X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bossa Nova Hostel Reviews

Rua Geraldo Antunes de Vasconcelos 33, Parati, Paraty, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
115 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We had a lovely time at Bossa Nova. Great experience, great staff, great atmosphere! Couldn't be better! :) The owner helped us a lot and we are really greatful meeting Alan. Keep up with the good work and we hope to see you in Sweden soon.

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

SHORT:: Great hostel, great staff, clean, inexpensive -> definite recommendation! LONG: We arrived way later than announced but still got a warm welcome from the owner. Rooms / Bathrooms are clean, beds are comfy. Staff is more than just kind and helpful - we laughed a lot, had great fun. Not people who just wanna rent a bed and that's it, but people who are curious about and interesed in you (if you want them to be). Bar, living rooom with large TV and a yard - highlight there: An avocado tree!

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved this hostel! Booked in for 3 nights but extended our stay by 2 extra nights as enjoyed it so much. The hostel is clean, comfortable, all the staff were lovely and made you feel at home. Alan who owns the hostel was so helpful and knew a lot of information about the area. The hostel is right next to a big supermarket and a short walk to the historical centre. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really good place to stay. The owner Alan is really nice and helpful as are the rest of the staff. Slightly out of the centre but only 5 mins walk so not a big deal. Right next to a supermarket and the kitchen is good so we cooked most of the time. Only thing I would change would be lockers in rooms rather than in main reception.


100%

Great hostel! Alan is an awesome owner. The best hostel we stayed at in Brazil!


74%

ventilator in the room very Noisy ! I can't sleep breakfast average director push you to buy some extra activities, he proposes some activities (I try one) close to double price to the same in the city... you can feel he want to make money. but he is nice I am not sure the activities are legal for the insurance if something happens

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Im sorry for the fan. I have replaced it. Our staff offers the best tours in town and we work with the best travel agency in town which charge 15% more than in average. They are really professionals and safe. The others doesnt offer the same quality and it´s why they are cheaper. But is impossible to be double price. We charge 70 R$ with our own land rover and no one in town charges less than 60 reais. The weird thing is we gave you a discount for your tour. Thank´s for your visit.

20%

Beds to small and a very hard pillow that feels like a stone.... makes it impossible to sleep. No air conditioning, no place to put your stuff, shower is cold and very bad working. Don't do the tours with the hostel, they will charge you a lot of money for nothing. If you want to see the waterfalls go there by yourself with the local bus for about 3 Reales and don't waste 70 Reales at the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our bed are the biggest as possible for a single bed; all our showers are hot here; our waterfall tour is going to a off-road area where none buses are going to. All our guests really love our tours, as you can check at the others reviews. We do here an amazing job to offer the best we can for our guests. Please check our others reviews to have a real impression.

100%

We had a fantastic time staying at Bossa Nova Hostel, Alan was amazing and made sure we had a great time in Parety. The hostel is very clean, comfortable and the breakfast is great. We would definitely recommend going on the waterfall trip, it was amaing.


94%

Great hostel! The people running the place are really nice and they offer inexpensive tours that take you to some really cool waterfalls and such. They speak english and portuguese perfectly and are very accommodating. Cheers to Bossa Nova!

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

What makes this place is the brilliant, chilled out atmosphere. Alan, the owner, is great. He gave me good advice about taking local buses to beaches, etc. The only drawback was that it was a little bit far from the old town.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Alan and his team at Bossa Nova were just brilliant. Always available to help us with local recommendations or booking tours and activities. The room and common areas were really clean and well maintained. Bed was comfortable. Great location, 10mins walk to the historical center of town and 7 or so mins to the bus station. Would definately stay here again.


94%

We really enjoyed our time at Bossa Nova. I was travelling in a group of 3 girls, and we booked a 6 person dorm, however, we lucked out and got the dorm to ourselves! The rooms were clean and spacious. Allan, the hostel owner was lovely and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable! We recommend you do the waterfall tour with him- it was the highlight of our stay! Be warned that the hostel is a 10 minute walk from the city. Thanks for a great time in beautiful Paraty!

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you dear guests. Was a pleasure for us to host you. Just to clarify we are 10 minutes walking from the historic center and not from the city. :) Just to dont have douts about: we are 1 block away from the main road and just behind the biggest market in town. Our street is very calm and good to relax away of the most crowded part of Paraty. We have a small garden where the birds are coming to have breakfast with us! :) Thanks for your visit and comment.

94%

The staff, Alan and Stefan, at Bossa Nova are extremely helpful and full of advice. Bossa Nova is a chilled place to stay, a 5 min walk from the bus station and not far from the old town area. Good breakfast. Great value for money. Would recommend staying here.


89%

Big Alan who owns the hostel is a legend! He spent hours tracking down an allusive speed boat company in the amazon to find out there schedule for my trip in June. Went totally out of his way to help me. Alan also has top tips to make the most of your Paraty stay. Highly recommended.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Really helpful and friendly staff, it is a calm hostel with a relaxing atmosphere faculties are good and is in a good location. Very good value for money.

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

the hostel was ok. wifi worked very slowly and the location is quit "far" from the historical center. alan (the owner) was a nice guy and very helpful, but we wouldn't choose this place it again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Im sorry if the hostel didn´t reach your expectations on this occasion. Our location is one block away from the main road, is close to a supermarket and a short walk to the bus terminal. The WIFI we offer is the fastest we can find in Paraty, unfortunately at times when there are many guests, it can be slower than usual. Normally it works good enough. We appreciate all comments and feedback as we strive to provide the best service to all our guests. Thank you for your visit.

86%

A bit too far out of town to make it really good. the place is nice and the guy who runs it really helpfull. breakfast is nice. bathrooms are as good as they get in hostels. not amazing but good hostel


97%

Very Nice and quiet hostel where we stayed one week. Allan and Stephane were so friendly and helpfull. Very closed to a supermarket, and the bus stop to go to the different interesting point is situated at 3 minutes walking. We really enjoyed our stay and recommend it.


86%

Really nice hostel. Great helpful staff. Rooms were really clean. The main drawback is that it doesnt have AC, just a fan which is not enough in summer in Brasil. Otherwise it has a nice chilled out atmosphere. Its a bit further away from town and the beaches - fine if you dont mind walking for about 15 mins but if not then maybe consider somewhere closer.


89%

Very nice hostel! Nice owner's. Good breakfast, nice rooms with bathrooms. The location is a bit off. For the rest, really recommendable!


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Paraty Hostels

Please give us your feedback