neighbourhood and close from the center (8 min walk). I was glad the hostel was not too close from the noisy discobars from the historical center. I have lived in different cities of brazil and paraty remains one of the few areas that are not dangerous. I could walk at night without being afraid. Alan the owner is a great guy


97%

It was my second time there and I continue recommending this hostel. It offers a complete meal in breakfast for its customers, and you can use the kitchen to cook food that you can buy in a supermarket located beside the hostel. It is calm place to rest and nearby the bus station and the historic centre.


100%

The hostel was clean, secure and comfortable. It's located just behind the supermarket and only short walk to the historical center. The owner is very friendly and happy to help all the guests. I highly recommend Bossa Nova hostel!

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I definitely recommend this hostel! I often go to Paraty and there's the place I feel good. Good to relax and chill out, good to meet nice and interesting people, travellers from all over the world, good to chat with Alan the owner, good to have a great breakfast and good to sleep, in a quiet and silent street. And good of course to listen to the great brazilian music. = ) .


26%

Owner was unfriendly and arrogant, dirty rooms, spiders and mosquitos in room and bathroom, no warm water, uncomfortable beds, no possibility to store luggage (you have to pay half day rate for your luggage), place is not central and not recommended to walk in the evening

Owner Comment (Hide)
Read carefully her review to realize it's a fake review. She Asked to stay 12h after checkout time and we kindly offered the payment of half staying, only 5 euros in her case, to use ALL OUR FACILITIES. She refused and left and wrote this lying review as a revenge.For sure we do have hot water, we are super friendly and kind, we are clean, have the most comfortable dorms beds as possible (check yourself), have no spiders and are located 15 minutes away from the historic center.Read others reviews

77%

Staff were really good and helpful. We went during the Casassa festival so the town was really busy and this was one of the last places we could find a room. The owners also let us stay on an extra night even though they were officially closed which was really nice. The bikes they rent out also make it easy to get in and out of town and cut out the walk. Breakfast was also good and the supermarket round the corners is really useful.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

No geral eu gostei. A localização é mais afastada do centro tradicional de Paraty, nada que uma caminhada de 10/15 min pelo canal não compense tb. E em compensação fica perto de um mercado e um restaurante. As pessoas são cordiais e solicitas. Generally I liked. The localization is farther from the tradicional downtown, but a nice 15min walk by the river worse it, And it is close to a market and some restaurants. Also the people are really nive.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I stayed there for two nights, it was fine. Althoug it's a bit far from the center, it is near a big supermarket and many facilities. There were no lokers in the bedroom, and the bathroom wasn't cleaned during the whole stay.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, 15 minutes walking throw the main road of Paraty is not far a away, right? We are 1 minute away from supermarket, pharmacy, bakery, atm and bus stop. Our lockers are in the reception and we are very proud to get the best rate for security in Paraty. Nobody never had absolutely none issues about security in the hostel :) Also you stayed with us during Cachaça Festival and we were full, its why you though we didnt cleaned your 6 beds mixed dorm room but we do it everyday.



View all Paraty Hostels

Please give us your feedback